221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Renfro Valley RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 51 user reviews. Phone: (606) 256-2638
CGID1209

Renfro Valley RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   8   7   7   8   4   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
The rate posted reflects the 4th of July "Bluegrass Music Festival". We stayed for the 3 day festival plus 3 more days to visit with family that met us here. They have pull-through and back-in sites, some with 50 amp and some with 30 amp. We were late making a reservation and ended up with a 30 amp back-in site. The electric was very good and consistent, water pressure was 40 psi. The sites are mostly grass with a little gravel here and there. The sites could use leveled out, but getting level was not too difficult. They have one way roads that no one seems to pay any attention to. The roads are gravel and thus create a lot of dust. They are located right off of I-75 but there is no noticeable road noise. They have a lot of events going on here and the staff does everything they can to make the stay here enjoyable. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This park is part of an entertainment venue that is provided primarily for attendees. It's easy access from I-75 makes it a good stop over spot. Friendly staff. Pleasant location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$17
We have stayed here several times as an overnight stop on our way North. The rate reflects a Passport America discount. The campground is located near I-75 and easy to access. Sites (Creekside) are level pull throughs with full hookups and good 50 amp service and cable. Staff are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$19
Passport America rate, extra for 50 amp. New area has long pull through sites with good 50/30 amp full hookups. No bathhouse in new area. Easy access to I-75. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
Great customer service, special section for Big Rigs although some walking distance from the bath house. Full hookups are good, easy in and out. We have stayed here several times. They have music shows on weekends - Country Music! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
Sites are short for a big rig. Can't park car and rig with an 38' 5th wheel. Drainage limited. Gravel sites not mowed recently. They have entertainment nearby and a "village" area. Staff friendly and helpful. They were just starting their tourist season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
We stayed at the Creekside section, the sites are longer. It's the newer section. No shade, but we didn't need it this time of year. Full hook-ups and everything worked perfectly. Excellent cable TV. Gravel roads and sites. The perfect stop on the way to and from Florida. They have a Passport Rate of $17.50 for Sunday through Wednesday. Not much going on at Renfro Valley on these days though. We stayed 4 nights for $70. All of the fast food restaurants are within 3 miles. When sitting outside, you can hear I-75 noise, but it's not anything to be concerned about. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Sign in okay. Pull through was short. Staff said WiFi was very sporadic. What they meant was non existent. Won't happen again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$15
Nice campground when heading to Florida as they are one of the few campgrounds open in the winter. It is easy off I-75 and easy on. The restroom is clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
Nice park. $37 rate was with our KOA card. There was a very steep hill to get into the park. We had a bicycle rack on the back of our 5th wheel: it dragged getting into the park and going out of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
Our stay was in early February (off-season) and there were only three units in the park. I think the park would be more attractive in the summer but it looked very drab and in need of a cleanup when we visited. Staff did not inform us that the water was turned off and seemed unable to make change or accept a credit card. We would look at the park as a possibility for a Spring, Summer, or Fall visit but would be inclined to find another one nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$15
Campground is basically shut down for the winter months. Still it is a great overnight stop on the way to Florida. Electric only, no water. Price is for Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
Rate reflects Passport America. This was an overnighter on a long trip. Seemed like a good choice on paper. BUT...first sign we saw said RV Park and arrow to right, so we turned. We were in the newer, big field. It was raining and most sites were full of water, both in gravel drive and grass where you step out. Pulled in, found a site, hooked up. Then went looking for bath house...none. Oh, wait, another area seemed to have one, but we decided to stay put. Asked how to register and told to go to welcome center and ticket office. Long walk through rain. Office had big sign, "RV Check-in" so I went in. Very bored lady sitting there (only about 6 rigs in entire park this time of year and no shows that night.) She said nope, go next door. They are the after hours check in, guess someone put the sign up early. So next door there are 3 very bored young ladies. I registered and told them I had 30 amp. Oh, but I was in the wrong park. Where I was also had 50 amp so had to pay for the opportunity to use it. I protested and said I would move. Finally they gave it to me for the lower price. Got back to camper and could not hook up to the Wi-Fi. Office never offered map, channel listing, information, etc. Maybe in summer or when shows are on, this place would be OK, but for us, it was safer and better than a WalMart, but not by much. At least in a WalMart there are places to eat nearby or food to buy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Stayed here one night. Original site was not level and very muddy from the previous days rain. We were given another site which was fine. We were in the newer section which is far away from the restrooms. Country music is a short walk on the weekends, with stores and a restaurant. OK for a one night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
