223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Acadiana Park Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (337) 291-8388
CGID1234

Acadiana Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   2   5   8   8   7   6   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$15
This beautiful campground has gotten a bad rap, perhaps because it was built in the 1960s and hasn’t really been upgraded since. However, it is quiet and lovely with sites separated from each other. Each site has water and electricity. The campsites are level concrete slabs big enough for our 29’ RV. The angle to get into them is a little awkward. Inside the loop of sites are enormous live oak trees dripping in Spanish Moss. It is part of a city park located in a middle class neighborhood. There is a key pad with a code to get through the front gates. They only take cash or checks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2012
$13
This park was a major disappointment. We chose it based on earlier reviews but things were not as we expected. We have stayed in other city parks before and always found them clean, well-managed and navigable. Not so with this park. It was difficult to even tell where the sites were located. Nothing was marked well. Everything was tight and cramped and we had to use 2 other spaces just to get out of the site we finally got into. My guess is that this park was built many years before anyone realized that an RV would be longer than 18-20 feet, but no one wanted to turn away the business so they welcome all. We will definitely not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2012
$13
We'd like to say nice things about this park. After all, it is city sponsored and is only $13 a night, including water and power. Unfortunately, we can't say that many nice thing, other than it is $13 a night and there is water & power. Oh, wait, we can say that the park is beautifully wooded, it was quiet, and there is a lot of shade. The positive features end there. The camp host was uninterested at best, concerned with the football game playing on the radio, and not at all concerned with his job, potential customers, etc. The park has roads and pads that are almost a joke. Many/most of the pads are L shaped. The big part of the pad is approx 13 x 13 and then there is an approach pad that is about 7 x 12. Now, how many RVs do you know that are going to fit on that size/shape of pad? And then consider that the approach pad is on an incline. It's just nuts. The utilities have been updated with 50 amp and decent water connections, but the electrical posts are almost haphazardly located. So if you can find a site that works for your RV, you are very lucky. We saw some poor soul circling the park multiple times towing a reasonably sized trailer who kept trying for a spot that would fit his rig. It's not just big rigs that don't fit here. Maintenance is also a big concern. We didn't use the bathrooms or showers, but the asphalt pads are literally rotting and the picnic shelters are tetanus ready. We would score this park a couple of points lower if it weren't so cheap. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$13
This was our second overnight stay at this park. It is only about 5-6 minutes off of I-10. This time we arrived after dark on an overcast and very dark night and missed the turn onto the one way loop road. There are no lights and minimal signs to direct you to the right road. We did not discover our mistake until we were 100 yards into the park going the wrong way on the winding one-way road. Backing up in dark and close quarters to get on the right road was no fun at all. If you are not familiar with this park best arrive in daylight. The road through the park winds through trees that are quite close to the road but we made it fine with a 38' fifth wheel once we got on the right road. If you arrive after 5PM there won't be anyone in the office so you just drop your $13 in a drop box. The park is quiet and secure with a pass code required to get through the entry gate. The road through the park and all camp sites are paved with asphalt. Each site has a picnic table and trash barrel. This park will not be confused with a "resort park", but makes a quick stop off of I-10 for a very reasonable price or a reasonable base from which to experience all Cajun Country has to offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$13
This is a nice woodsy park and quiet when we visited. Though there are pull throughs, they aren't very easy to spot, but the sites are nice and have plenty of space. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
It is a very nice & quiet woodsy setting, we had a lot of privacy. We would have liked a few more amenities but the price was right and we did get a good nights sleep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$13
Good value for 50 amp and water back in site. I think it is a bit overrated through. We stopped on a Friday and it was busy, but not full. Had some young adults that seemed to use it for a gathering place, but we had no problems. Some might not like the fast traffic though. Sites vary is size a lot, the 40' was probably lucky to find a level site. But for the price it is an OK place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$13
Stayed one night. There was only one other camper here when we stayed. There seemed to be a comprehensive nature study tour but we were late to take part. Rustic with tight turns for 40 footer. Nice, quiet, and shady with large Oaks just off of residential area. 30-50 Amp with water. No park attendant on arrival. Pick your own spot, pay when leaving. $13/night cash or check only. Convenient to Lafayette. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$13
The pros are its location to tour Lafayette and surrounding towns. It is low off the road in a well treed area and that may make TV reception a problem. We have an analog TV with converter box and roof antenna and Fox came in fairly well the first 2 nights but the last night reception was terrible. There isn't much room between sites and if you have a good size rig you may have a difficult time getting in and out of sites due to closeness. Just outside the campground is a nice children park complete with swings, slides and more. Also there is a challenging disc golf course that is on the disc golf pro tour. On the grounds is a wonderful nature preserve with various boardwalks. For us the con is the leash law for dogs not enforced. Upon arrival there were 2 dogs running around and when we asked the manager if there were leash laws he said yes but did not go over to the person walking the dogs off leash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$13
