218720 User submitted reviews online!!
Bar Harbor Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (207) 288-5185
CGID1272

Bar Harbor Campground

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   8   9   8   10   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
This is a nice campground and the closest to Acadia National Park, and it is reasonably priced. They do not take reservations or credit cards. You drive in, pick your spot, set up and then register. Lots of types of sites are in the park. The best choices are right about check-out time, at noon. We had a water, sewer, and 30 amp site, which all were good. The restrooms were clean and the laundry was too (only $1 to wash, $1 to dry/load). Some sites are in the open and some in the forest. Leveling can be challenging. We had a site near the laundry and the free Wi-Fi worked well, as did our Verizon data device. No cable, but we got some local stations with antenna. The campground is on a mountain top and you can see local water from spots in the park, but it is not waterfront. Local free bus service takes you to the National Park and to Bar Harbor throughout the day. We liked our spot and the campground. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
Location, Location, Location says it all. Sites are mostly gravel, but none are level, front to back, and side to side. The side-way slope is away from the sewer hook-up, thus you can't completely empty. Bring boards. We stayed here before with a fifth wheel, so level was not as much of an issue. All roads are paved and smooth. Sites open or wooded, your choice. I really like the no reservation policy. Wi-Fi worked very good at our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
This is a very large, well run heavily wooded park with many amenities. There are limited 50 amp sites so reserve if you need one. Everything you need is here. Staff is great, park is very secure, and the entrance to Acadia is only a couple miles down the road. If you like to walk, all roads are nicely paved and it's about a 1 mile walk around the perimeter inside the park. Water view sites available, but bring your binoculars, it's far. Like to swim? Beautiful large pool heated to about 80. Laundry has 8 washers and 8 dryers, and is $1 wash and $1 dry, very reasonable. Need propane? It's here and reasonable. No cable, but we picked up many stations with the digital antenna. Only one negative comment. All sites have been graded and graveled, but not leveled, so you need to level your rig. No big deal. All in all, a great place to stay. We would surely return here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$44
We spent a week here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The CG is located on Mt. Desert Island about 4 miles or so from the town of Bar Harbor, and a couple of miles from the entrance to Acadia NP. This is a very large and older campground. We chose a larger pull through site on a hill, and had a little difficulty leveling. Ours was 50 amp FHU and were pleased with the service. Laundry room was clean an inexpensive. Lobster Pound across the street or back toward Trenton a few miles (yum!) Water front doesn't mean water access in this case. While you can see the water from some of the sites and the pool/playground area, it's not accessible, but a very nice view either way. We will try to stay here again next time we are in the Acadia area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Convenient location to Acadia NP & the rest of the island, wide variety of good-sized sites, attractive wooded area, some traffic noise on side of park closest to highway 3, but quiet on north side of park where I stayed. Office suggests spots, but you pull in first come, first serve, then go back and register. Office open reasonable hours, 8am – 9pm when I was there. Rolling terrain, sites have been somewhat leveled, but still need moderate amount of leveling for RV's. Good WiFi signal, nice laundry. I'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
We stay here every September. Apparently the word has gotten out about it being the closest to Bar Harbor and Acadia. This year all full hook up sites were taken. They don't take reservations so you get what is open. Sites do need leveling but the view at the top of Frenchmans Bay is breathtaking as are the sunrises. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Loved it. Great roads, large sites, nice views, reasonably priced for the area. Everything works and is well maintained. Very convenient to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle bus to Bar Harbor and to the NP picks up right at the campground entrance. You can connect to other routes that run all through the NP, to other towns and campgrounds, etc. Rate was $44/night for FHU 50 amp. Pay for 6 nights, 7th is free. And you can extend any time you like. You don't have to pay for the full week in advance. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
Nice campground, very close to Acadia Park. Their system is a bit different where you go and find the site you want and then return to pay for it. A map was provided with which sites were open at the time of arrival to make this easier. The staff was friendly and helpful. The sites were nice sized. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
If I could give this park an 11 then I would. Great people, Great sites. Best of all, just imaging going for a walk in the early morning watching the mist rising off the ocean below while you pick Blueberries to put in your pancakes for breakfast. In my view this is the Best park in Maine. You drive through the park pick your site, set up camp, and go to the office to pay for your stay. If you chose to add extra days to your stay, no problem as the site is yours till you have to leave and you won't want to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
