214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Bayou Segnette State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 97 user reviews. Phone: (504) 736-7140
CGID1245

Bayou Segnette State Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   8   9   7   8   6   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
This is one of the most beautiful state parks we have seen. The sites are huge with wooden decks 12 x 16 at most of the sites but not all which included picknick tables and bar B Que. The restrooms and showers were clean and free laundry which were nice. They had a very nice pool and also a water slide with lots of playground equipment. They had great walking areas for walking with lots of wildlife. It was also fairly close to catch the ferry into New Orleans for the day. They give you a lot of info when you check in tellling you about the area and a map for getting around. The park was well patrolled. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
This park is currently being renovated including registration office. Right now they have a one person booth which is ridiculous because blocks all lanes going into park even though you are checked in. You can sit there for long periods of time just to get in. Not enough signs directing you to camping area. Strange way of getting in and out of park after hours which is a completely different route than during daylight hours. Would stay here again but not impressed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
Nice state park not far outside New Orleans so it's an excellent base to tour the city. Sites are wide, long and easy to back into. Not much shade and mosquitoes were ferocious at night. If you plan to use the restrooms / showers, be sure to reserve a site close as it can be a long walk from some sites. Laundry is FREE! Verizon voice and data were excellent, camp Wi-Fi was slow and limited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$26
We spent 2 nights at this beautiful state park. It is across the river from New Orleans. We talked to some folks staying in a park in the city and they said it was so cramped and noisy they were thinking about moving and when we told them how quiet and spacious this park is they were for sure moving. We made use of the ferry from Algiers to N.O. and wandered around the French Quarter for awhile. The park gives you easy directions to the ferry. It costs $2.00 to ride one way (exact change required) and parking is $5.00. An easy way to go to avoid downtown traffic. We didn't use them but there are trolleys, buses, and horse carriages to take you around if you don't want to walk around the French Quarter. We also drove out to the Barataria Preserve which was well worth the visit. You can explore the bayou on your own terms and it's free. A cheap alternative to the pricey swamp tours. Water & electric hookups and WIFI worked well and the shower/restroom facilities were nice but bring an extra towel to stand on to dry off as the floors get wet. No sewer hookup but they have a dump station. No cable either but quite a few channels on the antenna. I would surely recommend this place if you are in the area but you better make reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
First night is $34. Clean, quiet park set in a beautiful, grassy, wooded area. Paved roads with most sites level (ours had a pothole). Lack of sewer merits a one star reduction and lack of a heated pool (summer only) and other amenities merits a one star reduction. Although the width and arrangement of sites, allowing each RV much more space than in typical parks, almost made up for the lack of a sewer (dump station available on exit), it was crowded when full since it appears lots of locals bring their friends. Lots of dog walking areas, including along a nearby bayou. Internet was slow (insufficient bandwidth) and some pages are blocked by the state (another star reduction). Antenna TV from New Orleans was great. Free laundry was a plus also. It is conveniently close to the Algiers ferry to N.O. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
Great birdwatching, 15 min to the French Quarter (and beignets!). Close to lots of shopping, seafood, everything. Spaced far from other RVs, showers are tile..nice. They could be a little cleaner, but lots of use on the weekend. We would return. The bird watching drive is worth it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
Safe option close enough to NOLA but on the West Bank so you can visit the swamps, etc. Rangers patrol the park and the camp section is far away from the day use area and patrolled by rangers so it's nice. The spots are level and paved and the laundry room is FREE. Nice. Westwego and the surrounding area's leave a little to be desired, but it was an okay few days in LA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
Caution, if you use a GPS to get to this park, you may be taken on the wrong route. Make sure you are on Hwy 90 and Segnette as the final destination. We had quite a time getting to the correct entrance. This is a great place to stay and visit New Orleans. It is bit of a drive but for the price you cannot beat it. Nice playgrounds, clean facilities, and good laundry room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
Great find. Beautifully kept park like setting. Sites are well designed, electric and water work well. All seem level and well placed. Fire, picnic table etc at all sites. Plenty of parking to the side if u need. Lots of room to move around and no one on top of each other. Grass everywhere. boat launch if u want, pool and extra wave pool. Really large place - it takes a minute to drive in. Good play sets for the kids, plenty of room for the pets to go for a walk. A bit of wild life, like cats and bunnies around. Great to drive into NO, great seafood market next door - excellent seafood off the boat each day. Good take away seafood in the area as well. Very reasonable and can be cheaper depending on where you live - check out their discounts for residence and some other states discounts. Free laundry - no one used when we were there because the park was half full but i am sure it is used in the summer. The park was half or less used when we were there. 14 day stay. Good verizon and tv thru regular antenna. Lots of people had sat dishes out. good overall option if u do not want to pay expensive prices to stay closer to french quarter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Overview: Don't let this place fool you. It was an excellent stay and we will be heading back! Roads: Nicely paved Campsites: Paved - Most are decent. Some are shaded, some are not. Scenery: Decent with a lots of greenery abound. I mostly enjoyed the loud wildlife at night. The place came alive. Bathrooms: The bath house I used was better than most bathrooms I've ever used. Stainless steel toilets and bathroom stalls. Granite counters. Nicely tiled showers - WOW! Staff Attitude: Excellent! They were most helpful. I will concur with another reviewer that placing a cop in a speed trap inside the park is lame. Firewood: They don't sell it. Bring your own. Security: Very good. Wi-Fi: The best I've seen anywhere. Conclusion: I would plan on using this campground as a very economical and nice base camp for your New Orleans vacation. You're a 20 minute drive from a downtown parking lot. Near a local fresh fish market, and plenty of amenities. The campground swimming pool was a delight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Park ranger was a punk with a badge. We were the only people there and he is worried about my dog not being on a leash. This place would be so much nicer if it wasn't so close to New Orleans. There is nothing to do but peel shrimp. Probably won't be back. There are way to many other options! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Nice park. Hard surface sites but not level. Grass needed a trim. Clean bathrooms and laundry room with free machines. As the like in Texas, at state parks, can't figure out why they allow permanent campers. Wave pool on premises but no discount for overnight campers. Proximity to city is reasonable. No mosquitos at all(?!!) Park Police visible patrol. Need to rethink how to lock gate to overnight section as both occasions we entered after hours we found gate unlocked. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
