223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Canal COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (270) 362-4840
CGID1193

Canal COE

Camp Information
Sites
113
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   9   10   10   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
Highly recommend this campground. Lots of trees, privacy, paved roads. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$12
We stayed at this very nice COE park for 4 nights. We came during the week. The weekends are very crowded this time of the year. We were given a spot in the Nash Flats area, an area all paved that is usually used for groups. This spot was perfect for us, a quiet area, the front of our RV faced the Lake, with a beautiful view, and always had a nice breeze. No sewer hookup. The park itself, is very well taken care of. Some of the loops are a little more crowded than others. It just depends what you like. Verizon/Sprint worked well. Be careful going into any grassy or wooded area with your pups. The ticks are very bad this time of year. The only thing is that golf carts are allowed in the park and they can be a little noisy. This is a great park to visit the LBL area. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$24
Another nice COE campground with large spacious sites throughout. Our site, #61, had a newer picnic table and large decorative stones/boulders leading down to the water. You could walk down to the shoreline to fish, whereas some of the waterfront sites are not accessible. Visitors were charged $3 per car. Peaceful & quiet family campground. Would definitely return if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
Had a pull-thru site, one of a few along the canal. Nice spot but not very near restrooms. A nice campground as usual for the corp. All hosts were very nice and helpful. There was a swimming beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$26
Really nice. Close to Pattis Settlement and Grand Rivers. Seniors get 50% off. A bargain. Beach, fishing, hiking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
I gave this park a 10. If you want to spend time in the Kentucky-Barkley Lake area this is a great spot. And it is half price for those 62 and older with your senior access card. The price above shows the regular fee. There are many different areas; some older, some newer; some are level, others not so. Located at the north end of the trace which travels through the LBL (land between the lakes). The park is woods mainly, with one open area for folks who cannot survive without satellite dishes. Not so very far off interstate 24 for those traveling through. Not open year round. Restaurants located nearby in Grand Rivers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
Rate is for seniors. We had a great waterfront site. If you want sewer, reserve ahead. We had view of ships as they passed through the lake. Nice biking area. Great for family. Many stay 2 weeks at a time - the max. You can change sites for a second weeks stay & then must leave. Don't miss driving the trace, much to see! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$10
COE parks are so beautiful and with the Golden Age pass, a real bargain. Easily reached, from I-24, we were glad to get a site without a reservation. The showers were so far apart, we didn't use them. We did not have a sewer hookup, although there are some available. Our site was not shady, although some were. I think there is a beach and there is a boat ramp. If we were to stay here again, we would have made a reservation for a different site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
We love this park. Sites on the lake side are beautiful and always breezy. Sites on the cove side are still waterfront but get kind of stagnant in the summer because there is no breeze but they are super shady. All sites are crushed gravel. This is by far our favorite campground in the LBL area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$10
This park is close to I-24, but some of the sites are small and hard to get into. Sites 21 to 35 are probably the best, with site 35 a first come first serve. Reservations are best made if you are staying over the weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
Mostly shaded sites with well trimmed trees. Access lanes are narrow and backing a big rig between tree trunks into some sites is a bit tricky. Site required some leveling. Campground is in woods with little grass; therefore, dusty. Restrooms are clean; outdoor laundry facilities. TV reception is adequate with antenna. Campground is lovely, and there are a couple of nice, but short nature trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
A very nice COE campground with pleasant and accommodating hosts. Our stay was quiet and restful, with no unpleasant experiences. The bathrooms/showers were clean and well maintained. Some of the sites and roads are a little tight for big rigs and multiple slideouts...just as you would expect in a COE park. Overall just a nice well maintained park on the shore of Lake Barkley. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$12
This is a beautiful Corps of Engineers park on the lake. We chose a beach front site, without sewer hook up, (no. 60), which provided a wonderful view of the lake. However, the site was so difficult to back into, I cannot recommend it for a forty foot motorhome. Also, the park was not very well maintained trash wise, which is most unusual for a C of E operation. We paid the senior pass rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Took a site in the trees to save a few dollars since we were only staying for one night. Check-in people were super nice. After getting set up, I rode my bike through the various loops near the lake. Some would be hard to back in to with a rig over 28 feet. Some have steep entry roads. I did notice that the bath house had a nice washer and dryer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
Nice pretty park. Price reflects the Golden Age Access pass. They had several price ranges-if you wanted a water view the price went up a few dollars. In my opinion the water view was still obstructed by trees. There were lots of campsites here. Management was nice at check in & after that, no hassles about anything. Nice place to camp for visiting Land Between the Lakes as it is located right at the beginning of "The Trace." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Park well kept, can handle 40' rigs, great lake views and wide, level sites. Do not have sewer and long stay requires dumping. fire rings, nearby boat ramp, great hosts, and close to Grand Rivers for food and limited shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$8
I like this place. I was in the south loop and had a long paved pull-through site but there was no sewer. There are not many trees in the south loop (good satellite) but plenty of them elsewhere. It appeared that some of the sites in the trees may be a challenge to get in and out of but lots of folks were still camping there. Super friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$9
Wonderful COE park - much cheaper than LBL campground just down the road for the same facilities when using the Senior Pass. Site 113 is a great site if you have a satellite dish. Watch deer wander by each day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$8
Overall a very nice CG with great friendly hosts. The only negative to us is the closeness of the sites and the degree of difficulty getting into some sites. Otherwise, just great. Showers and rest rooms among the best we've experienced We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$8
