219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Fausse Pointe State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (337) 229-4764
CGID1257

Lake Fausse Pointe State Park

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   6   8   10   9   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
Previous review info is spot on. Beautiful park in a remote location. We were in the area to go to NCAA Regional baseball tournament in Lafayette . We did not fish but it looks to be an excellent place to camp and fish. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Great state park setting. Nice level and tree shaded sites with good access. Being there in early April it was very sparsely occupied. Even though there wasn’t much competition you had to get in line to do laundry with the free washers and dryers. Apparently the locals find the fishing excellent, but as a Floridian I would advise you to steer clear of the alligators. Wi-Fi is filtered by the State which is annoying. Be sure to have all your provisions before coming here as the nearest store is a long, long way away. We did pick up some fresh peeled crawfish at Blanchard’s Seafood which is only about 10 miles away. Now if that sounds far, its only halfway to the store! This place is so remote my GPS didn’t know where it was (I’m serious about that). If I’m ever on the run from the law, or an ex-wife, I will definitely come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$21
What a gem. Excellent hiking, canoeing and so peaceful. Well that is until the weekends but most people settle down by 11 pm. Bathrooms are clean but old. No recycling. The park didn't inform us they had free Wi-Fi, figured it out a couple days in then 2 days later a storm knocked it out. Also didn't inform us there were free washer and dryers in the campground. Drive into Saint Martinville and stop at the Longfellow-Evangeline State Park; it was really informative and beautiful. Wild life is abundant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$18
Some sites hard to get into due to the narrow roads in campground. The power and water pedestals are on the right side of the site which means you have to pass electric and water lines under the camper if your connections are on the drivers side. Be prepared with supplies as there are no stores near by. Bath houses kind of dirty due to busy weekend but appear to be taken care of. The best time to camp is in the winter so the mosquito's don't carry you off. We will return We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$8
Rate reflects America the Beautiful senior pass rate for a LA resident. This is a very pretty state park. Staff was very friendly; though the park is short handed with respect to personnel so there is not a lot of presence. Gates are locked at night so there was not a lot of traffic cruising through the park. As we have found to be common in southern Louisiana state parks, the “locals" tend to take over on the weekends and rules are not enforced which creates additional traffic with cars and boats. Also, the rules as to number of vehicles and people allowed at campsites are not well-enforced. Sites are fairly level, 30/50A electric, water, but no sites with sewer. Sites and park grounds are kept clean; trash was emptied regularly. Camp hosts were very friendly and visible. No Verizon service. Water pressure is OK, electric stays on.There is only one dump and it’s on the road out of the park, so at peak departure times the waits can be a little lengthy. Mosquitoes were terrible; you must spray with repellent in order to stay outside. There is a boat launch and numerous areas to fish from the docks and banks. Cypress tress and other hardwoods provide ample shade. Wi-Fi is provided and works very well; sometimes it slows a little during peak time. Laundry room was clean and operational. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
We really liked this campground. The site we had reserved, site 77, had a bit of a drop off and would not have worked for us. Changing to another site worked out wonderful. Sites are very well spaced, nice shade in our site. The staff and ranger where very helpful. The ranger and camp host stopped by frequently. The campground is quiet at night, and the host checked each site after someone left to be sure it was picked up. We did not want to leave and wished we could stay longer. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$21
Very nice park located across the levee in the Atchafalaya Basin, and connected to Lake Dauterive. We had a campsite on the water and our boat was able to remain in the water at the dock behind our camp. Very nice bike trails, and park was well maintained. Security is constantly providing patrols, and all employees are very friendly and knowledgable. The only thing I would like to see improved is the opening of the splash pad. Last year there was some issues, it was closed and never re-opened. Would be the perfect place for kids if the splash pad would be open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
This is a beautiful park. The best sites are along the river and each has a small deck over the water. Wonderful place to sit, read, and watch the alligators swim by. A great central location for visiting Cajun Country. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