What a bargain! This campground may be the best deal for what you get that we’ve seen in our travels of North America (from Alaska to the tip of Mexico). The park has large shady spaces with paved level pads off a paved trail. The road is a little rough, but all the potholes have been patched. The campground is full of lots of beautiful trees, and in the words of my nine-year-old, “a big wonderful playground with lots of cool things to do.” They also have a nice-looking Frisbee golf course. We didn’t use the showers, but we peeked in on our way out and found them nice and warm. Unfortunately, the bathrooms had prison-style toilets that we found a little yucky. The only way to the park is down a residential side street with a sign that says “No trucks over two axles.” We weren’t sure that we weren’t risking a ticket just driving to the campground. The park has no Wi-Fi, but we were able to get a nice strong cell signal for our Verizon AirCard. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$13
We were looking for an inexpensive overnight close to I-10 and were pleasantly surprised by what we found at Acadiana Park Campground. The park is 4-5 minutes off the I-10 with routing through a residential street that had overhanging trees, but no trouble in passing under with our 13'-4" tall rig. We arrived just before 5pm and found no attendant at the entrance booth, so just picked out a camp site and deposited our $13 in a lock box for that purpose. There is no sewer hook-up but there is a dump station at the park entrance. The camping sites all have asphalt pavement and were long enough to accommodate our 37' fifth wheel and crew cab truck. There are baseball fields, tennis courts, a large pavilion, disc golf course and a playground adjoining the RV park, but there is a good buffer of wooded area between them and the RV park. The park was clean and quiet with good spacing between campsites. We did not use the restrooms or showers so cannot comment on them. The park has a lot of trees that the road winds through, but this was not an issue even with the 55' length of our rig. This park makes a great overnight if just passing through, or is centrally located for those who want to explore Lafayette and surrounding Cajun Country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$13
This is a small semi-urban RV park, run by the Lafayette parish. It's an excellent place to use as a central base for exploring the Cajun country. It was quiet while we stayed there on a long weekend. The management was helpful and friendly. Our satellite and Verizon aircard worked fine. Note that there are no sewer hookups. There is a network of nature trails, and the RV park is adjacent to a city park with lots of grass and sports fields for walking. A great little park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$13
We stayed here for one night. This campground is owned and operated by the local County (Parish) Parks & Recreation Department. It is a heavily wooded area which is conveniently located for visiting the ‘cajun’ attractions and for general shopping. And it is a delightful alternative to the commercial, tightly packed and noisy alternatives further south on U.S. 90. According to the gate keeper, most of their visitors are local people. Some of the sites are pull-through and all are equipped with water and electricity. Apart from the beautiful setting, it is a very basic facility. The men’s bathroom had only one toilet (a metal one with an integrated seat that cannot be raised). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$13
Nice little park on the edge of the suburbs. Paved sites are fairly level, but the road through the park is narrow. Busy on the weekends, but we were there during the week, and it was quiet. Call for reservations if you will be there on a weekend. We used this as a base to explore the area, Opelousas, Eunice, Abbeville, St. Martinville, New Iberia, the Tabasco Factory, etc. Downtown, markets and restaurants are within a few minutes. Verizon cell and aircard worked fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$13
This is not a destination park; however, for $13 per night, it's a good deal. It's run by Lafayette's Parks and Recreation Department. It's located about two miles from I-10. The campground road is narrow for a big rig but manageable. During our visit, the park was almost full on the weekend and empty during the week. The hookups were not conveniently located on our site (#51); we had to park the rig very close to the edge of the paved pad. The water pressure was higher than normally considered safe for RV plumbing. We used a pressure regulator. The sites are adequately spaced with a variety of shady trees. The Acadiana Park Nature Station is located in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$13
This is an older city park but very secluded and friendly. We stayed here over night. Price was very good. Lots of shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$13
This is an excellent over night park. It is owned and run by the city and is well maintained. It is close to town and all the great restaurants in Lafayette. This is our second stay here and we would certainly stay here again. You can't go wrong with this site at this price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$13
Park is short on creature comforts. The one restroom has two toilets each men/women for the entire park and the showers are cold water only. Some pads are far from level, and the electric/water hookup can be too far away to reach. Each site has hookup plus picnic table and fire pit. But if you're looking for spacious and quiet sites in a wooded setting with lots of shade and space, you'll be happy here. There are about 2 miles of nature trails (no biking) leading from the campground. We love to find such a wooded park in an urban setting. It may fill up on weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2004
$9
Park has very large trees to park under. Roads and sites are blacktop. On some sites power and water are not close to site. Bath house was at top of hill and sites are at bottom of hill. This may be a problem for some people. Bath house was under rework at time we were on site due to storm damage to roof. Play ground equipment for kids at top of hill. Small amount of road noise off I-10. Cajun food close by and great to eat. Wal-Mart super store was couple milea away. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com