206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Oceano Dunes State Vehicular Recreational Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (805) 473-7220
CGID12222

Oceano Dunes State Vehicular Recreational Area

Camp Information
Sites
1000
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   5   6   6   7   5   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
We love camping at Oceano Dunes with our family and friends. We love to ride ATVs and the ocean. Two great things rolled into one. Having a huge bonfire at night and looking up into the sky and actually seeing stars and listening to the ocean waves roll in and out. Noisy during the day and we usually try to camp during the week in the summer, because of the crowds. Spring and Fall are also wonderful times to camp...and less busy. Just check out wind conditions before you go. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$10
This is a great beach experience. I searched extensively for a place where I could pitch my tent right on the beach. The entire Pacific Coastline there were only two campgrounds where this was possible. Oceana Dunes, California and Coos Bay in Oregon. It is now on our bucket list to return with our RV. Pros: You are right on the beach If this is the experience you are looking for, it is the best!! Rigs of all sizes camp along this beautiful stretch of beach You drive along the beach at low tide to find your spot. People willing to help if you get stuck. You can ATV here. Cons: No running water, only chemical toilets (but kept clean). Lots of traffic between beach and water. You can get stuck. It was really windy and we had no shelter. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
Very basic, you are just parked anywhere you want on the sand. Beware of the tides, so you don't get stuck in the sand. Not many bathrooms around (but we didn't use them- so I don't know what the condition was). There was a truck that comes around selling ice and firewood, which was nice. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$10
Although there are no hookups at this campsite, where can you get an ocean view and sound for $10 a night. A little loud at night with the ATV, but very fun stay. I would definitely come back again. I love camping on the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Dry camping right on the beach: the actual number of 'campsites' is just a guess. You are literally at the edge of the Pacific Ocean. Camping on the beach, with miles of fabulous sand dunes to your back. Access is roughly one mile south of Pier Avenue, or 3 miles south of Grand Avenue off hiway 1. Just south of Pismo Beach. There are good instructional signs at these access points. Check out the website for details. This is ATV heaven in So Cal, so be prepared. Can be crowded at holidays. Can be windy too with blowing sand and salt spray. Not a place to take a heavy 45-foot monster rig, but for the more nimble campers, the views are just magnificent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
If you don't love quads, campfires and a party atmosphere I would not recommend camping here. We were fortunate enough to get a spot right at the water's edge but not too close. Saw several people who misjudged the tide rising and got flooded, buried and stuck! "Banana Boy" will come out to fill your freshwater and drain your graywater tanks, but other than that, you're on your own. We were here for a week and should have started charging for tow service. At least four times a day we had to pull out people who didn't air down their tires (and 4WD means zilch at Oceano if you're not aired wayyyyy down), with one guy actually running over our stakes and getting stuck right in our camp. If you don't mind some craziness, bring your beach chairs and watch the fun when the tide comes up. Just bring your patience and a quad! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
This can be a fun camping experience if you don't mind sand & wind. Four wheel drive is a must if you are pulling a trailer of any kind. Try not to arrive at high tide so you can avoid the soft sand. I recommend bringing plywood to act as skirting to keep sand from drifting under rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This park is wonderful. We got stuck in the sand but a helpful camper helped us out and we had a wonderful time. The waves are at your front door. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
You're either going to love this place, or hate it. You are literally on the beach, and chances are you will get stuck in the sand at some point. No specific spots or hookups, but there is a truck that comes around and sells water at .50 per gallon and will pump out for $30. If you like ATVing, this is paradise as there are great dunes right behind where you camp: you are in between the ocean and the dunes. Be sure to register and pay, as there is a stiff fine if you just park without doing that. People drive their loud ATVs 24/7, and it can be hazardous to walk around because of them. So, if you are looking for relaxation, stay away. But for the unique experience of camping right on a beach and being right by outstanding ATV riding, you can't beat it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com