Great location. Rate is for 30 amp FHU. No reservations - drive and pick your site, setup then pay. We arrived around 10am on a Sunday and had a choice of pull throughs by the road or a pull through on top of the hill. Although the latter are on a slope, they have more ambiance and are larger. Our site was level side to side with slope front to back. Pay 6 nights for 7, cash or American check only. Clean bathrooms and showers (25 cents for 5 minutes). Clean laundry (cold water only) and only $1 each for wash and dry. Wi-Fi has a strong signal but very slow to download; fast to upload. On the shuttle bus route. Dog friendly. Friendly campers and work campers. Pick wild blueberries at top of the hill. Gravel sites surrounded by grass. Beautiful tent sites in the woods. Mix of decent looking W/E sites. We would return if coming to this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Excellent grounds. Well suited for tents and all types of RVs. Some sites wooded and some open with distant ocean view. Generally, very warm and welcome feeling while driving through C/G. Showers and toilets are very clean and have lots of water pressure while using showers. CASH only or checks accepted here. Wi-Fi excellent. Level sites with fire rings. Adequate room for big rigs. Staff in office helpful and friendly. NO reservations accepted. First come first serve basis. Check into office, go set up on available site and return to office to pay for number of days stay. With a 6 day stay, the 7th day is free. Lots and lots to do in local area. Much fun to be had. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$46
This campground does not except reservations or credit cards. There are 7 sites that have a distant ocean view from the hilltop, and about 50 other pull throughs with no view that have 50 amp, water and sewer. There is no cable. Fifty amp pull throughs are on the hill and are on a pronounced slope. Fifty amps sites by the main road are much more level, but have no views or ambience.. This is the most popular site in Bar Harbor because of the price. Unfortunately, it is a long way to come without a reservation, because in season you probably will arrive to find there is nothing available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
I liked not having to make reservations, but don't get there too late. Had a very nice site in the woods (T-36). Pull-throughs across from us were very uneven from front to back. Dump station nice and level. Liked the free bus service into Acadia N.P. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
Campground for us was in a perfect location. Only two miles to the entrance to Acadia National Park. Bar Harbor is 7 miles away and there is a free shuttle bus that only takes 15 minutes to get to the center of Bar Harbor if you do not want to drive. We picked one of a handful of 50 amp sites. On top of the hill next to the laundry are the prime sites but only seven that have great views of the bay but these are all back in. They have a nice mix of open sites and heavily wooded sites. TV antenna can only pick up a few channels. As mentioned they do not take credit cards or reservations. When you arrive they let you go through the campground to pick out your site before you pay. We would definitely return. Office is run by friendly workampers who have many years experience from working here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
I guess I am different from the other reviews. We found this GC old and outdated. No Cable, too many trees for Satellite, only 4 OTA stations 60 miles away and more bugs than I care to deal with. Sites were not very level and it took some work to level. Our site was mostly dirt and NOT worth $44.00 a night. We left the next day for an ocean view site at a different park for half the price and twice the amenities. This would not be my choice again for Bar Harbor or Acadia Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
We stayed for one week here in August 2012. Unfortunately, as I pulled into the campground, I got the trailer hung up on one of the large grey rocks lining the driveway in front of the office. It was in the shade and I didn't notice it as I should have. The maintenance crew was outstanding and came out with boards to build a ramp for me to get the axle over the rock. What a help! They even escorted me to a site for my trailer and helped me back in. As a mom on her own with 2 kids, I really appreciated the extra help. We had a wonderfully-quiet spot (K-18). Although there was no sewer service, we were very happy to trade off the quiet and extra space with having to use our dump tank. I thought the sewer sites were rather closely spaced, but our spot was divine. We picked wild blueberries on the hillside each evening for the next morning's pancakes and took the very convenient bus into Bar Harbor or Acadia each day. We took our bikes most days, and it was very easy to load them on the bus. The CG was very well maintained, bathrooms were clean with no long waits each evening. The guests were pleasant, no rowdiness that we observed. We will definitely return, but perhaps earlier than the 2nd week of August--it turned out to be the peak vacation week for the area. Can't wait to return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Enjoyed our stay here very much. No credit cards but they accept US checks. No reservations but a big place and we saw empty sites go unused, so don't be discouraged about trying. Excellent location next to Acadia with free Explorer bus. Wi-Fi inside our RV. Got 8 channels on our antenna. Lots of variety and you pick your own site location. Our backin site was very woodsy with a fire ring. We noticed sign at office for lobster dinner delivered to your site and enjoyed that one evening, arrived right on time. Up the hill (required driving because it's a big place) there is a pool, laundry, play area all with a great view of the bay. Laundry a very reasonable $1 each for washing or drying, with lots of machines. This is a peaceful family place with friendly office folks and everything you need at a great rate for coastal Maine. Would stay again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
What's not to like? Sun or shade sites, view or not. Good space between sites. Great facilities. Walking distance to restaurant, ice cream, lobster pound, and camp store. Reasonable rates for the area. Wi-Fi worked great. We will stay here again the next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
