217661 User submitted reviews online!!
Outlet (Melvern) COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (785) 549-3318
CGID1156

Outlet (Melvern) COE

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   10   10   9   9   9   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$9
This is a great campground, close to I-35 but with no road noise. We had a lake site with water and electric for $9.00 (Golden Eagle discount) but it is well worth the $18 normal price. W/E/S price was $22 but half that for Golden Eagle discount. Camp hosts were friendly and the campground itself was clean, quiet, and beautiful. We will definitely stay here again. If you go up the road a bit you can camp on the shore of main Lake Melvern. We drove up and checked it out. Non-hook up sites were only $12 there and were on a huge lake. Awesome park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$11
We stayed here in our 40' 4-slide RV with towed vehicle. We were in site 137 with full hookups, 50 amp, looking at the lake. The site was unlevel. The front was very high when leveled. Birds were roosting at night, in the site tree, so we ended up with a lot of bird poop on the car (we learned to move it over as far as we could) and the front passenger side of the motorhome. Large site with table and fire pit. Personnel helpful when we caught up with them. Well maintained park. We would return but choose a different site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$11
Paid the senior rate for a nice, big roomy lakeside 50 amp full hook-up loop C back in site. The site was double wide and paved so we had plenty of room for our Bounder, dolly and toad. Verizon cell and broadband was excellent at 4 bars. TV via batwing was spotty, but we did pickup two networks at times. This is one of the nicer COE parks that we have stayed at. Melvern 3 miles down 31 has one nice place for a cold one or a sandwich. Other than that - not much else in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$11
This is a beautiful campground. We loved our campsite which was right on the Outlet Lake. Full hookups, 50 amp, level, roomy. This one is on our return list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$11
We passed this campground on the way to Chanute, Kansas. On the way by, we said, "Looks like a beautifully park!" After we finished our business, we went back to check it out. We were not disappointed . The park is well laid out and maintained. (My satellite worked.) Good view of the lake/pond. Kudos to the staff and the CORP! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
For those who have not yet stopped at a Corps of Engineers park, this is the place to start. Lots of shaded sites, fishing lakes, swimming lakes and pleasant hosts who take good care of the park. Fees are $19-22 and eligible for Golden Age, Golden Access etc. discounts. Easy access off US75. Online reservation system is the only challenge to using this park. Convoluted fee added procedure. With the exception of major holidays, the park always has space for drop in's. Next time that's what we'll do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Beautiful park. Restrooms ok, (no hand soap), showers were great with fierce water pressure! Hang on to your toupee. Nice collection of TV channels with batwing antenna, including PBS. Verizon access good. Excellent nature trails and lots of wildlife. Another excellent COE park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$9
We have been camping here for about 15 years and think it is the BEST campground in KS for the money. It's only 6 miles off I-35 and 30 minutes to Topeka. They recently added 50 amp electric to loop C so that makes B & C with 50 and A has 30 amp. We like that if it rains (even heavily), it's dried out the next day. Nice paved roads and trails for biking. Good fishing both on the Outlet Pond and above on the reservoir. Sunday church services in late spring through early fall. Nice pavilion for Rally's or Reunions. Rates went up $1 this year, but with Senior Pass you pay only 1/2 price. Some sites are a little unlevel, but we've not had a problem and we're in a 40' motorhome. Some problems with limbs in the sites below 98 in B loop. We've usually just backed in the pull-through if there's a problem. Great campground for kids: has 2 playground areas now. Also a separate pond for swimming. Free with camp pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
A beautiful campground, very quiet, large spacious sites along lake. Paved sites very level with full hook-ups. Shade trees, bath house had laundry facilities. Nice hiking trails, bike paths. Marina store close by for ice, groceries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
The “B” loop sites (62-97) are full service with 50amp but they are close together with narrow roads and deteriorating pads. Many of them are sloped enough that it can be a challenge to level a motorhome. Sites 98-112 are better. “B” loop sites have an unusual pattern. We saw people who were unfamiliar with the layout have to ‘go around’ and come back in to get going the right way to get into their site. When we come back, we would camp in “C” loop. It has full service sites with 30amp and is more spacious. This park, and the ones close by, offer great hiking trails and the Prairie Wind Rail Trail starts at Ottawa goes south for over 30 miles. We enjoyed good food and free WIFI at the Whistle Stop Café in Melvern. The rate reflects a Senior Pass discount. We would like to be able to recycle at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
This is one of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed in. It is clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed for 3 days and will come back for a longer stay in the future. The rate is low because of our Golden Age Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$8
An absolutely wonderful campground. The volunteers were very friendly and helpful. We loved the walking paths. The bathrooms were very clean. We plan on coming back and staying 1-2 weeks at a time. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$10
This is one of the best COE campgrounds in the country. We are 80% full timers and have camped in more than 30 COE campgrounds and this is in our top five. Many of the sites are located on the lake and it is a great setting. Easy on and off the Interstate too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$10
This is a Corp of Engineer (COE) Park located about 6 miles westbound on Hwy 75 from I-35 with good access roads from the interstate. Positives: Paved pads and paved roads with easy access to sites. Many sites have full hook-ups. Those who use COE parks know that on site sewer is an anomaly. The CG is on a lake with ample and convenient access for fishing. The bathhouses are very nice and well maintained. There are several double and triple sites for those who might travel in a group and want to be close together. Water pressure is good. There is lots of shade, a playground for the kids, and the CG is aesthetically pleasing. Cell phone signals can be received. Negatives: Voltage was just OK. The trees that line the access road to most of the sites need to be trimmed. Most of the 50A sites have some degree of minor sloping; generally front to back. If you can live with a 30A power supply, then it is suggested that you pick one of those sites. Most of them are large enough to get a 40 ft rig into. They are much nicer than the 50A sites. Many are also lake front. We were here on Golden Access pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
Scenic walks and well maintained sites at this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$13
Restroom and showers very clean, Many campsites are lake side, and shaded. Has some easy hiking trails alongside and old riverbed. Has swimming lake next to campground lake with baseball field, vollyball area. Campground lake is being refilled this year, it is being restocked. Our family has enjoyed camping here several times. One thing that I can say is that once we came here, we have camped no place else in eastern Kansas. Another camper I met there expressed the same thoughts. We really enjoy the cleanness of the place. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2000
$14
Fishing & lake swimming,boating & playground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com