What a great place to stay if you're interested in exploring the area or driving into New Orleans (French Quarter for example). The sites are level and are not too close together. We really appreciated the nice restrooms and showers, plus the laundry room offered free laundry. Unfortunately, the mosquitoes were so bad we couldn't stay outside, especially at night. Maybe if it hadn't been too hot for a fire we might have "smoked them away". There was no or poor signage for the pool so we never did find it (and not sure if there was an extra charge since it is a wave pool). This is a nice place with a nice price...we recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
Love state parks. Nice site. The only problem was that they had an officer around giving tickets for speeding,not in the park but on the main road to the park. The only thing I don't like is the fact that I had to pay 6 dollars to make the reservation. You have to call Reserve America and they charge you to make the reservation. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Sites were spacious and well kept. The Wi-Fi access was restricted by LA State Parks to not allow streaming web sites, among others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$16
This place is beautiful. One of the nicest parks we have been in. Immaculate, beautiful grounds with plenty of room between spaces. Our space was not that level but we fixed it with our boards. Would stop here again. The laundry was free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
GREAT PARK! We stayed a week, beautiful spots, very roomy. Security at park is great. We will certainly stay again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
Level large paved sites. Close to New Orleans. Ferry nearby to get to French Quarter. In the city limits but very countrified. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$26
Rate included $6 on-line reservation fee. Excellent state park located within 30 minutes of the French Quarter in New Orleans. Level blacktop pads with good power and water pressure, dump station is easy to access. Bath house clean and up to date. Laundry facilities in top notch condition. Gates locked at night, so arrive before 9PM. Play ground equipment close to bath house. Wave pool is in park, but not in campground. Fishing at the bayou outside of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
This is a nice park that is a comfortable distance from New Orleans. The laundry is free as stated but that also means very popular, so you may have to do some waiting to get your loads in. The park is pretty quiet and had a nice playground for our kids. The dump station was easy to access on the way out of the park. Verizon service worked well. WI-FI says it is available, but we had little success getting it to work. The ferry is about half an hour drive from the park and requires a $10 per day parking fee, but besides that was very easy to get on and explore the city. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
Our site had a wooden patio, which was very nice because it rained while we were here, and there was standing water around the sites. They lock up the campground at 7pm and that is a little inconvenient, but I understand the reasoning. The after hours entrance is a little out of the way. Laundry is free: which means lots of waiting for one of the 2 washers and one of the dryers was out of order while we were here. They provided good directions to places around the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
This campground was almost deserted! Assume because school had started. We had reserved our site ahead of time, but wouldn't have needed to. It's hard to say any site at this campground is bad. They are all asphalt with either a concrete pad for the picnic table or a slightly-raised wooden deck adjoining the parking pad for a picnic table. Some had both! Our site only had the concrete pad and had we spent more time at the campground, I think we would have liked the deck. I'd recommend that! The sites are well spaced and the area is all grass, trees (although not many that shade all sites). I noticed there were a few sites that were double-size as though 2 RVs could be right next to each other. I don't know if you would chose that if you were camping with friends, but wouldn't want to get that site accidentally and be on top of your neighbor! The bathrooms are nice, but it bugged me that the entire time we were here no one would clean off the sidewalk outside the women's bathroom. The remains of a salamander and something else were always there and it just grossed me out! A minor thing, but yuk! We used the camper pool once (separate from the wave pool) and they say there is not a lifeguard, but there was a worker there the whole time. The pool was fine but due to a power problem just that day, the pump wasn't working. We still swam, but it was filling up with debris (bugs, leaves) and wasn't all that inviting to go back. Although, perhaps, with the pump working again it would be fine. The pool is a little aged. We used the wave pool one day. It was almost exclusively locals (the campground was empty!), but not near the limit of people. If the place was full, I don't think this would be much fun. With the way it was, you can't help bumping into people! We had fun: the kids loved it the most. We thought it was interesting they have a park ranger posted here in what appears to be a security role. Overall, this is a great park. There are many options for exploring the swamps, etc., and it can be used as a base to visit New Orleans. We did this and used the Algiers Ferry to get into NO. This was better for us than driving and parking in city. However, I bet it's close to 20-30 minutes just to drive to ferry and then you still have to wait for ferry, and ride the ferry before you are in NO. It worked for us, but just plan on that time! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Very nice and clean picnic tables and fire rings at every site. Staff very friendly and helpful. No full hook up. Mosquito a very bad so bring repellant . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Stayed 2 nights in a 31' Class C motorhome with 1 slide. Very nice park - well maintained and clean. Wi-Fi was pretty good. Would absolutely return for a longer stay. Nice area and easy access via ferry to New Orleans. WE LOVE IT! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
