224079 User submitted reviews online!!
Spring Lake RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (316) 835-3443
CGID1151

Spring Lake RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
180
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   6   10   10   9   8   5   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
Very few RV Park websites live up to their hype, but this one is almost perfect! Staff is friendly, facilities are well maintained, many things to do at the park, and lots of history around the area. It is a member of Coast to Coast and Passport America. Also honors AAA, Good Sam, FMCA, FCRV, Escapee, Enjoy America and the regular Public. It is very much like the website. We used our Coast to Coast points which means $10 a night. If we were to use Passport America it would be $14 a night but you can stay 14 days. Normal price is $28-$30 a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
Very friendly staff. This is a membership park with friendly members. Our stay was early in the season before a lot of members arrived. Member sites appear to be mostly on the north side of the ponds. The balance of the sites are on the south side of the pond, further from the laundry & bath house, but closer to the clubhouse. Roads are gravel. Our site was grass, with some gravel, that sloped to the front enough to eliminate staying hooked up overnight. There are many long term residents who work in the area. Their sites appeared to be clean and most are located together in the back area of the park. TV reception is good with the roof antenna. Wi-Fi worked well. The laundry seemed small for the number of tenants. There were only 3 washers (one did not work) and 3 dryers. Rate is Coast to Coast + $4.00 per day resort fee. Would probably stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
The park is friendly and provides some family activities such as fishing. The interior roads are gravel and lead to gravel/grass sites that are far from level and offer no feeling of privacy. Many sites look as though they have been occupied for years with little maintenance. That and the overflowing dumpsters lead to a very scruffy look. Utilities, including Wi-Fi were good; AT&T phone and data service were good. Some train noise was heard. The price is based on the Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Very nice, clean place. Everyone was friendly, and the woman in the office was so knowledgable about every site that she chose one for our rig that we would easily get into and out of. We had to do some leveling but not enough of a hassle to knock this down one star. We'd gladly return here with the grandkids, especially, as there's a nice pool (closed for the season when we arrived) and other things for kids to do. There are lots of permanent renters here but their sites are well-maintained and the place was quiet and peaceful. Make sure you walk across the road to get farm-fresh eggs at the house there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
The friendliest place we have ever been to. The service is great and the campsites well cared for. We stayed one night but will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$14
Rate reflects Passport America. It’s not often that I will review a park or campground while I am still in it, but this one I really like. When I called to make reservations, aside from needing full hookups, I really have to have good internet access (for work) and I really wanted some TREES! After being in Hermosa with no chance of shade from trees, I was really wanting trees. The site they gave us backs into a creek bed with fish, birds, rabbits and some Canadian Geese who seem to be homesteading here. Between the creek and our camper is a line of evergreen trees which offers us some amazing shade in the afternoon. The park is extremely family friendly and offers (at extra cost) dinners on Friday and Saturday nights as well as a cooked to order breakfast on Sundays. Last night we went to their Community building for a burger (or a choice of a meatloaf special) dinner and stayed for Bingo and an Ice Cream social. The park has spring fed stocked ponds you can fish in (no fishing license required) and a nice pool as well. The park does have a lot of long term residents, however the spaces are well maintained without a lot of clutter and unpleasant junk hanging around. We will definitely keep this place in mind for future stops. The rate is $14 a night with Passport America: for full hook ups / 50amp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Nice huge RV park with ponds to fish in. We were there on a Friday and Saturday and they had actives morning and evening. Landry room was nice. The people working there were very friendly. The pull through we had was not very level front to back We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$14
Interesting place. It seems it is a membership campground with monthly spaces and regular spaces. It is getting a little run down but fairly nice. It could use a little sprucing up and grass mowing. Our site #96 was fairly down hill on setting up but as we had to unhook it was ok. If we were not unhooking for the night stay it would have been a pain. Whoever was in that spot before had a small dog that left a LOT of land mines that were not picked up. As my momma used to say watch where you step or you'll cut your foot. Bad dog owners!! It is 12 miles from the interstate and that adds to the $14 PA cost. I doubt I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
