223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Crystal Cove State Park Moro Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (949) 494-3539
CGID12612

Crystal Cove State Park Moro Campground

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   10   8   8   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
I stayed in the non hookup sites with maximum RV size of 25'. The $35 rate is for the winter off season ending May 1. There is now access to campground from both northbound and southbound Pacific Coast Highway-controlled by a signal. Campground is nicely terraced with ocean views from most or all campsites. The campground is located about 150 ft. vertically up from ocean via a paved road/sidewalk-set back maybe half mile. A steep but short climb. Ocean at this location was beautiful during my stay mid April 2014 and relatively clear and blue. During my stay during spring break lots, of families and kids looked to be having fun. No behavior problems or excess noise. Restrooms very clean by CA state park standards. Sites nice sized, but some leveling required. Somewhat narrow access roads in campground. Campground is planted in native vegetation which was blooming and fragrant during my visit. No wood burning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$61
We stayed here for one night. The park is situated on a bluff overlooking the ocean. There are numerous trails for hiking and biking. In order to get to the beach you have to walk or drive down a steep grade to the lower parking area, then walk through a tunnel to the beach. All the spots are generally level, with a gravel base. The dump station has three sites located near the ranger station, a nice feature. Restrooms are very clean, tokens required for showers, dispensers at each shower building. The closest grocery store is approximately one mile, Trader Joe’s. I felt the camping rate of $61.00 was excessive and increases in May, but it’s CA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$55
As a campground, Crystal Cove is not particularly beautiful. There are distant ocean views from just about all sites, but the landscaping is poorly-planned and kind of ugly. We had a 12-foot bush right in front of where a center-entrance front door would be, luckily we have a rear entrance. Some sites have a huge bush right at the back of the pad, blocking the ocean view. On the positive side, the beach is just a 10-minute walk away and it is spectacular. You can walk for miles, look at tide pools, watch the surfers, and get lost. The nearby towns of Laguna Beach and Newport Beach are great for shopping and eating. My rating is a combination of a "10" for location and a "5" for the campground itself. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
Talk about RV heaven! This exquisite park overlooks a 3.5 mile beach. We had site 42, and we looked over an amazing cove. There is easy access to the beach from the campground. The whole park is immaculately kept. Can't wait to return.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$55
This park has a lovely view of the Pacific, but access from the campground is through the day use area and a tunnel under the coastal highway. It is a steep walk down and back to the day use area, but doable for most people. Sites are adequate, although asphalt is crumbling a bit and some shrubbery hides part of the view. Some sites also could use some leveling. A problem is that I made reservations in the summer and prepaid $75 per day. Sometime in the fall they dropped the daily price to $55, but did not notify me and would not refund the difference. They suggested I should have cancelled and remade my reservation or come in on a walk-in basis. Also, be warned that they do not allow you to occupy your site before the 3:00 pm check-in time regardless of how long it has been empty. I had to drive down the beach and sit in my RV for over two hours waiting until the magic hour. This does not make sense because there cannot be that much "cleaning" of sites needing to be done, especially when they have been empty for several hours or days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$75
Five nights Monday thru Friday nights. Quiet and the place did not ramp up on the weekend. Not a party campground at all. Most of our neighbors were retirees. Very quiet and overall a very nice park (for the money!). Like most Cal State Parks, maintenance to the facility seemed non-existent. Overgrown weeds and dead plants all over. Restrooms clean, but no evidence of any ongoing maintenance and in a few years this relatively new park will likely look like the rest of them. We would certainly stay here again and camped in a trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$77
This is a great beach campground, although a bit pricey. Some sites are more level than others, and our site, #11 was level, but way over grown with shrubs. I trimmed some back a bit to get the slides out on the rig. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$68
This is a wonderful State Park campground. A beautiful view of the ocean from every site, an asphalt pad to park on, and electric and water available in the hook up spots. There is a dump station on site. The sites at the south end of the park are on more of a slope, so bring blocks for leveling. The park is terraced in rows. The upper rows are hook ups and the lower rows are dry camp. The 38' vehicle length limit is enforced. Even though the sites are back in, the rangers don't mind if you head your motor home in to get the view of the ocean from your front window. Since the sites are just electric and water, it is easy to run the utilities under your rig to the hook up pedestal. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
This was our 2nd visit to this park which has outstanding views of the ocean from most sites. It is a steep but short walk or bike ride to the day use beach area, but you can also just drive down there with ample parking. There are shade ramadas and tables for picnics along with showers and restrooms in the day use area. You can hear the waves crashing on the beach at night from the campground which is very relaxing, along with the coyotes in the canyon singing their lonely hearts out. It is a close drive to everything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$80
