220505 User submitted reviews online!!
USI RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (316) 838-8699
CGID1169

USI RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
79
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   9   1   8   10   10   1   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
For an overnight stop, or for staying in the Wichita area this is a really nice campground. It's not a destination park, but if you're just needing a place to stay it is great! Quiet but convenient to the highway. Very secure. The grounds are clean and well maintained with grassy areas around the periphery of the camping area. Playground equipment is new and nice for the little ones. Large grassy area for pet walking. And quite a bit of shade. The owners/employees are super friendly and helpful. We were very impressed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
A little pricey even with Good Sam discount but the gravel sites were level. Staff friendly. Strouds Restaurant within walking distance very good - pan fried chicken. Cable TV OK. Wi-Fi free but WEAK! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
A very nice RV park. The restrooms and showers were very clean, and the park hosts were super friendly and helpful. Good dog walking area and they were building a dog park area while we were there. Plan to stay there again next time we are in Wichita. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
The park is easy to get to & from Interstate 135 using HWY 96. The GPS took us from I-135 to HWY 254 onto local roads. Wouldn’t recommend that route. The interior roads and sites are gravel. The roads were not very wide and the turn radius were somewhat tight for larger RV’s. Most all of the sites were pull through but not necessarily long enough for larger coaches with their toads attached. There were only a few back ins. The sites were level as the park was built on flat ground. The sites were somewhat close to each other. They have full hook ups – water, electricity (50 AMP), & sewer connections. The connections were centrally located along the sites but slightly elevated so sewer flow could be an issue. There was an outside table. There were a lot of trees throughout the park so sufficient space to open slides could be an issue. Due to the amount of trees in the area, a clear view of the southern sky to get satellite reception could be an issue. We specifically asked for a satellite accessible site. They didn’t offer cable and there were only a few broadcast stations available. Their WiFi reception was good. There seem to be a lot extended stay residents everywhere in the park with a lot of clutter and encroachment on the roads. Although their map and facilities list included a fenced dog area, no such area existed. The designated pet area was a large grassy field with a waste collection station. The only other option to walk the dogs was interior roads. Not a very good option. The trash dumpsters were conveniently located to our site. They might have been a walk from other sites. We only chose this park for one night stay because of the negative comments posted about the other parks in the area. For the cost of this park, it didn’t meet up to expectations. If traveling through the area again and needed a place to stay for the night, we would NOT return. Should have picked one of the other parks. We paid $45.00 with our Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$44
Very nice park. Clean and level sites, but they are close together. Not a place you would go camping, but easy to stop for the night if heading south or north. Great customer service. Very nice staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$325
What a wonderful park! Staff is helpful, friendly, and eager to help with everything! Very family oriented! Great new playground equipment, lots of space for kids to play. Large pet area. Nice, clean shower houses. On-site laundry facility and propane. We have been here since March and LOVE this place!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$325
Great park - brand new playground. Great trees. The friendly workers in all of Kansas. The place is always clean, the restrooms are spotless. Huge pet area and close to everything. Very kid friendly, open areas for them to run and play, and lots of other kids to play with. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
When we got here, there were campers and trucks everywhere. Places are tight: hardly room to even park, much less sit outside and cook a hamburger. Lots of people living here, people walking through park with 3 or 4 beers. Camper next to us got in domestic fight. Campers are way too close together. We wanted to leave early and were refused a refund. They even charged us $8.00 a night for our 2 grandchildren to stay, and then they never stayed. Would not even refund that. The only good thing was the nice play ground equipment, but even with a no dog sign up, there was dog Waste. Never again and we visit Wichita often. We left and stayed in a motel, left the camper, but received NO refund. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Very friendly staff and a person escorts you to your site. All gravel and not necessarily level. Many permanent residents. A very clean park. Strong Wi-Fi. Located in an industrial area. Very easy to locate with GPS. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
Good campground, but sites are rather short and tow vehicles must be parked perpendicular to rigs, thus extending into driving lanes. Sometimes, it is a little tight to drive through. Also, can be tight entering or exiting a site if a vehicle is in the way. Watch tree branches overhead--most are fine, but some can be risky if you are not careful. New bathrooms and showers are very, very clean. In spite of the tight spots which are manageable, we recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Easy access from highway, the drives and lots are gravel. Some shaded lots, railroad close by so you will hear trains early in the morning (5:00 AM). Playground equipment is in much need of repair. The park is OK if you are just passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Seems friendly, drives and lots are gravel and some sites have shade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Staff was excellent. They were very helpful with directions both to the RV Park and to our destinations in the Wichita area. Staff assisted us with parking. Restroom and showers were spotless. As this was a holiday weekend and our reservations were made a couple of days earlier, we were parked in the overflow area. Not a problem. Site was very quiet, safe, and easily accessible. Appeared that there were many long term occupants, but the sites were all neatly kept. Very convenient to Wichita area. I would recommend this RV park - but would suggest making reservations as far ahead as possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Nice campground. It has gravel roads, sites. Very nice community restrooms with separate shower and toilet stalls. Very friendly staff. There is easy access to KS Hwy 96. Trains and road traffic in the distance. 1 Block from Hwy 96. There is good access from Hwy 69 to shopping, and food. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
