206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Florida Gateway Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (386) 792-2692
CGID11888

Florida Gateway Resort

Camp Information
Sites
220
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$80



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   3   8   10   10   10   2   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$80
This campground has a lot of potential but it fell short in several areas. Here are the pros: premium sites have nice patios with BBQ, fire pit, furniture, and most had hot tubs ($80 rate we paid), easy off highway but quiet for overnight stop, easy to maneuver our big rig to site, pool (empty during our visit) and pond with sand beach and small playground, minimal traffic so kids can ride bikes safely Now (sadly) for the cons: everything in the resort is half-finished (like a grand project that ran out of money/steam) standard sites are basically grassy field with hookups, bathrooms poorly designed with water running everywhere, hot tub lukewarm and outdoor sink plugged, rough 1 mile road entry (not a problem for our rig, but passing another big rig would have been scary with swamp on either side) I would potentially stay here again, but with a few caveats. I would only stay in the premium site, especially if coming in after hours. That being said, for the price, it's hard to justify as an over night because I wish we had more time to enjoy the peaceful setting, walking and riding around, and using the hot tub/grill/patio that we paid for (and that the hot tub was actually HOT)...otherwise don't think it's worth $80. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
Very clean quiet park. As mentioned before the road in was narrow and very bumpy, but not the fault of the campground (county road). We got here after dark and the package for our spot was there ready for us and was easy to find. Not very level site, but that could be due to the darkness and not being able to see properly. Hookups all worked very well. We stayed two days and would stay again. Rate reflects Passport America We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2014
$21
This park was cheap enough but don't let the brochure or website fool you. Most of what they brag about having They Don't Have. No pool, no horse back riding or stables, no water slide, no paddle boats, and no Direct TV. It is as if someone had a brilliant idea and then lost interest. No paper in any of the restrooms. They did have free washer/dryer but only one that took an hour a load. The sites are in a big field, no trees. If the park was full you would not have any space at all. No picnic tables or fire pits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$26
This is a very nice park as others have stated. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Outside of the park there are not a lot of attractions. Jasper is a very small town with not a lot to see or do. The next biggest town is Live Oak (WalMart, Lowes) a museum and some antique stores. IMHO a 'resort' should have enough activities to keep it's guests with more things to do and not enough time to do them. They did away with PA in favor of their own program, not really interested as we probably won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$80
We recently spent 3 nights in a premium site and were very impressed with everything. The reservation staff and front desk staff were friendly, efficient, and helpful. The breakfast we had both mornings was excellent and surprisingly very reasonably priced. The amenities of the entire resort are awesome. The "bathhouse" has individual washroom facilities that are not only spotlessly clean but also very well appointed. We have already confirmed our 2 night stay in April on our return to Canada. We are looking forward to another great stay at the best RV park we have experienced in all our travels. Remarkable! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
This is an excellent spot to spend some time. We could only stop for the night after a tire blew. The staff was very helpful in obtaining tire service. There are sites with hot tubs even, and very well cared for grounds. Passport America too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
A beautifully landscaped Resort made up of 50 acres with walking trail, relaxing ponds, lodge with store and kitchen, laundry, clubhouse, mini-golf, biking, hiking, fire rings, fishing, horseshoes, ice, nature watching, picnic tables, playground, propane, restaurant, security, shuffleboard, and lawn tennis. A swimming beach on a little lake that has treated water with fountain spray in center. This was just an overnight for us, but we would have loved to stay longer and will soon. The premium sites included a Hot-tub, large BBQ and a couple of large tents for insect free outdoor eating, or just relaxing. Our price reflected Passport America discount and was a regular site. It was level, grassy, and large with plenty of sky for satellite reception. Free WiFi was strong and fast. We enjoyed this park immensely and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Rate reflects an RV show purchase. We booked a Premium site for this Labor Day weekend, back in January at the Florida RV show, as they had a special rate. Premium sites include: hot tub, outdoor grill, outdoor kitchen wash area, private fireplace, private gazebo. Our reservation got lost. They ended putting us on a premium site that was missing the gazebo and nicely landscaped area. Our site was right behind clubhouse. Nice, but not what was promised. Pool was green, and not working. Asked about pool and was told they are saving money to put in an inground pool. They did not have any planned activities for Labor Day weekend. No horses to rent. Was told they needed 24 hours advance notice. No horse wagon ride at night: same notice required. Outdoor kitchens are available only on beach side, premium sites. Yes there is a lake but had fish in it and smelled bad. No paddle boats. There is one volleyball area in nice, white sand base. There is a home made, mini putt putt course. Could not find any nature trails. They have golf cart rentals, but do not know why you would need one. Laundry area is in the back rest room area and there is no cost to use. The swim spa jacuzzi was the best since there is no pool. Everyone was using this as the pool. They say Wi-Fi is all over the campground, but was