Great park, we stayed here on the last weekend. It was very quiet and clean. Despite not having waterfront the ocean views are great. A wide variety of site choices, FYI no reservations allowed 1st come 1st get. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This campground is different I'll say that. First, you pick out your campsite and then you have to come back to the office to pay. On the subject of paying they only take cash which is also unusual. The sites out on the hill where you can get satellite TV reception are not level. We had to try a couple to find one I could level up on. The sewer connection is at the far back of the site--so my 20 foot sewer hose would not come close to reaching it. The laundry room closes at 8PM. The manager was in the laundry room at 7:30PM to remind us it closes at 8PM. As though we couldn't read the 8 different signs inside and outside the laundry building about closing time! Also, there are no exit signs in this large meandering campground with many loops. Try driving out after dark on a drippy and foggy evening like we did. On a positive note, the campground is quiet inside and out (there are no noisy roads, freeways or trains nearby). The campground is in a nice setting and many of the back-in sites are in the woods which is nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
We enjoy this campground very much and return once or twice a year for two or three weeks. Contrary to a previous reviewer, we find there are plenty of level sites for big rigs. We prefer the WES sites at the rear of the campground overlooking the water and the blueberry field. However, this year we moved for a couple of days to one of the X sites near the office during tropical storm Irene, where we felt sheltered from the wind. The lower sites are not level but with a little effort, they become satisfactory -- and the advantage is 50 amp service for a big rig. I always rate this campground five stars, but this year I feel compelled to comment about the general rudeness of the worker who chastised a very nice couple in a very humiliating way about a few barks (just yips, really) from their dog. It was totally uncalled for and made a number of us who overheard the exchange feel angry and uncomfortable. I have met this same couple at the campground in previous years and have always found them to be courteous and responsible when it comes to controlling their dog -- but I doubt they will return in the future. Really a shame and I hope the management of the park takes note. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
No reservations and pick your own site does not always work well when you camp in a large motorhome. Bar Harbor campground has very limited level sites for large motorhomes . We were kind of lucky that we came in after hurricane Irene and that the park was basically abandoned. Otherwise it would have been very hard to find a spot to park a 40ft motorhome. This campground is in a great location with wide overlooks on the bay. It is very serene, peaceful and quite. It just happened that a neighbor parked next to us that had to run their very loud roof fan 24/7. There was absolutely no need for AC or heat. I asked them if there was something they could do about this and they were just very snooty about it. After this confrontation, I went to the office and asked if they could do something about it since they have a big sign next to the door saying ‘’ for any disturbing noise you will be asked to leave “. According to the staff nothing could be done about that. I really felt sorry for the guy on the other side in his pop-up. They offered us to look for another site, but without reservation and pick your own site we could have done that ourselves. Luckily these people left after 3 days, so the serenity and quite came back. I liked the place a lot, just had a rather bad experience that I thought the staff could have been a lot more helpful about it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Had a nice site at B-20 very private and large. Shady conditions. Pool was in good shape and staff were great. Shuttle bus was nice and good area to explore. Bar Harbor is a nice place with many shops and good prices overall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
This is a great campground. We camped here with our grand kids, who loved it. We had one of the pull throughs near the office and at least there the Wi-Fi worked well. The kids loved the playground, pool and their meadow that had tons of ripe blue berries. It was a walk from the pull through site area for larger rigs up to the pool and playground. The kids loved the walk and we got great exercise. I looked in the restrooms and they were clean and neat. The Bar Harbor trolley stops at this campground. In 10 minutes you can be at the Acadia NP visitors center and in 20 minutes you can be in downtown Bar Harbor. They don't take reservations which turned out to be OK, since when we decided to stay another day we knew we could just stay on our spot. We would look forward to stating there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful campground! After traveling 1700 miles, it was a pleasure to drive into this charming place. Very well maintained and clean with nice views of Frenchman Bay. Very helpful and friendly staff. It was great to be able to drive around the CG and choose our own site. Good cell reception with AT&T. Pleasant dog walks which our two Bostons enjoyed! Sites are spacious and most of them shaded. We even saw a deer one evening, about 75 feet from our site, grazing in the woods! What a treat. Definitely recommend this campground and look forward to staying there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
I like how this campground does business. No reservations. You drive through and pick your site and setup. Then you go back, register, and pay. Stay as long as you want and no one can bump you off your site. If you end up staying six nights you get the seventh night free. You do NOT have to pay for all six nights in advance to get the seventh night free. They only accept cash or checks. Nice view of the ocean from the top of the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
