206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Horse Cave KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (270) 786-2819
CGID1199

Horse Cave KOA

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   4   3   3   8   3   7   3   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
Ok RV park. The site we were first given "with shade" had none, and the site was so sloped we could not level our RV. We were able to move to a site with shade but still had to lift the right front tire 12 inches off the ground to get close to level. WiFi is ok, better than most. You will hear the interstate highway. Ok place to stay, however we will try another campground next time we come this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
They have done a great deal of upgrading here and it shows! Cabins look like they are fairly new. They have put in a lot of gravel to level off and improve existing roads. Additionally, they have added ten 50 amp Full Hookup sights with a new gravel road to the East side of the park. Another level up from the 50 amp are 8 new Kamping Kabins. Within walking distance of the 50 amp sites and K2-K9 cabins, is the Catch and Release fishing pond. There are hills inside this campground but they do a good job at providing a level walking foundation, in addition, to stairs. You do have the option to drive. The pool is enclosed with depths of 3 feet to 5 feet. There is a new playground area for kids, along with miniature golf, basketball and volleyball courts. If you get tired, you can stop and rest in the covered Gazebo. The dump station equipment is surrounded by brick layers and is nicely done. The store is adequately supplied and the staff that we encountered were friendly. The trees, upon entry, were noticeably trimmed and some were marked for removal. We arrived in a 38 foot RV with a 4 door jeep toad and we were able to manuever through the grounds fine. The hill that leads down to the 50 amp section is a little steep but shouldn't be a problem. We did find that the pull through sites need a bit of work yet with leveling. Also, pull through to us means that you do not have to disconnect your toad. Visit the website and click on their map to follow along. They have two roads that run North to South at the 50 amp section. As you come East down the hill, you find the first road has no entry. The second NS Road is the main road you turn down to get to your site. Once you pull in, you either have to disconnect or pull all the way forward, heading West now, onto the dead end road, which in turn blocks anyone South of you from exiting. This is not a problem if you are overnighting. We called the office before disconnecting, to see if we could block the road and the staff was fine with it. Doing this, allowed anyone else coming in to pull down the main North South Road to get to their 50 amp site. On the map it shows that the road curves at site 84 but actually, it goes straight to the exit. Additionally to the East of 50 amp section are fenced donkeys, free range chickens and turkeys and a penned pig. With the air on, we couldn't hear a thing. Talk to us in the morning and we'll see if the rooster crows! We would definitely stay here again if in the area. The last reviews were from 2012 and we almost didn't stay after reading them. We are glad that we gave them a chance. According to the staff, this park has had the same owners for the last 10 years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$69
This a cute, clean campground. We stayed in a cabin, which are very rustic, but had some issues. Several lights did not work in the cabin. I found out the toilet did not flush after making a deposit in the early A.M. I had to flush it by using a pail of water. Some of our linens had someone else's hair on them, but the staff replaced them when I called. The campground is on a hill, so if you have issues walking, do not go here. The camp is located right off the highway, so for light sleepers it may be an issue. There is a farm on the grounds, and had several chickens wandering around. They seem to keep the place clean of debris and bugs. The pool was nice, as well as the staff. One night was enough for us. Great for a layover on the way to the caves! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
I tell my wife I like KOAs because one knows what to expect. This one was the exception. Beautiful area, and hills / mountains are to be expected in this cave area, but this older campground (staff said built in 1969) has been only partially updated to accommodate today's larger RVs. Hilly, terraced spots, many without full hookups, and narrow interior road(s) with sharp turns. Some former sites have been merged, two into one, but are still only about 30' long. Descriptors say they are working on building 50 amp pull through sites, but I see that's been the case for the last 4 or 5 years. Though this camp is a KOA, and right off the KY I-65 highway, we were the only rig in this park for our March overnight - which says a lot. Clean park, friendly staff, but I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
We count on KOA campgrounds to adhere to a specific standard but this one was barely okay. Staff was not particularly friendly or helpful. We had to move from our so-called pull through site because it was so small and narrow our awning stuck out into the camp road! No grass or even enough space to set up a lawn chair. Our site was not clean. We picked up trash and cigarette butts ourself. But the absolute worst thing was the LOUD, beyond belief freeway noise: all day and all night! We will not return to this KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
We thought this was a good campground that allowed us to see all the local attractions and it was reasonably priced (reflects KOA discount). The pool, bathrooms and showers were very clean and the park was very quiet - we were not bothered by the highway. Wi-Fi worked great, but no cable hookup and difficult to get television. Staff was very nice and helpful. My children enjoyed the playground and mini-golf. Campsites are gravel, uneven, and tight in spots. I would use this park again if I were staying in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$42
This campground is close to Mammoth Cave. It has few other redeeming qualities. It is not up to KOA standards. It is set in a hilly, terraced area. The "Pull through" sites are either on very uneven ground with a steep incline to navigate on the far end, or shallow pullouts along the busy campground road that put your door nearly on the road. The back-in sites are very short even for our 28' Class C, and sloped in two directions. Although there are many nice shade trees, the noise from the freeway is so loud and constant it is not pleasant to sit outside. The picnic tables were almost unusable due to heavy warping and splinters. The sites were messy and had potholes. The advertised 50 amp sites were still being "developed." They may offer space for larger rigs. However, at the present a large motorhome or 5th wheel would have a very difficult time getting into most of the sites as well as navigating the campground roads. The staff were neither friendly, nor helpful. There are many other nearby campgrounds. I would not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
