218683 User submitted reviews online!!
Tickfaw State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (225) 294-5020
CGID1255

Tickfaw State Park

Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   8   9   9   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Small gem (only 30 RV sites) WELL WORTH the 11 miles from I-12; long paved sites nicely treed and spaced for privacy (some with decks!); bird boardwalks; friendly rangers. Only drawback: dated bathrooms/showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
What a great campground! Long level paved sites with deck. Clean bath rooms & laundry. OK WiFi. 3 nature trails to explore and a very nice nature center. Very friendly park rangers and camp host. Gates are locked at night. Would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$16
Nice place to spend a few days. Great sites, well spaced, quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$11
A bit of a drive takes you from I-12 to a sweet little park in the woods. We were in Site 4, which is pretty much in the open. A simple paved spot, with no "patio" area, which many of the others have. Only a few sites are available for reservations, which we had. I used my "Geezer" pass and got a refund via mail or to my credit card. The girl at the check-in wasn't sure which method would be used. Lots of great boardwalk trails and a fishing pond. Go out early on your hike to see the numerous birds. Life in the swampland is amazing. Well worth the ten miles or so travel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
A very nice Louisiana State Park, but way off the main road. Actually part of the park is a swamp, and the park was closed off due to flooding the week before, so call to make sure it is open before driving there. The sites and drives are well paved tarmac and nicely spaced with well mowed grass. The bath house is fairly new, clean, and built high on stilts to keep it out of floods. There is a tent campground loop also separate from the RVs. A large nice looking nature center is there, but closed on Sunday and Monday. There is a water splash for kids, and two nice board walks through the swamps. All the Louisiana campgrounds we have stayed at have been very well done. A 9 only because far off the road to get to. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$17
Such a beautiful setting, and a truly fascinating experience! The sites are about 50 feet or more, and at such angles that you always feel as if you are alone with nature. The boardwalks through the swamp are incredible. We have investigated all of them in the past 3 days, and have never been disappointed! You can lay in bed with windows open and hear the birds and other animals and feel like you are camping under the stars. I would come back here again and again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
The campground is located 32 miles east of Baton Rouge off I-12. It has newly paved driveways for all of its 30 large RV sites. However, the driveways are elevated and only 10 feet wide, making it difficult for backing in 5th wheels and trailers. All sites have an elevated wood deck, BBQ, fire ring, and lantern post. The RV sites have water and electric (20, 30, 50 amp). There are also 20 tent sites with water only. There is a laundry ($1 wash, $1 dry), free internet, and showers, but no recycling. There is a water park for children, several bike and hiking trails, a fishing pond, and canoeing opportunities (rentals available) along the Tickfaw River. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
Nice level sites, good Wi-Fi signal. Excellent nature center, bring your bike to ride around the park. We stayed on site 22, narrow site very tight with a slide out and awning. Would stay again, difficult to book on weekends in the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$19
We stayed here two nights and loved the place. Long backin sites with wooden decks. Lots of places to walk to and a very nice nature center. Our only problem was the fire ant nest next to the driveway. We were able to use our roof top satellite dish. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
We love this park. Only reason for not getting a 10 is the lack of sewer hookups. Level pads, most with wooden decks, fire rings and BBQ pits. Nature center, crafts for kids, wooden boardwalks, splash pad, lake with trail encircling it, etc. Beyond what most state parks offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
Water/Electric, no sewage . The park was full, schools in LA are out the entire week of Thanksgiving. Clean well maintained facilities. Individual shower/toilet suites. Coin Laundry on site. The park's focus is nature and wetlands. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$11
This is a beautiful park. The restrooms were very clean. The park was mowed and there's no trash anywhere. The sites are large and paved. Many have a wood deck. There are numerous trails and a large children's water park which we, as adults enjoyed too. The boat ramp is nice and allows access to the Ticfaw River. We kayaked and enjoyed the scenery. There is plenty of biking too. The cabins are very nice with AC and flat screen TV and were getting new Sealy mattresses while we were here. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
Awesome park. Clean, well maintained, and the camp sites are all equipped with a grill, fire ring, and lantern post. All sites are paved and most have a wood deck which is great. Hwy. 1037 is in terrible condition. An easier and shorter way to access the park is from Exit 29 on I-12. Take Hwy. 441 south to the end. Turn right on Hwy. 42 for about a mile. Turn left on Firetower Road. Firetower road turns into Hwy. 1037 (Blood River Rd). Although there are several curves on the road and it is narrow, the road is very smooth with no traffic. Patterson Road will be on the right (about 5 miles after turning off of Hwy. 42). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
A beautiful state park, small, so reserve early. Very quiet, with several board walked trails, plenty of area to bike and hike. One of the cleanest S/P's we've seen. The sites are long and level, most sites have a wood deck area which is very nice, sites are well spaced and give you a nice sense of room and privacy. Fishing pond, canoeing, water spout park for the kids, picnic areas galore. We can see why so many people claim Tickfaw SP as their "favorite". It's going to be one of ours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