Lots of every kind of camper, from permanent to temporary workers. Some sites are more level than others. There are some little fishing ponds which they charge you $3 to use. There was a swimming pool which was $3 also. Laundry facility was clean and working well. Looks like all the long termers got the shady sites. It would have been nice to have a shady spot as it was in the mid 90's We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Rate is Coast to Coast. Campground is being well maintained. They have activities if you want to go to them. Did not have table at site, but the site was long and level. Wi-fi worked fine. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
Rate reflects a Passport America discount. Level sites. Very friendly staff and other campers. Dinner is served in the rec hall on Saturday nights and it is delicious. Facilities are a little dated but newer owners are investing in improvements. Stayed here three nights and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Very friendly and helpful staff. Bingo, sing along, and ice cream socials make this a very family friendly place. Very nice pool. Ponds for fishing. Restrooms older but very clean. Was a private "club" park at one time, so many long term club member units (some full-timers, many weekend campers - all very friendly). We stayed 2 nights while site seeing in the area. Would definitely stay again. Wi-Fi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
The setting is nice with open grassy knolls around several small and large ponds. Most of the sewer hookups with shade and lake views appear to be permanently occupied and not available for short stays. There appears to be more choice with just water and electric. We stayed in site 52 with a fair view but were surrounded by permanent residences if that concerns you. Sites had sandy pads that needed a shoe brush before going inside on damp mornings. Trash was a fair walk from the site. Wi-Fi worked fine. Restrooms are dated. There are friendly activities in the clubhouse like burgers, bingo and ice cream on some nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
I have been camping here for over 7 years each year it gets worse...Beautiful park...very poor management in office...sites are very unlevel and some sites need work to electrical boxes or sewer. Access roads are rough. Big Rig access best on hill lot but gate is locked to access hill lot. We have made reservations and arrived to be told that they had moved me...this has happened so many times I cant even count them. We call ahead and they make the reservation but if they need to move you before you arrive they will and they won't think twice about doing it. This is sad because this use to be my favorite park and we travel 9 months out of the year and make reservation at numerous parks and we have never had any issues except at Spring Lake. Staff has an I don't care attitude, when ask why this keeps happening we were told they make mistakes...This time it was twice in 2 weeks.We ended up having to go to a different park. I won't be back to Spring Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
This was a private membership campground that is now public (accepts Escapees, Passport America, Good Sam's Coast to Coast). Well laid out park, hard packed gravel roads and sites. Operated by husband and wife managers, work staff are all work campers and are some of the friendliest we have come across. Our truck was in the shop our week we were there and they took us to the grocery store and the truck shop and said if there was anything we needed just ask. Planned activities and events were great. Satellite and Verizon wifi were great. GPS coordinates 38.027075,97.554502 We had a great while we were here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Stayed here for a couple of nights while attending the state fair in Hutchinson. Mostly seasonal but well maintained. Wi-Fi worked well. No cable but plenty of stations via antenna. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Lack of rain has taken its toll on grass. Would stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
We stayed here for a week using Passport America. We were in an area of open, no trees, but fairly level sites with full hookups. Easy access to the road. The Wi-Fi was excellent, about the best we've encountered at any campground. The staff was friendly and helpful with information about local sights. Convenient to both Hutchinson and Wichita, about 20 miles to each. There are several small lakes in the campground, but not where we were parked. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$10
Stayed here on Coast to Coast. VERY friendly staff in office. Quiet park and so much room to walk the dog. Level sites and the staff is constantly working on the park. Location is great for the Salt Mine Tour in Hutchinson. We'd come here and stay longer next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
This park in Halstead, Kansas was very nice. Several ponds are spaced throughout the park. Very friendly staff. Reasonable rates. Easy drive to the attractions in Hutchinson, and short drive to Wichita. Tons of grass. No cable TV, but we picked up several Wichita television stations. The only area where this park is lacking is the sites. They are gravel, and take some creative leveling. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$14
Very nice place. Lakes and lots of grass. Gravel sites, some mud with the rain. Very hospitable staff. Stayed here to tour the salt mines. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Found it to be quieter than the State Lake Parks. Staff were very friendly. The campground had a program or something going on every night for the campers to participate in if they chose to. Pool was clean. About 50% of the spaces have trees and shade. No cable but was able to pick up all of the Wichita Hi-Def local stations on the antenna. We are going to camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
