223350 User submitted reviews online!!
Maxie's Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (337) 837-6200
CGID1223

Maxie's Campground

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   1   5   4   5   8   7   3   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Spent one night at this park and while the park manager was friendly and nice, will not stop again. Traffic noise was so loud you felt like you were in the median strip on the highway and did not let up until after 10:30 or so. It appeared there were a number of old and abandoned RVs parked there. Since our camper has no bathroom, we had to use the shower and restroom, and they were in bad shape. There was a plunger by the toilets which were not functioning properly, no exhaust fan of any type that I could see for the showers, and not clean. That experience taught me to look at the bathrooms to check them before parking there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$12
This park accepts Passport America, which is the rate I paid. This isn't a "destination" park, with pool, dog run, kid's playground, etc. I used this park as a home base for exploring the Lafayette area. It is on Route 90, and you'll get traffic noise, but it certainly didn't bother me. While I was there, the owner was having the laundry and bathroom building painted inside and out. He has been working on a solution to bring Wi-Fi to the park, but has had trouble coordinating with the cable provider. He was very accommodating, as I kept extending my stay. I would stay there again if I was in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
This campground advertises itself as Maxie's Overnight, which in our view is pretty much all it's good for. It's run down and is mainly filled with old trailers which are unoccupied most of the time. Some workampers left early. The campground is right on the grass verge of a busy non-stop 4-lane highway which to be fair does become background white noise after a while. To the rear is a railroad track with trains mainly in the evenings. The WiFi was not working, and the owner stated it had been problematic for some months. The laundry was pretty disgusting (smelly) and the sign outside saying "Help prevent theft. Do not leave clothes unattended" kinda said it all. Cheap enough if you're Passport America @ $12, but we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$17
Rate reflects Passport America discount. It was obvious the owner really cares about the campground and wants you to feel welcome. He offered suggestions for restaurants and attractions to see in the area. Sites were very small (only about 15 feet wide). There were sites toward the back of the campground that had more trees for shade and would block some noise, but owner told us trees definitely impact satellite reception in those sites. The sites near us had small trees and permanent small picnic tables. It was easy to find and easy to get to campground. We had read reviews that the campground is very close to highway and so very noisy. That was absolutely correct for our site. We were right off the highway and traffic noise was almost constant, however, because we were busy seeing local attractions we were not in the RV except evenings and sleeping. Good level sites and good interior roads. It is a good campground for a night or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
This is an older park and needs some updating. The manager was super nice and seems to be doing the best he can with what he has to work with. The traffic noise is bad, starts at 4am and does not slow down until 10pm.The park borders US 90 which is only about 100' from the park. Several older, permanent rigs scattered throughout park gives it an unsightly feel. On the plus side the park is centrally located to tour the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
Rate reflects Escapees rate. The sign reads Maxie's Overnight Campground and I wouldn't recommend staying any longer than that. We stayed here 5 days and didn't care for it at all. They try to take care of it as best they can but it's just not designed as a "campground". It's situated right along Hwy 90 which is very busy all day and all night. There is a lot of heavy truck traffic not more than 100 feet from the campground. I would not stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
The majority of sites in this park are level and under large shade trees. Most of the sites are narrow though. Cable is available for long term stays and you must sign up for the service yourself. Wi-Fi is readily available at an additional charge. The owner is very nice and keeps the park well maintained. The laundry facilities feature commercial front loading washers in a variety of sizes and large commercial dryers that are very efficient. Shopping is located within a mile. The park is right next to a major highway, so there is a lot of traffic noise. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$11
This campground certainly rates a higher review than some of the past visitors have given. The owner greeted us with a welcome smile and thanked us for visiting. The entrance is clearly marked and visible from a good distance away. The only real issue, for the near future, is highway construction east bound LA-90, from Lafayette to well east of Maxie's. The entrance is easy enough but the edge of the pavement and the gravel patch job the state has done (about 40 feet) leave a lot to be desired. The campground is clean, the amenities are easy to use, other campers were friendly, even the long term folks. Highway traffic continues through the night, but I slept with windows open and the noise did NOT keep me awake. The driveway and interior road are paved and not pot-holed, the sites are gravel and level. There is lots of room to maneuver for parking a big rig. Picnic tables are firmly mounted on each site and utilities are within easy reach. About the only reason I'm not giving Maxie's a higher rating is the exit, and that is because the state has not provided an asphalt patch where there should be one, so it's a little dicey getting back onto the highway. During our stay Lafayette had a tremendous storm blow through with thunder, lightning, hail and rain. Lots of rain. Some of the campsites on the highway side of the road had standing water in the morning while those on the bayou side had none. In the two hours after I first looked, the standing water had mostly gone away. This is a pleasant place to stay, I would stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$13
This is a park that was proudly founded in 1968 and that was the last time anything was cleaned up or done to the park. This is one of the dirtiest RV Parks we've had the misfortune of staying in lately. Many old trailers in sad disrepair fill some of the sites with their associated clutter. We stayed at the Passport America rate, any more would have been criminal. They have nice old shade trees and that is it for the plus column. Road noise goes on all day and night though they have no control over that. For us, this is a park we will pass in the future. It's too bad the owner doesn't spend a few dollars because with very little effort cleaning and laying down some site gravel, this could be a destination RV park, even with the road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
This park is directly off the main highway. The traffic noise wasn't too bad at night, but it was noisy during the day. The laundry room was hot and crowded, and one of the machines left brown marks on some clothes. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. He is working on adding spots in the back area which would provide a quieter and shadier area to camp. This would be OK for an overnight stay but we were here for several days and did not enjoy it. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$11
We pulled in on Thanksgiving. They tell you to pick a site and then come pay. We were pretty close to the road and there is a lots of noise. Excellent laundry! We did not use their Wi-Fi, we have our own. Could not pick up local stations very well with antenna, but that is why we picked a front site so we could get the satellite to work. Close to lots of shopping, and hosts were very friendly. Would probably not stay here again because of noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$11
Passport America 50% off makes this a great deal. We've stayed in many parks for 3 times the price that weren't any better. Many full-timers. Our site backed up to a creek and had shade, although not every site is shaded. Good laundry. Close to Lafayette, Breaux Bridge, New Iberia, everything in Cajun Country. Very friendly owner. Right along busy Rt. 90 with traffic noise, but in July with the air conditioning on, it wasn't a concern. Stayed 5 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
We got the $15 nightly rate because we used our Escapees discount. Park has been in existence since 1968. They have updated the electrical so no problem. Only problem is road noise. Only 100 feet from hwy 90. Major truck road. If your rig has decent insulation or, like us, ran our ac all night, not a bad place to spent the night. 9 miles off hwy 10 south. Would stay here again for a one night stay. A lot of longtermers here since monthly rate is $280 including electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$40
We went camping with some friends and we stayed at Maxie's Campground. We had a nice weekend there. The campground was clean and everyone was friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2005
$18
Very close to busy highway with no fence for protection or noise control. So noisy that we could not hear TV or sleep. Laundry needs updating and cleaning. Owner nice but not always available. Dire need of landscaping and good clean up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2003
$9
The sites are too close to the highway. If there was an accident they would roll down the small hill into your RV. It was so noisy that we couldn't sleep as the traffic was constant all night. We paid for two nights and only stayed one, getting up and away at 6:00 A.M. to find a place we could sleep in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Passport America park. Sites are fairly good size, all back-in, but with plenty of room to maneuver a 39' 5er behind a crew cab. Lots of mature trees for shade. Downside is that half the sites are only yards away from southbound Hiway 90 traffic, which goes all night long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com