223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Pine Crest RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (985) 649-3181
CGID1254

Pine Crest RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
202
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   7   8   8   4   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
The folks running this park have to be about the friendliest and most helpful we've run into. They gave us great advice on a local restaurant along with a card for a free appetizer. The check in was easy and fast. The streets are wide, and the site was paved and level. The water pressure was 45 PSI, and the voltage was about 118. The site was wide and clean. There is easy access to get to New Orleans, but there is no public transportation. Ask the hosts for a map and directions to the French Quarter and parking. They will gladly accommodate you and make it much easier. The were two reasons I dropped the rating from a 10 to a 9. I can't fathom why I have to drive my very expensive RV over speed bumps (or speed dips in this park). It's tough enough on these rigs with all the rough roads. We don't need to have them beat up in the parks. The other reason was that the exit was not very clearly marked, and it was a little tight getting our long rig out. Be careful when you leave the park. Stay well to the right on the exit if you're turning left with a towed rig. Otherwise, you can get hung up on the entrance curb. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
We stayed for 3 nights so that we could visit New Orleans and some relatives nearby, much cheaper than sites nearer to New Orleans. Even though the pull-through was level it was a little tight getting in and around the small area for short term guests. This appears to be mainly geared towards permanents, with many mobile homes. The campground is really nice and open, with nice walks especially along the lakes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
We stayed at this park only one night while traveling. The park was easy for us to get to and convenient to I-10 and I-12. We paid $37 with our Good Sam discount. They do charge an extra $5 for every child over 10 years old. We had a concrete pull-through site, and I had no problems entering the site or leaving the site. The pedestal was conveniently located for an easy water and electricity connection. They do not have cable TV, but there were plenty of channels from the New Orleans TV stations with my RV antenna. I did have to use one Lynx leveler to get my rig level, even though it was a concrete pad. The park is very full with what appears to be permanent residents, and some of the rigs were total trashy dumps. To us, some were a major eyesore. The rest room and shower facility was small, yet adequate. It was not air conditioned so taking a shower in the heat of the day will be sweltering. They do not have a pool. We did not try the Wi-Fi. Office staff was very friendly and accommodating. Although I would not choose this park for a vacation park, and considered the price too high for what you get, for us it was fine for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
This RV park is close to I-10 and I-12 and a convenient overnight stop. The sites are narrow but we were able to deploy all 4 slides. There was lots of standing water from recent rain. There seem to be permanent residents at most sites and some were pretty dumpy looking. The roads are narrow with very tight turns which made it difficult to maneuver our 40 ft motorhome. We had site 7 which is a pull through. It was long enough for the motorhome and toad BUT the roads are so narrow we had to unhook the toad and back out of our site to leave. One last word of caution, the park map they give upon registering said not to leave trash outside as it attracts gators. We have 2 small dogs so that was of concern for us even though we would never let them off the leash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Stayed here one night while passing through. Good place, near I-10/12 with easy access. Friendly owner/manager. Didn't try WiFi so don't know how it worked. Campground was pleasant and all utilities worked fine. Good TV reception with antenna only. Ask owner about restaurants in town and he can help with suggestions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
Price based on weekly + as we stayed for 10 days due to illness. We thought this was a good park aside from the water damage to the roads. Facilities were in good condition and the staff were very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$60
This park is fairly large with lots of amenities. The rate of $60.00 was due to it being Mardi Gras, and it definitely isn't worth that much money. It is a good over-night park. The sites are cement slabs with room for a 40 ft motorhome and a toad. They are fairly narrow however. There was water standing near the electric box, which is disconcerting. I would stay here again, but not during celebrations. I camped in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$45
The cost was for the days before Mardi Gras, therefore higher than normal. The office staff were very nice and helpful. The washroom shower facilities are very old, but seemed clean. The laundry room is clean. The office does not supply quarters for the laundry machines, nor is there a change machine in the laundry room. The sites are concrete and fairly level, but with all the rain lately, everything in the park is under water. There doesn’t appear to be any drainage in the park. The roads in-between the sites are very narrow and difficult to get around. The office closes at 5pm on Fridays and if your come in after that, you are without internet as you need a code for Tengo. The internet is frustratingly slow and we got kicked off repeatedly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$40
Has good connections. Has level parking. No real amenities. It does have a pond for fishing. Staff is very nice. It's about 30 minutes outside New Orleans, so you don't pay the higher New Orleans rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Very friendly owners and office staff. Close in location, great for a quick trip to New Orleans. Nice restaurants in the area. However, the park was old, the roads narrow, the spaces narrow. A bit of a push for a big motor home towing. We had rain, and there were puddles everywhere. Our sewer connection was totally under water. Lots of mud off of the pavement. Rate shown is a monthly rate. We would stay here again, but there may be other places we have to check out. But the only ones we've seen next to us was a real dumpy place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$31