We stayed at Bayou Segnette State Park just outside of New Orleans for only one night. We did not have a reservation; however, they had one spot large enough for our motor coach. It was located next to the convenience station and allowed us several inches of breathing room with our slides out and the RV parked next to us. Most of the other sites were large and more private. This is a large park filled with tons of Jack Rabbits and Armadillos. There were many activities at this park that we did not enjoy, but it did offer many amenities as well as the convenient location to New Orleans. The laundry is FREE! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Really enjoyed our stay. Construction noise was not a problem. The road coming into the park looks a little industrial but don't worry. The park itself is lovely. Very clean and neat. Wide sites with plenty of room to park a tow. Staff was pleasant. We were able to do some birding. I like the fact that the park gave us a handout with information on local attractions, catching the ferry, directions to stores, etc. Great seafood markets right down the road. Allow plenty of time to get to ferry (took us about 25 minutes), but wonderfully convenient for seeing the French Quarter. A negative; You would need to take a car to get to the pool which was on the other side of the park. However, the bigger problem was getting to the park. Coming from the East, it was pretty harrowing driving though New Orleans afternoon traffic to reach Westwego. It was somewhat better leaving heading West. For that reason, even though we really liked the park and it's closeness to New Orleans, we probably won't be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
A large campground on the west side of New Orleans with well spaced tarmac sites, some with a concrete pad and others with a new wooden deck right by. Clean grassed space between sites. Well paved roads. Tarmac sites wide enough to give me 6 feet to side of Class B van. I biked all about the really extensive campground, picnic areas and road along the levee the campground is adjacent to. There is plenty of biking distances and things to see contrary to a previous writeup. Many large trees were loss to Katrina and so there are many newly planted smaller trees. The men and women bath house we used this day were damp with wet floors that were dirty. Poor ventilation? And a bit dated and dark. This really is a nice park. The fee was $18, but with a $6 "transaction Res" added, so $24/night. We were a "walk in" so not a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2012
$19
We spent a week at this campground. It is a nice park with a great location to New Orleans. My only complaint is that the bathrooms and showers are not clean, and they do not smell clean. It is true that they are "cleaned every day," but the result is they need more than a wet mopping. Behind the building is a large air conditioning unit that was running constantly. However, the bathrooms were very warm and damp, with black mold growing and water droplets falling from the ceiling. The floors were always wet along with the counter tops, and walls. (The only way to get air to circulate was to leave the door propped open.) I asked the man cleaning why it is so wet in there, and he said the air conditioner is broken. There was a female Park Ranger who came by, and I asked her if she had ever been in any of the bathrooms. Since she had not, she came with me to see the conditions. She was surprised how wet everything was, the black mold, and plugged ventilation ducts in the ceiling. She said she was going to talk with the maintenance supervisor. Five days later, everything was just as damp as the day we arrived. I really hope they are able to get this problem rectified because people using the facility deserve better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$18
The sites are generally large, however, the narrow 12 ft wide paved driveways (most of which are elevated), can make backing-in tow ables difficult. All sites have both a BBQ and fire pit. RV sites have water and electric (20, 30 & 50 amp). In my opinion, the nicest sites are those with elevated wood decks (3, 4, 5, 6, 11, 13, 15, 17, 20, 23, 24, 29, 33, 34, 39, 41, 42, 47, 48, 54, 58, 64, 81, 94) in addition to a picnic table that is attached to a concrete slab. The campground offers free internet, free laundry, and clean washrooms, however, there is no recycling for plastic, tin or glass. There is only one dump station so lines can be long. There is a wave pool ($) and free swimming pool. Other than the roads through the campground and park, there are no designated bike trails and only 3 very short (<.5 miles) walking trails. There is a small pond that is not suitable for swimming because of alligators. There are daily ranger led activities. The campground is next door to a fish market and close to major grocery stores, fast food outlets, and a 20 minute drive from the free Algiers ferry to the French Quarter in New Orleans. Guests are provided a handout of directions to nearby points of interest, however some of the directions are inaccurate. The address for the Algiers ferry is 100 not 1 Morgan St, the post office is 6 not 4 traffic lights from the campground, and the closest Wal-Mart is not on LaPalco Blvd but on Manhattan Blvd. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
This is a beautiful park. Large sites with lots of room between you and your neighbor. They are putting in new wooden decks at each site and were working on that while we were there. And, the washers and dryers are FREE! Westwego is a great town. There is a great place to buy any kind of fresh seafood you could want a short drive out the gate to the right from the entrance to the park. Also, Perrinos is a great place to get seafood. Short drive to New Orleans. We can't wait to go back and we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
This campground is located across the river from New Orleans but is convenient to the ferries that can take pedestrians across to Canal Street and into the French Quarter. Parking is available on this side of the river for a reasonable fee. All campgrounds in Louisiana charge a $6 reservation fee, including to those who simply show up without reservations. The sites in this park are nicely laid out, and the restrooms and showers are clean. Wi-Fi worked great in the park. This is a good place to stay to explore Now Orleans, PROVIDED you understand the challenges of getting to the campground. Traveling west on I-10 into New Orleans, Business 90 to the campground involves a hair-raising traverse of multiple high bridges, exit-only lanes appearing and disappearing, and curves. We suggest finding alternative ways to get to the campground if possible. Other than the challenges of getting here, the park is a nice spot for exploring New Orleans. The staff was very nice and helpful! We'd stay here again, provided we found a different way to get here from Business 90. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$18
What a great CG. The bathrooms and showers are cleaned daily, they have FREE washers and dryers, close to NOLA. All the roads and sites are paved, they have free internet that can be very slow but early in the am is reasonable Verizon Wi-Fi works here too. The sites are not on top of one another the staff is friendly. There's plenty of wildlife in the area including coyote and you're close to a boat ramp for fishing. The levee construction is limited to the area where you drive into the park and the noise was a non issue. If you are from Louisiana, Delaware, or Maryland you can get a 50% senior discount. Any were else you pay the full price $18/night. They also have a 1 time fee of $6 for all Louisiana state parks that you have to pay in each park. You can catch the ferry over to NOLA and park your car for $5 Mon-Fri. and $10 on weekends and holidays. This beats the heck out of the other side of the river. From the time we left the park till we'd be on the ferry was about 20-25mins. It drops you right on Canal street near the French Qrt. We camped here over Christmas for 2 weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