This is an okay park. We called ahead and were told there were sights available, but when we go there it was full, The staff rechecked and had double booked so we got a place. It's all gravel and sights are very close together. Park seemed to have many RVs that were there for an extended time. We spent two nights but did go into Wichita for one day. Not much to do at the park. We would stay there again for over night only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
We have stayed at this park a number of times. It is a bit tricky to locate for a first timer. The entire campground is gravel without many amenities typically found in parks that cost this much per night. Further, the majority of the park residents are workers and full-timers which is an issue for those passing through. If it would be paved and having more amenities, one wouldn't mind the higher fee. I would stay here again as it is conveniently located off I-135. If I were to find another park in the Wichita area, I would definitely see what it offers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
Nice park-nothing fancy. All gravel, flat parking. Good location to explore city or collage. Easily handles large rigs. Friendly work camper staff. Many long-term rentals, but sites look OK and don't detract. Camping fee is high and doesn't include free WiFi. I get better rates by phoning than by internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Nice People and clean restrooms. Gravel spaces out in the middle for travelers. Most shaded areas for long term. Located in industrial area. Charge for Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Crowded city location but a nice basic park. Easy access off the four lane and quiet urban setting. Would stay here again overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$48
Location is good and staff are helpful. Camping is basically on a gravel parking lot. Park was mostly full of pipeline workers, so make reservations: they had a waiting list. July and August prices are high: $48 for over 35 ft RV. Website reservations are available, but a phone call will get you a better price if you have any AARP, Good Sam, etc., cards. Clean laundry, no pool. Big rigs, ask for row D. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
No shade for spots. Kids play area was an old wooden playset with nails coming out of it and would wobble when they would use the swing. Large area for dogs to walk. Staff would come around many times a day to check on property and chat with visitors. We stayed long term and rent was increased every month. Finally the last month we stayed here we got charged and extra $100 for having our children (but did not the previous 3 months). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
We stayed here one night. It was OK. The workampers were exceptionally friendly and helpful. As stated earlier, there are a lot of permanents and you have to be careful leaving. Parking for them is pretty much where they want to park. We will stay here again if in the Wichita area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Managers are fellow SKP's and are very nice. That is about all that I'll say nice about this park. Far, far to many full time residents. Driving through the park required a lot of twisting around rigs parked to far back or front and cars parked in the through lane. Park was full and the only space left was basically in the owners driveway. There were multiple hoses connected to the same bib so water pressure was low. The "pad" was level, 50 amp receptacle was cracked and loose and we were spotted three feet from the wall of the house. My biggest complaint is that they charged me $32.00 for the "Good Sam" rate for a parking spot in a driveway with low water pressure, cracked receptacle and no sewer. Getting out was no real joy either as we had to weave between overgrown, uncut trees. If we wander through Wichita again, we would rather stay in the abandoned storage facility next door. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
The people at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. Our space was tight, although there are wider spaces set aside for big rigs. Spaces were fairly level. Restrooms were clean and shower was roomy enough. Nice clean laundry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Very nice park. Paid for one night then decided on 2 nights. It's close to everything. Has a nice big dog area and very nice laundry facility. Used a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
This was a pristine campground and the bathrooms were very clean. We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We liked this RV park, and would recommend it. Our price reflects the Good Sam discount and we were also here four days. It is in a good location for the 135 freeway, and staff were super friendly and helpful. There is no cable, and they helped us move to a site to better pick up the satellite. The sites are long, level, and good gravel, which drains well in rain. There are nice shade trees for most of the sites. The bathrooms are very clean and well-kept as is the RV park itself. There is a very large grassy area for the pets as well. You are also close to shopping and other needs, and easy access to downtown or other areas for day trips. We certainly will stay here if we are again in Wichita. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$36