This park is very clean, restrooms cleaned every day and campsites are well kept too. All dogs welcome. There are three sewer dump sites so the lines to dump are super quick! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$75
This campground has the most amazing views and huge, wide spots. It should as it's one of the most expensive campsites that we've ever stayed in at $75/night for partial hookups. The location is great, and the Crystal Cove State Park and beach were really nice. I love how they tiered the campsites so that everyone had an awesome view of the ocean. We watched whales and dolphins swim by each day. The major cons were the price and the weeds. Our campsite was covered in weeds which seems silly for a campsite that costs so much. The park rangers and volunteers were very friendly (minus one gal) and the access to the beach is right there at the campground. Overall it was a good stay and spectacular views. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Very nice place to stay for a few days as long as you don't want to camp right on the beach. The beach is close enough but it is a steep paved walk but you can drive down and back up very easy. The campground is the states newest so the vegetation between sites is small. I stayed in site 12 which is an accessible and it can be a little tight for backing in especially if you have the max size rig of 38' which I don't. Be sure and read all of the restrictions before booking, there are a lot of them. Awesome views of the ocean-at-large. Saw many pods of dolphins during the day feeding in the surf as I walked the beach. There were two men surf fishing with no luck. There are no shells to collect on the beach. The beach is excellent for swimming. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
This park just opened July 2011. Spacious sites all with ocean views. Beach access is by the day use area which is down a steep road adjacent to the campground. We preferred to drive our truck and park, instead of walking. Rangers patrolled the park on a regular basis. We enjoyed our visit and plan on returning again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$68
Campground accessibility, POOR. The campground is located off Pacific Coast Hwy and is only accessible going northbound. We arrived going southbound and had a hard time turning around with a 37' 5th wheel in Laguna Beach. The Reserveamerica website does not have any driving instructions for this campground, just GPS coordinates. The entrance is poorly marked. The roads leading into, and within the campground are small and not suited to large trailers. We had to drive over landscaping going around the very tight corners. Our site (#12) was on the end of a row which had a left hand corner just past the site we were to back into. It was impossible to back a large trailer into this site. The road was too narrow and there were large rocks and and other permanent hazards along the road which made it impossible to swing wide enough to get into the site. We had to forfeit staying there. On the good side, the campground had a nice view of the ocean, the spaces looked large and well spaced from each other. With a smaller trailer or motorhome this looks like a good place to stay. It appeared we could have maneuvered into some of the other spaces, but there is not a lot of room to maneuver into any of the spots. For a brand new campground, I think this one was poorly designed. The sites should have been angled not straight in, the roads are way too small, accessibility is poor, the price too high and the the campground itself could have been laid out more randomly instead of all sites lined up in a line, there is plenty of space in the surrounding area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
We arrived thirty minutes early at the kiosk and were told we would have to turn around and come back a half hour later, no exception. Its a little hard to find a place to park a 37 foot motorhome in Laguna Beach. I did notice during my five day stay that they did turn away about ninety percent of campers who arrived before 3:00 PM, though they let a few in early. I did however speak to campground host who explained to me why the 3 PM check in. Had the young lady working the kiosk explained it to me instead of being so rude I would have understood. In addition to the high rate of $65.00 a night for staying at a state park that was not right on the beach such as Bolsa Chica, the price of $ .75 for a three minute shower was also a little high since most California State parks I stayed in charge $ .25 for 2 1/2 minutes. The road into the park is narrow and you must yeild to on coming traffic, plus roads in the campground are narrow due to the planting of native plants on one side of the road which are already showing signs of being ran over by campers trying to back into their sites. The size of the camp sites were nice and large with a wire cable surrounding each site. The rules say no open camp fires allowed but I did see a couple down below in the tent area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
Open July 1st 2011. The park sits on a bluff and has wide open ocean views. The ocean is a short walk under PCH on one of the nicest beaches in SoCal. The sites are a nice size, but they will not allow anything larger than 38 feet. They have lines at the front office to check the size, we were told there will be no exceptions. There is no sewer (has a dump station), no Wi-Fi and the cell service is very weak. The State of California got this right except the decision to limit the size of RV's. Some will find it over priced because of the lack of amenities, others will think it a bargain because of it fantastic location. This park is on the border of Newport Beach and Laguna Beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com