219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Sycamore Grove Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (530) 934-3316
CGID12495

Sycamore Grove Campground

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   8   7   8   7   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
This pleasant US National Forest-run campground is set in a wooded park near the Sacramento River. There are sites for small rigs, and pull-through semi-circle sites and some back-ins for larger rigs. Some have complained about the tight squeeze, which mostly means you have to drive over some grass to make the rig fit, but nothing too arduous in our experience with our 35-ft 5th wheel. It is a treed park, so only a couple of sites will get satellite. There’s no Wi-Fi or cable TV, but our Verizon 4G worked well and there were several TV channels that came in over the digital antenna. A gate to the park closes 10PM-6AM, so late arrivals should get the gate code in advance by calling the number shown on this listing and have them give you the camp host phone if they don’t know it. We had a pleasant stay, and it was a weekend, the only noise coming from a family reunion that took up 3 sites. The cost is $25 for RV hookup sites, and those with the US senior citizens or disabled National Parks passes get half off. That was confusing because signs say “Lands Pass” is accepted, which is the common $80 America the Beautiful” National Lands Pass. But, alas, no. They need to change the signs to avoid confusion; or I guess until they change the signs just take the discount and don't ask the camp host to clarify it like we did! The campsites offer water and electric (we had 50 amp at our pull-through that worked well, no voltage problems). We did not use the restroom/shower facility. However, the fatal flaw of this campground is there is no sewer or dump station. A sign at the entrance mentions a nearby fairgrounds with $8 cost, however, without specific instructions of where to go to dump we didn’t want to drive in and get stuck, so we ended up dumping along our route at a Chevron mini mart (found on sanidumps.com) in north Redding, 5425 Mountain View Drive, for $5 (free with $100 gas purchase they said). The RV parks in town were all going to charge $10. So, add that to your cost of staying here as well. A series of paved paths lead through a beautiful oak woodland/meadow in a loop, and along a flood bypass of the Sacramento River, which was dry when we were there. The main river channel also passes the park, and there is a boat launch facility where you can boat downstream of the large diversion dam. The paths total about 4 miles and allow bikes except for one nature trail. We rode the trails to the north trailhead, which leads to the quiet Sales Road that accesses the park, and then rode on sidewalks across the flood channel, I-5 and the main channel (a scenic view from that bridge) into historic Red Bluff. It’s a very pleasant town, with restored shops on Main Street, and a few blocks of Victorians on Washington Street. We rode along the river for a bit in the Red Bluff City Park, and up a stream channel, doing a loop through downtown, for a total of about 10 miles including the park trails. All in all, we would return, but it’s not the deal that we were hoping for based on other reviews, especially taking into account the cost of dumping elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$13
Normal rate for a W/E site would be $25, but the annual pass for the National Parks gives you a 50% discount! Sites are paved and level but a little on the small side. Our rig is 51' combined and filled the pull through site completely. Hookups in good shape. Just a few miles from the interstate exit but very quiet at night. Verizon signal was good. Very nice hiking and biking trails right off the campground. Unbeatable value for money deal. We'll be back whenever travelling through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$13
This is a nice federal park and the rate was $12.50/night for power with the federal geezer card. It is right next to the Sacramento River and has some extensive bike and hiking trails that run through the park. The roads and sites are paved. We grabbed one of the electric sites and found that it had a bad leg on the 50 amp, and no ground (be sure and always test before you plug in). We moved to another electric site and it worked fine. The problem was fixed a couple of days latter. Verizon Wi-Fi works sort of. It seems to do OK in the morning but gets extremely slow at night. The showers have a code that you get from the host and cost 25 cents for 2-3 mins but the water is hot. The area is pretty quiet and it's a pleasant campground. If you have a boat, the ramps are very close. All in all, this is a nice spot and the only down side I see is that there is no dump station. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$16
Showers are locked (due largely to the public access to the river close by), and you have to pay for using them. The park was mostly non-electric, lots of space in between sites, lots of walking paths and because it's a run by the US Forest Service, the National Park Pass is accepted. So we only paid $8/night. Park host was friendly and available. Nearby Red Bluff provided great antenna TV signals. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$13
Rate reflects federal disabled pass discount (50%). A lovely park, very clean, safe, widely spaced sites. No wi-fi but 3G worked fine. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$13
The rate reflects a Federal Lands Senior Card which is half price. This is a National Forest Service campground. Only some of the sites have electrical hookups, but those are a great 50 amps. A big issue is that there is no dump station, so you have to arrange that elsewhere. There are only a few sites with satellite coverage because of the trees. Verizon data plan worked well. The campground is easy to find and convenient to the Interstate. The park gets heavy use from locals as a hiking area. There are some hiking/biking trails in the park that are nice, if not that long. There are a lot of homeless folks in the area, sleeping under a close-by bridge, but that did not seem to be a problem in the park. There are park hosts but we only talked with them at check-in. The fire pits were full of ashes and not cleaned during our stay there. The park is fairly quite and fairly dark, which we love. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$13
This is a very nice campground. Nice Camp Host. They are open all year. They have two camp Host. One of the camp host said they were looking for a host for the summer. Only have water and electric. No dump station but they gave us a place to go. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$12
I love this campground! We've stayed here on several occasions when we're traveling towards Oregon and beyond. It's an oasis in Red Bluff. Clean and level sites, always a friendly host on-site. Fantastic price, as we make our reservations on-line as we have an America the Beautiful pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$13
We enjoyed this park even though there was noise from the construction on the adjacent Diversion Dam. The site we reserved was not the size indicated on the internet, but there were other open sites we could use and it was no problem to change. Not all sites have electricity. Pads are paved but not level. The showers cost $1 for about 2 minutes and the doors have a combo code lock on them. No dump station. Great day use area adjoins and there are miles of trails. Rangers were very accommodating. Close to small town with all the amenities necessary. We would stay here again. Rate was with America the Beautiful Access Card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com