206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Clanton / I-65S / Dandy RV KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (205) 755-2623
CGID12281

Clanton / I-65S / Dandy RV KOA

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   10   10   9   8   8   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$33
Great stop over park from 231 south of Birmingham. Undergoing renovation. Lovely laundry and bath facilities. Nice store. Road noise, but to be expected with such easy access to road. Friendly staff. Great satellite reception and excellent WI-FI. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$28
Super nice park conveniently located off of I-65 (exit 208). Thirty one level stone sites with concrete patios and steel fire pits. Has cable TV and Wi-Fi. Clean,well lighted and modern laundry, showers, restrooms and TV lounge area. Small camp store at front desk with very nice on site managers. Great place for traveling through or spending a weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$33
Very nice park. Good Wi-Fi, spotless restrooms and showers, nice laundry area, level sites, and very friendly staff. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
Great place for a one night stop over. Large pull-through sites with plenty of room for FHU. We didn't have to unhook our tow. The bath and restrooms were immaculate. The check-in and check-out very easy and the owners are very helpful. One note: you do have to look for the road to the KOA. You can see the campground from the interstate but you can easily miss the turn off into it. We have stayed here several times and will stay here again on our way to Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$31
We found this campground by looking in a well-known campground directory. When we pulled in, we were pleasantly surprised at several things. Easy access off I-65 and extremely easy to maneuver through the park and to our site. The hostess was excellent. Roads are gravel but well maintained. Campsites roomy. Each site has multiple electric plugs, 50,30 and 20 amp. Shoneys restaurant gives a 20 percent discount to campers. Dandy RV gives 10 percent military discount. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. We did not get a chance to explore the town of Clanton. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$31
We stayed at this park on our way through Alabama. It was good for an overnight stay. The restrooms and showers were very clean. The laundry was also very clean. There was a full size refrigerator and stove in the customer lounge. The campground is easy to get to from the Interstate and easy to maneuver through the campground roads with our 42' motorhome, towing. We could hear the traffic from the Interstate, but it was not bothersome. We had no problem using the Wi-Fi or cable TV. We were advised when checking in to turn off the amplifer for the antenna to use the cable. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
Convenient overnight stop on I-65. Long pull-through gravel sites are convenient and level. Restrooms and showers are clean and well maintained. Although there was some highway noise, it was not excessive. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
Spent one night on the way to somewhere else. Although not controllable by KOA the freeway noise was a bit much. But if you want the cleanest and nicest showers you've ever seen, this place has it. Front desk friendly and helpful. Wear earplugs! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
This is a great place to stop overnight. It's just not what I consider a destination park. The sites are very close together (in typical KOA fashion) and it's right next to the interstate so it can be noisy. We were in a site close to the interstate however once inside our camper it wasn't a big deal. The gravel site was mostly level, however I did have to raise one side of the camper up. The sewer connection is near the front of the site so you may need a long sewer hose if you have a long camper (we did.) The Wi-Fi was sometimes unavailable and the cable TV is sub-par (not high def and only about half the channels they advertise.) Fortunately, were were able to receive several channels over the air. Cell phone coverage is excellent. The restrooms and showers were extremely clean and looked very new. There's also a 24 hour laundry and lounge with TV in the shower house building. A nice playground is fenced in next to the shower house. The camp store is well equipped. The staff was friendly. There is a truck stop and Shoney's at the same exit so it's a convenient place to stop. We would not hesitate to stop overnight here again and judging by the number of campers I would recommend reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Easy access from I-65 with a Shoneys and a truck stop there also. This KOA used to sell RV's so there is a large office with a store. The showers are very clean and has washers and dryers. Fenced small playground and fenced dog lot. Some campers looked like long term, but most are overnighters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Excellent park for a convenient stopover. Very clean, air conditioned showers/toilets/laundry. Whilst beside Interstate, not particularly noisy. Convenient for food and gas. Have stayed before and will stay again when convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Just off the highway, but the traffic didn't seem at all intrusive. The site we had was flat and very easy to access. The campground was tidy and easy to navigate. The staff was fantastic. Our kitchen faucet broke just after we set up for the night and we were able to get a replacement right at the camp store. The manager was helpful and accommodating and got us set up with a new faucet. We just spent one night on our way through the area but wouldn't hesitate staying here again if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
It is next to the interstate so there was a lot of road noise. But still a very good over night location given it's easy access. Severe weather was forecast and the staff had our safety in mine, by recommending that if the weather got really bad to take shelter in the bath house. The sites could use some improvement. Due to heavy rains during the night, our site was flooded causing wet feet during break down. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Sites have ample width and length for large motor homes. A severe thunderstorm containing heavy rain, winds, tornado watch and hail during our stay necessitated our leaving the motor home into the lounge/bath house/laundry building with other campers. The building contained a very modern laundry facility, mens and womens showers (very clean and well cared for). Drainage on the site was poor and water saturated the grassy area on the site. Each site has a lighted post for good lighting at night. On site camping store is very clean and well stocked with camping gear and parts for motor homes. Overall a very nice facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
