214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Taylorsville Lake State Park Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (502) 477-8713
CGID1213

Taylorsville Lake State Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   8   7   7   9   10   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
Very clean and well kept. The tent camping sites are tucked away in the woods and very private. I highly recommend for tent camping. The horse camping area is all pull-through spots with water and electric and shade trees on each space with a fire ring. The whole grounds are fairly flat and level making walking or biking around the block a lot easier. If you want a challenge there are loads of trails, some that go directly to the lake. The standard RV spots are medium/large size and mostly typical back in with shade behind you. Not a one isn't level. We got lucky and were able to stay in one of the horse camping spots. If it rains, they don't allow horses for several days and open these larger spaces up to RVs and tents. They are off to themselves in the back of the campground and offer a more secluded feeling. Gravel and very level, all of them. There is a nice modern playground easily accessible from most anywhere in the park. The restrooms are maintained regularly and very clean. The boat ramp is just down the lane. This is close to Bourbon country and the KY Bourbon Trail with loads of distilleries to tour within 45-60 minutes. Great, clean park. If this place had a pool and more spaces it would be an easy 9.5 - 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
This campground is nicely set up with flat land and spacious sites. However, there was a lot of rain the first night and our site (#30) was flooded. That was okay, we could deal with that. The deal breaker for us was the loudness and absence of ANY park ranger or surveillance! I noticed there was no "quiet time" signs posted in the park, but little did I know that this campground is a place where people can drink and blast music all night long! My 14-year-old daughter was subjected to inappropriate behavior and drunken conversations that made me wish we would have stayed home! I've called the park to ask if they enforce any quiet time rules and have not received a phone call. Unless you want to drink and party all night, this is not a family family campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Very clean park with spacious sites. Friendly staff, very helpful if needed. Ice and wood delivered to site if needed. Electrical problems near back of park. A lot of the electric outlets, 30 amp, were melted. My surge protector which has a readout read anywhere from 108 volts to 120. Small pea gravel on sites. Nice bathhouse and playground. Very nice campground as far as State Parks go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Stayed there one night on a longer trip. Park is a little out-of-the-way for a one night stay. Nice campground. Not many shaded sites. Better for a longer stay. Probably would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
This is a great State Park. Compared just to other state parks, it would be rated higher. The sites are large, the park is beautifully kept, and the bath house is excellent. The hiking and horse trails are fabulous. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Great park access roads are paved and the grounds are kept up. lots of areas to walk and nice surrounding woods. Not a lot of shade on the rv sites. The laundry is clean. The showerhouses have gone down some not sure why we have camped her for years and they have always been clean, but they are not now. Spoke to the admimistration about this and was told they would handle it. Staff is friendly and other than the showerhouses the park is very nice. We stayed here for two weeks in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Went to this park expecting to have lake access and use of bike trails but was disappointed in both. Lake is for boats only so bring your own or plan to drive 5 miles to rent one. The bike trails turned out to be narrow horse paths that mountain bikes might be able to negotiate but not my cruiser. Stuck to riding on the main roads and it was OK but not what we expected. The laundry and shower facilities were clean and easily accessible. Everyone there was very pleasant but most sites are not shaded so if you want shade ask for it specifically. There are some kid friendly play grounds. This is primarily for boaters and horses despite what the state web site says so beware before you plan to go here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$19
This large state park overlooking the man-made Taylorsville Lake is a delightful place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campground is set back several miles from the highway and its sites are large and well-spaced. The park offers a number of horseback and hiking trails, plus boating access to the lake. While well away from populated areas, the park is still convenient to Louisville, Lexington and Bourbon Trail sites. I was able to receive signals from several over the air TV stations. Only a weak wireless connection was available at my site, which was described to me as one of the best for internet access in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
This campground is out in the middle of nowhere but it is a very nice campground. The sites are all large and spaced out nicely!! The bathhouses were very clean and modern!! No swimming area in the park, so unless you have a boat, you cannot go swimming. Other than that, nice campground!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
