206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Bistineau State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (318) 745-3503
CGID1226

Lake Bistineau State Park

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   9   8   8   8   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
This was a wonderful park, mosquitoes where really bad but we enjoyed our 5 day stay despite them. Sites were adequate, AT&T cell worked well. Park Wi-Fi was iffy at times; park was quite at night. We enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
What a wonderful discovery! We have never been in a LA state park before. The park is beautiful and quiet. The most impressive was the ranger. He saw us come in and followed us to our site. He told us that it was really too tight and led us to an easier access prettier site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
This is a beautiful state park, located about 30 miles SE of Shreveport LA. As a previous reviewer stated, it is in a rural area,there is a "milk and bread" (and not much else) store about 5 miles up the road and it's in a dry parish so bring your supplies with you. The park is kept very clean, there is lots of room to walk, run, hike, bike and ride horses. They have over 10 miles of hiking, biking and horse trails. It has an 18 hole professional Disc Golf course. Lots of trees draped in Spanish Moss and plenty of shade. The boat launch is currently closed due to the drought and low water levels but this does not deter from the natural beauty of this park. You can still fish from the banks or off one of the docks around the park. The staff is friendly and professional. Absolute recommend a visit here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
This is a very nice, quite campground close to Shreveport. We were here during the week and it was almost empty. We were told it is very crowded on weekends. The sites are nice, level and large. The good news is that the lake is almost full again! As noted, some of the sites have decks that are great. Overall, the campground seems to be very well kept. It is a bit far to shopping, about 20 miles (30 minutes) to major shopping, so bring your supplies with you. The campground has usable WiFi, although not very fast. The sites are shady, good for hot days but not satellite friendly. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$9
This is an interesting park in terms of trees and vegetation. A little spooky, in fact. It would be a great place to spend Halloween. Spanish Moss hangs from most of the trees and forest fires have left weird looking stumps in the lake bed and forest. The park is neat and clean. Sadly, the lake is drained, so the place was nearly deserted when we were there. The sites have large wooden platforms as patios, which is nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$9
We asked for a pull-through since we were only going to be here one night. The site we were assigned was a very tight turn for a long rig, but we made it. Sites are widely spaced, many with wooden decks. The lake was totally drained while we were here. They are trying to control an invasive plant, but the park was clean and quiet. Hosts were friendly and helpful. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
This was the first time we stayed at this LA State Park and we enjoyed our stay. We traveled daily to Shreveport to join other family/friends for a reunion. The drive each day was pleasant. We spent most of our time away from the park (four days,) but the time we did spend at our site and walking around the area was nice. The bath house was clean, but we have experienced better in other State Parks. We would stay here again and recommend you checking it out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We had a back in site right on the lake with great views, a nice deck, fire ring, and dock. This is a nice shady clean State Park with a great staff. The pool you have to drive to but no big deal. It is a little run off Highway 10 but worth it. We will be back and stay longer next time. Bathrooms could use a remodel, but they where clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
Beautiful setting, beautiful trees, beautiful lake. Park is well maintained and clean. Stayed three enjoyable days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
Beautiful park very well maintained and kept-up. The positioning and spacing of the campsites were done quite well. We loved the 40 by 20 wooden patios that almost all the campsites have. Wonderful hiking, biking, and horse trails. The staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Happy to recommend Lake Bistineau State Park, this is one of those that is towards the top of any list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$17
75 ft wide, asphalt sites, newer asphalt roads, fire ring and fire pit, nice laundry. 75% of sites have new, womanized wood decks. Several handicap access sites. They have canoe, row boat and bike rentals. There are several fishing docks close to campsites and a boat launch area. Also, horse trails, group camp, nature center and pavilion for rent. Maintenance seems to be good. Gate is locked at night. Nearest grocery store is 17 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$19
Roads and sites are very tight for big rigs. Our 38' barely fit. All sites are now being upgraded to 50 amps - that's a plus. But the hook ups are all on the patio side, so you need long hoses for water and a long electric cord. They are improving, but they have work to do. The dump station overflowed when I was trying to dump my black tank - not a pleasant experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2005
$12
Park is beautiful, but campground not well maintained. Sites well separated but due to parking of vehicles and boat trailers between sites, it was very crowded. Although signs posted no parking off asphault, vehicles were everywhere. Campground looked like a Wal Mart parking lot. The pull thru sites were closer to an U turn that a parking site. Very difficult to get into and out. Many pets allowed to roam without leashes. Campground staff not very active or helpful. Probably will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$12
Wonderful State Park. The setting, especially to us Northwesterners is almost primordial: Spanish Moss hanging from the trees, dense green foliage, and the sounds coming from the birds and other critters are wonderful. Park has 67 paved and level sites with water and electric hook-ups; a dump station is available. Most sites are back in, but there are a few pull throughs that could accommodate 40'+ rigs. Amenities include a playground, swim pool, laundry facilities, an abundance of hiking trails and fishing/boating, including boat rentals. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com