not able to connect. Only able to use Wi-Fi in the clubhouse. Direct TV is only available in the premium sites and cabin rentals. However, when I asked for it, they had a guy run a cable to our camper. They have a cafe, but things are a little pricey. They have an outdoor bar, but serve beer only, at $3.50 a beer. Premium sites go for $80 a night, but one can negotiate to $40. Not worth $80. Grass sites go for $40 a night. Cabin rental is $100 a night. We rented go carts for the VIP rate of $20 an hour, but it was supposed to be $40 an hour. The kids enjoyed these. Park did have a waterslide inflatable that everyone enjoyed. Would only stay here again if price comes down. I would not buy the package membership they offer, as you ask 3 different people the same question, and you get 3 different answers. Check in was not welcoming at all. Had to wander through the club house and not one person said, "Hello, can I help you?" Place has potential but it is a little over priced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We stayed on one of the beautiful premium lots for 9 nights. The lot amenities are something we have never experienced at an RV resort. It was equipped with a nice jacuzzi, gas grill with smoker, sink, benches with fire pit, table & chairs with umbrella, carpeted patio, trash can, landscaping with mulch, hammocks! Your site is cleaned every day (trash emptied, grill cleaned, jacuzzi serviced, patio swept). The owner's live on site and asked us regularly if we were having a good time and if there was anything that we needed. Currently there is a lined sand pool with waterfall and beach to enjoy in lieu of an inground pool, but the inground pool will begin construction very soon. The bathhouse was very clean and there was no charge to do laundry. There is also a cafe inside open for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor tiki bar area where food is also served. Florida Gateway offers membership packages and also premium lot investments. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning, especially once the pool is ready! This resort will be a 10 when the pool is completed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
This is a PPA park: barely worth the $20. Entrance is down a one mile bumpy dirt road. Spaces are in a grass field with no shade. Has long sites but very narrow. If another rig is parked next to you with slideouts, you probably can't open your awning. No picnic tables. Park Wi-Fi is very weak, but Verizon or Sprint are good. Better than staying at Wal-Mart due to the full hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
To start, I would definitely stay here again as the positives out-weigh the negatives. Positive: drive-thru, deep, grassy sites with full connections including wi-fi, only $20 with Passport America, very close to I-75 and not far from I-10. There are also some premium sites available that are beautifully landscaped and a bit larger, but these do not fall under Passport America. Some have private Jacuzzis. There is a small above ground pool on one side and a small, sanded swimming lake/beach with fountains on the other side. We did not use either. In the back of the property is another small lake/pond. They also have miniature golf, and shuffleboard. There is a clubhouse with a deck and fountains and a small restaurant. The food looked good and was reasonably priced, but we did not try it.. Negative: No shade at any of the sites. The road in is a dirt road. They are near I-75 and you can hear it. We attempted to use the Jacuzzi, but it was not working. No sign was posted, but the water was cold and the walls were down to expose the plumbing. It was disappointing. It would be nice if they had told us when we arrived. The office support is not very good. They give you lots of printed material on the resort, but they should include local businesses, Walmart, any restaurants, etc. Some info on their wifi would have been nice. We did not take their satellite receiver box as we had our own, but we could not connect. We still had to setup our own dish. Maybe they could have given us some direction on how to use their dish with our personal satellite receivers. The staff just lacked customer service skills, with the exception of the very sweet lady that cleans for them and took some time to help us. They have potential to become a first class resort with some changes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
Absolutely beautiful facility. Nice wide grassy areas with plenty of space between campers. There is construction going on to make this facility more resort like. Quiet at night. We stayed in a 40 ft rig with two puppies. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They are running a restaurant with delivery on site. We felt like we were in a resort. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$40
My husband, 2 kids and my mother have stayed here at least 3 different times and it is the best park around from the staff to the cleanliness and almost every amenity imaginable. It makes for a wonderful stay. Just when you think it could not get any better, they add something new and exciting. You have to see it to beleive it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Close to freeway, beautiful landscaping around clubhouse, nice big sites, easy pull-through. But, we got to our site and set up, only to discover that the TV cable didn't work, called office, which was closed, left message and was called back with the info that they didn't give us the modem to make the cable work because they were out of them. There are about 75 sites here and we were only one of 5 campers in the park. Our neighbors didn't get a modem either. No staff on site at night. Key for internet only works on the slowest connection. Club house closed at 5. Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Florida Gateway Resort is a great place to stay. Staff is very helpful and the park is very clean. We stayed in our RV for 3 nights and decided to splurge a little and stay in one of their cottages for a few nights. It was wonderful. The kids had a great time swimming in the lake but we preferred relaxing in the spa and pool. There were lots of activities such as the bonfire, BBQ, fishing, karaoke, and live local bands. It was a great getaway for the whole family. We plan to return soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$21