Fall season so the park is a bit less crowded. Park is well maintained and close to N/O, LA and close to shopping and a ferry boat ride from N/O, LA. Some sites have decks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Quiet pretty park within 1/2 hour of New Orleans. Good Internet and free laundry! They were doing work on the levees but it didn't disturb us at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
Park is OK if you don't have a dog, except it is way overpriced without sewer hookup. There is some kind of crazy grass and tiny stickers all over the camping area that our dog could barely walk on. When we first got here and I was setting up, I kneeled down in the grass and I got whelps on my knee and it stung for about 30 minutes. This could be seasonal but not for sure. There is all kinds of construction going on by the road to the camping area and sometimes you have to wait a while for them to move. We would not stay here again as we have a dog. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$19
This is a wonderful state park. Nice big sites; some with decks. Easy to get to New Orleans. Very quiet. Laundry facilities available. Only reason did not give a 10 because of no sewer hook up; but there is a dump station available. Second time we have stayed here and will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$26
As said before there is construction going on. Pool was closed when we were here. Revamping it and the walkways I believe. Nice large park. Laundry facilities (get there early) and easy access to drive to the ferry to take you across to New Orleans. Stayed here 3 nights and would go again. We had NO with the grass, stickers, bugs or anything else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$23
A lovely campground within striking distance of New Orleans. I paid $23 for the first night and then $18 per night after that. The sites are all back in and well spaced with restroom facilities and playgrounds placed throughout. The staff are friendly and helpful. Its a quiet setting adjacent to the bayou. Currently there is levee construction, but it has not bothered me in the least with noise or inconvenience. I took the Algiers Point Ferry (free) into the French Quarter each day as it is a short drive from here. In addition, just outside the Park entrance and to the right is a place to buy fresh seafood from a variety of vendors. Shrimp, fish, crab etc. My dogs and I would stay here again for sure. Oh, and those of you with dogs, its best to abide by the leash law since there are coyotes around. I heard them each night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$18
This park has many positives, with construction being a main negative. The noise could be a huge problem depending on where you are staying within the park. The big issue we encountered was entering and exiting with all of the work vehicles. It's the best value around, and easy to visit New Orleans. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$18
The campground area at this state park is set a mile back from the busy West Bank Expressway. One camps in a wooded area that adjoins a bayou. Only a 12 mile drive from the French Quarter, I found it amazing that such a peaceful location existed near such a large city. The sites are well-spaced (all are back-ins) and have water and electricity. There are no sewer hookups. Free Wi-Fi is available in the campground, but I chose to use to my Verizon broadband, due to the filtering restrictions imposed (I was prevented from looking at the schedule of a local FM station because it was deemed to be a streaming site). Over the air HD TV is available, although the station selection is not the best. Some reviewers have mentioned the free laundry services available. A warning. The equipment is in extremely poor shape. At one of the two laundry rooms there were 3 washing machines (one was broken and a second was in questionable condition) and only one dryer. A park staff member indicated that most campers use a commercial Laundromat on the Expressway about 1 mile west of park entrance. Other than this minor complaint, the park makes an ideal base for visiting New Orleans and the plantations along river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$18
This is a state park located in an urban area. The campsites are nice but there is not much else to do in the campground. Washers/dryers are old and most were not working when we were here. Lots of work going on along the levy in the park, constructing a new sea wall so you hear pile drivers at work 7 days a week. You have to run a gauntlet of construction vehicles in the state park to get to the campground. The park office personnel are very helpful. Easy to get to the free ferry to go the French Quarter. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
Great State Park, wide open spaces, great nature surroundings. Remote construction of new levies still going on, so remote noise might be an issue, but has an acceptable level and timing. Good security thru Park-Rangers. Will certainly come back in future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
This is the 2nd time we've stayed here. The first was last Nov, 2009. It is clean, well patrolled by the rangers. It is approx 20 min's to New Orleans and you can park on the west bank and take the Algiers Ferry right to Canal St. We always seem to have good neighbors while there. The only down side this trip is the construction with the accompanying noise and dirt (raising the levies). We're city folk so the noise wasn't too bothersome. There is a large wave pool on the premises, (seasonal) and picnic areas abound. One of the best deals in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
Lovely park - spaces are far apart (50-100 feet). Free laundry is a nice plus. Convenient to the city and tourist sights. I would have rated this higher if it hadn't been for a lack of sewer hookups and the construction noise during the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
This is a lovely park and the people are nice and laid back. Security setup was nice -- we felt secure in the park but didn't have any trouble coming and going. They provided a lot of nice information at check in. Kind of annoying that we were only there for 2 days, but had to come back to the office the second day to get a new parking pass. Also, be warned that there is some serious construction going on (seawall along park road) that makes for VERY LOUD pile drivers and other machines running all day. Mosquitoes are also a problem, but it is the bayou, so... We would stay here again, but only after the construction is done. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
Very nice park to visit New Orleans. This park is comparable to St. Bernard Parish State Park but maybe a little more kid friendly as far as things to do. But like all swamp areas when it warms up the bugs come out. Everything in the park is clean but due to the river work shoring the levee up noise in the daytime is loud from construction, but this is only temporary. I would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
