219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Avila / Pismo Beach KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (805) 595-7111
CGID11766

Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$71



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   9   4   6   7   6   3   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$71
Overall, I found this place to be just OK. On the plus side, it is near Avila Beach and right next door to (walking distance) the Avila Valley Barn, which has fresh produce, outstanding baked goods, local preserves, honey and such, and a ton of barnyard animals for the kids to admire and learn about. It's one of our favorite stops along the central coast. The campground is pretty average though in my opinion. Spaces are tight even though I have a small travel trailer and requested and paid for a larger site. I like to have a little space around my rig so the kids and dogs have a little room to run around. Plus, I don't like opening up all the curtains in the morning only to find myself staring at a bunch of ugly RV graphics on the rig next door. That pretty much summed up the view we had out of three of the four sides of our trailer. Mercifully, we had a grass area off the back the provided a little "outdoor" scenery from our spot. What really annoyed me though was the lack of detailed information on the KOA web site. There was no site map or a list of the rules so having never been there before, I had to choose what seemed to be the best area of the park for our needs rather blindly. Upon check-in though, I was provided with a very nice printed park map. Why they can't post this to the web site so guests can review it in advance is beyond me. It's 2013 people! Then I was provided with a list of rules "as long as my arm" and it was then that I discovered that the grassy area behind our spot, which I paid extra for, did not allow dogs on it, at all. Not even if we were walking from the site to the pet area, which turned out to be about as far away from us as it could be. We did not use the on-site restrooms, showers, laundry or other services so I can't comment on these. We only stayed overnight before moving on so our needs were pretty simple. Overall, an average place for the price. More information on their web site to allow guests to get a better idea of the park's layout and rules prior to arriving there would have gone a long way towards a better experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
Small quiet park. Sites are back to back and real close side by side. Nice staff, some grass and trees. Not close to any eating places, but can drive to close beaches and food. Easy in and out to freeway. It is a mite overpriced for the park facility, but you are paying for what is nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
We had to be in Pismo Beach for a family event, and this RV park was recommended to us and glad we took their advice. It is located close to Avila Beach which is a great place to see. The washers/dryers were clean, moderately priced, and the restroom/showers were also very clean. Being so close to the beach and having a minimum of asphalt creates areas where sand is tracked in. We chose to be in a small site, but will definitely choose to park in a larger site next time, just for the room to put out more chairs. We enjoyed watching the children play as we walked around the park, and when taking our small dog to the dog area for exercise. This is a convenient, clean, friendly staffed, easily accessible, and dog-friendly park. We did not go the local market nearby, but will next time in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$43
This park is located very close to Avila Beach which is a great beach for kids. The park has a large bathroom/shower/laundry building. The washer/dryer cost per load was posted on the door, but it was not accurate and cost $.25 more. Had to go back to the site and get more money. The women's bathroom and showers did not appear to be cleaned during our two night stay. Only two of the six stall doors to the toilet stalls closed, so only two functioning stalls. The back-in sites are very close and our tail end was only a hand's width from the other tail end of our neighbor. Sites are gravel. The cable was fuzzy so could not use to watch the Olympics. Daughter was very disappointed. The pool and the spa were very nice and were the best feature of the whole campground. We did not experience any issues with freeway noise. We would not camp here again unless there was nothing at any of the greater SLO state parks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$37
Fine for 1 night and doing your laundry. Not very cheerful campground and very dusty. No restaurants in walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$46
This is a fabulous place to take children since there’s a fenced pool and enough space to ride bikes. Kids are every where. The park is literally right next to the freeway (you can see the tops of the trucks going by) so noise is constant; however, you get used to it. It is particularly kid-loud in the RV spaces next to the pool. This is a dog-friendly park. Dumpsters are emptied really early – 6:30 a.m. or so. The RV sites are tiny: about the width of a 2-car driveway. The park is conveniently located. It has strong WiFi. Also, there’s a mini farm with a free “petting zoo” type of atmosphere right next door (a short walk away) where you can buy produce, hot dogs, and treats, and also pet goats, sheep, a pony, etc. While we prefer nearby El Chorro Regional Park because it has large sites, privacy, costs less, and it is super quiet, we would stay here again if El Chorro were not available and if we couldn't find a site at one of the nearby RV parks in Grover Beach and area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$53