The park is a work in progress. No other RV's so had it all to ourselves. Grass meadow with hookups. Friendly management. Good, clean rest rooms/showers. We would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We were here two years ago and they were just starting. This trip they seem to have not moved an inch. They still look and feel like they just started. They have the potential of having a nice park but the poor road into the park will help to keep them from growing. The park is just a wide open field with all the hookups. Nothing special, nothing really great about it. They are in the middle of nowhere. We were the only RV in the resort. They have to be hurting. Passport America rate was $20, which is good. My next trip to this area, I will stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
You have to drive quite a ways down a sandy road to get to this park and you might wonder if you are going the right way. Eventually you will come to a big grassy field with RV hookups. The buildings and facilities are nice and new, but there is nothing special about the campground itself. Hopefully they will continue to make improvements. It was convenient to the interstate. We would stay here again based on the Passport America price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Rate reflects PA discount. This is definitely a work in progress. The sites are on what appeared to be a pasture at one time. It made for very nice grass but I'm sure MH's have trouble leveling. I did not. All hookups were good. The cable TV is actually Direct TV satellite and there are dishes all over the grounds. I happen to have Direct TV so all I had to do is hook up and turn on the receiver. For everyone else they loan you a receiver and cable to hook to it. I saw them go to one sight and help with the setup. The North end has a nice laundry with the restrooms and the machines were clean and big. The wife said the restrooms were spotless. The fishing ponds are being repaired, so no fishing and the pool and hot tub are still not up and running. It was a nice stay for $20 but I would never pay the full $40 to stay here. There is no store or restaurant. It is close to I-75 but the traffic didn't bother us. As I said they are working all the time all day so I think they will eventually get all of this going. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Very DISSATISFIED with this park: advertisement and TL ratings misleading to the point of fraudulent. Has a 1-mile, sandy dirt "washboard" road to park. Once you're on it, there's no turning around! Sites are completely open: good for roof satellites, very few trees. Tried 3 different grass/sand sites before finding one semi-level. Pool drained and closed. NO cable TV signal. No WiFi even though they had several routers up. (Connected once for 15 minutes, then got kicked off and couldn't reconnect. Reported this to the office, but it was not fixed.) Worst of all, the water smelled of sulfur (rotten eggs) and we didn't realize it till we had run it through our pipes. We had to unhook the hose and use our fresh water tank. This park is near I-75 in the middle of nowhere. Best thing we can say: are the people are friendly and very nice. But that's the only good thing we can say about it. Will NOT EVER stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
We came here for a "shake down" weekend for our new RV and left after only 2 nights. This is the first year of operations, and I hope they will make it to the second year. We were 1 of only 4 RVs in the park, and the other 3 left the next morning. There was 1 full timer parked toward the front of the park, but it was really lonely. One of the things we like about camping is getting to talk to other RVers. That said, this park has a lot of potential. Granted the road in and out leaves A LOT to be desired, but we were told there are plans to pave and widen it. There is some noise from I-75, but we've stayed in worse. I'm not sure who would want to purchase spaces, but that's part of the campground owner's plans. There just isn't a lot to do in this area. This is a convenient spot for anyone needing a place for the night, but it isn't a weekend get-away (or longer) park. It is very clean with nice long pull through spaces and a very helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
Large park with large open spaces just off I-75 but not much road noise. Good pull through sites with plenty of room. Level grass pads with picnic table. Not much shade. Very quiet with large pool and clubhouse and very helpful friendly staff. Looking forward to the hot tub opening soon. Only negative was the dirt road entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Plan on washing your RV and tow vehicle after you stay here. Long dirt road leading into the campground and a very dusty road leading through the campground. Only spent one night here so cannot comment on the amenities. The rate was for Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Fabulous new campground in Passport America network just as you enter Florida off I-75 from the north in Jaspar. Great log cabin clubhouse, laundry, shallow swimming pool with nice new furniture around it, SPOTLESS and BRAND NEW UPSCALE bathrooms that are luxurious compared to any campground we have seen all summer long. Nice help and great attitude of the staff. We will bring our friends and family back here. Free DISH TV was a super bonus. No shade so don't come for a shady spot, please. Still a 10 in my book!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This is a new resort with a great clubhouse, putt-putt for the kids, horse shoes, a volley ball court, a nice nature trail, a shallow swimming pool (approx. 3 1/2 feet deep at the deepest part), clean handicapped equipped bath houses with individual showers, 2 fire pits with benches around them and a small pond with ducks. Because the resort is so new the shaded sites are only around the edges of the resort. Most of the sites are in an open field with no shade. The northern edge of the property if located approx. 50 yards from I-75 so there is a constant background noise of traffic from the interstate which seems louder at night. The employees are all very friendly and helpful. The registration cost includes free rental of a box for Dish TV. One of the employees hooked it up for us and was very courteous and respectful. We will definitely be going back in the fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com