206945 User submitted reviews online!!
John James Audubon State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (270) 826-2247
CGID1198

John James Audubon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   10   9   9   8   6   6   9   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
We have stayed here several time when visiting relatives and each time the park shows signs of deterioration. Sites are small and difficult to get a large rig into. Weekends bring chaos as the park allows multiple tents and relatives to congregate at each site. It is almost impossible to drive a car through the one way single road. Tent campers are in the park on what appears to be unpaid for sites and their activities are somewhat suspect. Most recently, the dump station was down, so a manhole cover was opened and campers were told to drain their black tanks directly into an open manhole. The dump station did not have an "out of order" sign on it, so people continued to dump sewage onto the ground. Our tanks were full and we were forced to use the showers. They were deplorable. We left before it was repaired, hopefully it has been done by now. One staff worker was very nice, unfortunately incompetent. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
This is one of the best state parks we have ever stayed at. Yes, it is close to the road, but the noise was minimal. The restrooms/showers were clean and well kept during our 3 night stay. Many families on the weekend, but the kids stayed in the playground area. Our two dogs were right at home. It is attached to a wonderful park that has many trails, a museum, and golf course. Very friendly staff and lots of birds. I could have stayed a month! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This is a busy family park during the summer. Our grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed the playground. Our site was reasonably level, almost completely shaded, and quiet even though we were not far from a busy highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
We enjoy this campground go often since it is close to home. Good activities on the weekends, nice hiking trails. Located just off the highway so good for commuters, you do get some noise from the highway but not too bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
I stayed in a tent with electricity for a fan. Would have been a few dollars cheaper without electric. Park was very clean and nice. My only real complaint was with the Wi-Fi. There were several antennae around the campground with very good reception, however it was a subscription service and not free. I had arrived after the the park closed and payed using the drop box. There was no one to ask about the Wi-Fi service or subscription. There was some road noise due to the campground being directly next to a major road but it really did not bother me, even being in a tent. There were not many people using the campground since it was a Monday evening. I would not hesitate to come here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
While the Audubon museum is fabulous, the campground is right next to US41 so road noise is continuous. Otherwise the campground is fine, mostly family camping with a few yelping dogs. It is fine for a short stay to visit the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
We stayed at this park while visiting family in the area. Its a nice park, a little small, but the roads are paved as well as the sites. There is electric and water on each site. The campground backs up to a noisy highway but we really didn't hear the traffic at night with the windows closed. The rest of the park is beautiful and the museum is great. I'm not sure what they have done to attract the birds, but the campground had quite a large group of birds when we were there. More than I have normally seen in other campgrounds. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
This is a very interesting state park, with lovely trails to hike, a nature center, the John James Audubon Museum, a lake with canoes and paddle boats, a golf course, and to the kids' delight, four playgrounds! The campground is large and shaded. It was originally built in the 1960's and the adjacent road is busy, with some traffic noise during the day, but it is not loud. The campground offers an activity program Thursday evening through Saturday - fishing, crafts, nature walks. There is no swimming in the park, however, there is a community pool and water slide just down the road in Henderson. We really enjoyed this campground and would visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
We really enjoyed our stay at this park, however, we were unable to reach the water connection at our site with our hose. The site we were in was very spacious (site 18), and we were able to get both broadband and satellite reception. The park had great walking trails, and an Audubon museum. For bird watchers, it was a thrill to walk in the same woods as John James Audubon. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
I am amazed at what some people consider camping and parks that deserve a 9 or 10. Right on a major roadway, noisy, crammed in, awful location. I am thinking people who are in this area see nothing much better. So they think this is actually good. Good for a quick one nighter and that's all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Located in a cottonwood grove, RV sites are fairly level with lots of space between sites; many have plenty of room for big rigs. Some trees may limit slide or awning use. Some road noise from US-41 during the day but traffic abates at night. Bath house and laundry are clean and adequate. The park has a nice Museum featuring Audubon's life and work. Well marked hiking trails cover the 700+ acres, populated with some of the biggest trees (height and girth) you are likely to see east of the Mississippi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
Audubon Park is a great hometown camp ground. It's small, close to home, clean and mostly well maintained. Some sites are unlevel but due to the abundance of trees. Summer activities for kids are many, fishing available at 20+ acre lake (catfish, bass, bluegill) with state license required. Water and electric available at each site with sewer dump station available. Park is usually full on holidays (already has a waiting list for Labor Day). Wish they would limit the number of vehicles during holidays. Bath house is kept clean and well maintained. Avoid site #35 due to dusk-to-dawn light. Play ground for kids is located in center of park and visible from most sites. They were sold out of fire wood but Thornton's is close by with a cord of wood running about $22. Road noise can be bothersome but not a deal breaker. Great place for kids to bring bikes. Pet friendly but bring your clean up supplies. Washer/dryer available at bath house. Major shopping and dining available nearby. Good value for the money and location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
This Park is along a major Highway (41), 1/2 mile south of the Twin Bridges of Indiana/Kentucky. There was a lot of traffic and noise at this campground. The sites are very close together. We were crammed in our site like sardines! Luckily we did not have a slide out. Only 1 central shower house for all sites. The playground is crappy. There is lake and they do have paddle boats which were fun! I'm not sure if we'll go back to this campground or not! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
We have done repeat trips to this campground. It has some things working against it, but the quaintness of the whole park makes up for the campground. Some of the sites are very sloped and require lots of extra blocks. Some of the sites have trees in inconvenient locations that prevent your awning from being put out. The road noise and area business lights can be bothersome when trying to sleep. We will go back to this location but we have pre-scouted the best sites in relation to culverts, security lights, and trees. Sites 48 to 63 are pretty good in terms of distance from the highway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
This is a beautiful park. Lots of kids activities, like smores night, reptile show, animal tracks and more. Wonderful hiking, even for kids. The best was the museum ($10 for the whole family) with a great bird observation area, including binoculars. The bathrooms were clean and sites were level. Only problem we noticed is that the campground is at the front of the park and runs parallel to a pretty busy highway, so you feel like you're camping, but there is quite a bit of traffic noise. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$19
Good value family type state park destination campground with clean bathhouses and well maintained grounds. Several level big rig sites in back. All roads and sites paved. All sites have new tables and fire rings. Campground is closing for winter months, for renovation. Many things to do in KY and across the river in Indiana for a short stay. Don't miss touring historic downtown. All the national chain restaurants and Walmart are close by. Ralph's Hickory Pit is local. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
Small sites and traffic noise make this only a marginal campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
This is a park that has been overtaken by urban sprawl. There is a shrub barrier between the campground and the very busy 4 lane highway, but the sites at that side of the campground are within a stone's toss of the roadway. However, once you get used to the hum of traffic, it is a very lovely campground with lots of tall shade trees. The lake is very close to the campground, the museum and trails are within easy walking distance. The trails through old growth forest are very beautiful and so peaceful, - hard to believe you are so close to such a busy urban area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$18
Older park - lots of trees. Easy in/out - on US Hwy 41. Sites near gatehouse are small but ones back further are larger. Park has 2 lakes for fishing and nice museum dedicated to John James Audubon's (Nature/bird painter)life and works. Henderson is a picturesque town on the Ohio River with a large number of fine homes from when it was a leading shipper of tobacco and furniture. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com