Quiet place with lots of activities. Stayed for a nearby family reunion. Some campers are long term residents. Friendly staff, reasonable price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
Very large park but not my definition of a destination park. We were going to decide on a longer stay after we saw the park. We decided one night was enough. Our site was long but not level. Many long term residents scattered throughout the park. Sites are grass and gravel. The park is a little rundown. According to their rules, everyone over 8 years old will be charged $4 per day to fish and must be wearing a wrist band that can be obtained at the office. Your guests must purchase a $3 swim pass to swim at the pool with you. Rules also request use only one air conditioner at a time to cool down and there’s a $3 additional charge for each air conditioning unit more than two. There are two storm shelters. One shelter permits pets. Quiet campground at a reasonable rate with Passport America. Check out time 11am. Free WiFi at site. We might return if we’re in the area, but only for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
I stay there for three nights. The park is nice and in a quiet location. The geese were a little annoying as they honk at all hours of the day and night. I would stay there again but will bring the Satellite equipment since they do not have cable TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Very friendly park with many seasonal/full time residents, mostly retired and fun loving. Park has gravel roads and grass sites. Most sites are on an angle, so are not level, but workable. This park has 2 storm shelters, which was comforting since we traveled here during tornado season. Lots of activities during the summer and looks to be fun for family vacations. Good Verizon air card and cell service. OK TV service via antenna, no cable TV. This was just a stop over for us, but I see this park as a destination park, since there isn't much to do or see in the area. Food store is 10 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$10
Spring Lake Resort. I loved this park. There are several large ponds. I and my dogs watched geese land and take off. I was amazed there were no mid-air collisions. The dogs were entranced. The office staff at this park is excellent. I stayed at site 16, under trees and close to the office. We all know that Kansas is subject to tornadoes, which seem to zero in on RV and trailer parks. This park provides two storm shelters, easily hurried to, and one welcomes your pets. This is the largest park I have seen, except of Silent Valley Club near Banning, CA. I will definitely stay at this park again if I am in that area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
Nice place park on grass more of a campground than an RV park. Lots of seasonals and permanents so reservations are a good idea. GPS directions can get screwed up. Park is south of Hwy 50. Rate is Passport. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
This is a mostly seasonal CG. OK because every site is kept neat & tidy. Transients are put on a not so level open area. Great for watching approaching thunderstorms. The CG is beautifully kept. Good WI-FI. Fire rings available at extra $. Great stopping CG for an overnight or a couple days rest for laundry etc when crossing the plains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$10
The $10 rate is Coast to Coast; I believe their Passport America rate is $13.50. We had planned on being here one week, but had to extend that for 3 nights because of rain. This park needs a bit of work. It was raining when we arrived and when we were supposed to leave, and the dirt roads have lots of potholes. There was so much rain that it flooded a spillway that goes over a concrete section of a campground road, which made it necessary to go in/out of the campground via a back road, which was more mud and potholes. If you're here during a dry spell, though, you'll be OK. Sunday morning, a very good breakfast is offered at a very reasonable price. There are lots of places to walk your dog and we saw several deer and an opossum. There are lots of workers here, but they seem to be in one section of the campground. This campground can accommodate small rallies, as there is a huge section of water and electric sites that they didn't seem to be using when we were there. The folks at check-in were friendly and helpful. Halstead has some nice little restaurants, but you'll need to go to either Newton or Hutchinson for a WalMart. We'll definitely return here because it's a decent quiet campground, at a very reasonable price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
We stayed here a week under the Passport America rate for a 50 amp full hookup site. The staff is very friendly and quite knowledgeable about the area and there are activities and meals on weekends. There are lots of permanent people living in the park with only a dozen or so full hook up spaces for overnighters. They do have lots of power and water spaces in the group camping area. They had quite a lot of rain before we arrived, so we had to come in the group camping entrance since the water was too high over the creek crossing. When we left a week later the creek crossing was completely dry since there had been no rain during our stay. The roads are mostly dirt and are very muddy and full of holes when it rains. They did grade the roads some when they started to dry out which helped. It can, however, be quite dusty when it's dry and the wind blows. The pull-thru spaces are mostly grass and are not level, but we didn't have a problem getting level. In spite of the muddy roads when we arrived (which is why I didn't give the park a better rating), we did enjoy our stay and would probably stay here again, but only if it's not raining. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$13