Great place to stay if you want to see New Orleans. The Huey P. Long bridge is now open in both directions although lanes are at present too narrow for me to take my motorhome across. Nice clean campground with spacious paved sites. Some construction noise is audible while protection from flooding is carried out. Looks like this work will take a few month. As usual there are no sewer connection available in State Parks so come prepared and use the bath houses if you can. We will be back to this site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Would rate this campground higher if it had CATV and sewer connections. Also, the Wi-Fi is extremely slow. Otherwise the campground has spacious sites, paved roads and sites, and well maintained landscaping. Located in a woodsy area, therfore there is plenty of wildlife, birds, rabbits, etc. The pool for campers is located a short drive away and is very clean. There is a wave pool open to the public for a fee. Overall this campground and park are in very good condition and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$9
This park is located about 11 miles from the French Quarter on the West bank. Has very quiet sites on the north end. The South end has some boat traffic noise. From I-10 use the Business 90 route and come west through New Orleans and Westwego. Do not try to cross the Huey P. Long bridge as it is under repair and has only one lane open: very tight. All sites are paved and level. The park is recovering from Katrina and most of the trees are small as the big ones were damaged by the storm. Rates reflect Golden Age discount as the pass is honored in all of Louisiana's State Parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$11
This is a wonderful state park. Has great access to the city. The sites are huge and most are very level. I was glad to see that we could put up our bird feeders. The pool was not open but looked very nice. We were amazed that laundry is free. But, I will say, it does take a long time to dry the clothes. The park is very well maintained. We made our reservations on line, and it worked very smoothly. Our price reflects America The Beautiful pass. The Park Rangers were very helpful and nice. The water pressure was great. The WiFi worked smoothly. Has 30 or 50 amp service. There is no shade trees. We stayed here 5 nights and will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
We loved being close to New Orleans yet far from the city’s craziness. The sites here are beautiful and roomy. You don’t have sewer, but the dump station is great. We took the ferry into New Orleans, which was fun and convenient. One caution: the drive to the ferry is kind of far (20-30 minutes), and you have to pay to park. Once you’re at the ferry station, the boat takes about 15 minutes to cross the Mississippi. We did find it kind of creepy going back on the ferry at night. I wouldn’t have wanted to do it alone, although I did see several women by themselves. The park gave us a nice information sheet about local attractions, but some of the information is out of date, so CHECK before you go! Mardi Gras World, for example, has a new location, so the directions on the handout are wrong. The Louisiana Swamp Boat tours are also over half an hour away. We had very few complaints about the park itself though. The bathhouse was nice and very clean. The park also has a laundry room that’s free, but it only has washers. I guess you’re supposed to hang your laundry out to dry (if that’s allowed). I was glad that our Verizon Aircard worked, because the park Wi-Fi was slow as Christmas. Now, I love having a park with good, tight security. Don’t get me wrong. But, the lock they use to close their gate at night has little tiny numbers. It was really difficult for someone over 40 to read in the dark (the street light nearby cast a shadow on the lock, so that actually made the numbers harder to read). I sure wish I’d had a flashlight with me. When I relocked it, I did it upside down by accident and couldn’t figure out how to unlock it again easily. I pity the poor unlucky ranger who had to deal with it after me. The place was close to full when we checked in, so I would recommend reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
What a great park with lots of room between sites. Ours was over 100ft to the next site (#1099), and very clean. The pool was not open (opens Memorial Day). It has good Wi-Fi. One problem is that they are doing some construction near the campsites, but the park more than makes up for this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$13
We stayed here for two days. This park is pretty with spacious sites, patios and even fire pits. The wireless was exceptional. The RV section of the park is removed from the boat ramps and day visitors. It is also well patrolled. We used as a base to explore New Orleans. The best way is to take the 8 mile drive to Algiers and take the free ferry to the heart of the city, between the French Quarter and Warehouse District. The park also recognizes the National Senior Pass, reducing our rate by almost half. We would definitely stay here if in the New Orleans area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
I stayed here for 4 days. Very nice state park with large sites, at least 40' between sites. Sites are paved, mostly level with pads or wood deck for picnic table, charcoal grill and fire ring provided. Grounds were well kept with plenty of trash containers located throughout the camping area. There is a laundry with two washers and dryers that is free for campers to use. There is free Wi-Fi but it was all but useless. Verizon cell and data worked well. Nice play areas for kids. In season there is a pool for campers and a wavepool for day use and campers. This is low ground (there is a levee on one side of the park) so heavy rains can cause some water pooling in areas. While I was here we had 1/2" of rain in a day and there was some standing water around a couple of sites. Park Rangers and volunteers were all nice and they handed out good information sheets on local stores and attractions. If you want to visit New Orleans use the free Algiers ferry located about 8 miles away, much easier then driving into N.O. I would have given a 9 rating but the Wi-Fi was so bad, if you are going to promote it as a feature then it should work. I would stay again if I visit the New Orleans area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
This is a fantastic park to stay at. Lots of nature! We saw birds of every variety, raccoon, opossum, bobcat, rabbit and armadillos. The only drawbacks were: 1. The 15-mile per hour speed limit on long roads to the campgrounds. 2. The gate closes at 9pm. After that you have to get out of your car with a flashlight to unlock a combination padlock, swing the gate open, then get back out to lock it back up. 3. No sewer lines. This really is inconvenient, especially just to dump grey water every other day. Other than that, this is the place to stay when you are in New Orleans, if you can get a spot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
This park is located in Westwego a suburb of New Orleans. The Wi-Fi was superb and the park was well kept. The bathhouses were clean and tidy but none of the laundry facilities worked while we were here. Because of construction, the after hours entrance is pretty difficult to find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
