223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Chicot State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (337) 363-2403
CGID1260

Chicot State Park

Camp Information
Sites
228
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   7   9   7   7   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This is a fine park. The only issue might be that some of the sites are not very level. We camped in the north loop and didn't have a problem. The WiFi worked very well whenever we needed it, both with a laptop and our smartphones. The Arboretum is a definite plus for the park. The restrooms were always very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
Went here for Easter and had a good time with the family. The spots were very unlevel and very close to one another and erosion seems to be an issue in many of the spots. We camped in the newer northern section. The restrooms and showers were fairly clean. The campground was nice and clean even though this weekend it was full. Trash pick up seemed to happen every morning. There were lots of trails for bike riders and hikers. WiFi did not work very well at all regardless of what time we tried to use it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$16
Beautiful and private! Lots of shade and hills, and fire rings (and grills) are available. We love staying here, and the WiFi is available throughout the South loop. It is well worth the $16 a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$10
Roads are narrow in places and make backing into sites tricky. Electrical panel was on wrong side on our site. Employee at office was very nice and accommodating. Only stayed one night due to bad weather moving through. Many excellent walking and bike trails available. We stayed in the south loop, we heard north loop was much nicer put did not go and check it out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Stayed on North end with friends. Clean and peaceful. Will come back. Cabins are so pretty on the lake. South End has wooden decks, but small lots. I like North end best. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
About 10 miles west of Interstate 49 along winding small road (see the real country side), park is on very hilly area with adequate paved sites, E/W at sites. Moderate sized lake with amazing number of large cypress trees growing in it; this being the most interesting feature to the park for me. There are facilities like swimming pool, boat put, in that I didn't really look at. Overall I just had a sort of oppressive feeling about the campground itself; just not pretty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$16
The park has two areas for RVs. We stayed in the North Landing Camping area which was quite roomy. Interior sites are flatter than the ones on the outside. Reserve America listed our site as flat but it still sloped quite a bit. Adjacent sites were worse though. Good wheel chocks are a must. Reserve America also listed many sites as not having sufficient room for slides however, I did not see any sites with restrictions and most campers had slides extended. HughesNet Wi-Fi is available which was slow but worked. AT&T cell phone coverage was weak but worked most of the time. New showers were private and clean. Power service at most sites is 30 amp. The South Landing Camping area was much more cramped and may not be suitable for big rigs. The park is large with plenty of trails for hiking or mountain biking and an arboretum with special activities. The lake was down during our visit so boating and fishing were not allowed. Beautiful park. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
I went for my birthday and had a blast with my family. We love the wooden decks. We enjoyed the trails and nature. The park is redoing the cabins and they are beautiful. The lake was low but the docks would make it nice for fishing. There is also a beautiful pool, open in the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
We have camped here several times. It is one of the older LA state parks with two campgrounds, north and south landing. Some of the sites in the south landing can be tricky because of inclined approach to pad site and some are narrow. The majority of north landing sites are big rig friendly. A recently opened arboretum is awesome with great interpretive programs and trails. There is plenty of wildlife, hiking, canoeing, boating,mountain biking and friendly cajun campers. New bathhouse in the north landing and recently repaved roads have made it more pleasant. We will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
Large beautiful state park. The only negative I found was that the campsites are not well kept. I had to clean broken glass, burnt upholstery, and other trash out of the fire ring and pit just to use them. I rated this park a 7 because of the un-kept campsite. Since they charge a fee for these sites, they should make sure they are well kept for the campers. The pool is large, great fishing piers available, and a very nice playground area. We stayed in the South Loop. Most of the sites I found were level in the loops. If you are on the main road through the south loop, watch out for the unlevel pads and sites where you have to walk down a steep hill to your pit/fire ring. We drove to the north loop. There is a very nice Comfort Station there. The only laundry facility in the park is in the North Loop; 4 mile drive from the South Loop. Finally, our site did not have a 50 amp connection so be prepared. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Great place to go camping. Well lit campground. Park rangers constantly patrolling keeping an eye out for people doing wrong or even on our kids. Didn't have any problems letting my daughter ride her bike around the campground. Great pool with lifeguards on duty. Concession stand. Wi-Fi available. This was a great place and we will be back. I think they must have even sprayed for mosquitoes. We had no problem with any bugs of any kind while we were there. And in Louisiana, that's saying something! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