Very nice park. Have stayed here several times and it is always clean. Most of the sites are shady and have grass. Lots of wildlife to see. No cell service or Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$23
We stayed on the pull through site #40. Everything was "as advertised" Park was well maintained and offered many trails and equestrian camping as well. Site was nice and level. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Beautiful campground, very clean and well maintained, wide campsites and wide spaces between campsites, easy in and out even for big rigs. Not a lot of shade (many trees are young). Lots of trails and wildlife viewing. Highly recommend this campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
This was my family's first trip to this campground and we truly enjoyed it. There is a nice playground for the kids. The campground is very quiet and extremely clean. Sites are very spacious, plenty of room in between sites. This is a no frills campground. No pool, and no view of the lake, but still a very nice campground. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
Most sites are shorter then what they say on the website. Can not put a camper and boat on most of the site. They want you to put your boat in boat parking which is way across the campground. If you have a expensive boat I wouldn't keep it over there! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
This is a great campground, sites are large and level and very clean. Stayed 1 night but would use the campground for a long stay. Nice and quiet great place to relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
This was our first state park stay and if all state parks were this nice we would use nothing else.The sites are very large and level.The water pressure was good and the 50 amp was strong.The shower/restroom was very clean and modern. Very nice laundry also. We had little trouble with our tri-pod satellite dish getting signal but rooftop dishes might have some trouble. I had to put it about 50 feet away from trailer to miss trees. Verizon air card signal was not Broadband but plenty fast for where we were. We will plan a longer stay next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
This is great campground. They could easily have put two or three sites in between each site there. The sites are angled to insure easy access (except when backing in at night when it's pitch black outside which we did) and are for the near perfect level. At night the campgrounds are so quiet that the only sounds you can hear is the crickets and tree frogs. You can not hear traffic at any time except for those staying in the campground. Staff is friendly and the restrooms with shower stalls are as clean and well keep as any we have seen. There are two dump stations located side by side which are very easy to get in and out of. There is no cable TV however when we scanned with the antenna we had 26 digital channels. We had a 27' 5th wheel and would have had no problems getting to any sites here. We also recommend The OLD STONE INN in Simpsonville, Kentucky (just google OLD STONE INN). It is the oldest inn in Kentucky and was built in 1817 and has a large selection of great food on the menu. So visit Taylorsville Lake State Park Campground, you won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
This is a small state park campground, but it’s spread out with plenty of space between the majority of the sites which are wide. Access road is paved; sites are gravel and generally level. There are small trees for landscaping, but provide very little shade. I saw only one pull through so I consider that a No for the default accommodations info. Bath house was well maintained. Voltage on both 50A and 30A sites was low at minimal occupancy and very low at high occupancy. This is an unacceptable condition if one wishes the convenience of using more than one appliance at a time; to include air conditioning. Water pressure was high. Rating is based on the lack of quality utilities. If that is not an issue for others, then bump it up a couple points. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
Still a nice getaway campground. Stayed two nights and enjoyed the time away. We arrived after some tent people that left a mess of beer cans behind the site and trash in the fire pit. Wouldn't expect anything less, some people just don't get it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
Stayed here in October of 2009 for Halloween. Everything at the campgrounds are great except for getting in and out of the section with sites 11-40 in it. You had to drive around a circle at the end of the lane and it had cut off utility poles on the inside of the circle and a rig longer then 45 feet is hard to make the turn. Otherwise everything was just fine and I plan on being back in 2010. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
This park is quiet and very nice and very clean. The staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. There is not much to do other than hike the trails but it is very pretty. The bathroom is clean and modern. My request would be that they put a few benches along the trails, install a few full hookups and have some kind of internet access. I have an AT&T card for my laptop but there was no AT&T service in the campground. As footnote our GPS brought us in via Kentucky Highway 22 which was a BIG mistake. Highway 22 is very narrow and curvy and not made for 5th wheels. Next time I will double check and compare routing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
