223238 User submitted reviews online!!
General Burnside Island State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (606) 561-4104
CGID1176

General Burnside Island State Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   4   9   3   3   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
Weekday rate of $19 less 10% senior discount, tax included. We had a 50 amp, water, paved back-in site. Hookups tend to be in between sites and may need extra length to reach. A good selection of level sites. TV via bat-wing was poor, 4 PBS type stations, no networks. Verizon cell and broadband both very good. The water at dump station was either off or not working, used the site next to it to rinse hose. Golf course looked very nice, but weekday rate of $39.75 had us looking elsewhere. Dry county so BYOB; the End Zone ($ pizza & pub style food) and Gauthries ($$$ great steaks) in Burnside both serve but not on Sundays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
This was a nice state park, and practically empty mid week in mid-July. The sites were large, the park was quiet. There is a golf course at this park, but no swimming. The boat dock is massive and it was interesting to watch the activity of boats being launched. With the proximity to Lake Cumberland it was disappointing that there was no park access to the water. And there were no trails, no beach, no swimming pool, no playground. The washrooms/showers were newly renovated and very clean. We camped here mid-July during a heat wave. There is a waterslide park in nearby Somerset (20 minute drive). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Nice park at $18.90 per night in weekend with AAA discount. Sites are gravel and very level. Bathrooms and showers are clean, but why don't they realize you don't clean restrooms at 8 am! This is the most busy time of the day, duh! It was a nice quiet park until the trains started up around 7pm which was around the same time the stock car races started! The races ran until 11pm and the trains all night, about 2 every hour. But all through the mid west it was hard to escape trains. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
A clean park, but not much here. Misleading name (island). Sites close together and too open, very little shade, will not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
This is a beautiful park on the Cumberland River, but it is very low in excitement. If you are looking for a nice, quiet place to stay while you go to Cumberland Falls, this is the place for you. We had a nice pull thru site, but a lot of the sites were located side by side, which some people might not like. I would definitely stay here again. The golf course is closed right now, which was a disappointment, but is scheduled to reopen in 2008. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
I have to give this park an overall poor rating, because the quality is just not there, and most of the advertising is misleading at this time. First, it's not an island. It's a peninsula and barely that. The dam for the massive lake that forms the water barrier to Burnside has issues and therefore they are operating it a lower level for the foreseeable future (many years to come). Second, the golf course is being rebuilt and is not open...instead it's just a big muddy mess with lots of construction going on. Third, the pool is closed for "major mechanical issues" according to signs...no expected date to open. So, that leaves one with pretty much nothing to do in the park. The sites vary widely in terms of size and hookup availability. Many sites are suited only for smaller trailers, though we found a number that could handle our 37' 5th wheel. However, many of those are very unlevel. As was mentioned, all hookups are shared between 2-3 sites and some hookups are at least 50-100 feet from the RV due to the rocky terrain. Some sites are also very close to one another -- at one point the back-end of the RV on the site next to us was literally 3 feet from our living room slide out. We were there in the summer and boats were everywhere. Parking rules were definitely not enforced. The single site across from us had 1 RV as well as 4 cars and 4 motorcycles. We saw two sites down the hill that had 2 RV's total, but at least 4 cars and 4 boats. Next, when the park office closes you are all alone. The power went out one night due to a storm (tree fell on the line). I was up when it happened but had no one to call. As a result, the power was out for 9 hours; until they arrived the next morning and discovered it. Only took about 30 minutes for the power company to arrive and fix the problem. Bathrooms were filthy and only partly worked. The only reason I'm giving them a 3 is that we wound up with a decently level site, they had a nice children's playground and the hookups functioned properly. Other than that, it was not an overly pleasant experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
If you are not a boater, this is not the campground for you. The sites are very small and close together and most people have a camper, a truck, a boat and maybe even a tent on their site so you feel totally claustrophobic. When we arrived, we were informed that the pool was closed for major repairs and it was a very hot weekend. We ended up leaving two days earlier than we had planned. The campground is literally built on a cliff and you wouldn't even know that you're right near a huge lake. This campground needs some major renovations to improve the facilities and enlarge the sites to fit the size of today's campers. Some restrictions as to what you can have on your site as far as number of vehicles, etc. would also help!! We would not return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$16
For being in the heart of the bluegrass state, this park was somewhat of a disappointment. The scenery was not much to speak of at all and the park did not have enforcrd parking rules. One campsite had four vehicles plus the RV. The central area of the campground was a mix of tents, RV's, cars, tarp covers, and boats. Some sites were occupied by a boat. It was not clear if the boat belonged to a tent camper or an adjacent RV'er. Regardless, it was not occupied by an RV or a tent. Most of the sites have shared hook-ups. Unless you know exactly what site you're going to have, don't show up with anything less than 50 feet of water hose. A few sites would require at least 75 feet of hose! One usually doen't expect this for a landscaped campground (mostly grass and a few trees). We camped here on a Saturday night, which apparently is race night at the nearby race track. On a more positive note, the activity program was fun for both kids and parents. The kids made a craft in the afternoon and we all returned later in the evening to play Bingo. The fact that the kids really enjoyed the activities really saved the whole stay. (Rated 4) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Stayed here two days. The park is on an island with a 18 hole golf course. We did golf. The course was nice, very sloping. The drive back into the park where the sites are is hilly. The sites are good size and among trees. We have a 32' motorhome and were pulling a trailer. The golf course and park employees were great. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com