223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Johnson's Shut-Ins State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (573) 546-2450
CGID11507

Johnson's Shut-Ins State Park

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   8   9   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$28
The check-in process was easy. The staff was friendly. The sites have nice, concrete pads. We stayed in Site 210. It was very nice and spacious. There is no Verizon cell phone service whatsoever in this campground area, but I do not think that is any fault of the campground. The only Wi-Fi signal available is at the campground store. The campground store is closed during the week between the hours of 11:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. This is very inconvenient considering this is the time of day when most campers are active and are in need of things, like ice for their coolers. The campground store had moldy sandwiches in their refrigerated area. The cashier (an older lady) was very slow, and the computer point-of-sale program appeared to be less than adequate, both of which resulted in our standing in a long line for a long period of time. My 17 year-old son took a shower in the shower house. He said the shower ran cold the entire time and never warmed up even though he had it all the way on hot. He even tried putting in all the way on cold just in case the faucet was installed incorrectly, but it still only ran cold. Overall, this is a nice basic campground, as long as you don't use the showers, don't need Wi-Fi or Verizon cell service and don't need anything from a campground store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$23
This is an almost-new campground, rebuilt after the Ameren dam breach of 2005 washed away the old campground. As someone else told us, "this campground is so nice you almost wish Ameren would trash a few more parks." Campsites are spacious, with good shade in four of the five loops (the loop right as you enter the campground has no shade, but would be good for someone who finds satellite access critical). Electric sites are 50 amp, with posts that still look almost brand new. Restrooms and showers were adequate, with good water pressure--my only ding is that they need more staff to keep them clean on busy summer weekends. The pride and joy of the park is the natural water park of the Shut-Ins, but take time to hit the Visitor Center, which has excellent exhibits on the geology and ecology of the park, as well as the dam breach. Also try to take time to visit nearby Elephant Rocks State Park--kids love it. One warning. This part of Missouri is The Land That Telecommunications Forgot. Our Verizon phones had no signal (voice or data), and neither did my work Blackberry (on the AT&T network). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
This is a wonderful campground and would be particularly nice for families. There are miles of bike trails in the campground and you can rent bikes at the campground store. There's also a small playground. Wi-Fi and cell phone service is not available at most sites; however, the camp store has a Wi-Fi hot spot that is available 24/7. We were in Loop 2 and able to walk the short distance to the nice little camp store. All sites are paved, but not laterally level (probably for drainage). We were a little disappointed in the restrooms. There were only two showers; suspect that Loop 2 has mostly big rigs. We use campground showers though, and this one had no sink and was kind of dark. Did like the privacy of the shower. The Shut-Ins is a great park and well worth a few days' visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
Very spacious and somewhat private sites, some with with concrete pads. No TV or radio reception. Had to go up by the store for WiFi connection. No campground host. Very pretty location. Great if you're looking for somewhere to camp and relax and get away from it all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This is clean, good spacing between sites. Roads are good. Pull thru sites are well done, lots of room and give you nice privacy and still some shade and trees. Campers have private parking for shut in swimming area, so the drive over was quick and easy. Great bike paths for kids. Good variety of things at the store. Staff was friendly. Shut-Ins are lots of fun, can get crowded, we swam in the morning and evenings and had the place mostly to ourself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
There is Wi-Fi available at the campground store. The restrooms are clean with concrete floors. The handicapped grab bar is 3 inches below the hand dryer which was a poor design choice. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This is a new campground that has replaced the old one from the flood. We also stayed in loop 2. I really don't have much to add that wasn't mentioned previously. A nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
This is our first visit since the flood. The new campground is very nice but has a few quirks and needs a few years to mature. We stayed in loop 2 (full hookups). The campground is almost 1 mile from the actual Shut-in's area so be prepared to drive back and forth. But campers still get priority entry into the park. The camping area is not serviced by the hosts very much. Check-in area is open from 3-6pm and the store is open approximately 8-11am and 5-9pm. The playground area is by the store and not visible from any of the campsites. There is also a dip in the road in loop 1. If you have a low clearance trailer there is a good chance you will drag. Also there are surprisingly few trash dumpsters. Even with these items the campground is clean and much nicer than the old one. We will definitely be back next summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com