We have stayed twice. Quiet, wooded and spread out. My grandson loves it here. People in cars respectful of children in the streets. NO GOLF CARTS! Campers separated from one another. Would highly recommend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
When I turned off the interstate to head to this park I thought I had made a big mistake as the road is very rough and narrow, but upon arriving at the gate I knew this was going to be a good stop. The RV sites are all level and paved with picnic table, deck grill and fire pit. There is a laundry and waste dump available also. We took a bike ride around the park and found it to be a very interesting place. There are many nature trails and other amenities. There is a fountain water park for the kids to play in and a playground nearby. The camping cabins are not the typical "cabin". They are small stilt homes with air conditioning. Each is painted a different pastel color. The 11 mile ride off the interstate seemed much farther, but the trouble was well worth it as far as I was concerned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$9
This is a great park. Roads are wide with good asphalt. All sites are asphalt, have 30/50 amps, water, level, wide, long, and have lots of room on each side. You have a table, fire ring and BBQ cooking equipment. Sites are set at the correct angle to get in and out. Park sits in a swamp as others have said. Noise free here less the sound of birds. Park has Wi-Fi that is free, fast and works on your site. The dump station is set up nice and worked well. Bathhouse was clean. You have 30 RV sites, 20 tent sites with water only and 14 cabins. Staff was helpful at check in. You have a fishing pond if you wish to use it or you can watch the gators in pond. The last mile of road into the park is on the small side. In warm weather the mosquitoes could be bad. TV stations over the air worked but not well. Verizon cell phone was weak and air card worked well. Gates are locked at night. Rates were on Golden Age card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$16
We fell in love with Tickfaw State Park. Almost all of the sites have wooden decks next to the asphalt pads and for us: that's a huge plus! All the sites had fire rings and BBQ pits. Behind our site was a small walking trail into the woods. There's plenty of shade and lots and lots of trees. Our dogs loved the trail around the pond (it's a catch and release pond). The cabins looked brand new from the outside although they are 8 years old. We met one of the cleaning ladies and she showed us one of the cabins. Told us next time we came to ask for her and she would show us around the park and around the town of Springfield. Everyone we encountered that worked here was so nice and professional. We rented a canoe and packed a lunch and went out on the river for hours. Only saw one alligator but got some nice pictures and videos. Plenty trees along the river have fallen since Katrina in 2005 so some areas need caution. Although it was cool, during the summer they have a water area for kids. We saw 8 turkeys along the side of the road and a few armadillos. The restrooms were very clean and fairly new looking and the showers were large. The only downfall to this park are the roads leading into it, although that is no fault of the park, hence the 10 rating. Highway 1037 definitely needs to be repaved. Be careful of the numerous buckles in the road and I'd advise going 5 to 10 mph less than the posted speed limit. By far our favorite state park to date and I've already booked us again next month. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
We stayed at Tickfaw for only one stormy, rainy night in March 2008, using it as a stopover between Alabama and Texas. This park is quite beautiful and neatly kept with very large paved sites and excellent restrooms. We had time to check out one nature trail and it was very good. We hope to return to this park in the future. Although our stay was necessarily short, Tickfaw looks like a gem. $16/night fifth wheel We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$16
This is a great State Park and campground. Blacktop levels pads, very deep and wide, lots of nature, hiking and bike riding trails. Park is immaculate and maintained well. We only camped one night but if we ever get back this way would definitely stay longer. It would be great for kids to experience camping at a park like this. Louisiana should be proud to have a state park like this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$16
Perfect family camping. Books quickly, so reserve in advance. Most sites have large, well built wooden decks, all have fire rings and tables. Just enough trees to shade and wildlife to make neat woodsie noises. Everyone is friendly and the place is immaculate. Close to Pontchatoula antiquing and loads of neat shopping. Would go there every weekend if I could. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$16
This is a great campground. Lots of space to ride your bike or walk. There is a lake in which you can fish off the pier. The bath house is always clean and is relatively close to all campsites. The nature center is a cool place for the kids with a lot of activities. Highly recommend, you will not be disappointed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
This is the best state park in south LA. The campsites are located within a circle, it's great for the kids who love to bike. Great play areas, nature activities and trails..super We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
Wow! I see why everyone raves about this park. It is spaced apart well, and plenty of well maintained trails. It was so relaxing and enjoyable and close to home. A lot of park to ride bikes, and the staff was great. The decks for most of the sites is a wonderful addition. Real clean. I will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
