220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Levi Jackson State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (606) 330-2130
CGID1203

Levi Jackson State Park

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   3   10   8   10   9   8   7   8   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
This is an older park that needs maintenance. The restrooms are old and one morning none of the stalls in the women's room had toilet paper. Our site was narrow, but adequate. Water pressure good and electric strong. Roads are narrow. Many campers are locals, work during the day and come back to the park at night. Lots of kids and bikes. Lots of traffic on park roads but not in the campground. Lots of litter around the campground. We had a nice site but probably would not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Maybe it was the time of year, but there must have been a thousand children running around, yelling, riding bikes, and playing. We're a retired couple and prefer some peace and quiet and there was absolutely none to be found. Maybe it was because they put us on the main road into the campground (B17 - avoid it) that was across from a playground and backed up to the basketball court. This could probably be a nice place to stay, but you must be choosey about what site you get. Our 30 amp service outlet looked like it had been fried and I was afraid to use it. I plugged into the 50amp with an adapter. Our picnic table was missing (looks like a nearby site had 2 so they must have taken ours at some point). On a positive note, the showers were nice and clean, although there was no toilet paper in the holders. If you come during a different time of year, or request a site far away from where everyone hangs out, you may have a better experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Absolutely gorgeous state park we hit for a one night stay while traveling from Florida to Ohio. Sites were reasonably spaced and hook-ups were perfect. Our site was pretty level, and took only minor adjustments. I wish he had time to explore, but we couldn't this time. We are already making plans to drive back down and experience all this park has to offer. The gate staff were truly happy people, and made us feel welcome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
We stayed at site 23 which had full hook-ups and 50 amp service. Campground staff were pleasant and always smiled. Huge, level site. Will definitely stay here again. Nice clean campground, with plenty of things in the area to do. The pool was closed, but it appeared to be nice, with a waterslide. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
I got here on a Saturday afternoon and campground was busy, but campground personnel was very helpful. I told them my needs and they let me go in and choose a campsite before registering. The campground was well maintained and the bathhouses were nice especially for a weekend. The dump sites were easy to access. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will be staying again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
We stayed 2 nights in the campground on site A9. It wasn't a shaded spot, but with our awning things were fine. Some of the sites were shaded. We were close to the volleyball and basketball courts which never got really loud. We were close to restrooms and showers which were really really clean! The only thing we didn't really like about it was that the sites were pretty close together and most of them were gravel not paved. We will be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Rate is an average of weekday/weekend rates and reflects AAA discount. We were in the H Loop -- pull through sites with 50amp plus water, but no sewer. The site was long but curved and a little difficult for our big rig to maneuver. Especially, with all the trees in the area,a tight curve at the end of the loop, and leaves covering the parking pad. The full hookup sites in the D loop would definitely have been better for us, but they were all reserved/full. Wi-Fi was available for a fee, but we did not use it. Halloween festivities were going on at the time which was great for the kids. A local "lion dog" roams the campground. He's very friendly, but intimidating to our dog. Overall it was a nice state park, and we would stay here again if we could get in the D loop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Overall a decent park. It is sorta divided into 3 sections: Front-close to the entrance, middle-many of these have full hook-up, and back. The front section is W/E only. Sites seem kind of small and cramped together. Lots of trees in this area as well. We stayed in this section. Overall not bad, but I would've preferred the middle section. Many sites in the middle are W/E/S. Much bigger sites, seems more spread out, yet not as many trees. The back section seems to be older. Very small and unlevel W/E sites. It rained quite a bit while we were there and the water was standing in those sites, whereas the front and middle sites drained well. Check-in staff was pretty nice and very helpful when questions were asked. We'd recommend this campground as a good home base for people exploring the Cumberland Gap / Falls area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Camped here for 3 nights. Really like the camp grounds. There is stuff for kids to do - hiking trails and Putt Putt. We stayed in loop B and had partial shade most of the time. There is a pool that you can walk to but you have to pay to enter. We would camp here again. It was quite after 11 pm. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
I have always loved Levi Jackson as a park. My opinion changed very much after using the campground there however. There were two employees that worked at the park that entered our site & began debating over whether or not my husband & I were camped in the right area/parked in the right area. (The site #'s were very poorly marked & quite confusing.) I politely told them that we would be happy to move if they needed us to & inquired if we were in the wrong spot. They were extremely rude & would not even acknowledge that I was asking them a question. They completely disregarded the fact that I was even talking to them & walked all around our site looking at the hook-ups & talking between themselves & debating the areas. They continued to talk amongst themselves about about how we had to move because the spot was reserved the next night. They did this for about 5 minutes all the while never answering me when I tried to speak to them & talking on the phone to someone about our sites next occupants who were apparently traveling in what they seemed to think was an impressive RV by they way they talked. They were very snobby & acted as if we were "menial tent dwellers" while trying to cater to the next occupants. I was so turned off by their behavior. We own a RV & travel often. We were visiting family & decided to tent camp on this trip. We left the campground the next morning & do not plan on ever returning to Levi Jackson campground in tent or RV. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Not sure why I paid more than previous posters but we had a real nice paved, long pull through with full service and 50 amp. Huge sites, clean, well managed. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