Beautiful campground with lots of trees and beautiful lake. Staff at the front gate were very friendly and knowledgable. I would have given the park a 10/10 but we lost electricity one night for almost 4 hours, no bad weather. The park has 2 emergency numbers for after hours, the first number was disconnected, and the other number was for the on call park ranger. It was a pager, and my phone call was never returned. We camped here for 6 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
Spent Easter weekend at Chicot. Very wooded and shaded, nice scenery and great hiking/biking trail around the lake. Nice fishing piers on the lake if you don't have a boat. Also offer boat rentals. Site was paved with trash can, bbq pit, picnic table, but no fire ring. Parking is very limited, barely enough room for camper and one vehicle. Did come across a few ticks. Bathrooms were outdated and not too clean. Trash was only picked up one day out of the three full days here. North camping site is 4 miles from South site. Plenty of children riding bikes and very family oriented, not too loud at night. We enjoyed our stay, would come back again and recommend this park to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
It was ok, I have stayed there a few times. The showers had bugs everywhere. That is understandable though. We weren't bothered by anyone. Overall it was a good campsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$9
There are two sections to camp in, the South and the North Landings. The South has 108 sites but be ware if you have a large rig this area is very tight and the sites are small, but it does have a swimming pool which could be important if you have kids. Now the North Landing has 100 sites and most are large. If you are using a satellite this is your best bet for reception. They are in the process of building a new bathhouse which should be ready by the spring of 2010. I would never consider staying in the South section. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
At first glance Chicot is a beautiful park, but it is old and in need of a lot of updates and maintenance. The sites were built for small RVs where we were. (South campground, loop D) and few pads had enough room to park a trailer of any size and a truck. Sites also didn't have much side space to park cars. Most were parked over ditches and in whatever blank space they could find. Our 31' RV had just a few feet left over but there was enough room to park a small car if need be. Also while we were here on the 4th, the power system failed numerous times around the noon hour. Please keep in mind that our temps were close to 100 degrees which is hot even for Louisiana. The bathrooms were very old and unfortunately very dirty. Old is one thing, dirty shouldn't be acceptable. Very hilly terrain so get in shape if you want to bike or hike around the park. Also very few animals/birds to look at. Too hot for them, I guess. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$16
We love staying in parks with lots of trees. We enjoy staying on the south side of the park due to the trees. The north is a little plain and flat for us. Yes the north is easier to get in but if you have been camping a while then the south is not hard to get in. We have a 37 ft fifth wheel and get in no trouble and satellite works in most sites. Love staying here. Needs a little updating and some power boxes are a little far for some power cords. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$8
The park is nice but the bathrooms were very dirty. The pool also had scum marks along the side. The lake had water lily's all over it and it did not look inviting. We had a senior pass so the cost was $8. The cost for others would be $16. I am not sure that I would go back there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
We have camped here many times. The grounds are well kept, the sites are adequate though not what I would call generous. I have no problem getting my 28' TT on and off the sites, but the larger, 35'+ rigs need to do a couple pull-ups on some of the sites. There are two fishing piers, and two boat launches. I have launched my bay boat with no trouble. Hiking trails are nice. The only downside is that like most Louisiana State Parks there is no sewer service. The dump stations are handy though and well situated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Chicot is a beautiful park, mixed pines and hardwood. When we arrived, the spot we had chosen from ReserveAmerica was extremely sloped, we could not level in it but a call to the office, and we were offered another spot. Stayed in the north side, it is older and they say it's not as nice as the south side, so bit of caution on reservations, many sites are not level and sloped. However, stayed away from the outside spots, go to the inside and they are very level. The north side is the quieter side if that is what you're looking for. Great lake, boating, fishing and trails. This is a very large park. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