Interior roads are gravel or dirt. Sites are gravel and/or grass. Won't want to be here during or after a heavy rain. Was dry here but lots of ruts. We were in the back part of the park. These pull thrus have electric and water. No sewer. But both dump stations are easy to get to. In the back area there are no trees. Also if the wind is from the south can hear train horns. So unless you are deaf bring ear plugs. Wi-Fi worked 90% of the time. Some what easy in and easy out with a HDT and 35 ft. trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
This park has a lot of amenities. I stayed here on a Friday night. In the evening they had a dinner, bingo game and ice cream social in the community building. If you stick around after the social, you probably will be able to find someone to play cards / games with. The swimming pool is behind the community building. The park also has free little 9-hole miniature golf course and a short hiking trail that goes through the ponds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The community atmosphere alone makes the park worthwhile. I stayed in one of the pull-through full-hookup sites. The main drawback is that I was not quite able to get my motorhome level in the spot I stayed in. The only other criticism I would have is that there are not enough signs by the roadway (and they are not visible enough) to let you know you are coming up on the park. Of course, considering that the park was completely full, that apparently has not stopped many people from finding it. The price reflects the Good Sam Club discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$15
Rate is Passport America. I called on a Sunday a couple of hours before arrival. The office was closed but lady was very friendly anyway and went to the office to check site availability. She left our site information and map on the door with an envelope for payment. There were lots of permanent people there. The place was fairly neat and clean but not attractive because of overgrown grass/weeds. Because the park is large with lots of ponds, it seemed like we drove forever to find out site. It was gravel/weeds and we could barely get the coach level. It is okay for an overnight stop, and we would do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$14
There are some lovely sites if you are a member but mostly open field type accommodations. There are some great ponds and a nice walkway and club house but a resort destination this is not. The staff were most helpful. We would stay here again as they honor Passport America and other memberships. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
We had a back in site with shared utilities on grass. Other sites on gravel were shorter and not as level, though more spacious. We were very pleased with the quiet park, and our space was protected from seasonal strong winds by lots of trees. The Wi-Fi signal was very good. We enjoyed the book exchange in the office, and saw several others fishing the various ponds in the resort. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. We would return here again while visiting family in Hutchinson and Wichita. It was great to be away from highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$14
We found this to be a very pleasant park. Very quiet, nice surroundings (several small ponds and stream) and convenient to Hutchinson and Wichita attractions and very convenient to Newton. Passport America rate of $13.50 (full hookups, including taxes) made this an excellent place for us to stay a couple weeks. We just found it to be an altogether nice place to relax and "kick back". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2004
$8
This is a Coast to Coast, RPI and Passport America park. Easy access 1/4 mile off US-50 is via a dusty road. It is a membership park. Sites are dirt/grass, of adequate size for a big rig and easy to get in to. Some sites are level, others are not. Roads are dirt and very dusty. Roads are wide enough for big rigs. Sites are both shady and open. There are some side by side hook ups. Showers, restrooms & laundry were dirty. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2004
$8
A very pleasant park quiet, and lots of grass and several basement shelters. Kind of in the center of everything. Not far from Hutchinson's Cosmosphere and Space Center, and Wichita's Old Cowtown Museum. They don't allow fireworks on the fourth of July which is a plus. We left there and went to another park in another state that was so noisy. If we would have known how noisy that park would be, we would have stayed in Halstead for another day for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$8
This park has a lot of potential but unfortunately it is not being capitalized on. The restrooms, showers and laundry were dirty. The roads were dirt and had large ruts in them. The RV spots were dirt and also had ruts in them. It would have been OK if it had not rained on the day I was packing up, so I left my share of deep ruts leaving the park. The price was right as this park is in the RPI system. It gave me a place to stay during my visit trip to Wichita. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com