223558 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Lurleen State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (205) 339-1558
CGID12

Lake Lurleen State Park

Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   6   10   3   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$15
An excellent place to camp with pull-through sites with great water views. Check in was very easy, roads paved and well maintained, and staff was most helpful. Our site was level and quite suitable for a handicapped person. Park was quiet and peaceful; no cell service or WiFi; no satellite or TV. This is definitely a place to "get away from it all." We camped here overnight. Rate reflects discount for veteran. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
We camped here and attended MSU / AL baseball in Tuscaloosa. We found this to be a convenient location for that. Some sites require blocks to level. The biggest negative feature we found was the dump station is not close to the exit. You have to go toward the back to dump. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
Sites 33, 35, 37, & 39 have decks overlooking the lake & its beautiful surroundings. Park staff were exceeding welcoming, friendly, & helpful. 30 amp electricity is as high as it gets. AT&T cell phone reception is spotty. Daily rate reflects senior discount of 15%. Hookups were a stretch & on the wrong side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$21
Typical State Park, we had a waterfront site in loop B. Nice site, but as other posters stated the hookups are on the opposite side of RV. We didn't really care for the set up (not what we're used to) you pull in and the road for other sites is directly alongside your site, so any RV coming in (at least in Loop A and B) they drive right by your slides. Little unnerving for us. Other sites in C and D were back in, but some are water electric only. We had some electric issues our last 2 days there, our surge protector keep flashing "CAUTION LOW VOLTAGE". Needs to be updated, but typical of a State facility in this day and age. Would we stay here again? Only if we had to while passing through. The rate reflects a weekly rate in off season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$19
We had a beautiful, quiet spot on a lake. There is no obtrusive lighting. Verizon phone and air-card both worked. We have a 40 foot motorhome and had no problems pulling into one of the pull through sites. This park has hiking trails and is a great spot for one night with easy access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2011
$19
We checked in and paid. We drove through the two open loops twice and walked most of the campground trying to find a site that our 35' fifth wheel would fit without luck. Not only are the sites short but are very unlevel and rough, broken asphalt. The electric hookups look very old. We decided our best course of action was to leave and move on. They refunded our money and we drove on. This campground was built in the 1950s and appears to have had very little if any improvements since. Perhaps if you have a smaller rig, it would work for you. It's in a very pretty area but needs some work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
Agree with previous campers: a lovely state park! We really enjoyed the lovely shade trees and the water views. The ducks love campers. They followed us around almost like pets. Nice and level sites. Very friendly office staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
Rate was for a basic site, $16.60 after 15% senior discount from regular rate of $19.53. Sewer sites are $22.79, waterfront basic are $22.79, and waterfront with sewer sites are $26.04. There are monthly rates for Dec-Feb. It says to add $3 per night for Friday and Saturday nights March-October. $2 for each person over 4 people. People are very friendly and helpful. You can rent peddle boats for use on the lake, canoes, and fishing boats. They have flotation devices and paddles (and the fish). I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 days here. The setting is lovely, in wooded hills around Lake Lurleen. There are lots of hiking trails, but fairly narrow requiring single-file use. The camp sites and nearby areas are completely free of poison ivy, as far as I could tell, but there is some to be avoided along the one trail I used. Annoying insects were largely absent, but you should probably bring some mosquito repellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Arrived late on a Friday night during spring break and still they found room for me. I was so glad because this is one of the most beautiful state parks I've ever been to. Would gladly spend a weekend here again. Only real downside was lack of signal for the phone or computer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
This is a very nice park, but with most State Parks lately, needs a little TLC. The park is easily accessable with big rigs. There is a nice, sandy beach area for swimming. The staff keeps the park very clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$21
Older park, but well kept and the view of lake was good. Not all of the sites allowed for bigger rigs (ours is 35 foot), but we found many that we could get into. Some sites have utilities on the wrong side. They don't reserve by site and not all have sewer. Didn't get to try any of the trails (it was raining), but the walk on the drive through the campground was nice. Cell phone service was practically non-existent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Great place for family. Beach area on lake, canoe and paddle boat rentals and miles of hiking/biking trails. The sites are somewhat easy to access, most are level, but narrow. There are also limited sewer hook up sites, but water and electric are available on all RV sites. Plenty of shade through out the park. There are also 2-3 playgrounds available for the kids. Overall, this campground was fun, clean and enjoyable. Keep in mind that if you want to fish, a state fishing permit is required and are a bit pricey for non-residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$19