This is a large park that seemed quite busy. I'm sure reservations would be necessary in the summer. We were in area H and I would not recommend it. The sites are paved but are not level and are on an arc. The services are not consistent. Some sites have their own services, some sites share 1 service which has 1-30A and 1-50A service. Water services are the same. The other areas of the park are mostly back-in and are very nice sites. We would stay again but would reserve a site in area D We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This is a family friendly park. There are a lot for the kids to do. We made our reservations on the internet and it did not explain that different sites were available. We choose site H5 which was at the bottom of a hill. We had a major rain storm and we had a river running under our 5th wheel. We had nothing but mud around our RV. We are retired and were looking for a quiet site with grass and shade. We had shade but no grass and lots of kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Great park. Huge, level sites. Clean restrooms and showers. Probably very busy in season with lots to do for the kids. Verizon cell and Internet excellent. Rate reflects off-season electric/water hookup. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Camped here a couple of years ago: had a bad site then. Much better pull-through site this time, made reservations. Wish I had asked for sewer hookup. Lots of good looking sites along the right hand side coming into the park. Our site was paved and required minimal leveling. Be sure to thoroughly check out sites on the reservation web site as some are hard to level. Lots of trees at certain sites. Wasn't too crowded during our over night stay. Will go back again in the summer to check out the swimming pool: looked like it had a fun slide for the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Nice park, nice amenities and friendly staff. Sites are not well laid out or marked. The pool staff treats you as though you are checking into Ft. Knox with regard to getting the "camper" discount. Be sure and take your receipt, the warden will not trust the fact that she just watched you walk up the trail from the campground as proof that you are camping! Make sure to dine at Mama Rosa's on the way into or out of the park, great Italian Beef Sandwiches!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We were late in reserving a site here and being Memorial Day weekend, we had to take whatever they had. We got there and the place was packed! Our site was extremely tight to get into. People complimented us on being able to get our 35' RV into the spot without hitting anything. Very unlevel, unpaved site. We were backed right up to campers behind and next to us. To be fair, there are better sites and we were able to snag one near the entrance the next day without incurring any extra charges. There are some nice pull through sites in the H section in area 2 and more private sites are in B section behind basketball court in area 1. Unfortunately the pool was closed when we were there. Our kids enjoyed mini golf course. Very family oriented campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
This is a good campground but not great. The weekend we stayed here they were having their annual "yard sale" so it was pretty packed. We stayed in the back of the campground on a corner lot so we had more room than most. There was just a small pad for our van so we had to pull back onto the grass to get to the electric and water. Some sites are VERY tight and the guy next to us dented his truck on a tree trying to back his 5th wheel in between trees. Our site was mostly unlevel and it took some extra work to get set up. We loved the pioneer village, however it is small and it is a self-guided tour. The mill is very beautiful and would be a great place to bring a picnic lunch. We played putt-putt (very nice course) and did a couple of trails. They also have a nice pool with a beach entrance and 2 water slides. The camp store is small, but you are just a few minutes from town to pick up anything else you need. I stayed here with my wife and 3 kids and would come back again in the summer when the pool is open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Overall, I was pleased with Levi Jackson State Park. The campground was clean and well paved. We were in the last site in the B section and it wasn't level at all, but most of the other sites looked relatively level. Most sites are too close to one another but there are a few that are sort of isolated. The guy working at the gate was not very friendly, but maybe he was having a bad day. There is a small museum and a mill nearby. My kids enjoyed feeding the ducks at the mill. This campground has a lot of things for children to do. Will probably go back again if we can get a different site. Also, campground is pet friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$23
Very crowded on Labor Day Weekend. Had to book site for 4 nights although we only planned on staying for 3 (told had to do this because of the Labor Day weekend). Wished it had sewer. Very tight roads. Directions on signs not very clear. We snagged our awning on a tree pulling into our site. $100 deductible! Bathrooms were clean, didn't use the shower facility, used the shower in the camper. Liked the Putt-Putt golf course. Trails are a bit hard to figure out, so we didn't do much hiking. Would rate it higher except for no sewer, hard to navigate roads. Also the dump station was packed, everyone leaving at the same time. Will probably stay at local state park next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
Pretty park, but entrance is not scenic and is in the middle of town. Campsites varied greatly with respect to grade, size, and level. Some looked very low and might get soggy in rainy weather. Some sites were fine but faiirly narrow. A handful of sites near the office were level, large, and wide enough to accommodate slides and awnings with no problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$12
This is a really nice campground. We stayed two nights during Easter weekend. Easy access off of I-75. The sites are spacious with a good sized grassy area between you and your neighbors. They have a large pool with water slide. The restrooms were clean, as was the whole park. This park has a lot of history associated with it. While we were there, the staff had a scavenger hunt for the adults and an Easter egg hunt for the children. I understand that they have a lot of events around Halloween, but it's hard to get a site then it's become so popular. We liked it so much, that we're going back this weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$18
A very nice quiet shaded park. The reach was a little long to the power and water but I had extensions. Wooded, very well maintained bath houses and facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Very nice campground. Tends to fill up on weekends. Hold events on holidays, so get there early for sites. Holloween is a must with planned activities. The only reason not to give higher rating is no sewer hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com