This is a great campground. The Wi-Fi signal is strong here. The hiking trails are well-mapped and easy to find. Lots of wildlife in the area. The road from the north is narrow and runs along the levees and is a bit curvy, but we made it fine in our 31' motorhome with toad. Our neighbors were a bit noisy with their music, but what can one do? It's well laid-out and easy to find your way around. Beautiful scenery, especially with the trees just starting to leaf out. We love it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Sites were clean, as was the entire park. Staff was both friendly and helpful. Some sites were fairly close together, but overall decent spacing. Water/electric were on the wrong side on many of the sites, but our electrical cord was able to reach. I think that some of the sites would be difficult to back in a long motorhome because of the narrow road and the narrow pads. Lots of wildlife around, and lots of places to fish as well. Can highly recommend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$21
The parks is only a 9 if you enjoy remoteness, which I do. Fishing, nature and miles from any where. We ate a St John's Restaurant in St Martainsville it was wonderful. The park is great and we will return. No Verizon reception. The parks Wi-Fi is fast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$16
I agree with all of the comments from previous reviews. However, I would add a few more comments. The Golden Age pass has not been accepted here since July 1, 2010 even though their website and reservation agent said it was. The rate however can't be beat at $16. Also, beware of the narrow entrances to your space as previously mentioned. We picked site #4 for the length but could not get our 40' motor home backed in. We switched to #10 which is great for big rigs. There is no cell connection but great Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
This is a smaller state park; however, it is very functional with all of the attractions within walking distance of each other. Several of the loop sites are difficult to back into because of the narrow road, steep drop off, and wood post. This park is located in the middle of the Basin so expect to deal with more flying insects than usual. Also, unless you are a real outdoorsmen, I would suggest avoiding the longer hiking trails during the summer months. The horseflies are a constant nag and you really cannot enjoy your hike or bike ride. Strong Deet repeliant helps; but does not keep them from hitting you in the head. The water park is great and the nature center visit is a must. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$9
This is a great park. I would have given it a 10 if sewer hookups were available and the bathrooms were cleaner. Our site backed up to the lake and was perfect. Has very nice Camp Hosts. It's a long drive of about 23 miles from I-10, on a two lane road to get here. Some of it was rough. We were lucky enough to be told not to use GPS to get here. Others did not know that, and were sent down a very rough, gravel road. So get directions from the office. We would return when we want to have another swamp adventure. The $9 rate was because of Golden Access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
I came upon this park by chance and was glad I did. This campground is located in bayou and swamp country so lots of mosquitos. You can moor your boat at your own dock at some sites. I was surprised to have excellent wi-fi internet. The camp host went out of his way to show me around since I was from Ontario, and he really made the stay even better. There are cabins to rent on the water also. Washrooms were clean and also free laundry facilities--which was a real plus. This is a great camping spot if you want quiet and wilderness settings. Expect to see whitetail deer, wild pigs, snakes, alligators, and bugs. I would have stayed longer but they were booked full for the weekend, so reservations may be a good idea. For the price--18 dollars it is well worth a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
Lake Fausse Pointe is simply awesome. The wildlife and setting with the cypress and oak trees are beautiful. It had rained the day before we arrived and although most of the site was dry, there was standing water in plenty areas. The mosquitoes on the other hand could probably carry a grown man off. Bring plenty spray. We rented a canoe and came upon numerous alligators and were able to get close enough for pictures and videos. The restrooms are big and clean and have great water pressure. The sites along the water have the hookups on the wrong side so be sure to have enough water hose. The only reason I gave this park a 9 instead of a 10 is the roads. They are very narrow throughout the park and I had a really hard time backing a 30' travel trailer into our site, number 39. Some sites look easier than others. Overall, we will definitely return in the fall or winter. The summer months would be unbearable with the mosquitoes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$11