This campground has so much potential! It desperately needs some work done to it. Camp sites are not level, connections at some sites are not on the same side, and sites are in need of being repaved. While we were there, we witnessed several employees riding around, basically doing nothing. Obviously, who ever cut the grass couldn't be bothered to cut the grass where the riding mower wouldn't go. Bathrooms were clean and looked to have been recently painted, but are in need of being updated. I wish that I could rate it higher. We enjoyed our time riding bikes and walking. It is just a shame that Alabama can't do better than this at keeping up a state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
If you are the type person that likes department store security cameras following you, this park is for you. In our ten years of camping at well over 100 campgrounds, this one gets the prize for most strict. We witnessed two vehicle searches while staying here. That was a first! Apparently they have a problem with some day visitors. As far as the campground is concerned, I'm guessing it was built in the 60's by the lowest bidder. While there are some level sites, many are quite unlevel and chipped away. About half the sites have hook-ups on the wrong side, while some have the hook-ups spread out on both sides. Bring a long sewer hose. Some sites even have the electric service panel right where your RV door would go. The area is absolutely beautiful. However, the park could really use some updating. They should give the security guard a can of wasp spray to go clean out the lake shower-house of wasp nests! At least the park felt secure at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
It does not get much better than this. Raised lakeside site. Deck. Good site spacing. Being there for a couple of weeknights when the park is almost empty. Could use a bit of 'sprucing up' but for the $ there is no room for complaint. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
I camped at Lake Lurleen Jan 13, it was delightfully serene and one of those gorgeous days that makes one glad that they live in Alabama. The park is beautiful, a moderate size lake surrounded by mature hardwoods with mountain laurel on the trails - not very common in this area. The sites are spread along the lake; half of them are lakeside with easy access to the water. Sites are spread out enough to be comfortable although not all sites have shade. The park is in the country although right outside Tuscaloosa (about 7 miles to nearest store which is WalMart plus miles of strip malls). The bike trail is awesome, 14 miles, part of it is along the lake and very ‘buff’ with lots of twists, turns and rolling hills. The campground was half full, I paid via an honor box but I saw a couple of staff vehicles drive through during my stay. The gate to the entrance is locked at night. The bathrooms were clean, warm and had hot water. Loop C and D were closed for winter, loop B had nice lake sites but it is a quarter mile walk to the bathhouse (on Loop A because loop B has no bathhouse). Loop A is set up on a hillside further from the water. The lake is stocked, most campers were fishing. The beach area is large and there are a couple of playgrounds. There appears to be an easier way to get there from I-20/59 via a toll road but I used directions from the web site which went through parts of Tuscaloosa with red lights and traffic. This is a peaceful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
First off, I have to say this was the noisest park I've ever camped in. No, I don't mean the other campers were making too much noise or there was traffic noise. I mean it was noisy with all of the crickets, frogs and katydids! Camp here in the summer, and Mother Nature will sing you to sleep at night! On a more serious note, the campground is much larger than I was expecting, all of the sites I looked at were quite large, paved, and the lakefront sites had a wooden deck with stairs leading down to the bank of the lake. I did notice that some of the other sites required a climb up a few stairs or a hill to get to the actual site (tent sites), but nothing major in elevation change. Canoe/boat rentals, a nice sandy beach for swimming and a motor size restriction for boats make this a great family campground! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$17
We stayed in area "D". The bathrooms/showers were on top of a hill in this area. Area "C" is a more level area. Many of the sites are just pull offs which would put your awning on the pavement with a lovely view of the road. We were fortunate enough to get a back in with a slight downhill grade to the fire pit and a large space. Lots of things to do here for kids, (beach, swimming, paddle boats, etc). Bathrooms/showers were cleaned every morning and stayed clean in our loop. Security patrols regularly. Our first trip to this park, we will definitely return! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2004
$16
I thought this was a great camp ground. We stayed in the back, away from the water and had lots of room. We were there for a Bama football game. It was great, and much better than paying for an overpriced hotel room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
This is a beautiful site, although the roads are narrow in places. The sites are gravel and on the small side it made it difficult to back in if your over 30 feet. Security is good but there are rough kids in the area during the day, over all it makes a good weekend! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This is a decent campground. However, if you arrive at certain times of the day, expect to be checked in by Mr. Scrooge. The old man that runs the park during slow hours is EXTREMELY difficult to deal with. He told us that my wife could come later that day and that she would not have to pay to get in. Well, when she arrived, he made her pay the entrance fee! I got in a fight with him when I went back to the office to complain. When considering a second visit, I called the park office and they quickly told me the check in hours that he didn't work. They stated there have been numerous complaints. The campground is shaded. The playground area is not very well kept. Some of the sites are difficult to enter and not all are level. I doubt we will ever go back here simply because of the rude service we got before. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$16
Park had limited sites that would accommodate 40' rigs. Sites are paved but in need of repair. The surface broke up under the weight of rig. The maintenance folks said the whole park needs to be fixed. The 50 amp service did not work. Some of the sites were very unlevel. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com