We parked in the newer section. It's really just a field with hookups. No facilities here: would have to drive to the older section. Fine for an over nighter. Close to interstate but didn't hear any noise. Also convenient to fast food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
quiet place, good shows to take in as well as a neat little village. We stayed here in a 40 ft. motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
This is a nice CG. We stopped and used Passport America discount 2 nights and went to 2 shows (gospel & bluegrass) across the street. Close to X-way but noise wasn't bad. Sprint cell and internet access worked good. Rooftop TV dish had no troubles with the few trees near our site. Nothing here in Renfro Valley or Mt Vernon other than the country music. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
This is a beautiful area and there are things to do in the park. They have a replica Appalachian Village Museum, several shops to browse and some music shows all within walking distance. The larger 50 amp sites are across a small stream from the village while the 30 amp sites are just behind the village. For those with large motorhomes, I saw several 40 footers with tow vehicles connected in the sites so room is not a problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
This is a good place to camp if your purpose is to catch a show at Renfro Valley. The park itself is gravel sites with only a little shade. They are pretty close together but mostly level. Nothing fancy, but it is a good place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
Nice medium sized KOA with friendly staff. Few long sites for big rigs with toad. Utilities good. Wi-Fi weak, but we were at site furthest from office. Nice overnight stop on way to Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We paid $36 for one night with Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
Price reflects P/A discount. We totally agree with the previous poster. The sites are reasonably level and the water pressure and 50 amp electric is very good. We went to a bluegrass music show that was very good while we were here. The host was very good and knowledgeable. We looked around the older sites that only offer 30 amp and there were no large trees for shade either. There was some road noise but barely noticeable. Wi-Fi was down for the entire park at the time we were here. We were told a storm had taken the system out approximately a week ago. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
We stayed at Renfro Valley to attend the Saturday night Barn Dance which we really enjoyed. We stayed in the "new" part of the campground, which is where you'll end up if you want 50 amp hookups. There is plenty of room and the pull throughs are nice and long. However, there are NO trees whatsoever. You are basically sitting in a big field. There were full hookups (cable, water, sewer) and they have wifi available although if you're staying in this section, the wifi signal is weak to non-existant. For me, it was unusable. There are no firepits and fires are not allowed. Also, there is no garbage pickup at the site, you have to take your garbage to the dumpster at the entrance of the park. If I came back, I'd forgo the 50 amp and stay in the older section where there are at least some trees. Also, the new section does not have a bath house, you have to walk to the older section (which is quite a haul across a bridge). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$14
Price reflect Passport America rate. Nice little campground. 50 amp full hookups. Check in is down the road and well marked, but of course we missed. Nice stopover. We will be back. Quiet easy in easy out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
Stayed here for a couple of nights. It's not a bad campground. The spaces were on the smaller side where we camped but not too bad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
This is a great Passport America stop right off I-75 but not a lot of highway noise. It has a rebuilt little "town" with shops and country music concerts. You check in at the shop on the left side of the road, then go across the road to the campground. I can't think of anything to complain about. Full hookups for 14.50, what's not to love? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
Rate reflects Passport America rate. If you are using Passport America be aware that it is only good for Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday as stated on the Passport America website. This campground is a great value for $17. We stayed 3 nights and had full hookup including 50 amp service. The sites are truly big rig friendly - 110 foot gravel pull-throughs. This is a small town, so we went 15 miles north to Berea, KY for any needed shopping. This campground is 1/2 mile off I-75, so it is a convenient location but far enough from the highway so you don't have any highway noise issues. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