This is a nice park with friendly owner that is very helpful about the area and places to visit. We had a concrete pad pull-through site with a patio. Easy in off I-10 and only 20 minutes from New Orleans. Plenty to do and place to eat in the area. We stayed here 4 nights and our rate was Good Sam. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
This is a good park for overnight on I-10 or I-12 near New Orleans. The facilities were all as specified, except for the internet. If you plan to use internet, be aware that it is TengoInternet and is worse than dial-up, so in spite of their big advertising signs, you will be lucky if you get it to work. Otherwise is was a good place to camp for the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Well kept site, along side a lake. The restrooms were tired but clean. There was Sign Pollution, signs everywhere what to do and what not to do! Reception staff very friendly and helpful, we would stay there again for a one night stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
This is a good stop over park. We had the Good Sam rate. The staff were nice. We did not use the restroom or showers so can't review them. The park is clean, but the interior roads were very rough and in need of attention. The sites have a concrete pad and all utilities worked as expected. WiFi worked well, but no cable. We would stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
Water everywhere, especially in the potholes, after heavy rains. Very nice couple run the place, very responsive. Sadly, we were robbed Saturday night. Lock your doors! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2013
$55
Park staff were friendly, gave us a coupon for a super restaurant in Slidell. The park itself was older, very narrow pads, it had rained and rained and rained, so the grounds were spongy, a lot of the park was flooded. The restrooms were clean but old. They charged us $55 plus tax because we stayed during Mardi Gras. No value for our money there. No Cable TV, but WiFi worked okay. Looks like lots of older trailers live here. Easy to find and fairly quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$46
I'm stumped at the other reviews because that was not our experience. We arrived late and had to do a night registration, but it wouldn't have mattered because a sign on the door said the office closed at noon (it was a Saturday) and would be closed all day Sunday. So, we couldn't get a code to the washrooms nor would we get a password for the WiFi. My husband inquired with various other campers who either didn't have the WiFi code, or weren't using the system at all (one person said half the campground didn't have WiFi at all). Two campers said there was a manager at Site #1, but no one was at home. The concrete spot was cracked and the grass around it had litter and cigarette butts. When we went to dump, the black water went down fine but the gray water bubbled back up. This motorhome is a rented one with small tanks, so the content wasn't huge but their system seemed unable to contain the waste water. Fortunately, we were only there overnight and were happy to get out as quickly as we could the next day. For your information, this was the most expensive fee ($45.70) of every place we stayed on our 2+ week road trip, and I plan to send a complaint to them asking for a refund (we had to leave cash since no one was available to process a credit card). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
Lovely setting on a pond and lake. Spacious campsites, excellent services, congenial owners and staff. There is plenty of space to run the dog. This campground was wiped out by Katrina, but rebuilt very well. Only negative is that we arrived after torrential rains, and our campsite was quite wet. A half hour easy drive from the French Quarter, and ample shopping/services located nearby. The Slidell library also permits visitors to use their internet access computers. We recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$17
The park is pretty and does have some shady spots. There are spots that have a view of water where they say you can fish but not keep them, (because it is a waste retention pond, even though they don't tell you that). Do not eat the fish!!! You are not allowed to park on the road when your lot floods or in the empty lot next to you or you get charged a nightly r.v. rate. We stayed a month and it was $500.00 plus $100 deposit which we are not getting back because of the ruts our vehicles made in the grass where we had to park during the flood. Our fifth-wheel and trucks sunk into the mud and we had a huge mess. If you have a temporary porch you have to ask before you use it or you might have to leave it. Every time I was in the office I was treated horrible by the women and eventually stopped going. My husband would go and check our mail so I wouldn't have to be talked down to. I have stayed in a few campgrounds and I have never felt so unwelcome. The only good thing about this campground is it is located close to shopping and it is easy to pull in and out of. This is not somewhere you would want to stay in for a while but more of a pull in pull out kind of place if that. They do have a laundry room but the office staff watch you like you are going to steal something while you are in there. Also at certain times in the evening and sometimes on the weekends the smell of the sewage is horrible and overwhelming. They do make multiple rounds daily to make sure everyone is following all rules and they do have a quiet time between 10:00 pm and 7:00 am so you don't have to worry about any noises besides them driving by. Hope that helps. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$31
The front office was friendly, the Wi-Fi did not work but that may have been operator error. This park is close to everything and quiet at night. We were there during Mardi Gras and that was nice. Only long term residents seem to have concrete pads, so we were on grass and it rained during our stay which made things a bit messy. Spaces are large, our antenna worked well so we had TV. This is an OK park, close to New Orleans and quiet at night so its find for a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$49
This is a very old park adjacent to a mobile home park. There is a very large section for long term or "permanent" RV parking. The section used for "come & go" RV'ers is mostly pull throughs and is fair at best. Sites are small, road are narrow with sharp turns. Don't attempt to go to your site without unhooking your toad. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Rates are normally in the low 30's but we (and others) were charged $49 because we were here to attend the national championship game in New Orleans. Several of our neighbors paid the regular rate, that kind of tasted bad. Would only stay here again if it were the only place available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
