220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Tall Texan Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (970) 641-2927
CGID11574

Tall Texan Campground

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   8   8   8   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$41
A very nice quiet park. Some seasonal RVs, but not a problem. Many have beautiful flowers in pots that really are beautiful. Pull-through site was pretty level, with nice cement area for picnic table. Sites are about your average closeness. Walking distance to river and a nice bike path into town. The downside to this is the Wi-Fi. You have to be in the office/community room to get any Wi-Fi, or standing right outside. Was told the trees would interfere with the Wi-Fi. We were also disappointed to find this office/game room area was closing at 7:30 pm so we could not use the tables to play games or sit and use the Wi-Fi. The $41 a night reflects a 10 night stay and an extra $3 a day if you want 50 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
We stayed at this park in 2012 and were glad to return this year. Very nice park, very clean, level spaces and lots of grass, all spaces have a concrete pad. The spaces around the pond are very spacious and lovely. There is also a cottonwood area which is nice and shady but the spaces are a little tight in that area. Friendly staff, very quiet. This is will most likely continue to be our favorite place to stay when we come back to explore the Gunnison and Crested Butte area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$49
I will start with the positive. The park is clean and well kept. The staff is friendly. The sites are a good size and are comfortable. The sites by the pond are very shaded and have a nice view. Negatives, the Wi-Fi as advertised does not work unless you take your device up to the office. We were in site #55 and those sites in this area are backed up to a county road and mobile home park. Parking was an issue because they did not have enough parking spaces per site. We also were facing their station where propane was sold and a covered carport. Other areas did have a nice view. Cable actually only has 6 stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Lots of cottonwood trees at this park providing welcome shade, but making it a little difficult to get full satellite service. All sites have a concrete patio and picnic table. Some sites are situated around the pretty pond. Some road noise from nearby Hwy 135 during the day, but very quiet at night. Good laundry facilities. Decent 4G Wi-Fi. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This campground was a great new find for us. New owners who are lovely and anxious to please their patrons. Very clean and well kept. There is a very small lake and stream. They took great care to spray for mosquitoes so our initial concern over that became a non-issue. Some areas of this campground are more crowded than others.The area around the small lake has larger spaces. This was a great location to explore Gunnison and Crested Butte. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
Stayed here last year and came back. Still the best lil' RV park anywhere -- except for the wifi. You had best bring your own cellular Internet connection device. And they have the best price anywhere. One low price for everyone, no "camping club" membership B.S. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
We enjoyed our 3 week stay here. Gravel pull through site on the end with nice shade trees. It seemed to be pretty level. We had no trouble getting set up. There was grass and cement patio with picnic table. New owners were really improving the campground the whole time we were there. Quite a few couples there for the summer. We are in our early 60's and found that the majority people were our age or older. We were not on the side with the little lake, tents, and playground, so this could be the reason. We found it very quiet. Nice bike path right down the road that takes you into Gunnison and all the nice shops. Owners loaned us a cable tv cable when ours was not long enough to reach. One evening they provided pizza and musical entertainment for everyone. Very nice office and gathering area with lots of tables. One room was set up for Wii, I think. I was a little laid up with a hip problem, so did not get to explore as much as I wanted. Laundry room was nice and only cost $1 a load. The only reason I would not give this a 10 rating was because there were only wifi spots. We think they were working on getting wifi everywhere. We had site 48. We stayed here in a 34' Class A. No trouble getting in or out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Very nice campground, especially compared to the cramped KOA in Gunnison. We had NO problem maneuvering our 40' coach in and out. Maybe the dense shade canopy makes some feel closed-in. I don't know, but we really liked the shade. Overall, very nice workers, good utilities, large level sites. The only downside was that some long-termers(workers?), and there were only a few, were allowed to let their sites get very junky, unkempt, and their pets ran around off-leash. We like this area and will be back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We had a really great site in the back next to a pond where we enjoyed watching the family of ducks. The park is clean and well shaded. Our 40' coach maneuvered the turns easily. Park is under new ownership this year. Owners and staff were very friendly. We enjoyed the cookout with band. Wi-Fi needs work. Great location. This is the best park we have found in Gunnison. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Nice location close to Gunnison and Crested Butte. Lots of shade trees and friendly staff. Lots of longtime summer residents who added a nice benefit of experienced conversation about the local area and beautiful flower gardens that attracted a ton of hummingbirds. New owner was friendly and responsive to all comments (there was no wi-fi at our site due to the trees, which he was honest about, but good wi-fi was available at the pavilion). He's worked hard to revitalize this park and done a good job. They provided a free pulled pork dinner with a band that was great and over 100 people supported it with desserts and side dishes. A nice way to have everybody meet and enjoy each other. Recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
