224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Elk Creek Campground (NFS) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (970) 641-2337
CGID11474

Elk Creek Campground (NFS)

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   6   6   4   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Very basic forest service campground. New concrete sites and beautiful view of the lake. Very quiet and DARK. Stayed one night, and would stay again in a minute. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
Great stopover location while touring Colorado Rockies. Convenient to Black Canyon of the Gunnison River. D-loop has 50-amp service (no sewer or water), but all sites were reserved during weekend. A-loop had numerous unreserved sites, but there are no hookups. Shade trees are scarce. Federal senior rates apply. We would come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
A nice clean, well kept campground. Could use more shade, but that will come with more time for the few trees here to mature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
We stopped for a quick overnight visit on a recent vacation to Colorado. The campground was RV friendly with paved loops and pads. Most of the sites are back-ins. There are no trees in the area but a nice view of the stars at night. The wind picked up at dusk. The bathrooms had flush toilets and were in the classic NPS style from 30 years ago. There was a dump station with water hose for tanks. There were pay showers located elsewhere in the park. There didn't appear to be much to do here if you didn't bring a boat. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
This campground is located on Blue Mesa Reservoir. We stayed in Loop D which has electric hookups. Potable water is available near the dump station. We had a back-in site. Most back-in sites are long and wide to accommodate boats and trucks and trailers. There is a single loop road which was paved as were the sites. The loop road was a little narrow. Pullthrough sites were not very long so if you have a large fifth wheel you might not fit properly. We had two sites during our stay and our first site required some side-to-side leveling but the second site was better. The bathrooms were old. Showers are located near the marina. I took one look and decided not to use them. They were old, smelled and weren’t very clean. Electric was on the low side. Verizon aircard worked but was slow on National Extended network. Verizon cell phone worked on Extended network. The campground is right off Hwy 50 so there is traffic noise during the day but was very quiet at night. The dry camping sites were also large and could probably accommodate almost any sized rig. We would stay there also. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
This campground is in a beautiful area. However, it seems more for boaters and fishermen. I had expected to be able to take the kids down to the lake since the campground is right on it but there was no access. Also, the showers are pay showers and are located at the marina which was a good 1 mile walk from our campsite (D 23). Our site was electric only so it was not really reasonable to try to do our showers (family of 5) in the RV. We did not want to break up camp to drive to showers nor did we want a 2 mile round trip walk to shower. We left the next morning after our arrival rather than stay as we had planned. We would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
This is a NFS park so you may use your Golden Access card for discounts. This park has 30 amp power, no water and no sewer, but dump station with fresh water is available. Some sites are too small for big rigs. Some sites need to have the brush cut away from the front of the site to facilitate backing into the site. There are a few pull-through sites, not all of which are long enough for big rigs. (We have a 40 foot toyhauler.) There is a marina here and a great restaurant. We rented a slip at the marina and the managers at the marina, while friendly, were very disorganized. Fishing in this area is good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$12
National Forest Service Campground, on East end of Blue Mesa Reservoir, 16 miles West of Gunnison. A loop has full hook ups, B, C and D have none. Dump station with potable water on site. We dry camped with solar and generator in B loop. Marina and small restaurant here as well. Friendly hosts, nice mesa views, water views. Low vegetation, few trees, very windy. Our loop was empty except for us. Loop A with utilities was full. A nice, inexpensive stop for touring Black Canyon, no daily fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com