Not a bad campground but close to I-65 so there is a lot of vehicle noise. Restrooms and showers were very clean. The staff was extremely nice and allowed us to put up two tents in addition to our trailer so we could have 10 of us on one site. The 50 amp sites and cable TV advertised do not exist and you can only use the Wi-Fi at the office. The playground and pool were OK and they have free miniature golf. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We booked two nights here over Memorial Day weekend. The reservation stated, "If peace and quiet is what you crave then these full service tent sites are perfect for you. You may be a little bit away from amenities but you are also away from the interstate." We were given small site next to road with no picnic table or fire ring/grill. The neighbor in pull thru site had to share our electric outlet. Other tenting neighbors complained of no tables. Quiet time was not enforced. Children were screaming, music was playing and many dogs were barking until well after midnight. We only stayed one night even though we had paid for two. We were very disappointed. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
We arrive after dark (10pm) and finding where to go was a challenge as they have no driveway lighting. Entered on the wrong side of the building but were able to still get into the park. The roads and sites are gravel and are in very bad shape. They are washed out in places creating large trenches that we had to drive over. Our site was very unlevel and so we slept in a crooked trailer. When we left, once again we had to cross over a washed out area. If it had not been so late and we were just there to get a few hours of sleep, we would have left. There map had a big sticker placed on it telling us what they did not have: no 50 amp, no cable, no Wi-Fi. There has to be a more convenient and better maintained place in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
Easy on and off for a quick overnight stay. Plus access to gas stations nearby. Site was level enough on our pull-through that we didn't even need to unhook our 5th wheel from the truck. A whole new section of 50 amp sites are being added. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
This will be a great Campground! We believe it is the best in the area. We drove through all the other camps in the area and were pleased with our selection. It appears that this KOA is under new management and it shows! They are currently rebuilding and remodelling. Nice staff. Very shaded camping - rare compared to others in the area. Close to all the caves in region. We will return to this campground! Read a couple of reviews that mention road noise from the Interstate. Yes, there was road noise but this did not take away from the campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$26
We considered this an "ok" campground. We enjoyed our time, however, they definitely did not go by KOA standards and still charged the KOA price. The good points first: 1. The layout of the campground was really nice. Several pull throughs and the sites were spacious. 2. Even though we did not use them, they have a pool, game room, and mini-golf. 3. Lots of shade and rustic in style. Now the bad points: 1. The office is only open from 4-8pm central time. Some one could really take advantage of this if he/she was not honest. On Saturday, the office was closed all day and there was a note on the front door which read that it would reopen at 3:00pm on Sunday. 2. The campground is not maintained very well. The grass was tall and fire rings had not been cleaned out, looked like for several days. 3. The bath house was ok and clean, but could definitely be updated. It was not locked, like most KOA's. 4. The Interstate road noise was really bad, but not much you can do about that. Basically, I would say that this campground is an "ok" place for an overnight, but not for an extended stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
Pretty campground. Needs some upkeep, but overall a good place to stop for a night or two. Noise from the interstate was a bit of a bother. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$26
So-so park. Could never seem to find any employees about. We had the unfortunate experience of camping beside some good ol' boys whose aim it was to party all night. Unfortunately, we could find no employees to enforce the night time quiet rule. I think the highway noise was quieter than they were. We could not get a site that had a sewer (no problem), but I resent paying for one and not having one at my disposal. The place looked rustic, albeit a little over-grown here and there, although our cat loved it! Not a bad campground, but it would be much better if it were not right on the highway and if some of its drive-thrus were not so close-quartered. We were starved and didn't want to unhook so we ate at the restaurant within walking-distance at the foot of the hill that promised "grandma's home cooking". Do yourselves a favor: stay away. That had to have been one of the worst sandwiches I had ever eaten - it tasted like it came right out of a frozen box. Horrible service too. I probably won't stay at this RV park again - too much money for too few amenities. Like a ghost town! Eerie! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2005
$22
Reserved a full hookup - upon arrival was booked for electric and water only - moved to a full hookup but found that to have hookups connect properly I had to pull into the back in spot. There was an annoying little kid that kept getting in front of the rig as I tried to park - I finally gave up and went back to the non sewer site. One of the three showers in both the men's and women's were closed off - caused a back up in the morning. Pool was nice - grounds were decent. Is close to Mammoth Cave - Is inexpensive - Is a quiet place to camp - other than the pesky kid - the other campers and kids were friendly. There was a pond to fish in down the driveway. Appeared to be new owners? Unless the sites get a little upgraded in the future - next time I'd drive down the road to the E-Town or the Bowling Green KOA's. This was just an OK experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$24
This CG is definitely a 1-man operation. After talking to the owner it is my understanding that she is trying to sell it. She has become disinterested in running it and it shows. The maintenance was OK, but some of the grass wasn't cut and I went to the camp store at least 4 times during the day and was met with a sign that said 'Back in 15 minutes' and found the clerk cleaning the showers or doing something else. Convenient stop off I-65, although you have to drive about 5 miles south to Cave City to find anything to do. Convenient to Mammoth Cave. Also, some sites do not have sewer hookup, but there is a dump station as you leave. Most sites are spacious. Either cash or check only for your stay. Does not take debit/credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$24
This KOA was OK. It was clean and the staff is nice. Roads are gravel and except for the pool there isn't a whole lot for kids to do. Pretty convenient to Mammoth Cave National Park. Good overnight stop. For firewood, they sell you a bag of sawed wood 'chunks'. You'll have to drive down to one of the convenience stores to get logs. If you have a self-sufficient rig, I would recommend staying in Mammoth Cave NP CG. Beautiful and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com