This park became a KOA about a year ago, and they are making lots of improvements. But the sites are definitely too close together! We were assigned site 74, and found that we were unable to fully extend our patio awning because it would have hit the neighbor's rig! In addition, the sewer, water and electric for our neighbor, ended up being right in the middle of our patio area, so we were unable to use our table for outdoor dining. With our windows open, we could clearly hear the TV and conversations of our neighbors on both sides. We complained to the manager, and he was extremely cordial and apologetic. He offered to move us to another site, but since our stay was short, we decided to just make the best of it for 2 nights. All of the staff we encountered were very courteous and friendly. Improvements are being made to the landscaping, restrooms and overall appearance of this park. We probably won't return to this park due to the small sites, but for smaller rigs, it is very satisfactory. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2011
$54
The appearance of the park has improved since KOA has taken over and the location is ideal. The management is not friendly, and kids have to be held on a tight leash.The spaces are very small. If all you need is a sleepover spot it's OK, but there are a lot of parks in the area that would make your stay more enjoyable We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$54
We have been using Ocean Canyon for several years. We have camped here 4 times this year and I have to say that since Reynolds signed on with KOA, the park is in better shape that we have ever seen it. Old trees taken out, brush cleaned up, wash room open more hours and the store has some items in it other than a bunch of "pirate crap". Tom Reynolds should be proud of the job that these KOA managers are doing. Unlike most KOA's, WI-FI is on a pay for basis and the cost is pretty high, about $9 per night on a daily basis. Options are nightly, weekly or monthly. Upside is the internet is fast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
This is an older park that is new to the KOA. If you are used to KOA's amenities don't assume that this park will have it. You will have to pay for internet per day or by the week. You also do not get a grill at your camp site. The host does not back you in, or guide you. You are on your own unless you ask. This seems to be normally a KOA standard. The spots have no grass and are all gravel. Most spots are back in and are very tight. The park was virtually empty yet they clustered all the RV's together, and would have 10 spots empty that you could pull through but would assign a back in. They do not give any extra room to park. Make sure you add 8 feet to your trailer size to get a little extra space in your spot. The person behind us literally was 12 inches from our back bumper. Other than that it was all about location, location, location. Not a place to hang out, but to do lots of tourist stuff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
WARNING. The sites are very very close together and it is hard to drive through and set up because the park is tight. The pool was closed for repair and they didn't have any ice cream in the middle of August because they "ran out last week." Do not let the pictures on KOA's site fool you as only one spot has the landscaped site. We were threatened with being kicked out because I complained about the pool. The staff is very rude and unwelcoming. Also if you have to stay in this area I would recommend Avalia beach as Pismo beach is very dirty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
Smallest spaces, we have ever seen. Truck barely fit on side of rig. Luckily we were able to pull through the rear site because there is no way we could have made the tight 90 degree turn into space from the narrow road way. Laundry was open only on certain weekdays, not week-ends. Good news is that it was close off highway and San Luis Obispo. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$1
Contrary to some other reviews we found this facility well maintained and pleasant. Rules are enforced which is good. We were there when a terrible storm came through. Lots of limbs and pine needles caused a major clean-up for staff but things were cleaned up quickly. Close to CalPoly and SLO and Avila Beach. Would stay here again even if the sites are close together. Used our ROD membership for a "no cost" stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2008
$1
This is a private, membership park behind the Avila Hot Springs. Ocean Canyon is a Reynold's Resorts park. Overall the park is fairly clean and restrooms/showers are well kept and clean. The pool is clean and the spa works sometimes. This is an older park that needs some serious updating although it appears the owners are doing some minor repairs and updates from time to time. The BIG problem is that the spots are VERY close together so getting anything over 30' in will be tough as pretty much every spot is back-in. If you have slide-outs on both sides. Good luck. And, forget about opening your awning if you have a neighbor RV with slides on that side. Getting out of the park is even worse. The exit from the park is so tight that RV damage or tow vehicle damage is common, especially if someone is using those pesky cabins next to the exit and parks their car adjacent to it. The staff routinely says those folks have to park there since there's no where else for them to park. Yes, it's that tight in this sardine can of an RV park. They seem to be getting rid of camping spots and adding those cabins more and more. So, less RV spots and more of those cabins. Sad, but true, this is a membership park with Reynold's Resorts and Resorts of Distinction. Your best bet is to keep driving past this train wreck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
Disappointing. Avila Beach is a beautiful area and we loved going there, but this campground was very small. The sites were stacked on top of each other! The campground looked more like a dealership lot than a RV park. The campground was not located near anything you would like to go to (beach, town, etc.). The pool area was nice and the staff was friendly. What's really SAD about this situation is the fact that this is a public/membership park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com