We stayed in the South camping area. I was surprised by the work being done to update the sites. Our site had a new service pedestal with 20, 30 and 50 amp service and a night light. Some sites had new decks. There was a crew pulling electrical wires for an upcoming Wi-Fi installation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
This park was awesome! Out of all of the parks we have stayed, we enjoyed this one the most. Sites were large and shaded with BBQ pits,fire rings and picnic tables. Beautiful grounds on the Southside. The Northside not as desirable. The restrooms could use updating, but were clean. We have 4 kids and all of us really enjoyed it. The kids were begging to stay longer. We will be back as soon as possible! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
This was a pretty nice park, overall. Lots of shade trees, playgrounds for the kids, wildlife, hiking/biking/equestrian trails, swimming pool, laundromat, showers and a huge lake to fish in, plus some of the finest cabins I have ever seen. The cons were the fact that so many of the slots were very, very unlevel. Ours, and those of the several friends who came along, were so bad that the front of our fifth-wheel was basically sitting on the ground! The slots are paved, as are the roads. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately we were forced to cut short our stay here when someone ran over, and broke, a main water line that had been dug up to be repaired, thereby shutting off water to that entire side of the park. We would visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
Of all the LA State Parks, this has to be the worse. It is rundown; the sites are un-level and several are severely sloped. On week-ends the park is congested. Local families gather at campsites, 3 and 4 vehicles per site are parked everywhere (no overflow parking); in some cases 10-20 people per site, 65% of campers also have boats and trailers which are parked along the roadway making it difficult for large rigs to maneuver. Only one dumpsite per 100 sites, so the exodus on Sunday was time consuming. Campground was filthy after everyone left. Roads are not marked well in campground loop and the staff is not knowledgeable. Cycling is dangerous on roads throughout the park because of traffic and drivers don't adhere to speed limit. I would only stay here in the off-season during the week in an emergency, otherwise I don't plan to return, definitely avoid week-ends at all costs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
One word...Ticks!!! The bug problem was horrible, we were eaten alive by ticks and chiggers!!! Most of the sites are unlevel and hard to get into. The lake is far from the campground and so is the pool, which had a line of people (mostly non-campers) waiting to get in. They only allow a certain number of people in the pool at a time. We will probably not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
We overnighted here on our way to New Orleans. The office staff were young, inexperienced, and not very knowledgeable. We stayed in the North Campground and it is 4 miles from the entrance. Ground around the campsites was trashy. As a previous reviewer stated you have to choose your site with care. Many are very sloped and short. Would probably not stay here again if we have another choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$8
Camped in North Campground. Made reservations on Internet and luckily picked a site not on the perimeter. Most of the sites on the perimeter are very sloped. Some to the point of being unusable. The staff at office, which is several miles from the North Campground is not very knowledgeable about the sites, suitability for slides, etc. Website is best source for this information. We had a great time visiting the locals who came in great numbers during the weekends. We would stay here again but would choose our campsite with great care. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
We stayed here with another family member for the weekend of Thanksgiving. Very nice campground; we stayed in the South camping section and this was nicer that what we passed through on the north side. Down sides of this park is the restrooms are very old and need a lot of updating. In the womens' there were no locks on the stalls or in the shower stalls. In the men's there were only 1 large open shower with 2 shower heads. Not very nice at all. The only problem that we encountered was that there were kids from 2 other campsites that were having some type of bathroom wars with the toilet paper; and this over the weekend got out of hand. But in regards to that the rangers and the Campground host did address with the families of these kids. If you are looking for laundry facilities good luck, it was a holiday weekend and everything in the town was closed; there are no laundromats or anything in the town of Ville Platte and the only one in the campground was always occupied by people. There is only one in the ENTIRE campground and that is in the north side and we are talking miles away from where we were to get there. If you are traveling in a large home, I would ask the rangers what sites to use on the south side that don't have all the up and down hills that we had on the sites we stayed at. We did ride down to the cabins and there were just beautiful. But overall this was a good campground and we will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