Clean park with level concrete, full hook-up sites with picnic tables. Good Wi-Fi. Nice wooded area for walking, but open sites for satellite dish set up. Excellent staff -- we arrived without reservations but were able to stay for a week and then extend our stay for a few more days. They provided us with area maps, information and recommendations for tours and restaurants. Convenient to I-10. It's easy to get in and out of the Big Easy. The campground is quiet and relaxing with two ponds for waterfowl viewing and fishing -- I didn't see either of the two alligators that they say live there. Rate shown is weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$39
A little pricey for what you get. Ended up here by accident as I reserved in the other park the GPS said we had arrived, I did not question it. Nice friendly owners, but my wife did not like it. May not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
About 5 miles south of I-12 on I-10. Clear view for the sat. dish but no shade. Office and laundry very very nice. Expensive for no cable or pool. Some kind of internet available but I did not try it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
This park worked for us as we are retired and full timers. We are not traveling with children. It was all good, except the bugs, but nature does exist in this area. The folks were great about posting our site as we came in on a day the office was closed. Rate was reasonable for the amenities. Wonderful laundry. Convenient to New Orleans, Cypress Swamps, and Swamp tours. Great back country to ride our motorcyles. Folks were friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$31
It is nothing that will knock your socks off but gosh - 25 minutes to New Orleans and far enough from the free way that there is no noise. Most sites are concrete or asphalt pads with a little bit of grass between units. It was kind of mushy from a recent rain but after all this is southern Louisiana and it does rain quite a bit. Bring an outdoor mat if it bothers you. The office personnel was particularly gracious and accommodating. We would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
Nice park about 30 minutes from the French Quarter. Easy in and easy out. Concrete level sites with grass. Several long term RVs but that wasn't a problem. No speed bumps and far enough off the highway to limit noise. There is a nice "pull through" style gas station on the way out. Mostly an overnighter park and I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$54
Arrived by mistake at Mardi Gras which accounts for high price. Exceptionally friendly front desk, nice office building and very nice laundry. Good size acreage, but sites close together. It had not rained but there was standing water essentially everywhere. Check your site for position of all items in full hook-up to be sure you can reach all as needed. Good location, obviously trees still damaged from Katrina. Wi-Fi was essentially useless. No cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$31
This RV park has really gone down since Katrina. The road in is very rough and most sites are under water with the slightest rain. We were not able to get wi-fi though the manager said the Geek Squad was working on it. Lot's of room to roam or shop nearby and after all this park is in the heart of some of the best food in Louisiana (try Southside Cafe on Ponchatrain Rd.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Wife and I were disappointed with the park we originally planned on staying in, but happened by this one. A nice park: clean and lots of room to move your big rig around. It is a true RV park and the location is perfect to just about everything. The Wi-Fi could use some work as it's a bit spotty, but the management is working on it. There was no extra charge for 50 amp. We definitely would come back here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$26
This park was damaged in Hurricane Katrina and has been rebuilt. We had a good-sized site with a planter box filled with flowers. Trees. New laundry room and equipment. Close to good grocery store. Big park, lots of space to walk. Stayed 2 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
The bathroom/showers are new and open now. There is no chair/bench to put your things nor even a place to put your soap, so I left suggestions, showers are alittle small. There was some standing water around and road in a little rough due to hurricane damage. Very friendly staff and helpful for New Orleans information. Had to pay extra as Mardi Gras Week and wouldn't use Good Sam discount: not sure why as many sites were left unfilled, but would stay again for a couple nights as quiet. Close enough to both New Orleans and Bay St. Louis, Mississippi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
This was a nice place to stay, the people were very friendly and as accommodating as possible. The park was very clean, had nice paved roads, and was in .5 mile driving distance from convenience stores. I would recommend this park to people just passing through , or to those who are working in the area and need to stay a while. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
Camp ground damaged by hurricane and have a hard time recovering. Restrooms still closed. Many workers staying there during rebuilding efforts in the area. Very nice management, trying hard to recover. Will be a very nice RV park again if they keep going on the current rebuilding work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
This is a decent overnight stop park, but probably is lacking as a destination park. It was not noisy. I could not find a bath house, just the restroom in the office. This building is kept very nicely. I'd stay here again because it was acceptable and is close to family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2007
$27
I wouldn't go back to this campground, they have nothing but Fema and workman staying here. There is a lot of traffic coming in and out the park and there is a lot of noise at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$24
Very nice park, lots of pine trees, number of concrete pads. 20/30/50 amps all sites. Low road noise due to trees. Park has over 100 pull-thru sites-nice. Roads in park need some repair. Number of house trailers in rear of park. RV people park in front. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com