206530 User submitted reviews online!!
Diamond Caverns Resort and Golf Club was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (270) 749-3114
CGID1207

Diamond Caverns Resort and Golf Club

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   2   6   9   7   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This appeared to be the closest campground to Mammoth Caves which was very convenient. Staff was friendly and courteous. Everything was as advertised. Clean facilities, friendly staff and family-friendly atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$1
TTN rate. Campground is close to Mammoth Cave and other caves in the area. Not much has changed since our last visit here. Interior roads are rough, and there are no activities. Check-in went smoothly, and there were plenty vacancies. Ticks were there to greet us, but bug spray kept them at bay. The golf course is slightly better kept than two years ago, and lots of players this week. Campground host was very helpful and made regular rounds every day. The laundry and restrooms/showers were clean. The mowers were working all week, first doing sites then the huge open field. On the air HDTV was good, and our wi-fi devices pulled in a fair signal. We spent a relaxing week touring caves and hiking in the area. Bowling Green is a close drive to visit the Corvette Museum and GM's Corvette Assembly Plant, both great fun. We will stop here when back in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$17
Friendly staff. Large pull-through sites. Nice view of green area. Cost reflects Passport America discount. Close to Bowling Green and Corvette Museum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$0
There are but a few things I can add that haven't already been said. First the good news...the pool is open and functional and best yet appears to be getting serviced. My rate is $0 due to being a member of 1000 Trails. Now for the bad. As in most areas of Kentucky the Lone Star Tick is plentiful and hungry. There are a number of areas in the campground that are not being mowed frequently. One of the camp hosts noted earlier in the week when we arrived that our area had not been mowed and acted as though he were going to take care of it. I've yet to see a mower being used other then the front lawn in the six days we've been here. The weeds are up over my knee in our site. I'm now covered with at least a dozen ugly looking welts caused by these voracious critters. It's currently 1:25 AM and because I can't sleep you are hopefully getting the benefit of my experience. My recommendation is to stay away from this campground until they learn how to start their mowers and get all the grass cut on a regular basis. The way they take care of their lawn is unfortunately in many ways indicative of the condition of the campground. It's easy to see how this was once quite a nice destination and could have been called a resort. Now I'd be hard pressed to recommend it as a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$21
Encore (TTN) park. Rate quoted is PPA. Pool not operational when we were there. Most facilities were closed (permanently?). Small campground, level gravel sites. Good Verizon voice & data. Good air TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$10
Overall this is a very pleasant campground with excellent access to Mammoth Cave National Park. Roads and sites were gravel with short concrete pads in some sites. Most sites were long enough for any rig. There were a few trees and lots of grassy areas. Restrooms were clean and functional, but showers needed some maintenance. Wonderfully quiet except Saturday afternoon when World War III broke out at a nearby shooting range. There was no Wi-Fi and my Verizon USB 760 was very slow even with my amplifier. Rate is Coast to Coast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$10
It is off season so it is very quiet. Bathroom and showers are fine. Laundry is fine. Facilities are "aged" but OK. Some sites are very close together and some have more room. They let you pick your site so pick what you like that is available when you arrive. Water has a odd taste; we bought water at store for drinking. Very close to caves. Rate is Coast to Coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
Lots of green space. Semi level sites. Stayed here for a week. Rates reflects C2C. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$1
Rate for Mid-Atlantic/ELS. Diamond Caverns checkin office is on the Mammoth Caves Parkway with easy pull through access. Across the Parkway is the entrance to the CG which is far enough from I-65 to be nearly noise free. This is a destination resort with ALL the amenities including time share condo rentals and an 18 hole golf course. Members receive price breaks on golf and carts. CG reception and host camper are very helpful and the CG is in good condition. The spa, pool, hot tub, laundry, restrooms, lodge and exercise room all excellent. Wi-Fi is Tengonet and it's worthless. Cell phones work here and our Clearwire internet card pulled in a 4 bar 3G signal. Interior roads are fairly new crushed rock and gravel and there is a huge grass area for wandering or walking the dog. You will find a variety of pull through sites. Closest to the lodge 30 AMP the rest are 50 AMP. The gravel roads and sites lower the rating a bit and many of the sites require some leveling. Picnic tables were mostly in poor repair and need paint. Golf was great. Mammoth Cave is about 5 miles away and Cave City has decent services about 7 miles. We would definitely return when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$10