Golden Age pass gets 50% off in LA state parks. We had a premium site that was spacious and shady, backed up to river with a small dock for our use. FREE laundry located near the campsites. Park is very remote, no cell service at all, and no land phones that I could see in case of emergency. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
We stayed here for three nights and were very impressed. Before we reserved our sites we had heard Fausse Pointe referred to as the gem of Louisiana's state parks, and I can see why. The park is immaculate, and the restrooms and showers were as neat, clean and functional as facilities in most people's homes. The RV sites themselves are reasonably spacious, though they are all back-in with no pull-throughs available. Those of you who can't take heat and humidity should avoid Fausse Pointe during the summer months. It is hot and not very accommodating during the heat of the day. The evenings are tolerable, and we encountered relatively few bugs considering the park is virtually in the heart of one of the country's largest swamps. A very important advantage related to Fausse Pointe's swamp location is the proximity to many outstanding Cajun seafood restaurants. If you camp at Fausse Pointe and don't try some of the local restaurants, you will have missed a real treat. We will definitely return to Fausse Pointe again, but the next trip will likely be in the Fall or Winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
Nice, well kept campground. I lowerd my rating because of the roads. They were good roads but much too narrow with large drop offs and posts along the sides. It made it extremely difficult for large rigs to access most of the sites. There were some sites located on a 2-way road which was much better, you could back in without going off the road. We went after a rain so there was lots of water and bugs. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay. Sites near water each had their own little pier for fishing or docking a boat. We stayed in a 35 ft 5th wheel. I would return in cooler months, only because of bugs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
We used to stay in the cabins at this park at least once a year. I think this is THE park that got me hooked on camping enough to make me buy a used pop-up and go more often. We only live about 4 hours from this beautiful state park, and it's one of the best I've ever camped at. Lush forestry, quiet, way out in the boonies kind of stuff here! I've never NOT seen an alligator at this park. The comfort station is top notch! The Wi-Fi is strong. The sites are paved, shaded and pretty darn level. The water park is great for cooling off. Cell phone service is sketchy: but that's because you're so far away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. Fishing is always good: even from the banks, but canoe rental makes it even better. The hiking trails are beautiful, but, SERIOUSLY, bring LOTS OF REPELLENT!!! This is SWAMP COUNTRY in every aspect of the term! The mosquitoes will beat and rob you at gun point!! You will not find a friendlier staff. Its a good 12 mile drive to any type of grocery store: so STOCK UP ahead of time. All of the waterfront sites have piers and are excellent for early morning fishing, gator watching, and evening bat watching. I LOVE this campground, it is easily in my favorite top 3 in the country! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2008
$9
This park would be great if you want to loose touch with civilization. No signal for our phones or cards. 30 miles from town. If you just want to get away from it all then this is the place for you. Well patrolled by security. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
This was a very clean and well groomed park. Not as many camper spots as I thought so reservations are necessary. Some of the slots are a little hard to back into if you have slideouts because of the trees on both sides, but the courtesy of seasoned campers are always willing to help. Nice place to get away but remember there is no cell phone service here. I will camp here often We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
We've camped here 4 times in the past year. This is one of our favorite parks. 2 playgrounds, and a water playground. Some of the sites along the lake have a private pier. There are 3 nature trails that we LOVE bike riding on. There is no cell phone reception anywhere in the park. There is one place where you can get limited service (1-2 bars) if you go in the woods. Make sure you have what you need when you go. There's a small store about 10 miles from the park but the bigger store is about 30 miles away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$16
Have you ever heard the term, "You can't get there from here?" Well, that's how we felt. It's WAY off the beaten path. But once we got there, it was beautiful. It did rain for much of our two days there. But we did get to walk on the shortest (less than a mile) trail - saw two snakes, 3 armadillos, lots a really big and unusual spiders. We fished for a little while - again - didn't catch anything. BUT we saw two alligators - a little one and a really big one. We rode our bikes, and the kids spent about an hour in the great water playground. If you like the outdoors and lots of nature, this is really worth the ride. By the way, the nearest little store is over 10 miles away, so stock up before you go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