What an excellent, EXCELLENT state park. The people of Louisiana should be proud. The park and amenities were very well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. It doesn't have a pool but it does have a "water playground." It also has a very impressive nature center with many interactive presentations and displays. Four raised boardwalks allow you to experience the surrounding habitat without getting your feet wet or stepping on the local fauna. A real gem in the Louisiana State Park system. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
Very, very nice park. Campground area is beautifully maintained. Sites are well spaced and the levelest we have yet to encounter. Most sites have large wooden decks adjoining the paved RV site. This park would be a 10+ if it had a lake or swimming pool, but for cool weather camping it is our family's favorite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$16
Campground is not near a swamp, it is in it. Sites are nicely sized, paved, fairly level and well spaced. Facilities all appear rather new and are well maintained. Staff is friendly, helpful and very attentive. Bugs and other unwelcome swamp critters weren't a problem in February but I wonder about the summer. The only negative I can think of is lack of sewer hook ups. Park was full on weekends so reservations would be a good idea. Nearest town is Springfield. It is literally a one stop light crossroads but there is a grocery store, hardware and a bakery/coffee shop called Navarre's with free wiFi. Within a few more miles are a Camping World and many of the major chain stores and restaurants. Park is convenient to both I-55 and I-12. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$16
We have been to the park numerous times, it is one of the best State Parks in south Louisiana. There is a small motion activated water park for the kids to play in with a playground close by. As some of the other campers pointed out, there is a wooden deck at most sites which is great in less than optimal weather. The nature center is within walking distance of the campground and has planned activities for the kids throughout the day. Make sure to bring bug repellent, as the mosquitos can be fierce during the evening hours. There are only two drawbacks to this campground. There is no playground for the kids within close proximity to the actual campground, you will need to drive to the waterpark area to access the playground. The other is the narrow and rough road you will have to travel to get there. We love this park and come here several times a year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$16
Summer 2006. We really like this park. This was our second visit. The sites are big and the large wooden decks are great. Mosquitoes are terrible - bring the spray, candles, etc. The park is really big and spread out, so you have to bike or drive to get anywhere (playground, water park, visitor center). From the visitor center, there are very nice wood decks that wind through the swamp giving you a nice walking tour without risk of being eaten by gators or other swamp creatures. There are nicely marked trails - winding around the Tickfaw River - even our 4 year old made it. The kids love riding their bikes around the park (with us of course). The water park is great, because I can sit & read while the kids play without worrying about them drowning. But I would love a pool to cool off in. I did get up a few times to stand under some water contraption to get wet & cool off. We will go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
This is a small state park and the layout is great for small children to ride their bikes. The sites are large and have plenty of space between them. All sites are paved and most have large wooden decks (roughly 16' X 24') attached to them. Advance reservations are recommended as this park books up, especially on weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$16
Wonderful place for kids, plenty of activities on weekends. Very clean and peaceful. Park ranger a little uptight about parking on grass, even a blade or two. Small campground but will visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2005
$12
This park is excellent for bike riding, nature trails, and an activity center. There were arts and crafts at the nature center among other activities. The kids made bird feeders with pine cones, honey, and bird seed. They were very excited. Tho there is no swimming pool, there is a water park area for kids. The sites are very large, most with wooden decks, concrete to park on, fire ring and picnic table. This is one of our favorites!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Even though a small campground, the whole park area is quite large with four distinctly different trails and eco-systems (cypress/tupelo swamp, bottomland hardwood forest, mixed pine/hardwood forest, and the Tickfaw River). Two of the trails are seen from over a mile of boardwalks (over swampland). Miles of great park roadways are great for strolling or biking. Really nice nature center. Guided hikes on the boardwalks by naturalists. Park also has a water playground, group pavillions, picnic shelter, canoe rentals, laundry facility, cabins, and 20 tent sites with water only; no electrical supply. We stayed here the Monday through Wednesday of Thanksgiving week and the campground was full, so reservations are advisable. Great park, beautiful area. Will stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2002
$15
This is one of the newist State Parks in Louisiana. It is in a swamp and has a small museum specific to the swamp ecosystem in which it lays. There are short boardwalk trails into the swamp and are very nice. It offers an opportunity to venture into a swamp that most of us never get the opportunity to do. There is a lot of road to bicycle or walk. The spaces lack shade for the most part but they are huge and concrete. The space I had was at least 100 feet long. There is also a lot of elbow room between sites. The only drawbacks are access. The nearist store is about 15 miles away in Springfield. The Access road into the part is very narrow ( I would say 1 way) and it is in very poor condition. Louisiana roads are some of the worst I have ever traveled and this acess road is 100 times worse. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com