Camped here on Coast-to-Coast points while visiting Mammoth Cave NP. VERY convenient. Wide gravel pull through with expansive view out the rear window. Host was very friendly and helpful. The office, however, was closed early (3:30 PM), and the next day had no on-line access to clear my reservations. Overall a nice place to spend a few days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Rate is after Good Sam discount + taxes. Wi-Fi .32 up, 1.29 down open (no codes) available at Pavilion and Spa, not at sites. Gravel roads and sites moderately washed and need work. 4" to level. Bathroom sinks had dead bugs. Showers old. Need remodel. One hook, no shelf. Most sites pull through, some with shade. Utilities spread over 15' from electric to sewer so camper position important for hook up. This is a Coast to Coast resort destination so predominant camper is a big rig for a week. Very quiet with good view of night sky so camping feel is real. Poor quality firewood (damp). Excellent camp host. Rated down for bathrooms, Wi-Fi, firewood, grading and gravel, all things owner controls. Would return here for quiet camping. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
Sites were not level at all in the section below the pool. Unable to get reception on DirecTV and only Wi-Fi is at activity center. Very nice pool and a live band played on Saturday night. Camp host was nice. Very convenient to many attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$12
We stayed here in a 38' 5th wheel for a month $325 + $40 electric (no membership). A nicely wooded campground, gravel roads, mostly gravel camping areas with a few concrete slabs, some sites are level some are not. VERY HIGH WATER pressure, so watch yourself, electric was very good. The park is very dated, in need of some TLC, but it is certainly clean. The gravel roads are for the most part well taken care of. We had a few rocks hit and at least one damage our rig when the local camp host was mowing on an old riding mower. After we mentioned the rocks hitting the rig, the grass was not mowed around us again while we were here and of course he let us know how it simply would not be possible the way he mows, but we were home and it was VERY loud strikes when the rocks hit. We did not have the same problem with the commercial mowers. Some low hanging trees line the roads which will cause a problem for bigger rigs like ours. A very quiet location on our scale, the train can only be heard WAY OFF in the distance. Internet can only be gotten inside and just around the gym, its a large park, so count on no WiFi at your location. The laundry room was clean, we did overhear a conversation between another customer and staff about the machines taking her money and not starting. Who knows, could have been operator error? This park sits just inside the Mammoth Cave National Park which is a beautiful area, bike and hiking trails and of course the cave systems are about 10 minutes up the road. Pool was just being open, the putt-putt course needed repair and cleaning, the gym had very old equipment, the buildings and bathrooms/showers were old but clean. WiFi was fast and worked every time we used it except for one day. Wal-Mart was about a 30 mile round trip, the Dollar Store and gas was about 1 mile down the road. There is an outdoor gun range that is somewhere in the distance, so some days there was a lot of shooting and others none at all, the noise level was not bad at all. The camp hosts and staff were all very nice. We would certainly stay here again for the nice staff, silence, nature and beauty of the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
This is an ownership park that has not been maintained. The sites are not very level. The narrow interior roads are either gravel or broken asphalt. To get Wi-Fi you must go down to the clubhouse. The pool was off limits to guests. Only owners could use it. The check in staff person was very friendly and the camp host was very helpful and very accommodating. Lots of room to walk/run your pet. Lots of open space. Nice setting. Just a run down park. It is adequate for a few nights stay and very convenient to Mammoth Caves National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$10
We spent one night here and were the only campers in the park. Shortly after we arrived someone from the campground checked both restrooms and came out. We checked both restrooms out and found that they were both heated and clean. I did shower in the morning and found that the shower had plenty of hot water and was clean. We did not use the water or sewer here (even though it was available) because the overnight low was in the 20's and we did not want to de-winterize the camper until we were further south. The staff was very friendly and we have decided that we would like to stay here at a different time of year to take advantage of some of the local activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
This is our 2nd stay at this resort. We love the peacefulness here. It has a beautiful setting. Their putt putt & some amenities are showing age & the affects of opening the campground to non-members. They are RPI, Coast to Coast & Thousand Trails affiliates. Perfect spot to see Mammoth Cave & the surrounding area. Cards played all day if you are interested. They also caravan to restaurants a couple of times per week. We will definitely be back. We have not heard highway noise or trains!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