This is a perfect stop over camping spot on the way up north or down south. Stayed here on a long drive from Michigan to Gulf Shores, Al. Very friendly manager. Sites are clean, level, and have all the hookups you need. Very easy access from I -65 . Just off the exit and close to I-65. I would say the park manager went out of her way to help me with a part I needed for my RV toilet. I will stay here again on future trips. The pull thru spots are great but they do fill up early so make a reservation for these. Very easy to do with a KOA website. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$29
This campground accurately represents it's name. This is a new RV park, well kept with everything at the site working. Sites are level gravel. Interior roads are also level and gravel. Stayed three nights. Outstanding feature for us was the dog walk. It goes all around the lake with level paths. There is also a small dog park. This is a pet friendly and human friendly park. Will stay here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$32
We normally avoid KOA campgrounds, based on past stays, but this place is great; very welcoming office; bathrooms, showers, and laundry room were very clean and modern. Our site was adjacent to a fish stocked small lake. It has an interesting view of I-65 of people traveling north and south in Alabama with very little highway noise. There are plenty of small stores and restaurants nearby, and there is a very nice comfortable feeling here. We recommend this place, and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
This is a great little campground for overnight. Easy on/off I-65. The sites are long and easy to get to. The office staff is very nice and accommodating. It is clean and well cared for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
This was an overnight stay. The park is very clean and very nice. It is close to the highway which was our need. It is gravel throughout. There is a lovely dog walk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$31
Overnight stay at this KOA on our way north. This is a new campground attached to a dealership. Still in process of being developed. One revise reviewer mentioned their GPS couldn't find the road - that's because the KOA book cites 'Dandy Lane", but in fact the street is actually named "Corky". Good overnight, and is bound to improve with further time and development. Good, level, roomy, spots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
Staff very friendly. We arrived late at night and had no trouble finding a site. The owners are working on this place daily. All gravel roads and some sites a little muddy after a rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
This is a very new campground. There are many trees that have been planted along the road that when grown will make a beautiful restful campground along the lake. The bathhouses were the cleanest that I have ever seen and the shower was wonderful and heated. We had a great one night stay, we will gladly return here again. The site was level with gravel and dirt. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
We arrived just a bit after closing, but the RV Dealer came out and told us to just pay the next morning. He suggested some sites that might suit us best. Very friendly and helpful chap. This is a new CG and would benefit greatly from grass, but I am sure that will be added with time. Unfortunately the night we stayed here, there was a problem that closed the bathroom and showers. We were impressed that they had requested service to repair the problem at night, but the area was still not functional the next morning. If your GPS can't find the location (ours couldn't), the CG is located across from the exit with the Shoney's. Sorry, can't remember the exit number (either 205 or 208) but it is the middle exit of the 3 exits for Clanton. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
If you are looking for a 5 Star between Nashville and the Panhandle, this is it. We used it for an overnight. They have a great campers services building with it all under one roof: showers, toilets, laundry, TV room with leather style lounge seating along with a fully fitted kitchen area??? Outside is an English Pub style seating area for the family with active kids. The place is run by an RV dealer with all the services one might need. We would use this KOA again without hesitation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
The staff was very nice, and we were given a long pull-through so we did not have to unhook. As others stated the facilities are all in one building and immaculate. Cable, wi-fi, and Verizon signals were all good. All sites are full hook-ups. Normally we are not bothered by noise, but the train and highway traffic woke us up. The gravel on our site and the one next door was so thick and loose we had a hard time getting out. The water connection was less than 1" from the sewer connection and less than 4" above it! Therefore we could either use the water or the sewer but not both. Since there is no dump station, we had to disconnect the water before dumping the next morning. Hence the low rating. It looks like someone tried hard to create a very nice place, but missed on some very important things. We may return, but would look the sites over very carefully before staying. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$31
I used this park because of RV mechanical problems. This is a very new park: it is a KOA. The roads were still being built when I was here. There were no pads and dirt was everywhere. The staff was great as was their Wi-Fi. Bath areas were great, lots of hot water and clean same for the laundry area. I-65 traffic noise was excessive since it is right next to the freeway. I downgraded a point because of the noise. Give this place a few months to get things organized and it will be excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$33
This relatively new park (Exit 208 on I-65), gravel site, level and easy to navigate. Three showers with private dressing areas and rest room area. Picnic tables, some with fire rings, a fenced in pond and children playground. They were installing the cable the morning we departed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$32
This place was very convenient off I-20 exit 208. It is a brand new campground and a work in progress. They were putting in cable TV while we were here and it looks like it will be finished soon. The sites are easy to negotiate and our Verizon cell phone and air card worked well. This is a good park for an overnight stay. The only drawbacks are that the highway is quite loud and the whole place is gravel and so very dusty when there are cars driving through the campground. The staff is very friendly and they are also an RV dealer so they could do repairs and have parts and supplies. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com