I cannot find the words to describe how beautiful this park is! Yes , the mosquitos are bad, and plentiful. But, the payoff is worth it. So quiet and peaceful and everyone so friendly. Lots of kids , but well behaved.Just a pleasant visit.I will be back. many times We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$18
Excellent park. Mosquitoes were terrible at dusk and dawn, even in November, but not bad during the day or after dark. Bring LOTS of bug spray and enjoy. A family emergency cut our stay short and the staff was very sympathetic and arranged for a refund of our unused days without our requesting or expecting it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$9
This park accepts Golden Age Passports. Our only objection to the park were the mosquitoes. This was not the park's fault but it made an impact on our visit. Take lots of bug spray and a screen room. Campsites were spacious, paved and shady. Pretty drive to get there along the bayou. Nice staff and a great place to explore Cajun country. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$18
This is a jewel of a campground. The setting is gorgeous in the middle of the Atchafalaya swamp. There is lots to do in the surrounding areas such as explore New Iberia or the other local towns. Avery Island where they make Tabasco Sauce is a must-see. Get a local area map so you can find your way around via the backroads through the sugar cane fields. One word of caution: bring bug spray or a screen tent. The mosquitos are vicious. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$18
This park immediately became my favorite . Nice shade trees and the small fishing pier at each sight on the water was so relaxing to just sit and enjoy. A very pleasant walking trail system, I was surprised at how long it was. We didn't get a chance to rent a canoe but will next time, and there will be plenty of next times. Mosquitos were pretty bad, but that is what bug repellent is for. No cell phone service but that wasn't a bad thing at all. I love this place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
This is my wife and I's favorite campground and we try to camp here at least one weekend every month or two. The road in the campground area and all sites have recently been overlaid with new asphalt and many of the sites have been lengthened. This campground is very remote but very beautiful, with very few places with cell phone service. It is very quiet and full of large shade trees. There are about 12 small piers on the river for anyone's use for fishing or just sitting and watching boats, birds, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
Nice campground with some sites backing up to the rver/lake and also have a fishing or sitting platform. Lots of trees. Some sites need regrading to make them more level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
The waterpark for the kids is really nice. Rv spots are very narrow, mosquitos are horrible. A state park patrolman, made my 3 yr old son cry, because he told us he couldn't ride his powerwheel. We stay often at LA state parks, and this is the first time we were told that our son couldn't ride his powerwheel. This will be our last stay at Lake Fausse Point We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Nice state park, very well maintained. Great place for fishing and hiking, canoe and boat rentals available. Approxmately 20 sites are right on bayou with individual fishing piers. Each site has water/electric, no sewer hookups (dump station available). Large playground for kids, but no swimming pool or swimming in lake/bayou. Bathrooms were clean. Very few sites can accommodate big rigs and even then you may have to park your towed or pickup in a separate parking area. Each site has a fire pit. The sites are paved and pretty level. One word of caution, this park is in a remote area and some of the access roads are very bumpy, drive with caution! Also, bring bug spray! Very nice park as a base for seeing Cajun areas, relaxing or fishing. And price can't be beat. Reservations are easily made through their website. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$12
Great campground! Super shady and very clean. Inexpensive rates. No sewer hookups. Playground for kids. Nature trails. Best time of year to go is from around October to April since it is somewhat cooler and has less mosquitos. Other times are OK, but it is hot and the mosquitos can be very plentiful because of the park's remote location. Bug spray is a must at any time of the year. My cell phone never works here because its too far away from towers. Pay phone is available at restroom/washeteria area. Take your time on the last 10 miles of your journey to get to this campgrgound because the roads are NOT in good repair. We've stayed here many times in a popup and now will be going in a travel trailer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com