Some sites are very hard to get in to. The Ranger switched our site and its a good thing. A bargain with a golden passport card. It's a waste of $5 on the Bison/Elk prairie, we did not see even one. The Kentucky Lake trail is beautiful and free. We nursed all our chigger bites for weeks after leaving there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
Nice campground, friendly hosts. We usually stop here for a few days, but not long term as there is not a lot to do in the neighboring small towns. This seems to be more for people who have boats and want to spend time on the lakes. Many of the sites are smaller and hard to get into with some larger RVs. They have some newer pull throughs on the upper end of the park that are nice for larger rigs. We usually go for those. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
We got lucky picking our site from the cartoon map on the website. We have a nice lakeside site, and one of only 3 or 4 that we could use the satellite dish. It is a very dark campground with very dense, very tall hardwood trees. There are several full hookup sites, but none are even close to satellite friendly. There is one loop, sites 111 - 117 that is in an open meadow and apparently designed for big rigs. The entire campground has brand new 20/30/50 amp electric, new water hydrants and has been recently re-paved. All of the bathhouses look new, too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
The park was almost empty on the Friday that we got there. We were given what must be one of the most sought after sites during the summer, overlooking the lake. Beautiful! Fall colors were at their peak 2nd week of Nov. Even Better! Could not ask for more helpful staff. Only negative would be the 'seasonals' with all the clutter around some of the trailers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
This was our third time to camp at this COE campground. We have always stayed in Brown Point area with full hookups, but this time had to take a site with just electric and water. Our reserved site only had 108 voltage which would not run our air conditioner and temperature was in higher 90's so needed the A/C. We enjoy the park,so took another site. They did send someone to repair the plug and circuit breaker the following day, at the first site the following day, but too late for us. Most of this park has lots of shade trees, wonderful place to walk, lots of deer so just a great place to relax. But if you enjoy boating, jet skiing,fishing, etc., a great! Even though a bad experience this time, we will return. Love this park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$8
Registered and selected site with Reserveusa with Golden Age Card. This made check in so simple a cave man could have done it. Nice level back in space, good shade, 50 amp electric, and water supply. No sewer at our site, so we used nearby camp bath house, which was clean but dated. Have pre-registered by the web for an August stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$17
Very nice COE campground. Large sites, some are hilly some are flat, it's just a gamble. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Other than a couple of mice that found their way into our trailer, we had a very pleasant week. As we had full hookups, we did not use any of the facilities. We did see a washer/dryer at each of the bath houses however. This spot is very convenient as it is on the northern edge of the Land Between the Lakes recreation area. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$8
There is a wide assortment of sites for campers in tents to big rigs. There is a new section with large pull-through sites (in the sun). The roads and many sites are paved. Most sites are shady. This is a very clean, well-maintained campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
Just came back from vacation there. We had site #6, which was the best. Everyone there asked how we got it - booked on first date available. We were very pleased with the restroom and showers. Thought we were in a hotel. Not many sewer sites so take a dump tank. Go for lake front property - our picnic table sat right by the lake beautiful. Will go back and camp there at at Patti's settlement. Drove to Hillmans Ferry -lots more for kids to do, but very crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
This is my favorite campground so far since we have been camping. Very nice campground situated right on Barkley lake. If you do stay here you have to go in to Grand Rivers and eat at Patti's 1800 settlement restaurant. Order their famous pork chops they are out of this world. The only reason why I did not give it a 10 is that I feel that a campground that get's a 10 has everything. And Canal doesn't have everything but it's close. Would recommend this campground to anybody. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
Most sites very shaded. Keeps cooler, but tough to get "dish" signal. A small RV rally was being held on the Group Camping sites 103-110. Brown's Point loop is most desirable for motorhomes. Also Fisherman's Row and Beach loops are also good. Hill Loop is nice but would be tough to navigate for a big rig. Stayed on site #43 in Woods Loop with 45 foot motorhome. Not the best loop for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
Park was clean and the staff very helpful. View from our site was great, and once we got our 5th wheel onto the pad, we had lots of room. Only down side is there are lots of trees and if you have a long rig (ours is 38 ft, not counting truck), it is not an easy back in, since this park was built some time ago for smaller units. I understand new sites are being built that will be more big rig friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2004
$25
This is actually one of our favorite campgrounds, so why would I rate it as a "1"? Basically because I've been misled. On the day before the campground was scheduled to close for the season, a water pipe serving a specific site broke. Totally understandable, these things happen. However, mysteriously, the water could not be shut off to just that site - for reasons that could not be intelligently articulated to me - and instead the water was turned off to our sites (94 and 95), our restroom, our bath house, etc. Conveniently, this meant that the bath house and restrooms could be closed down a day early, and in fact they were. When I questioned the closing, and told the elderly lady in the office that I saw that the water pressure was fine, her reply was "Well goody for you!" And that's a direct quote. Immediately upon returning home, I contacted ReserveUSA and asked for a refund for the last night there, as their site plainly states that refunds will be given in case of closings. Unfortunately, the disinformation continued. They had to contact the CG managers and they have a month to respond. Whoops, the CG is closed and they have to go to the forest service. And they get another month or more. Sorry, I've run out of patience. Now we'll do it my way. I'm contacting my credit card company and disputing the charges. Let the CG explain the mess to Mastercard, I'm done! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$14
This COE campground is situated on Lake Barkley, and adjacent to the canal connecting it and Kentucky Lake. The sites were spacious, yet private. Some were waterfront sites but we stayed in the forest with a view of the lake. Shower houses were immaculate, and there was a washer and dryer in each one. There is a small beach, a boat launch area and playground equipment for the kids, and firewood was available from the camp host for a nominal fee. The camp hosts were friendly and most helpful with information about the local area. Grand Rivers is a small community with a grocery store and several restaurants and antique shops. A good base to explore Land Between the Lakes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com