We stayed one very cold night on our way south. The rest of the park and it's village were all closed; however, we just wanted somewhere to plug in and sleep. It was clean, neat, and well kept. Access is easy both in the park and from the road. Determining where check in was and all was not well marked; however, it was easy enough to find our way around after a phone call to their office. We used our Passport America membership to get our overnight rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Wanted to stop overnight on our way South for the winter. But, needed propane before setting up. A fellow camper told us office opened at 11am. After waiting 40 minutes for office to OPEN finally phoned someone in another office to be told NO propane was available on that DAY? Stayed here before and seemed OK, now they just don't care anymore! Good Luck even trying to check in!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$16
The night we stayed here, the village was closed, so nothing much else to do, but for an overnight stop, this place is excellent. Large lots, quiet, close to the interstate, but just far enough away to escape the noise. The teens in the office weren't very accommodating, but got the job done. The rate we paid was Passport rate. Would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
This is a very interesting place. We were in the new section that has 50 amp. The roads and sites are nice gravel and are level. They have entertainment from Wednesday through Sunday every week. They have headliners there frequently. We went to a Bluegrass show that was very good and another show where the singer had a playlist but if you hollered out a song title and he knew it he would sing it. It was an excellent show. They have a restaurant at the facility and several shops. They honor Passport America from Sunday through Thursday. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
This older park has long semi level sites that were graveled many years ago. The site we had had more dirt than gravel and it rained. We stayed in the South section which has no restrooms, laundry or WI-Fi. Our Sat. system did work. The entertainment center is closed on M-T. The area is beautiful and the staff is helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We have stayed here several times and after continuing to read the reviews I am inclined to believe that new owners have taken over since the first time we stayed. The staff is friendly and all but they have some work to do...the sites are NOT level and we spent time trying to level our rig. YES I know we are in the mountains but leveling can be accomplished here. We stay in the mountains all the time and have never seen so many people have to move because they can't get level. It is a very simple thing to accomplish to make people happy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
Nice park for an overnight stay. Right off I-75 and easy access. We got Passport rate. Music park starting to look run down since we were last here. Wi-Fi does not reach the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
Older CG with only limited 50 amp service. Newer section with all 50 amps, set to open but had water leak problems. Local country music shows Wednesday through Sunday evenings, but most everything else seemed closed. Interesting historic village but only open from noon to seven except when there are head-liner acts performing. The economy seems to be taking it's toll. We were here on a Wednesday night, so maybe things are better on the week-ends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is a BASIC campground suitable for only an overnight stay. We made the mistake of paying for multiple nights thinking we were going to have activities to enjoy. There is no pool, sporadic WiFi, no recreation other than Bluegrass, Gospel, and Country music. Shows are not usually available during day and not on every night. A lot of sites are not level and TV reception is fuzzy at times. No shade by and large throughout this campground. This is not a destination, and probably won't be around long as the adjacent entertainment center seems to be on the downward slope. Give it five years at most, unless vast changes are made to the show schedule. There was one good point about staying here: it is close to Berea Old Town which is a nice place to visit for arts and crafts. Would not return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$32
We did an overnight stay on way to Florida. The check-in staff very pleasant. Campground is right off I-75 which was very convenient. Nice steak house with good food at reasonable prices down the road from campground. Will stay here again on our way back home from FL to OH the end of March. Area around campground is open with green space and quiet but still near conveniences (sites though are fairly close together). Of course, we stayed when they were not hosting the Renfro Valley Music shows which we were told would resume end of March for the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
Check-in staff was pleasant. Dog-friendly, bicycle and walking friendly. Restaurant on-site. Shopping available in nearby towns. Sites spacious and easy to access; somewhat unlevel. Great overnight location. Easy on/off from I-75. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Boy I can't believe anyone would say anything derogatory about this place. It is clean with large spaces and lots of room for walking the dogs. We woke up to the sounds of cows mooing in the nearby hill. Do not understand why anybody would pay 30% more to stay at a KOA when you get all you need right here. We've been coming here for five years and find the managers courteous and the grounds meeting all our requirements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
