223325 User submitted reviews online!!
General Butler State Resort Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (502) 732-4826
CGID1179

General Butler State Resort Park

Camp Information
Sites
111
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   2   7   7   8   7   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
Stayed for an over-nighter. Campground is close to a main highway. Noisy. Otherwise, average state park. Jungle-gym and swings for the kiddies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
We stayed here for the first trip of 2014 during a nice weekend in March. We have stayed at this park before and loved it. Much to our surprise on arrival, they have basically cut down all woods in the park due to emerald ash borer. Its so disappointing to see all the trees gone. The nature trails are gone, and the park will never be the same. All the big logs were taken to the mills and the remaining tops and brush were all left in the woods. The dozer used to drag trees has the ground so torn up and muddy that this year will be a write off. To top it off the lake was lowered over the winter for dam repair and its basically now a big mud puddle. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
If you want to camp very close to civilization this is a great campground. They also have a very nice playground - or two. There are a lot of things for kids to do - which is nice. The sites are pretty close together, but overall it was a nice campground. The bathhouses are not updated and are basic state park bathhouses. There are only two showers per bathhouse and they are not fancy by any means, but there was hot water. We stayed in site 63 which is next to a trail with a lot of traffic and the water hookup was very far away. We were glad we brought more than one hose to reach that far. However, it is still a beautiful park! We will definitely camp here again with our children. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
Pretty camping place. Lots for the kids to do. Bathrooms/showers were clean but not well stocked (grant it, it was a holiday weekend). Sites are close together. Picnic tables were in the grass and mud. Swimming pool was at another location. Overall it was nice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Stayed at site 87. Reserve America says a 41ft vehicle could park here. We have a 34ft TT and it was very difficult to get out TT into our site. This state park was constructed before the advent of larger campers/motorhomes with slides. The roads are narrow and and sites and not extremely deep so be careful if you have a larger rig. Also, not all sites have sewer, only about 10-20 of them. Now for the good parts, our site was totally shaded, and I really liked our great view of the woods. Lake is nice, hiking trails nice, and playgrounds at the campground is nice. They have putt-putt, small boat rental, and a pool. The pool cost $5.00 a day, and is free for campers from 4:00-6:30. We elected to pay the $5.00 fee and use the pool whenever we wanted. We will be back. Great park, fully paved and well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$23
Stayed for one night while traveling. Some premium sites have sewer hook ups for $26 . The water and electric sites are $23 but some discounts apply, so check if calling ahead. The sites are nicely spaced, and the setting is very nice. There is some minor road noise since it is not far from the highway. The first site we hooked up to had a short in the electrical box and we moved to another site. Picnic tables are old and some ground maintenance may be needed. No one at the gate or camp host available for information. Good for short term stay if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
This is one of are favorites. Huge big trees make for some very shady sites especially the loop from 94-111. Some sites can be tricky if you have slides, or awnings. Nice hiking trails, and a 50 acre lake. The lake is down right now due to a leak in the dam though. The bathrooms were dirty, but we use the facilities in our TT so I couldn't care less. The grass was a little long too. Looks like everyone is suffering from budget issues. Very nice park with strong electric but low water pressure. Dump station was under repair while we were there. Wifi is now available for a fee. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
Great Autumn hiking at Gen. Butler. Campground was mostly deserted. Never did spot a ranger. Good but steep trail leads directly to the Lodge from the CG. Other trails continue to the historic home. A Lake Loop also connects to CG. Looks like sites would have plenty of shade in the summer. We will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
Nice park, we camp here 3 to 4 times and year. Real friendly staff that goes out of there way to make sure your stay is good. We be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
Nice park for spring or early fall camping. Summer heat is too much for no waterplay. Pool is at the lodge & available for free from 4:30-6pm (which is usually when storms pop up). The beach that is advertised has been closed for a while, & there is no swimming in the lake. Paddle boats/canoes are available for rent but are $20 per person per hr rental. Too much in my opinion. Campsites are spacious & fairly level. There are some full hook up sites, but those seem to be closer together. For shorter stays, I'll take the space over convenience of sewer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
Another GREAT Kentucky State Park! No trouble getting our 40 ft motorhome in, but some spaces are tight when parking a tow or vehicle pulling a trailer. Lots of trees and we were pleasantly surprised to find 50 amp service at our site when ReserveAmerica.com stated only 30amp was available. Good internet & cell phone connection through Verizon. Golf course was fun & priced right but did need a bit of work. Camp host went door to door to tell everyone of a severe storm approaching & where to seek shelter. There were activities for kids, too. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
I don't remember how much it was to camp but I think it was around $25.00 a night, we were here for a family reunion. The camp site was clean and spacious. There was a pool but it is not at the campground, it is at the lodge. There is suppose to be a charge to use the pool but no one at the pool to pay. The restrooms were clean but there were not enough restrooms and not enough showers: you had to wait your turn. About a 25 minute wait for a shower both days we were here, for both the men's and women's shower. Nice playground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
Another very nice Kentucky State Park. The pool at lodge is wonderful and free for RV Park campers from 4:30 to 6:00PM. Otherwise $5 a day. There is a fun 9 hole golf course, but maintenance suffering due to budget cuts. We stayed a week and enjoyed it. Plenty of fast food, Super Wal-mart and Kroger nearby. It is minutes from the Ohio River. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
