206527 User submitted reviews online!!
Topeka / Capital City KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (785) 862-5267
CGID1165

Topeka / Capital City KOA

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   7   6   7   9   6   7   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
Bathrooms were very clean. There are a few long term residents and sites could be more level. They were working on this when we were there. It is next to a busy highway so you hear the traffic all night and day. There are 3 fishing ponds. There are a few campers raising or taking care of geese and there is goose poop everywhere. It is mostly gravel and when the wind blows, dust gets everywhere. Manager/Owners are friendly and helpful. Office was open in the afternoons. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
Clean and cute campground. Office staff was very nice. Site was gravel, but level. Cable and WiFi both worked well. It was a little tricky getting back to the interstate from this location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
It's OK for overnight. The road to get to the park is gravel. In the park the roads are dirt and rough. Site was fairly level gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Has long easy access sites, but very unlevel. Motor homes have their front wheels off the ground to get level! Camp is not well marked on the roads. Hard to find. But quite clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
Only a single shower, 1 for men and 1 for women were air conditioned. Plans are to condition shower building on other side of campground but not in place yet. Only 1 conditioned bathroom for each sex. Staff was very friendly and did their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The GPS guided roads into this campground are routed over very rough gravel roads. There is a concrete access, suggest calling campground to find out how to access, will definitely improve your experience. I wouldn't hesitate to return here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Very nice campground. Enjoyed meeting one of the owners. The bathrooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Had a well kept laundry room. Over all, this campground is well maintained and cared for. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$14
Before going here, get the directions either from KOA website or calling the park. Not heeding this will mean driving down a horrible gravel road for 1/2 to 3/4 mile in either direction. Mostly pull through sites (work kampers and permanents take up all but 3 backins). Sites that head Northwest are EXTREMELY skinny (tough with slides, your neighbors sewage and utilities were within 10 feet of your front door). Those that southeast or are by highway, have much more space. Everything is gravel, most sites had a slope towards the south, there is no pool. Camp staff is terrific, bathrooms were spotless, great playground, barn/rec area was spectacular. Rate is based on a monthly rate including electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Nice park for a short stay. No shade and most of the sites could use some leveling. Swimming is in a small pond. We felt that at almost $38.00 per night, was a little high. Nice staff and helpful with directions and things to see. Would stay here again if in Topeka. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
There were no signs on the highway or at the turn onto a gravel road indicating where the KOA was to be found. The park is filled with permanent residents. The dog area had a waste basket about 2 feet deep which was full to the brim. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is a nice KOA, a little off the beaten path. The sites are very big, wide and long with plenty of room to spread out. It is right next to a highway, but there was very little traffic and the evenings were quiet. There are a lot of long term folks in a separate section of the park, but everything was neat and well-kept. It's not a fancy place but it is a good place to stay in the Topeka area. The only drawback is the quarter mile of dusty, dirt road leading to the campground entrance. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$56
We liked this camp site a lot in general. The bathroom and showers were excellent. The cabin we stayed in was clean and the mattresses were clean and comfortable. The room had a TV with cable, a fridge, a microwave, dining table and a chair in it. The campsite had a nice game room, although the furniture was dated. They had a small weight room which was good and very nice swimming pond. The sites are close together, but the location to Topeka is great. We would go there again as it is easy access to the highway. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Crummy looking gravel and grass parking lot. Short, close sites. Shade only on the back-ins which appear to be mostly long term residents. Some highway noise, but not bad. Wi-Fi OK, cable very limited. Lots of biting deer flies. Not worth the price, but one of only two parks in the area with cable. OK for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
This nice, newer RV park is now named Capital City KOA. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. The WiFi internet was just upgraded, provided a good signal at the site and was very fast. Your GPS might route you over a dirt road, but don't worry, it isn't very long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Very Nice Park. Large pull thru sites, fairly level. Access from major highways on paved roads can be tricky, although a very new road, Wenger Rd, through an commercial park (distribution centers) helps. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
The staff was friendly and the park was neatly kept. The sites were a little bit narrow, so it was difficult to navigate. They have a large grassy area for pets that we enjoyed. Overall this was a nice park, and we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
This was a GREAT campground! It has great hosts! We would surely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
The check in staff was very friendly and provided very good suggestions for local sight seeing. We had a very level gravel space with a large grass area with picnic table and fire pit. The dog run, duck pond and swimming pond were wonderful. We only stopped off for the night on our way elsewhere, but will certainly stay here again in the future. The only reason we didn't give it a 10 was because of the freeway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$33
The campground is nicely landscaped and the owners were very nice and helpful. The road into the campground is pretty rustic - dirt and rutted. The campground is situated right off the highway, so there is a fair amount of traffic noise. The sites are very small with no tables and need to be leveled. For the price, we expect a little more for our money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We rank parks on three main issues. 1-the type of walking areas for dogs, 2-the size of the sites, and 3-cleanliness of the bathrooms. This park was fine. It wasn’t too expensive and it was fine for an overnight trip. I wouldn’t plan an extended stay here. The folks at the reservations desk were very nice. The grounds were neat and there was plenty of grass for the dogs to walk on. The bathrooms were clean. We didn’t shower here, however. The sites were terribly small and uneven. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Not great, not bad. Certainly not a great value; despite their recent KOA affiliation, there's nothing outstanding about the park's services or features. Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad place... but the roads and sites are unkempt gravel and unfortunately makes getting into, out of, and set up at the park a pain. Pretty close to both the US 75 and I-335 freeways so noise is a factor. I'd stay here again but wouldn't be my first choice in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Approx 1/2 mile entry road is gravel and not well maintained. Park is right next to a highway, but the road noise is not a problem. We were given the upper area and the ground cover looks like ground up asphalt with a hard pack under that. The top layer was soft and left ruts as you drove over it, our rig settled down a few inches. The owners were nice and very helpful. There is a lot of construction in the surrounding area and the park has many workers living here in various rigs. Some have been here for a while, but not a problem for anyone traveling through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
Most sites need some leveling. 1-6 is best for big rigs. You will have to unhook toads in them. Gravel sites with full hookups. WiFi is pay from a third party. Friendliest hosts yet. This is an excellent spot for overnight at a reasonable price. Price is with GS discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2005
$24
We were not impressed. Difficult to get to and interior roads were rough gravel having washed out from prior rains. Park is located in an open area at edge of town and has no shade. Many of the RV's appeared to have been there for some time as full time living (mobile home) vs. RV living. Many had a junky look with "stuff" sitting around them with older vehicles needing maintenance. Sites were very short and close. Also, not easy to level rigs without several pieces of cribbing being used. Parking tow vehicles next to RV left them sticking out in road. We stayed one night and will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$26
This is a convenient park to "overnight", handy to the interstates and to US75. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2005
$28
A little overpriced. CG is right next to US 75, fairly busy/noisy highway. We'd probably look for something else next time we're in the area. On-site managers very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2004
$24
Nice quiet campground in a rural setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com