214909 User submitted reviews online!!
St Lucie South COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (772) 287-1382
CGID12174

St Lucie South COE

Camp Information
Sites
17
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   9   8   10   10   10   2   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$12
Very nice, well maintained park. It is small and you are close to your neighbor. Everyone, to include staff and campers, were very friendly and helpful. Not a lot to do but R&R and maybe some fishing. The visitor center has nice interactive displays and videos about the Army COE. Worth a visit. Bathhouse was clean and had hooks and a bench and a place to put your soap and/or shampoo, something frequently overlooked in many campgrounds. We will return, if we can...tough to get reservations as it books up fast. Rate is with Interagency Senior Pass. Still a bargain at full price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$12
Very small location. Very well kept COE grounds. Bathhouse under remodel. Nice views of boats coming thru locks. Close to town. Adjacent to St Lucie Visitors Center - very interesting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
We had planned to stay only a couple of nights, but liked it so much that we ended up staying 5. There are 9 RV sites and 3 tent sites that all have great views of the river. We enjoyed watching the boats come down the river and go through the St. Lucie Lock. The park is immaculate and the sites are large with plenty of privacy. Bathrooms are clean, but there is only one shower each for men and women. There is a dump station that is easily accessible. There is a visitor's center within walking distance and a boat launch. We made reservations online and that worked out well. We would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$12
I hesitate writing a review of this park, since it really only has nine RV campsites. Three sites are tent sites. There are a few boat hookup sites also. I did want to write about how the wonderful and friendly camp volunteers do such a nice job at keeping the park clean and beautiful. We were lucky to snag a couple of nights on a cancellation, otherwise this time of year it is always booked. If you are over 62, the 24.00 rate is half price at 12.00. Concrete pads, 50 amp, water (but no sewer hook up). Great water view from every site, with sites 1,2,and 3 having direct waterfront. Fun to watch the lock operations also, with a dramatic 14 foot drop in water level. If you are able to book a site, make sure you visit the wonderful visitors center. The volunteers do a great job running the center, and it is very informational. Would be a perfect 10 if sites had sewer hookup, and you will also notice highway noise from both the Turnpike and I-95 but it is not terrible. For the price and the convenience of breaking up the trip going north or south through Florida, it is just about perfect! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
The good is all paved sites very clean and a great host. The bad is not full hook up and a long way to the rest room and shower and not really what I would call handy cap rest rooms. It is a good stop over going north or south and easy access to I-95 and the Turnpike. Also at this time dump station is out of service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$12
We are Florida residents so camping here at the Army Corps is reasonably priced. Park is immaculate. Place to launch boat. Picnic areas. VERY clean and organized. Three waterfront sites, but all sites can SEE river. Huge gator lives right here, so don't let dogs swim in the river. No store on site but Publix is about 4 miles from the campground. Ocean beaches are 15 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$12
This is as clean as any camp ground you will go to. At the time they are doing some work around the park and you can not go to the camp ground and walk path on the north side of the locks. It is heard to get into this time of year as there are only 9 RV sights and two tent only sights. We stop here every time we go to the Keys as it is a good stop over. We stay two days at the time going and coming from down south. Not to much to do but the kids do have a nice play ground and it is a laid back park to just watch the boats go by. The only draw back is the rest rooms and showers are a good walk from all the camp sights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$12
This is a wonderful Corp of Engineers Park. It is situated by the canal that connects St Lucie with Lake Okeechobee. One can watch the traffic, mostly pleasure boats, pass through the locks. The campsites are level and are paved. There is a table with a covered shelter and a fire pit with each campsite. There is a near by walking path through the tree that goes about one-half mile along the river. The campground is well cared for. The staff checks each site and cleans it up if needed after each party leaves. This camping spot is a real bargain for Seniors with a Golden Eagle Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
This park was what other people mentioned, clean, well maintained, small and quiet in a nice setting. The bathrooms and showers were clean and nice. All was well until our 3rd night camping when about one am when some loud, drunken and obscene campers came and set up their tents. They woke up the other tent campers as they set up and continued to drink, use foul language and hoot and holler until the police showed up, then they were quite for about 15 minutes and started up again. They finally went to bed at 3:30am after having a beer bottle throwing competition by chucking their bottles into the river. The following day my wife had a talk with park staff and they supposedly had a talk with the 6-8 campers at the site. The next night all was quite...until about 1 am when the very drunk and very loud campers returned to their campsite from wherever they were. The next day we went to talk to the park ranger and she was out sick, so one of the park volunteers was suppose to talk to them, but only the park ranger could kick the people out so we decided to leave the campground since we had two miserable nights and we were on vacation and didn't want to have another day ruined. I was told by the volunteers that normally this park was quiet and that these problems were rare here. I was also told the same thing by other campers. Up until this incident I would have rated this campground a 9 or 10, my problem now is that it appears that one can come to this park and do whatever they want with no park ranger or staff intervention. The security at the park is also slim to none, so while most of time its nice and quite this is by chance. God forbid there is some rowdy people that show up. The problem was that the noise started so late that the only people that heard it were the other tent campers, and the local police decided to ignore the underage drinking issue which saddened me. We left a day earlier than we were supposed to and were out 20 dollars which is not a big deal and its just the principal. The staff all seemed hard working and nice, we had a bad experience our last two nights, I would consider returning here as our first few days here were awesome. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$12
Corp of Engineer park located close to Stuart, FL and the "treasure coast'. Very clean camp with restaurants, conveniences just minutes away - yet the park is quiet rural atmosphere. Small park and only 3 sites are directly on the St. Lucie Canal - but all sites can view the river. Verizon cell service very good and close to Jupiter Inlet and Hobe Sound, Hutchinson Island beaches. The downtown area of Stuart with its river walk is very nice. Love the COE parks even if we didn't have a Golden Access card for 1/2 price camping - would pay full price! Park seems a little older than Ortona and WP Franklin but well kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$12
Nine RV sites, five tent sites, and six boat sites. $24 but with golden age half price. Water, electricity, playground, showers, picnic shelter, boat ramp and at 10:00 and 3:00 you can watch the boats go through the locks. This is a small campground but very nice and the sites are big enough for big rigs. Peaceful and only about a mile off the interstate and close to Stuart. We rode our bikes and enjoyed watching the boats go through the locks as well a a manatee. Typical Corps Of Engineers campground – nice! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$8
This park is under Army Corps of Engineers. Park is very clean has cement pads to park on and streets are wide with blacktop. Sites are very close to waterway. Playground equipment for the kids. Some road noise from Florida Tpk. Park is on St. Lucie waterway, dam, and boatlock. You see a lot of boats moving in and out of locks. If you have a golden card price is half. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$8
Park is very clean and run by Army Corps of Engineers. Park is on a waterway and boat lock. Playground equipment for kids. All sites are cement pads and level. All roads are blacktop and wide. You have a 14 day limit. Some road noise from Fl. Turnpike. If you have a golden age card price is half. You can visit the locks and see boats pass in and out of locks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com