219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Kalaloch (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (360) 565-3132
CGID12042

Kalaloch (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
170
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   7   3   9   7   8   9   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$18
What a gorgeous location this is! Miles of beach, nature trail, sunsets....all steps from your campsite. The park is older, heavily treed. Beach-facing sites are more open/sunny and several have direct water views. Sites are well-spaced, but small and uneven. We camped here in a 40-foot MH, which was not easy, but do-able if you are careful and book well ahead to snag one of only 9 sites rated over 40-foot in length. However be prepared to brush trees and do some back/forth to get into your site. In general this campground is much better-suited for smaller rigs. Interestingly enough we got 2 bars of 4G LTE on our Verizon MiFi and also had good reception on our Straight Talk (Verizon-based) phone so look like towers have been upgraded in this area. Loved this area. Would definitely come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
A waterfront site at Kalaloch is just about my favorite thing on earth. This year we had a pull-thru site which meant our camper door faced the water. It also provided significant privacy. Don't expect level-sites or easy access (you should already know about the lack of hookups, lack of good cell coverage and remote location) and you won't be disappointed upon arrival. Rangers were very visible at the park, checking registrations, speaking with disruptive campers and drumming up attendees for the ranger programs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$7
Only spent one night and it was enjoyable, although the check-in process was confusing. The sites are mostly quite small and not level but many have a nice ocean view. There is considerable highway traffic from Hwy 101. Price reflects Senior Pass rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
This is the worse National Park campground I have ever been to. The bathrooms were dirty (perhaps because the park is over crowded). They do not enforce any rules. Way too many people on a site. Parking on the road because of too many cars in a site. The sites are quite small. A pull through means parking on the edge of the road. There are no showers. The beach is nice but the location is not so good. 95 miles to Hurricane ridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
This is a beautiful, natural setting on the ocean (thought only the first row of sites has actual ocean views). The back loops have natural vegetation. Beware that the back-most loop is directly beside the highway; traffic is infrequent but logging trucks thunder through at night time. Notes: Bathrooms do not have showers. Un-threaded water taps are plentiful. The only threaded water tap is at the dump station. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Beautiful coastal campground, but not well maintained (bathrooms not cleaned regularly and site reservation signs unreadable). It is about 40 miles to Forks and further to Aberdeen for supplies. Good access to numerous beaches up and down coast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$14
This is one of the prettiest campgrounds I know. Situated right on the Pacific Ocean and next to a rain forest, Kalaloch is a stunningly beautiful place to camp. There are several trails from the camp down to the ocean, and each one has a different personality. The beach is long and sandy when the tide is low and allows many opportunities for walking and enjoying the power of the ocean. Overall, a wonderful place to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
No showers, no electric, great view. Some pull-through sites, though most back-in and not particularly level. Some long sites as well, but mostly geared toward tent camping and smaller rigs. I was in a site next to Hwy 101, which wasn't particularly loud; very few logging trucks, and much of the traffic was intermittent (I've been at much louder campgrounds). Lots of pets, and dogs are allowed on the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$14
Busy campground most of the year. Located right on highway, can be noisy. Has difficult beach access. Must climb over huge driftwood piles. No wheelchair access to beach. No hook-ups and no public showers. Bring your allergy meds. Campfire smoke gets really thick. We love it but always visit in the off season when it is cold and wet, and the campground only fills up on weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$8
Kalaloch has location going for it but as a camping experience it was disappointing and we cut our stay a day short. It has a heavy tent camping orientation. There are some RV sites directly overlooking the ocean but the majority of sites are buried back in thick forest with little light or ventilation. There was a constant pall of smoke from smoldering campfires laced with whiffs of burning packaging or newspaper. Dogs would bark frequently and annoyingly. At the back of the campground highway noise from 101 is constant. By Sunday morning the trash dumpsters were full to overflowing. Other than the restrooms, which were kept clean, there are no other facilities to critique. It’s pure dry camping. If one can reserve an oceanfront site (which I could not four months in advance) then I think Kalaloch worth a couple of nights stay but if not I’d stay elsewhere and day trip to the park and enjoy the beaches and nature trails. Lunch at the Kalaloch Lodge is also worthwhile. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Nice ocean 'front' park. Our site was across the campsite access road from the bluff overlooking the ocean, but the sites across from us had a wonderful view. Our site (A-26)was nice because it was in a grove of trees with no foliage on the trunks, but a canopy of foliage about 20'-30' up (similar to palm trees, but of course these were not palms). The site faced the wrong way to back our 32' fifth wheel into, but the camp host helped us come in the loop the 'wrong' way so we could back in. (Not all sites had a view of the ocean). Note that there is an additional fee of $5 to use the dump station, even if you're camping there. Here's a short list of what we think were the best sites for our future visits with our 32' fifth wheel. If you have a smaller rig, or are tent camping, other sites would be good as well. All of these overlooked the ocean: A13, A25, A27, F6, E6 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Nice ocean 'front' park. Our site was across the campsite access road from the bluff overlooking the ocean, but the sites across from us had a wonderful view. Our site (A-26) was nice because it was in a grove of trees with no foliage on the trunks, but a canopy of foliage about 20'-30' up (similar to palm trees, but of course these were not palms). The site faced the wrong way to back our 32' fifth wheel into, but the camp host helped us come in the loop the 'wrong' way so we could back in. (Not all sites had a view of the ocean). Note that there is an additional fee of $5 to use the dump station, even if you're camping there. Here's a short list of what we think were the best sites for our future visits with our 32' fifth wheel. If you have a smaller rig, or are tent camping, other sites would be good as well. All of these overlooked the ocean: A13, A25, A27, F6, E6 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Kalaloch is a wonderful campground for being right by the ocean. Beach is beautiful with easy access accept for some logs you will have to navigate through. Sites are all paved and you are back in the trees. No hookups as well as no showers, but there is plenty of water and flush toilets. Sites are not overly large, but some can accommodate larger RV's. The pull-thru sites are not what you would consider true pull-thru's. They are just small notches off the main loop road, so do not provide as much privacy and some of them face the wrong direction from your camper's door. We asked if we could park our travel trailer in the opposite direction for just that reason and the park staff allowed us to do that. They were very friendly and accommodating, as was the camp host. We can't wait to come back here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
If you want a camp site with a view of the water and the sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep, this park can't be beat. The sites are all located on a bluff, and the first 20 feet or so of beach is covered with huge logs so access to the water can be a problem for some. The park is within easy walking distance of the lodge so that a restaurant and little store are available if so desired. Since no reservations are accepted in the winter months, we took our chances and had no problem finding a good location. There is an additional charge to dump your tank. Since we were on a one way loop, we were backed in placing the table and fire pit on the opposite side from my door, but all of the sites seem to be this way. I would have given this park a 10 rating except for my nearest neighbor who had at least three vehicles, either taking up additional spaces or blocking the road by parking all three in front of his and my sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$7
We had back-in site E12. It was shady, paved, fairly level and double wide so we could get our 30 ft class A in the site and park the car next to it. We were not on the ocean bluff but could easily hear the surf. Park literature says maximum trailer length is 21 ft, not sure exactly how that translates into RV size but several sites will take larger units. Unfortunately A, B and C loops were closed when we where there but we walked through and found that A loop had some really nice ocean side sites big enough for an RV our size. We also thought that D24 was an excellent ocean view site. Bathrooms were nothing special and there were no showers. Nightly rate reflects the Interagency Senior Pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com