I have to agree with the other reviews of the Bayou Segnette State Park, it is a solid "9". A fantastic place to camp if you are visiting New Orleans! It is clean, quiet, beautiful and convenient. It took us less than 20 minutes to get into the city, and you have the choice of the two bridges if you're trying to avoid traffic. We were there during Mardi Gras and the SuperBowl, so traffic was at it's peak, but we never had a problem. If you really want to avoid the roads, the ferry is nearby and free. The sites themselves were large, well equipped with 50 amp, firepit, picnic table. My only complaint was one of them was not entirely level, but with a block it wasn't a big deal. I say "one of them" because in the 10 days we were here, we had to move to 3 different sites. It seems that it is easier for us to pack-up and move a 34,000 pound camper over one site, than it is for the office to rearrange allocations in their computer. This was inconvenient and a little annoying, but the convenience, the free Wi-Fi, free laundry, etc., more than made up for it. Tip: If you are coming here for Mardi Gras, there are great parades to be seen just near the campground. We tailgated in the parking lot near the Walgreen's/Academy in Gretna, Louisiana, at Stumpf and WestBank Expressway. This was an amazing place to watch the floats and bands, and it is only 10 minutes from the campground. I would definitely recommend this park to anyone visiting New Orleans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$9
Outstanding value with senior discount. Big paved back in sites. 50 amp, water and wi-fi. Batwing reception was pretty good, Verizon broadband excellent. We took the Algiers ferry into the French Quarter on this stay versus driving. The ferry is the way to go. Approximately 10 miles to city that way. Sites on back side of the loops from bath houses better suited for people who use their own baths / showers. A bit quieter in these sites. All sites are very close in size, so that doesn't matter in site selection. We will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$16
This is a beautiful park with good interior roads and nice level sites that are nicely spaced. The staff were friendly and helpful. That they have free Wi-Fi in a state park is amazing. The only down side about the park is the numerous jarring speed bumps and the 15 mph speed limit on the long road leading to the campsites. We found it a very convenient place to stay while exploring New Orleans and the surrounding area. With no shade trees, staying here in the summer might be a little hot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
We stayed for four nights in October. Beautiful SP and well maintained. Rangers and attendants were most courteous. Only problem we noted was the huge mosquitoes after sundown. It is only a short distance to the city of New Orleans and other various swamp tour attractions in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
We live within a short drive and will probably be back. Be prepared for mosquito's, this is Louisiana. We also saw TONS of rabbits, we lost count after 75. I believe they must have feeders out. Raccoons, opossums, snakes and alligators also call this area home so we all must share. We stayed in site 26 and although most sites have no shade over the picnic table, there was a large area further back on the site under a tree which was very nice to sit back and enjoy. The bathhouses were fairly large and clean but WEAR SHOWER SHOES. There were small worms on the floor of the shower stalls and since I personally saw park personnel clean them in the morning, I'm sure being this close to a swamp is the problem. Park personnel are very, very friendly and the park does have a gate that locks at night. You need the combination to come and go after 10 p.m. The wave pool is very nice but since it's open to the public, there is a fee to enter. There is a free pool closer to the campers that is not open to the public. Numerous walking and biking trails throughout to see wildlife and those rabbits. Security is good and patrols on a regular basis. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
This isn't a bad park by any means. It serves great as a stop over on your way to another destination. The comfort stations were clean, although, on our visit, the laundry machines were not working and our clothes simply would not dry. We were forced to set our clothes in the sun to get them dry. And: THERE'S PLENTY OF SUN!! I don't think there was a single site that had adequate shade. We camped in August, and it was so hot we could barely stand it. There is a wave pool on the grounds, and the kids enjoyed it for a few hours, I believe the entry fee was $7 a person for the wave pool. There is also a swimming pool near the camping loops for overnight guests, but it was not very impressive, even in the Louisiana August heat. We saw a large abundance of wildlife though, which surprised me with it being located right off of a main highway in a fairly busy neighborhood. Rabbits, deer, armadillos, snakes, and alligators, as well as a large variety of birds. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
A beautiful, quiet park 20 minutes from the French Quarter. Very large sites set in the scenic bayou. A nice boardwalk trail follows the bayou. Lots of wildlife. Free laundry facilities, however the dryer did not work properly and we ended up taking our wet clothes to a coin operated laundromat. Beware of the Huey Long Bridge! It is very narrow. If you decide to take your motorhome across, drive down the center, blocking both lanes. We shaved off part of our tail pipe on the curb/wall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
OK state park close to New Orleans. Sites are large and paved. Steep grade from site pad to grass below at many sites. Cement pads for picnic tables at all sites. Some are at rear of site like ours. Very little shade. No sewer connections. Wi-Fi is slow. Bathrooms were neither clean nor nice. Playground was nice. Park is on opposite side of New Orleans from major attractions. We would look for another rv park closer to the East side of New Orleans with better facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
As per previous reviews, convenient to downtown via ferry. Very clean park. Sites well spaced. Many large hungry mosquitoes. No surprise there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
A nice state park campground. Staff was very friendly and helpful, gave us a lot of assistance when we needed to locate a vehicle repair facility. This place will be even nicer as the trees grow back. The only downgrade I'm giving is the slow wifi speed (and they are quick to point this out, even when checking in. I learned that they are using satellite uplink, so bandwidth is at a premium). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
The only reason I didn't rate this park a 10 is because they do not have sewer sites. All sites are 50 amp w/water hookups. They are all back in's with ample spacing between sites. Park roadways and pads are paved. There are 2 seperate 'comfort' stations containing restrooms, showers and free washers and dryers ( 2 of each ). The park also offers free wi-fi. The staff has a series of informational handouts on area attractions including directions to the Algiers ferry terminal, located 12 miles away. This ferry is free and takes you right to the foot of Canal Street which is a short walk from the French Quarter and/or the warehouse district ( WWII museum ). The ferry terminal is also right on the streetcar line. Next to the campground is a very lively fishmarket offering up all kinds of fresh seafood. The Westwego Market serves fried foods and po'boys and is located inside the fish market. Every kind of shopping you could need is within a couple of miles of the campground. They do lock the entrance gate at night but you are given directions & codes which will allow you to enter after hours. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$9