Neat and clean RV park, some road noise but not a deal-breaker. Price noted was for a 50amp, full hook-up, level pull-through site with a clear view of the southern sky for DirecTV. Thanks to a wonderful workcamping couple for the over-the-phone guidance on the best route in and for situating us in a nice long pull-through site. Was nice not to unhook the tow-car after a long day on the road. A perfect location for on and off I-35: however, if you are traveling Kansas turnpike-35, this park is too far for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
We used this park as an overnight stay on the way through Kansas. I feel a couple of the more recent reviews paint an uglier picture of the park than what I saw. The on-line reservation we made worked well. When we called to confirm it, we were greeted courteously. The site is gravel and, though I would not call the space as “roomy,” we got into it and out of it with no problem. It was level. There is some road and train noise, but it did not cause me a problem. I tend to expect it in a urban environment for a park conveniently located near major roads. We would stay here again if traveling through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This is the 2nd time we've stayed here. It is a nice, clean CG with lots of shade trees which help in the August heat. The site was very level with good hook-ups and 50 amp power. Yes, it is gravel but I didn't find that a problem. Good location for doing Wichita. The owners were pleasant folks and yes, they do run your card when you make reservations. Reasonably full so call ahead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This is the second time we have stayed here, only because my sister-in-law lives in Wichita and it is close to where they live. We will be here 10 nights; thank God we will be gone most of the time. We made reservations 3 weeks in advance. For the first time since we have been traveling (1 1/2 years, 42 States) the campground charged our CC the full amount that day...isn't there a law against that? When we questioned it, their comment was "we do this all the time" (comforting). They advertise "20 Quiet Acres"; they must think that the road noise that surrounds the campground, the nearby train and the jets flying over are silent! Interior roads are completely graveled and dusty with many permanent RVers. The site they gave us was overlooking a storage yard with a large heap of gravel, steel fence and variety of junk yard objects (picturesque). I’m hoping my sister-In-law moves away so we never have to come here again! I would have given them a lower score but the bathrooms and laundry room were clean! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Stayed for two nights and was not excited about park. Ads are not what is really there. Upon entering park there are flowers etc, but it is a huge gravel field with many full-time residents with lots of junk under/around their coaches. I was told they take extreme pride in their park when called for reservation, hum. Space was assigned did not give easy hook-ups nor leveling, I asked for another space but met confrontation from staff. I was not feeling good and it was getting ready to thunderstorm, making the whole situation not good. Was told to take space or leave it as they would not move me except to another smaller space between junkier older trailers with no shade at all. The work kamper man came and we finally got coach level so could reach sewer with long double attached hoses. Next to us on both sides were very junky trailers. At other end of park where I asked to be moved which was very level, cleaner was reserved for Big Rigs. Will never go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$36
It is a nice level campground. Easy access, and about the only campground in east Wichita. The staff very helpful and friendly. I think the price is high for the amenities available. No cable and Wi-Fi is extra. We have stayed many times and will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
The $27 reflects a weekly rate. The wi-fi is good but it is additional dollars. When you call for a reservation, make sure you are specific about what is needed. This was our second visit to this park and we stay here because it is the best park in Wichita when you are doing a quick visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$34
Nice north-central location right of Hwy 96 and Hillside. Compact rock but didn't seem to be a problem in leveling. Staff very friendly. I would have gave it a 10 but no concrete sites and they charged me for my two kids (+$4.00 each / day). But they were upfront about it: not hidden fees. I would stay again next time I am in Wichita. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
Easy to get to from I-35. Park wasn't anything special but OK for the one night we wanted. Big rigs OK but let them know when you call. Some traffic noise but overall a quiet, peaceful park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
Only 30 minutes of Wi-Fi is free -just enough to check e-mail and little more. The sites are fairly wide but quite short. No table at our site. The office tried to charge me for over 40 feet because I had a toad. This was the first time anyone had tried this on me. I objected and prevailed. This was our second overnight stop here, and we will probably stop again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
This was our second stay here in three years, and we were pleased that the campground is still well-maintained. There is a football-sized field of grass for dogs, and the location is easy on-off Highway 96, but far enough from it that the noise was not an issue. The park is all gravel, but sites were level. There are not many amenities here, but it is a safe, reliable campground, and we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
$28 rate based on weekly rate. This is the 3rd time we've stayed here, but the first time to post a review. I've read some of the previous posts, and disagree about the staff. Every time we have been here over the last 2 years, the staff has always been very courteous and helpful. Yes, the park is a large gravel lot, but well maintained. They were actually adding additional gravel during our stay. The sites are all suitable for big rigs and most are pull-thru. The staff escorts you to your site. We asked for a specific site this last time and they accommodated us. 50 amp power is good and water is city water and very good. WI-FI worked for all three weeks that we were here in April without a hitch. There are a handful of obviously permanent residents (maybe 10), but all are in modern and well maintained trailers and MH. There is an older RV storage lot next door that is not associated that may be part of the confusion. Local TV channels are transmitted from only 10 miles away so signal strength is very strong. We only heard the train (about 1 mile away) once during our stay, and that was because of unusual wind direction. Bathrooms, showers and laundry are very well maintained with newer equipment. Very conveniently located to Wichita and even though it's not to far off of the highway, this is a local loop, so night time traffic is minimal. Dogs on leash rule is enforced, and we never saw a stray animal during our stay. We have stayed in several other parks in the Wichita area, and this is now our first choice. Needless to say, we will return as we move through Wichita. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
