223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Beech Bend Family Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (270) 781-7634
CGID1173

Beech Bend Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
314
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   3   7   7   2   4   5   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
This is an older park. I should have been warned when we phoned to find out if there were RV sites available and the lady replied "Yes, there are only about 20 RV down there." 20 RVs in a park with 300+ sites during the summer. We paid $40 because we wanted 50 amps. There are very few 50 amp sites. The first one we tried did not work. Some of the sites are not level. The roads are narrow and one way. The sites are narrow. The road layout and the map were difficult to follow. With the one way roads and maze of roads we had to drive around 15 minutes before we found a suitable site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Ugh: if we're ever in the area again we'll be camping somewhere else. Precious few sites available with shade and those that exist will be occupied by long-term campers. The rest of it is a glorified parking lot. Very confusing layout that does not match the campground map. Paved sites are narrow and utility hookups are old and/or in need of repair/replacement. The sewer hookup was simply a hole in the ground being held open by a rusty pipe. The best thing I can say about this CG is the bathrooms/shower facilities were relatively new, housed in a pole building. It was clean but evidence of low-budget fixtures and construction was everywhere. Office staff was very polite and helpful when I called and when we checked in, but I should have known better when they said we didn't need reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
I would not camp here again. I camped here due to the Amusement Park being on the grounds. That was a joke, one roller coaster and a few twist and pukes. The waterpark was fun until the rain stated and ended our day. The campsites were packed in like sardines but there were not many people here. Each site was pull through but on the grass with dips and holes in most spots. There are no fire rings and no place to really put a fire. When it rained (and it was heavy rain) many of the spots were soaked as there was no drainage. The restrooms were clean but there was no mirror in the ladies room. This was just not what my impression of it was ahead of time. It would be good for smaller kids wanting to go to the amusement part, and a one night stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
The pool is available in the amusement park for an added fee. There wasn't any hot water in the showers - maybe because of the flood damage a couple months before. We wish the addition to the water park would have been ready when we were there - it looks nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
The most glaring complaint is the lack of reliable electrical power. During the week we were at the RV site, power was lost several time on three different days. We learned that in some cases 9 to 13 30 AMP services, were supplied by 200 AMP,fused drops. The last day (and the last straw) we lost power about 4:30 pm and still didn't have power at 8:00am the next day. The heat index that day had been 105, per the local radio station. When we ask about when the power would be returned we were told, "it wouldn't be that evening". I ask if they meant wouldn't or couldn't and was told "it wouldn't". This was from a person standing in an air conditioned office. In my opinion, there is a big difference between can't and won't. Other complaints include narrow sites, shared water (bring your own "Y"), grass not mowed, standing water after rain, (some areas ankle deep with no means of draining), dated sewer hook-ups, no cable, poor WiFi service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
All sites are side by side so you better know the people you will be sharing the less than 10 feet between sites. Limited 50amp is $10 more than 30 amp! Every site in the main area is a pull thru, no matter which direction you come in. This is basically an RV parking lot for people who come to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
OK for short stay. Summer is very busy with water park, auto racing etc. Very loud with many small children if that is your need. We found park OK but somewhat dated and very loud during auto racing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Narrow sites spaced very close together. Too much long termed, traffic traveling too fast. Most sites are satellite friendly. The amusement park did not look too enticing but it was closed for the season anyway. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$32
We stayed here overnight. Beautiful grounds and great people. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Nice quiet park, paved sites and road. Will come back. We travel with a toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Way too many sites. Very narrow pull throughs and sewer overloaded. We were on a low site and our sewer overflowed. One day visit to the water/amusement park, wouldn't stay any longer than that. Park is too expensive, rides are no better than a small county fair. Not worth the price just to ride one nice wooden coaster. Cigarette butts, bottle caps and trash all over the ground. Staff mowed while we were there and unplugged our camper for several hours during the day while we were in the park. Needless to say, it is very hot in July. Don't plan a long vacation here. Pick you site very closely and hope there isn't a rally going on, unless you are there for a rally and you'll be just fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Roads to and in the campgrounds are narrow. Full hook up sites are mostly in full sun and are very narrow. Your neighbor's awning most likely will be touching your slide. If you can live without sewer hook-up, there are some pretty nice, wide shaded sites. As previously reported, lots of kids running unsupervised, not watching traffic, on bikes, 4-wheelers, golfcarts, etc. Campgrounds were clean and the staff friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Very busy campground with many activities. Road to campground was narrow and difficult for a large RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