Chicot is our home state park as we live only 15 miles away. The most beautiful cabins I've seen in any state park, they are more like luxurious vacation homes than cabins. Only draw back is be prepared to reserve a year or two ahead or it'll be tough to get a cabin. This park has a little of it all, great scenery and wildlife (dear, possum, racoons, armadillos). The campsites are set up well with BBQs, pits, mostly well shaded, and very varied types of sites to accommodate different taste. Excellent nature trails, biking, boating, and fishing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$17
Hard to find, harder to get into with 40 foot motorhome. Pleasant surprise when you do get in. We stopped overnight and campground nearly empty. After setting up, we enjoyed the many wildlife sharing the park with us. The bathhouse, while dated, was clean and well supplied. Rangers were friendly along with the receptionist. Much, much easier to exit. Just be aware that low, overhanging limbs and narrow roadways make the drive in challenging. The experience was worth the effort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$16
Beautiful campground, fun times. We did not use the pool (end of November), however did enjoy the playground, nature trails, and quiet, relaxing atmosphere. The campground doesn't offer many activities, however I would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$16
This park needs some work done to it. (I was told that there was a major renovation planed for late 06 into 07) We were with 3 other campers and traveled 3 hours to go. This was our 2nd time at the park. One of the sites we had had a steep drop off from the asphalt pad to a gravel base. It was a bad slipping hazard for any adult and we had children with us. The pool was a whole other problem. The pool was filled to capacity with people so we waited for the "overnight campers only" time at 4:30 and when we got to the pool there were still plenty of day use people in the pool along with many water-logged diapers & general trash under the lounge chairs inside the pool area and around the outside of the pool area. The deep end was closed and the staff was adding chemicals to the pool while we were in it. Needless to say we left really quick. The one thing that put it over the top for me was the lack of "proper" swimming attire. The rules stated what proper attire was- yet there were young women in the pool with white tank tops on and no undergarments..you can guess what that looked like-obscene. I called the state to complain. I was called back by the park manager about 3 days later and she basically told me my complaints were unfounded. So I gave her a good piece of my mind and told her she didn't have to worry about fixing anything for me cause it was not worth the 3 hour drive to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
This is an excellent state park. Fishing is always good. (North Side) Campground hosts are always helpful. Each site is well shaded with pits. During heavy rains there are some site that get flooded, park officals will let you changed site if possible. The playground is nice but on sand. Pool is on opposite side of campsite if your on north side, but the north side is leveled & paved. South side camping are very narrow & on steep paved sites. We never stay on south side for this reason. The park usually has some kind of educational activity going on. Off I49, exit 46. Dont forget anything Ville Platte is about 10 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2004
$16
I was born and raised within 20 miles and even worked one summer during high school in the park. I have visited this park numerous times growing up and enjoyed it every time. But this trip will be the last. I arrived at the park at about 3 pm and waited in line until 5:30 before I was able to enter even though I had reservations because of the long line of campers to get in. There was only one person working the gates and 2 rangers patrolling the line. One ranger was courteous and understanding when people were complaining to him about the wait but the other ranger had the Barney Fife attitude. I was standing around talking to some other campers waiting in line when "Barney Fife" approached us. When I asked her what was the hold up she told me there was only one person working the gate. I asked her if she or the other ranger could help out with the gate she told me that if I open my mouth one more time I will be spending the night in jail. When I told her I didn't appreciate that she proceeded to give me my "last warning". I returned to my truck and didn't say another word. When I got to the gate I found that the Park Manager was working the gate. I complained to him about the ranger and he just laughed it off and told me not to worry about it. I will never return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$6
Large state park, roads are good, sites paved but all sites are not level. Some sites are way off level. Lot of nice trees and 2000 acres to walk around on. Very large lake in park, fishing should be good here. Play ground equipment close to RV sites. No noise in park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com