This is a very nice park. The $9 rate is with senior pass. Will go back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
This state park was exceptional ... clean, well laid out, wide roads, large sites, strong free wi-fi signals, great satellite reception, free laundry, friendly, enthusiastic staff. The park underwent major cleanup after Hurricane Katrina; their hard work shows! The only thing that would make this reasonably priced park better is cable TV! Can't ask for any better! Loved the open, sites, with beautiful trees and well-manicured grass to look at. Lots of space between sites. And look at that great price! $18 per night! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$16
Very nice campground with nice spacing between the sites, however, there was little privacy because there was nothing separating the sites. The placement of the pads and picnic tables was a bit strange, some of them were behind the trailer pad, and others were next to it. For close proximity to New Orleans, you could not beat this campground. I'd highly recommend taking advantage of the ferry from Algiers to Canal Street. There is a good size parking lot on the Algiers side, and the ferry is free. It lands right at the end of Canal Street in New Orleans which is within great walking distance of the French Quarter, and street car access for the Garden District, etc. The park also had free washers and dryers, which was a pleasant surprise. Be sure to check out the seafood market outside the park entrance. Fabulous prices and good variety. Warning! Do not use the Huey Long Bridge in either direction pulling your rig. It is seriously narrow, and just driving it in our Ford 450 made us nervous. Bring bug spray, you are in the Bayou and mosquitoes are rampart. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$9
This is a good place to stay while visiting New Orleans. Our site was clean and grassy with a few mature cypress trees which gave minimal shade in the winter. The bathrooms and showers were new and there are free washers and dryers in the bathhouse. There is a chain-link fence around the park and rangers drive through frequently. Good security. Biking is good in the park; not very good outside. The Wi-Fi was very slow but usable for email. There is a seafood market just outside the park and it is about 12 miles to the free ferry at Algiers which took us to the French Quarter. The normal rate is $18 per night, we were given the 1/2 price discount for the Golden Age Passport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$9
This is a nice park that I would recommend to everyone. Rangers patrolled day and night so we felt very safe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
Very clean campground and very secure with a park ranger driving by often. Campfires allowed. BBQ grills provided and picnic tables on paved pad. Paved sites. Free washers/dryers at shower facilities. Lots of mowed grass. Dump station and fresh water in central location. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$8
In many ways a great park. Senior discount and location are great. Roads are are nicely paved with paved sites and grass in between. But a few annoying negatives keep this from being a 10: Be prepared for mosquitoes. We were there in early December and they were bad then. Don't know what its like in Spring. The showers were fairly clean, but there was no ventilation and this kept every surface wet 24/7. Perhaps its better when they switch the AC on. The Wi-Fi, although free, is unusable. They have invested in several towers and transmitters spaced around the camping area so the signal is very strong but the speed is the slowest I've ever experienced--slower than dial-up. My browser timed out on most pages before they finished loading. I couldn't even check my e-mail. Odd they have invested so much in hardware only to make the system useless with such slow connection speed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$9
One of the few state parks that accept the national parks card. Sweet park about 13 miles from the Quarter. Clean and neat with lots of space between spots. Apparently there is a wave pool open in the summer. Security although it is unneeded. In a wetlands so good walking and wildlife. Cannot be beaten for access to Nawlin's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$8
This is the second time we have come to this park. The nightly rate reflects National Senior Pass discount. It is a great park for doing New Orleans. It has free laundry and free WiFi, which was really slow. Another example of paranoid webmasters limiting bandwidth to all users because they fear hogs. Barely usable, but it is free. There is a great seafood market just outside the park which had fresh crab, fish and shrimp daily. The sites are large with plenty of room between sites. There are picnic tables and fire rings at each site. Water pressure was really low at our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Nothing for older kids over to do, except the nearby water park which was packed with locals. Will not return as kids were bored and cranky and is the reason for the low rating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Nice park close enough to the quarter to make it a cheap way to do New Orleans. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
The park is very large with a wave pool on the site. It is in the bayou so expect it to be swampy and moist/humid; lots of big rabbits everywhere! The sites are well spaced but have NO formal patio area. My biggest complaint is just uneven ground. The pads are quite narrow. Wi-Fi is free but pretty slow...about 600K..much better than nothing. There are very few trees for pad shade. It is only about 20 min from New Orleans. Overall it's a nice clean park,but needs better pads/patios. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
Campground is in very good shape, since Katrina. You can even wash clothes for free, which was great. The problem with this park is the gates are locked at night which means you are stuck with whatever rift raff that is staying in the park. The park rangers patrol until they get off at 9:00 pm, then the park is locked and they are gone. We had an ice chest full of ice and drinks stolen right from underneath our camper. This happened to us before. I believe we should be protected while we are sleeping also. I hope whoever stole my good 5 day ice chest, that I can no longer find in stores is happy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
We stayed here because of the ease to go into New Orleans. Sites are clean, long enough for big rigs and spaced far enough apart for privacy. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