We have just arrived home from our camping weekend at this campground, this was our second camping experience with this campground, and it will be our last. Our biggest problem with this campground is that there are unsupervised kids and teens invading the campground on 4-wheelers, speeding through the campground at a very high rate of speed and putting my, and other, young children who are supervised at risk of being run over. I have never been to a campground where there are 4-wheelers even allowed, let alone 4-wheelers and atv’s under the operation of young inexperienced and apparently unsupervised kids. My son who is 10 was run off the road while riding his bicycle, by a 4-wheeler being driven by a child not much older than he was. My daughter who is 7 was riding her bike and swerved to avoid being hit by an ATV and fell down and busted her 2 front teeth out and had to be rushed to receive emergency care. We went to the front entrance and complained as did the campers that were all around us, we were all told that someone would be right out to deal with the 4-wheelers, yet no one was ever seen. This campground is the loudest and most unruly campground we have ever been to as there were several groups of teens running around the campground in small groups trying to pick fights with each other, yelling and throwing gang signs, yet nothing was ever done about this either, even though several of us complained. We normally go to the Bowling Green KOA, but this time we wanted to come back to Beech Bend to enjoy a long weekend and swim, and enjoy the amusement park, needles to say this did not happen. And we will return to KOA when we choose to camp in Bowling Green from now on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Like others I expected a noisy place. A weekday night in the off season should be quiet, since it was pouring down rain everyone should be snug in their beds. Nope. Some individual was out puddle jumping in his atv at 11 pm to 1 am. Next day saw the atv...it was a 'workcamper'. Park isn't that bad. the sites are asphalt paved and there is grass. They are very narrow sites, but it's not intended to be a destination. VERY few 50 amp sites. Counting on the map we were given there shows fewer than 20 of those 300+ sites had 50amp. That would be an issue in summer. Yes the hookups are strange. They are set up so that pairs can face each other. The road could use some work and the registration building really could be a bit wider. This is about 8 miles off the freeway, about 3.5 of that on two lane twisty narrow roads, so plan for a daylight entrance. I wouldn't stay here in season or on a weekend ( raceway is part of this park ) but it's ok if Camping World is full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
If you are 70 and looking for a nice quiet place to spend the summer, keep looking. If you go through the roof every time a child walks through your campsite, keep driving. If you've got kids, especially if you have noisy kids, and you want to take them to an amusement park and camp nearby, this is the place. Chances are if you have children, you know children are noisy. Amusement parks and race tracks are noisy as well. The good news is that since the shade is scarce, you'll have to run the air conditioning, so you won't hear most of noise. It's a great park for what it is; a campground attatched to an amusement park. Expect children on all-terrain vehicles, golf carts, motorcycles, and bicycles. We had a great time. Beech Bend is one of the few privately owned amusement parks left anywhere. The amusement park is well maintained, and has some of the nicest staff anywhere. The best part is you can camp next door at their campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
This park has a large number of items, drag strip, race track, amusement park, splash lagoon, and other items. Road from 31W to RV park is very small and 2-1/2 miles long. You will pass a Camping World on way to park. All roads and sites are blacktop with some pot holes. Sites were level in most cases. You have some trees to park under. Site hookup's are odd at best. Use care at time you pick a site due to hookup's. The gate house is a trick to pass thru due to a small opening, look at the damage from other RV people. Free WiFi will work if you are close to laundry room. In laundry room you have a phone line open 24/7 and a high speed cable to hook up your laptop. Bathrooms were some what clean but need a lot of repair work. Couple sites are on Barren River but sites were not very good. AC power was not a problem in April. The AC power boxes need to be updated due to old age. Water pressure was very low and it was hard to take a shower at times. Heat would be a problem here in summer months due to all the blacktop in park. Best part was the loud noise off the drag strip on Friday night and race track on Saturday night with the loud PA system. Week days were noise free. I do not think we will return to this park in future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$25
We found this campground to stay in on our way home. We had no idea it was so far off the freeway. The road was narrow, but it worked. There weren't very many campers that night, but I wouldn't want to be there in summer with no trees and a parking lot atmosphere. It was OK and safe for one night. We won't stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
Road leading to campground is very narrow and curvy, but we made it with a 45 foot motorhome pulling a toad. Sites are also very narrow, but workable. Park could be very noisy if car show or race track or dragstrip being used. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
This has got to be by far the worst campground we have ever stayed at! The sites were in a big parking lot, close, no shade and no covers on some of the sewer openings. We had people at 2am riding motorcycles, mopeds, scooters, and cart carts thur the park. The people beside us running their gray water out on the ground. Little kids riding 4-wheelers and motorcycles everywhere! When we contacted the park office they didn't seem to care. This morning when we were getting ready to leave we found a scratch in our truck door. I know it wasn't there when we arrived! We will definitely not go back there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$20
We camped at Beech Bend for Memorial Day weekend. It was hot and the power was terrible. I was at the end of an electrical line, and the most power I could get at my rig was 90 volts. I had to either shut down AC, etc, or run the generator during the day. A friend of mine lost the circuit board on his fridge evidently due to the bad power situation. Lots of motorcycles, golf carts, four wheelers, etc. running around at all hours. One kid on a four wheeler nearly rammed the front end of my motorhome because he wasn't looking where he was going. We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$20
HUGE park with amusement park and raceway. Labor Day weekend was pretty full with mostly families. Close together on paved pull through sites, but plenty of spread out room under the huge trees, but without pavement to park on. Grass site was perfectly level. Only drawback was LARGE numbers of children and adults riding various motorized vehicles up and down the paved roads. In fact, one little girl almost ran into the front of my motor home, on her bicycle, after I had stopped, because I knew she hadn't seen me. Very loud motorcycles, motorized scooters, three wheelers, four wheelers, dirt bikes,bicycles, scooters, skates. Hopefully it was because of the holiday weekend. I would return. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2001
$20
We happened to stop over here during the annual Harley rally during the first weekend of October. The motorcycle noise continued until 3:00-4:00AM. We also heard what could have been a gun shot during this miserable sleepless night. We left early and will not return. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$20
Large campground with low-scale amusement park. Quiet, not too close to amusement park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com