A very nice State campground. We stayed in site 87 and it was very nice. All paved and easy to get into/out of. Trash dumpsters well away from any camp sites. Both shower houses were clean. Plenty of hot water for showers. Put-put golf was available. Staff was very friendly, as was the campground host. It's very quiet at night and we enjoyed this campground. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
We camp here several times a year since it's convenient for week-end camp trips. This is a very nice park and campground. Sites vary in size, some are tight and others have a lot of room around them. It is always packed and hard to get a good site at the last minute. They have many activities planned for kids on the week-ends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$19
This is a very convenient state park located just a few miles North of I-71. The park is very attractive and is in a partially wooded area. The shower, restrooms, and support facilities were excellent. The park has a significant drainage problem during heavy rains. The dumpster was not located in a convenient area and had trash overflowing. This should not happen on a week day. The park personnel were most helpful! WalMart and Kroger are within 1 mile along with various restaurants. It is also near the Kentucky Speedway. We would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
Very well run state park campground. We also enjoyed using one of the new full hook up campsites. Staff and campground manager are very friendly and really do a great job. Very clean and well taken care of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Nice park with a 9 hole golf course and minature golf for the kids nearby. Be careful when making reservations as many sites are tent friendly only, and the reserve america site doesn't show it. I suggest calling the CG directly before making a reservation to be sure you will fit into site. We stay here several times a year. It appears they are adding sewer hookups to several sites also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
This is a very nice and clean place. Restrooms are clean but primitive. The campsites are very nice. Pool is only for resort/hotel guests. Campers can only swim at designated times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
Very nice, small campground. Most of the people who camp here are repeat visitors and very friendly. There are some nice hiking trails. If you don't feel like cooking, the food at the lodge is very good and not expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
The showers aren't cleaned regularly, mold! This is a gorgeous park and the campground is the nicest we have stayed at so far. Paved pads and a spacious layout gives you the ease of setup with a feel of being in the forest. The park's amenities are great, plenty for kids and adults to do. The campground staff is wonderfully friendly! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$21
Spent the 4th of July weekend here. The park was full, but our family had a very nice time. There were lots of activities and the staff was very friendly and nice. The pool is for lodge guests only, but there are set aside times for campers each day. We saw lots of wildlife and the playground and other amenities were very nice. The restrooms were also kept clean and there was security around consistently. The park map shows a beach on the lake, but it is closed and grown over, the water is pretty mossy and green. There is also a train ride for the kids, several playgrounds with new equipment, and boat rentals at the lake. My only complaint is that the site description on the web described the site as level. However the site sloped from front to back and there was a steep drop down from the pad about 20 feet to where the picnic table and firepit were. Next to it, there was a ravine. This was difficult for our children who are 9, 4 and 2. There are level spots in the park, we just weren't very lucky. We will go back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
We stay one night and that was one night too long. We called one day ahead for reservations, which they took. We were worried if they could handle a 39 foot fifth wheel. We were told the size didn't matter, they had sites that would fit us. Arrived at 3 pm just ahead of a big thunder storm. Were told which site was ours just minutes before the office closed. No one help us park. We pulled up to the curved pull through site which had tall trees on either side. As soon as my D started to pull into it I knew we would not fit as the trees leaned in and would hit our Fifth wheel. My D tried to back up but the wheels on our REV fall off the black top into 2 foot of soft gravel. It took 3 hours in the rain with tow truck to wiggle out of there and find a back-in site. The park manager was as helpful as possible, but couldn't do much but waive the nightly fee. He did acknowledge that we should not have been given that spot. The person just didn't know any better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Excellent paved state owned park. Sites large. Needed 50ft of hose to connect water — seems like the norm. Paved level driveway with dense grade gravel dust to step into--no concrete pads. Were not able to park rig and 31 ft TT on the driveway. Seems like all driveways are of this length or shorter— a problem if towing with a 40 ft motor coach or a camper. Two playgrounds with new play equipment. Bathrooms are basic campground quality (brick and mortar) but clean. No pools near by or elsewhere in the park for lodge guests. Lake access is limited— better to drive to the picnic area to fish. Kids had fun with plenty of campers in the area but well controlled. Price included 6 of us less AAA discount. Beautiful, clean, well liked campground with rock bottom price for your money. Excellent camp ground that is not too rustic but yet not too noisy and festive either— super compromise. Will come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$18
Nice clean park. Stayed on labor day weekend. Enjoyed the free campground activities. Anytime that we are close we would stay again. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
This campground is so nice. It's sites are wooded and shady. Personnel are very courteous. Noticable upgrades have been done to this park. Activities abound for all. Heavy presence of park ranger and park personnel. Very enjoyable experience. Except for the tent caterpillar invasion!!! See ya soon!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2004
$20
Always come back for easter. Its a nice developed park. Gets crowded for holidays. The golf course is well maintained and beautiful. The pool is up at the lodge and may be free or a fee to use. Its always a nice relaxing place to stay! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$14
A nice, clean wooded park. The water & electric was shared between 2 sites(some sites would need hose and extention cords of close to 100'). Sites were large and paved. Some would be very difficult for a big rig. Trees had been trimmed very well, so no problems for tall vehicles. Campground is part of resort that offers golfing, children playgrounds, minature railroad, walking trails, dining (we were told it was very good), rental cottages, tennis & basketball courts and a lodge. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com