This state park is recovering from Hurricane Katrina. Sites are unlevel pavement, but not that bad and not many trees so could be bad in the heat. When we checked in their computer system was down, and the staff was extremely slow in checking people in...they claimed they were faster than computers, but I question that. There seemed to be several staff in the office doing nothing while we waited in line to check in with only one employee checking in campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$9
This state park is just recovering from Katrina and has lots of new trees planted. Rates are $18.00 per day but you can use your Golden Age Passport here in Louisiana State Parks. Secure and safe and about 12 miles from the French Quarter. The laundrys are all new and free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$9
Golden Age discount is 50%, but $18 would still be a bargain. Add sewer and this place would be a 10. Big roomy back in sites are fully paved, plus there is a poured concrete 'patio' behind the site with picnic table, grill (new) and fire ring. The space between sites could actually support an additional site, but then it would be like a private park. The Louisiana TPC (golf course) is located at this state park. An easy 30 minute drive into the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
Loved this park. The sites were paved ,and the area was very family friendly and beautiful. There were mosquitos and our picnic table was located on the wrong side of the travel trailer. Great place to ride your bike with the family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
This park is a surprise. When I hear the word "bayou" I conjure up a picture in my mind of dirt roads and moss hanging from the trees. If that's what you're looking for, it's not here. However, if you find beauty in a real Louisiana swamp, this is the place. Our site was described as shady; this means there are two spindly trees near the picnic table. Most of the campsites are out in the bald bare sun. I have to wonder if they lost a lot of trees during Katrina. Oh well, the wind has been steady and that kept us pretty comfortable until nightfall. The campground is very clean and well-kept. To my daughter's delight, the bunnies come out in the evening to eat clover. She counted 7 at one point. The park is criss-crossed with boardwalks leading over the swamp areas. Bring mosquito repellent. There are two swimming areas here; one is a wave pool which costs $8/person, the other is a 3-4ft deep swimming pool free for overnight guests. The only disappointment so far has been the restroom. While it is clean and ostensibly handicapped accessible, I found it difficult to use with my disabled child. The one handicapped stall is not really large enough to accommodate two people. There was only one hook to hold our things, and no bench. There is a small seat inside the shower itself, with a hand-held shower head which was nice. Unfortunately, halfway through our shower the water died so I toweled us off and went back to the camper. I'll try again in the morning. Our main reason for camping here was proximity to New Orleans and in that we are not disappointed. It's about 30 minutes outside the city; the French Quarter is accessible by ferry from Algiers. For a state park that is located in a busy suburb, it is quite pleasant and relaxing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$15
Park has re-opened since Katrina. Sites are very nice, lot of space around all sites. All sites are close to the swamp. The park has a boat ramp for its visitors. Some road noise from Hwy 90 Bus. Playground equipment for kids. Nice wave pool (Entry $8). 14 day max stay. About 10 miles to an almost free ferry ($1 a car) in Westwego that will take you to New Orleans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$12
This is a very nice park in a great location, about 20 minutes from the French Quarter with direct and easy access to New Orleans. Sites are large and private with raised, paved pads. There's no sewer, but the bath houses were clean. It has a nice pool, and a wavepool. The landscape is wooded with some small swampy areas. The staff was helpful and informative. We had a very pleasant experience, and would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$12
Thank goodness for this website or I would have never known about this park. It is a great place to stay and only minutes for New Orleans and the French Quarter. The campground is very secure and sites are large and shady. There are plenty of activities such as water park, hiking and fishing. Wish we could have stayed longer! There is a free ferry that crosses the river to New Orleans and parking is only $5.00 However it is confusing to get to and even more confusing to leave, especially at night. We would definitely come back here and recommend it as the safest spot near New Orleans. Thanks RV Reviews! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$12
Sites are very nice, lot of space around all sites, roads and sites are blacktop. Roads can take a large unit with no problems. All sites are in the swamp, winter no problem with mosquitos, in warm weather you will have a problem. Some road noise from Hwy 90 Bus. Playground equipment for kids. Nice wave pool. Park was full and you may need a reservation to get in. 14 day max stay. About 10 miles to free ferry that will take you to New Orleans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$12
State Park outside of New Orleans. Wonderful location and park. Level sites clean laundry facilities. Restrooms and showers were clean - however spouse didn't care about sharing the shower with some green sticky frogs :) . Otherwise it would be a 10. Excellent access to New Orleans - ask for the directions to the ferry into the French Quarter. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$12
A hidden treasure to get away from the noise, etc., in New Orleans. Very nice state park and definitely located in a swamp area. Back-in paved sites with plenty of room to manuvere. Lots of shade, paved roads throughout. We were there for Mardi Gras and there were still a few mosquitos! Wonder what it would be like in the summer? Entrance is locked up every night and the 15 mph speed limit is strictly enforced! Very friendly staff, always able to give you directions. Very impressive state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Very nice campground. Lots to do and see here. New Orleans is just 15 minutes away, but don't try to go during 8:00 or 5:00 traffic. The absolute perfect park for the kind of camping we like to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$12
I camped here in a 40' MH and had plenty of room to get around. The interior roads and site pad are all paved and wide. The place appeared to be fairly new and every thing was neat and in it's place. Security trucks were noticed offen and they have a locked gate at night. I was just really impressed with this place. The have a convenient dump station. This location is about a 15 minute drive to downtown New Orleans. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$12
Narrow one lane blacktop interior roads & slightly elevated bt level pads. Built in a swampy area so water can be right up to your site occasionally. Lots of shade, most sites are separated by trees & undergrowth. Close (30 Miles) to New Orleans. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$12
Very nice state park - located in a swamp area. All back-in sites, paved roads & sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$12
A very beautiful, quiet campground. Many trees yet only a few miles from Bourbon Street. I would definitely go back. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com