Have stayed here under Coast the last several years heading north. Older campground, but clean and sites are basically level. Wi-Fi is in the main building, but with my Jeffa-teck antenna I could get internet in my trailer with an 80% signal. Would stay again for a few days, nice peaceful atmosphere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
We stayed at the RPI rate. The hosts were very friendly but the campground is confusing. I'm told it's set up the old way which is each rig faces a different way, which we've never seen before. Water pressure is good and high so I'd suggest using a regulator. Pool was closed for the winter, we were told that they had washers but the building said it was closed for the winter as well. Yes there is some highway noise but nothing outrageous and better than most we've stayed at in AZ. There have been 2 trains so far but if you want absolute quiet then I guess you need to boon dock or stay home since most parks are by some kind of noise. Very close to caverns and the Bourbon Trail which if you take the trail you'll not care about any noise afterward! Nice mid-range park, nice views, not a gravel parking lot like most we've stayed in. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$12
I am surprised by the rave reviews on this this web site. We thought it was a pretty ho hum park. We had full hookups on a partially shaded, gravel, 50A site. Ours, and all the 50 amp sites were very unlevel. The only level sites were 30 amp with concrete pads. If you have a big rig, you are forced to choose between easy set-up and low power, or a difficult set-up and high power. If you have a small rig the 30a sites are the obvious choice. Wi-Fi only works at the lodge, not in the park. The park sits high enough that there is steady noise from the interstate. There were also a couple of loud trains each day. On the plus side, it was very convenient to Mammoth Cave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
The rate is a C2C rate. We loved this campground and the hosts are fantastic. They'd have to be, to have gotten me to sing on karaoke night. I haven't sung in public since 5th grade. All the other campers - many that come often - were fantastic too. They invited us to play cards, go to brunch, and a ton of other stuff. They treated us like we'd known them for 10 years. We will definitely come back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Loved this campground! The camp host was great. Friendly, accommodating. We had reservations at Jellystone one exit North, they gave away our spot. Diamond Caverns saved our trip. They had a great spot for us, full hook ups. We were very comfortable with the 38 foot fifth wheel. $150.00 cheaper than Jellystone and the mini golf was included(its not at Jellystone). We spent 4 relaxing nights at Diamond Caverns. It was quiet, the folks were friendly, the entertainment was nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
I really enjoyed this park. I came here as a result of leaving another campground due to the fact that I was not impressed at all with them. Anyway, this is a fairly nice place and right across the street from Diamond Caverns which was a very nice cave if you are in the area checking out the different caverns and caves. My father and I played golf at the Caverns golf course, and it wasn't too bad. Kind of rough but playable. Would I play it again?? Well, probably not, but it was nice getting out and playing a round with my dad. It just amazes me that I was able to get 2 sites at this campground for less than what 1 cost at the other campground. We booked the site beside us so we wouldn't have neighbors right up on us. I would have given this higher, but it only had gravel pads and no real patio, just dirt right outside our door. I do have to have a nice area to sit with the family. I do think that there were some sites in the park that had concrete pads though. Would surely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This is a beautiful park, well maintained and very clean. It would be nice to stay for a week or more. Only downsides are the lack of Wi-Fi and cable hookup. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$10
Extremely helpful staff and friendly. Nice large site, with a great yard. Several activities for local folks and newbies. Facilities were a little dated but clean and usable, except basketball court after a rain. Mini golf needed upgrading, but we were here at end of season. We would stay again if in the area. Seems to be centrally located to all the caves in the area and not too far from Bowling Green. Nice stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$10
Stayed on C2C. Nice layout, easy in and out. Good place to stay while visiting Mammoth Cave We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$10
Still a C2C and RPI park. Easy access for big rigs IF sites are available - since people pick out their own spots, the office doesn't really know who is parked where. Satellite TV works fine, friendly staff and a well maintained camp ground. Big rigs may have to work a little to get level depending if you have a pull through or a back-in. Spaces are a little close: if there were someone next to us, their hook-ups would be next to our picnic table. About 14 miles from shopping (WalMart) and a mvie theater in Cave City. It's a nice quiet place to hang out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