Septic system went down and no one was allowed to dump and it may be down for a week. This isn't the fault of the campground but something could have been done for the campers to dump even if the state had to hire private sewage pumpers to help out in an emergency. The campground is still one of my favorites but you can see that the state is cutting corners on the upkeep and it will cost them in the long run of things. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
Nice campground. Lady in office was extremely nice and helpful. Well maintained, clean, plenty of space between units. Campground has playground, volley ball court, hiking trails, horse trails, close to boat launch and fishing. Campers next door caught a mess of fish from the shore using night crawlers and meal worms. The bath house was clean and centrally located. Campsite had a nice gravel pad, picnic table, lantern post, and a fire ring in each site, good TV reception with regular antenna. We will definitely come back here again for a quick weekend get away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$21
An excellent campground with spacious sites. They isn't much to do but it is a great place to get away from everything. Cell service is good and you get 4 TV stations out of Louisville with antenna. The small town of Taylorsville is a short drive away and you can usually find what you need. Sure wish they had full hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
This is a lovely small campground with oversize camp sites but few shade trees. We camped in a motorhome over the July 4 weekend and found the campground to be very family friendly. We had a pull-through level site with 50 amp and water. The dump station is within the campground. There is a separate camping area for people with horses and also a nice primitive area. The paved roads were great for biking, as well as the playground. The modern bathhouse was cleaned daily and very nice. The marina & boat rentals was about 10 miles away. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is a nice, clean, well maintained campground. We stayed here two nights. It is pretty, but most of the big trees are on the edges of this campground, since it is only about seven years old. In another 5 or 10 years there will be lots of big, pretty trees filling this campground since the small ones will have grown by then. The spaces are far enough apart for some privacy and it is a nice campground. You don't get to see the lake from any of the campsites, however. We enjoyed our stay and we will come back when we want to stay somewhere quiet and peaceful. It's a short drive to Louisville with all of its attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$21
Very nice, well kept State Park, This was our 3rd try at a Kentucky SP, and I must say this is by far the best we have encountered! It is a small cg with only 45 sites, but that made it all the more pleasant. The sites were very clean, the rest rooms were very, very clean and security was present over the weekend. We would definitely stay here again. The staff was very accommodating and they let us switch sites with no problem. There is an excellent pull-thru horse campground on one side of the campground, very nice.One note, there is a very nice lake,for boat rentals or fishing, but not much else to do in Taylorsville, however its about 30 miles to Louisville and other attractions within that range. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$21
Excellent state park campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$21
Nice wide sites. Security patrol. Playground for kids. Nice relaxing campground. Already made reservations for a return trip. Plenty of hiking and biking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$21
This a beautiful and well maintained campground and will only get better as the trees grow to provide shade. However, don't come expecting to enjoy lake views. There are lots of trails but only one trail that actually takes you to a view over the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$16
This well maintained and beautifully situated park offers wide, generous sites and plenty of space between sites. Many trees in the park are young and yet to offer much shade. The surrounding horse country and Louisville are nearby attractions. Most enjoyable was the extreme quiet at night (except for some active coyote calling). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
We love this campground! The shower house is cleaner than most hotel rooms I've stayed in and the cleanest of any campground we've been to. It is a very short haul to launch our boat into Taylorsville lake and a great place with the exception of shade trees. There is really only one site that gets afternoon shade and it is also the only pull thru site. We have camped here often and highly recommend it. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Overall, a nice state park campground although it is very new. The trees are very small. Campsites are large and graveled with picnic table and lantern pole on each site. Large dump station with two stations. Not very close to anything in particular (there's not much in Taylorsville). Still, a good place for a group of campers to congregate. My main complaint is the teeny tiny gravel they use on the campsites. I'll be vacuuming that up for the next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com