The campground is directly behind Renfro Valley entertainment center. Our site was not level and the grass needed to be mowed. Would be nice to have fire rings and picnic tables with seats wide enough to comfortably sit (only 1 board that was approximately 5 inches wide for sitting). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
OK for an overnight stop which is what we did. We were in the new section, no trees at all, just a gravel parking lot with hookups. I would return here for an overnight stop however wouldn't make this a destination. Very close to I-75. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
We paid the Passport America rate. This is a very nice basic RV Park. Don't be looking for the swimming pool or Jacuzzi. The bathrooms are clean and big. You park on gravel, and each site has a nice grass strip on both sides of it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. There are actually two sections of the RV Park. The old side, with trees, grass, a stream, and bathrooms. The new side with no trees, no grass, no stream, and no bathrooms. This RV Park is for country music lovers. If you are coming on a weekend in the summer, better make reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
We stayed here for 3 days. The campground has live country music and a nice shopping area. All this is within walking distance of your campsite! It is very easy to get in and out of the campground. The campground is pet friendly. We have been coming here for the last ten years and we have never had a bad stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
The water was cut off because of the frigid weather which was understandable. However, when I went to take a shower the water was not even warm enough to bathe a baby. Also one was out of order, one had no hooks for clothing and none had a place to put soap, shampoo and other necessary items. There are virtually no trees, not terribly level spaces and not welcoming at all. When we checked in we got the same "not welcoming" from them. Would only stop there again if absolutely necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Stayed 10 days on this visit. The park is two campgrounds now. The original and the new so-called creekside. The creekside is all long pull through, level sites with utilities but no trees. The original campsite does have pull thrus and some are extremely long i.e. they could easily fit two rigs with toads. Just need to be explicit with the person making reservation about what length you want. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Quiet park during the week, busy on the weekend, personnel friendly and helpful. New pull thrus have been added in an adjacent field. Musical shows enjoyable and reasonably priced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
The campground is nice. Clean bath house. Walking distance to gift shops, entertainment and restaurants. The shops at the campground were nice. (Good ice cream & fudge!) We ate at the Wild Mint Eatery at the campground. The food was good but there wasn't much selection and the staff was disorganized & confused. The lady in the info office was very helpful in giving us info about area attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
The front row pull thrus are too short for all but the shortest rigs and the utilities are located in the front. So don't plan on pulling in overnight and staying hooked up. The back-ins are plenty long for that though. Nice complex with helpful staff. Lodge restaurant has excellent food. Museum at the complex and the one next door are both worthwhile. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
Located adjacent to the music facility. The campground my not a destination, but the music venue sure is. Simple , level, gravel lots. Room for slides and awnings. FHU nicely done. The sites are a bit short if you have a toad. There is a 6 pax golf cart that shuttles right to where ever you are headed. Walk from the RV park to the venue is 50ft at most. Some pull throus only a very few 40ft+toad sites. Most sites are back in. Reserve what you need. This is everything I would want in a weekend outing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
This campground is nice, most of the sites are large but in the open. Not much there but the gravel sites. Easy in and out, sites were bare of much shade. We stayed here to go to the show, which was really good and all the shops were fun to go through. Office is really a shack, they don't offer much in the way of supplies or groceries. Not a destination campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2004
$12
This is a nice park for over-nighting. We had some bad weather and stayed for four days. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to extend our Passport America rates, due to the weather. We were there in the off-season and the music festivals were not active in the area. We did not have 50 amp. service and we do not believe the park offered it (good 30 amp). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Passport of America accepted on certain days of the week. Says they have cable t v, does not work very well. Some sites have large puddles of water after a rain We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com