I agree with the other comments here. I like this park. It's good for both campers and tourists. (We don't camp.) It has all different type sites. We picked a site with lots of room around it and shade trees on one side. One thing I love is that they let you pick whatever site you want. They don't assign a site to you. We got the Coast To Coast rate. The Thousand Trails rate was a little higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$8
We chose one of the few sites between 2 trees for a little shade. We had a bit of trouble getting level, but once done everything else was fine. The staff were very pleasant. The door to the laundry room is left open, so I had to clean out moths from the washing machines before use. The location couldn't be better for seeing the caves in the area. It's a nice park and we'd stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$8
We stayed here as members of Coast to Coast. Don't know how much longer they will be associated with this organization as they have been taken over by Thousand Trails. This is a nice park conveniently located to Mammoth Cave ( less than 10 miles ) and Bowling Green ( 20 miles ) which is home to the Corvette Factory & Museum ( tours given ) We were here during a heat wave - temps over 100 - and made good use of the pool & activity pavilion. Their activities director does a great job getting people to 'mingle' with different games being played throughout the day as well as different meals & pot lucks. The sites are well spaced and offer 30 or 50 amp, sewer & water. Some have trees, most don't. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$8
The area here is just fantastic! Caves, Caves and more Caves! Don't miss Diamond Caverns just a walk across the road! Most of the sites are difficult to level your rig. All sites have been graveled. Limited distance free WiFi in the Pavilion. Good cell reception. Most sites are satellite friendly. Campground staff and host were very friendly and helpful. Propane is available at the park. Good laundry facilities. We will certainly return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$10
Adequate campground. We were in a pull through site with 50 amp, water and sewer. Site was unlevel and not compacted. When it rained the jacks sunk into the ground and the site was muddy. Facilities were well kept and personnel were nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
This is a pick your own site park. Fortunately the camp host was available to help. Sites in the 400 section are pull-thrus and are roomy and level with some shade trees. They call themselves a 5 star resort - maybe they over-sell themselves. It could be a nice park with a little maintenance. Close to Mammoth Park. TV reception is very poor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
The place is in need of a facelift. I think it is the best campground in the Mammoth Cave Area but it has some issues. The children's play area is a danger zone and should be closed down. We were led to believe it was a place where our toddler could play but it was way too dangerous with broken boards, bridges, and swings. Also, the putt-putt golf area is in a state of disrepair. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
This has to be one of the nicest parks I have stayed at.. It is in transition right now, new owners. It is now known as Diamond Caverns Campground. The staff are very friendly and helpful.. It is located in an area close enough to "civilization" yet far enough away to give you a sense of solitude. There is a resort just down the road with a championship golf course...very reasonable rates. We stayed for a week and plan on coming back either in Sept or next year for a month. You wont be sorry... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$27
Roads are paved or gravel. Sites are mostly level concrete or gravel with a few back to back sites. Good water pressure. Gated and guarded. Easy access from roads and interstate, but no noise. Miniature golf, hot tub, big exercise facility. Golf course and Diamond Caverns near by. Small store. Park is showing some age. They also own Cedar Hill Campground, but it is closed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Nice gravel sites that are level. A little close together but not objectionable. Quiet and close to Mammoth Cave NP. Bowling Green only 25 minutes away. Camphost on site and helpful. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$22
The only reason I give Cedar Hill a '7' is because of the roads in the park. Rough with lots of potholes. However, it is very quiet and peaceful and in my opinion is the place to stay if you are going to Mammoth Cave. The pull-thru sites offer a view of a small lake that is stocked. Both shad and open sites are available. Be aware that registration is about 2 miles from the campground at Diamond Caverns Resort. I thought $22 for full hookup was great deal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$18
Laundry room on site. Park hosts available if needed. Campground is off Mammouth Cave Parkway in national park. Campground has pond that is stocked and ready for fishing. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com