220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Rocky Point Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 6 user reviews. Phone: (605) 641-0023
CGID11961

Rocky Point Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Price reflects daily rate of $19, plus tax (5.5%), plus online reservation fee of $7.70, plus $6 per day vehicle permit ($29.90 per day). If you plan to stay in many SD state parks, it's a better deal to buy the $30 annual pass rather than paying the $6 per day vehicle fee. We thought this park had one of the prettiest welcome/entry signs we'd ever seen. Park is big rig friendly. Interior roads are paved and sites are gravel, with fire ring and picnic table, and nice spacing between sites. Sites have electric only, but there is a dump station at the park entrance. Water is also available. There are no trees near sites to offer shade, so it does get hot. Showers were clean as were the flush toilets. I didn't see a sign for the showers, but they're located on the backside of the building with the flush toilets. There are vault toilets throughout the park too. We were here the last weekend of the Sturgis rally and had expected to see/hear lots of motorcycles, but that wasn't the case. Verizon service worked well. We'll definitely stay here if passing through the area again. We stayed two days, but wished we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
We were here during Sturgis motorcycle rally but saw very few of them. Very large sites, well separated. Good Verizon signal. Can be busy on weekends but not during the week. SD state park reservation is great even if you don't want to make a reservation you can check for availability. I love SD state parks and there are so many of them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
Nice park. Large campground. We were far from the flush toilets. Vault toilet have swarms of flies. So bad I couldn't use it. Close to reservoir, nice level sites. We stayed here one night. Lots of fisherman come for the day. Very few campers when we were there. Didn't see any rangers or hosts although there was a rig at the host site. Pretty area, some trees, on reservoir, playground, basketball court, and horseshoes. Look for what interests you and camp nearby. This is a large park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
We camp here at least once every year. Very nice State Campground. Sites are level and well spaced. Campsites are very near lake. No shade so it can get very hot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
A very nice park with open, sweeping vistas. Big back-in sites. Lots of boaters and ATV's here, but everyone was courteous and friendly. Excellent dump station, near the park check-in. We enjoyed a beautiful sunset over the lake, (reservoir) which was just behind our motorhome, and the Black Hills are close by to the south. While there are some trees around the lakeshore, this is open, rolling prairie, but very pretty. The central bathhouse had excellent private showers, but no lights that we could find on the toilet side. Bring a flashlight. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$16
This park is a hidden gem right on Belle Fourche Reservoir, about 10 miles east of town. Recently upgraded by the South Dakota State Park system, it now features all paved interior roads and 85' x 15' gravel back-in sites that are widely spaced with grassy areas. All sites have 20/30/50A power and there is a new dump station with separate potable water near the entrance. Roughly half of the sites back up to the reservoir. There is a large playground. A separate boat launch site is available. Sites are $16/night, but the park entrance fee ($4/person, $6/vehicle or $28/year) is extra. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com