A nice RV park with lots of shade and a very friendly and helpful staff. The only downside was that you had t o go to the laundry/shower to get Wi-Fi. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
Our 5th wheel is 39' and we're towing with a crew-cab, long-bed truck. We fit into the park, but just barely. Navigation through the park and into the site was VERY difficult and required the help of the park escort who inched us through every turn to make sure we didn't hit any of the trees. Our site is fairly level, gravel with full hookup. Sites are very close together and our truck barely fits crosswise in front of the RV. Base rate was $33, but we paid extra for 50 amp and extra for cable. We weren't sure we could get the satellite signal through all the trees (LOTS of TALL TREES), but we did. Mid July temps in the low-mid 80s compared to the 100 degree heat-wave in most places around the country. Gunnison looks like a cute little town with lots of shopping. Several grocery stores and Walmart within about 3 miles. Very friendly and helpful staff. Due to the difficult navigation and tight fit, I don't think we'd stay here again with this large an RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
We arrived during the rain, and the campground was not appealing; however in the light of day it did look better. The roads are gravel and dirt, and the rain made it very sloppy. The pads were gravel and grass, and it was okay if it was not raining. The owners are new as was apparent at check-in. They messed up our reservations twice, but we were able to get our original 6 nights stay at a site with cable after much time spent waiting at check-in. The office workers seem nice if a bit unsure of the procedure for assigning campsites. The cable TV was good, and the campground was quiet for the most part. We heard a few barking dogs but only for short bursts here and there. It was very quiet at night except for our last night there when we could hear music from the adjoining trailer park. The location is great. It is close to town and on the North side so if you plan to visit Crested Butte you do not have to drive across town. It is a short drive to Wal-Mart and City Market. They have cottonwood trees that offer shade. We could not get internet at our site, #47, so I had to walk to the office for internet, but the signal was strong there. They have a billiards table and game tables in the office building. We would probably stay here again if we could get a cable site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Decided to check out Gunnison on our way to Zion National Park. Needed the road atlas to find this one, as our Garmin Nuvi couldn't locate it. Great place. Quiet and remote, but close enough to head into town. Staff was really outstanding. Very attentive. 'Old school' playground, but the kids loved it. Laundry room machines good. Good size lots, plenty of room for truck, chairs, awning, etc. Game room, and 'social hall' was great. This is a really great campground all around. Glad we found it. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
DO NOT ATTEMPT TO FIND THIS CAMPGROUND AT NIGHT! If it is your first time here, be sure to arrive well before dark, and proceed s-l-o-w-l-y down County Road 11 watching for the entrance on your right. This is one of the finest RV campgrounds I have ever been in, and highly recommend it to anyone who isn't a heavy Internet user (no Wi-Fi except around the office, though the cellular reception is quite good). Large, mature Cottonwoods (hint: don't come when they're shedding) make it a place of beauty, and shaded all day long. Part-time pond on the property. As former full-time RVers, owners are very friendly, helpful and understanding. I would give it a "10" except for the fact that I *never* give anyone a ten. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Nice shaded (really tall and big leafy trees), level sites. Owner drove us around to let us pick our site, then provided escort to site and help backing in. Utilities located where they should be, all in good repair. Just overall a well maintained park. We were in the back of the park, so Wi-Fi was marginal, but office/lobby has several big tables where we were welcome to set up and log-in as needed (free). Owners said they had a place to wash truck and trailer if we wanted to. They also sell propane on site. The entrance to the park is a bit awkward due to tree locations, but a slow careful approach will get you in safely. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
A very nice, well kept park with lots of shade and grass. A small stream flows on one side. Its a couple of miles north of town and very quiet. Owner was nice and helpful. Quite a few seasonal campers and a nice clubhouse. WiFi only available near clubhouse. Cable TV only in selected sites. Campfires allowed. Sites are more than adequate in size. Extra $ for 50 Amp. AT&T & Verizon work fine here. Lots of rules and a little pricy but all in all, a nice park for a few days stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
What a find. This place is great. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast every Saturday morning and the food is GREAT. 10 acres of land with 94 full hookup sites, 6 tent sites, 4 pop-up sites & 5 cabins. There are about 40 full timers but they are friendly. 50 sites have cable and 20 sites are on a stream. Close to town. Trees everywhere. Only drawback is you have to go to the main lodge to use the wifi. I would recommend it any and every body and I will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Probably the best bet in Gunnison. Just far enough out of town that you feel in the country, however, only two miles to groceries, gas and Wal-Mart. Easy access to all area attractions and a quiet shady campground. Easy to find and staff is very helpful. Sites are level and might be a bit crowded for some, but not necessarily that close. Lots of rules, but when you run a campground of this size, you probably get some folks that need some guidance. Would definitely recommend this campground and anytime in the Gunnison area, this would be the one to use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
A pretty place in the trees, nice for Gunnison but seemed expensive. Stayed one night for $34.72, no discounts. Clean restrooms, quiet area. Got parked in a tight site between cabins, not too thrilled. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com