Park is a gravel parking lot with hookups, like what is common in the desert southwest. There is, however, a small 20 ft. tree at most sites many of which could use a trim. We had to back out of a pull through to avoid contact. No CTV and very poor air TV. Our half hour of free WIFI did not work, which is only the 2nd park in last 50 where we could not connect with park network. Despite redundant separate dog rule handouts, every time we went outside, dogs were loose. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Some park owners have been in the business too long and have come to take their customers for granted and treat them like nuisances. This park owner fits this category. I really wish I had just left after the first day instead of spending a whole week there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
As others have stated, just a gravel parking lot with tight spaces. Location is back behind some buildings and we missed the turn even though we had the map from their website. Better signs would have helped. Evidently they've had problems with pets because we received a whole sheet of pet rules at check-in. Their policy states a pet deposit is required, but they didn't charge us even though I told them we had a dog. Otherwise, it was close to the interstate and OK for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
Previous posts are correct re: just a big gravel parking lot, near highway and train noise (all night), lots of full timers in old, ill-maintained rigs, near an industrial area. But, the manager of the place was also very rude. When we pulled in, the place was pretty empty, so I asked if I could select my site - the woman got extremely mad and asked who I thought I was. I said I didn't mean to offend her, I was just asking since they seemed to have lots of space. She told me we could just leave if we were going to ask for stuff like that - like what? I just asked, very nicely, to pick my own spot. You would have thought this place was an upscale resort or something. I will never, ever stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
This is the only RV park I would NEVER return to. Yes, it's a "Good Sam" and meets their basic requirements, but the people who run it are rule-rigid and unfriendly. Yes, you may have dogs, but only inside your rig or on leash outside the park. It seems primarily a place for long-term construction workers. It's certainly not a family spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$34
Large gravel parking lot with no defined streets or parking sites. Wifi free for only 1/2 hour. Good sam discount good for only one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$32
We spent one night here, only because it was close to friends home. Gravel parking lot with RV hook-ups and a few trees planted around in the lot. WiFi is not included as indicated, has charge after first 1/2 hr. Plus is that area is level and if you know your way around Wichita, is easy to get in to and out of, but not convenient to rest of town. We thought rate was out of line for a park with little to no amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
This is an ok overnight stop but I wouldn't want to stay here very long. It is just a large white rock parking lot with hook ups placed in it. It is in an industrial area of town and right behind a large storage company. The spaces are close and the only amenity was the WIFI. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Great staff. Had to replace a tire on motorhome, they helped locate a dealer and make arrangements so we were not delayed in our travel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Some sites are shaded but most are on plain rock without any cement pads. Some had tables where most did not. Noisy with train, freeway and industrial area noise. Fresh water smells like swamp water. Park needs serious upgrades and restrooms/facilities nearer to all of the RV park but the ones they did have were immaculate. Found most Kansas RV parks to be in need of more amenities rather than collecting money for few, if any services that are seriously overrated in Woodalls directory. This park is ok for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
We've stayed here numerous times - it is most convenient to east side. One of the cleanest laundrymats I've ever seen! Restrooms spotless. Train noise all night, due to switching yard close by, but you can shut it out if you keep windows closed. Hosts very pleasant and helpful. Reck room kept locked. Sites all gravel, with no patios, and a bit crowded, but we've been in worse. Have also been in better campgrounds that cost less. The best in Wichita, and very convenient to Highways 96 and 135. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$27
Stayed one night. Didn't have to unhook our truck and trailer. Has big rig sites. Didn't have train or interstate noise like the other post. They do charge a $1.00 extra for the Wi-Fi. I refused to pay extra for it since for 27 dollars a night it should be included in the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
Very nice campground. I like the fact that the whole park is rocked. Don't have to worry about mud. Nice meeting room. The help is very friendly We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$23
This is an ok place. There are a lot of people living here. The people in the front office were real friendly. We were on the road and made this an overnight stop. The main issue here is you have to get use to the train horns blowing all night and the interstate noise. I would not make this stop again because after 8 hours on the road I would like to get some sleep !!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com