I love the philosophy and history of this park. Owned for over 40 years in the same family. Takes cash/checks, no credit cards, no reservations, price the same-both season and off-season. There are a few sites with magnificent views of Frenchmans Bay. Many pull-throughs, many wooded, as flat as possible considering the location. Clean restrooms, showers, laundry. Closest park to Bar Harbor and Acadia National park. The owners and the work campers were incredibly nice and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again. Note: All cell service is a challenge on Mount Desert Island. Consistent cell service ends before getting on the Island in Ellsworth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Plenty of space, clean and close to Bar Harbor. Has a rustic feel yet close to amenites. Moved easily to an ocean view campsite when it became available. WiFi was intermittent; has hot showers with good pressure, reasonably price at .25/5 minutes; clean restrooms. A wonderful vacation for us and we would definitely return to this campground. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
We come here every fall and wouldn't stay anywhere else! The ocean views on top are wonderful as are the sunrises. We stay in the pull through sites, although none are 50 amp, which are nicely sized but you do need a couple leveling blocks. WiFi is now available right at your site, new this year, but cell service is iffy. This is the closest campground to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Nice clean park. Not fancy, but a great place to explore MDI and Acadia NP from. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. They don't take reservations so call ahead to make sure they have empty sites. This works well if you are not sure how long you want to stay, because once you are on a site you can continue to stay until you are ready to move on. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
My wife and I had a wonderful time at this park. While the spaces were a little closely packed for my liking, they offered the 7th night free for our stay, making the relatively high price worth it. The park smells WONDERFUL! So many pine trees offering their beautiful scent to the happy campers, and I have to say, this park is super convenient to Bar Harbor. There are FREE shuttle buses into town and around the island. Our stay was fairly quiet, and we enjoyed that the park was so close to a convenience store and ice cream parlor. The only slight minus is that the ocean view wasn't as spectacular as we hoped. Oh yeah. Almost forgot the numerous blueberry bushes that grow all over the campground. Amazing! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
We come here every September and each year there are more campers. They don't take reservations and although it is a large campground, sites with full hook-ups are fewer in number. If they would only invest in more full hook-up sites, it would be a ten. The pull through sites are a bit unlevel but you can't beat the ocean views and the trails through the wild blueberry fields. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Great place to stay, we were allowed to pick our own site and found one we really liked with full hook ups. Verizon air card worked well. AT&T phone was iffy. Site was well kept. Unfortunately, our Border Collie barked at a person that did not like dogs when we were checking in and we were sternly warned against a dog barking. She was in the truck and the person walked up to the truck to quickly. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
It gad everything we wanted. It is close to the entrance of Acadia National Park, has full-hookups, beautifully wooded natural setting, well-equipped laundry facilities, helpful hosts. It was much less money than the competition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
This campground was nice, but we had a complaint about our dog barking so decided to leave. It was the way they confronted us about it that upset me. We were on our bicycles and the "maintenance man" chased us down in his pickup truck. We were already on the way to the office. He then started the conversation with: "This isn't the campground for you." He could have been polite. This is another campground that I don't think likes people from the south. Everyone else had dogs, and they were all unattended during the day, which was fine, but they chose to single us out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Lots to like about this campground: reasonable rates, large sites, and location. Cash only, stay 6 nights get 7th free! Sites are large, but not a lot of fhups to pick from, but we found a nice site in the C loop. If you are a tenter- this is the campground for you, lots of nice spots to pick from. As far as location, some sites with water views (not many), but the big plus is the campground is on the shuttle bus route. A MUST way to travel, and it is free. Now, the what not to like: many sites are not level, free wifi is a joke-the only way I actually got online was at 5AM, never during the day or evening. The showers were $.25 for 5 minutes (not bad, but remember your quarters). I didn't mind their check in, drive around and pick your spot, but they don't want you to unhook near the office. We have a large motorhome w/tow, we prefer to unhook before we enter an unfamiliar campground-you never know, so we unhooked anyway. Just got a "glare" from the staff, oh well. Overall, a very good location to visit Acadia and Bar Harbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
There are no reservations allowed in this park, but we liked being able to pull in and pick out a site we liked rather than being assigned to one. We ended up with gorgeous views of the ocean. It is also close to Acadia National Park. They do not accept credit cards, but they do have an ATM on site. We really enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
This is the 4th year we have camped here. The CG is clean and easy to move around in. It's cash only at check in. It's a family oriented CG close to Bar Harbor. This year there were an unusual number of annoying little yappy dogs. The morning and evening serenade was a pain. Owners are not investing in anything new or any extensive maintenance. Sites need leveling, etc. While the rate is excellent, it might be time to test drive some other CG's in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
This is a very nice clean and quiet campground near Arcadia National Park, the sites are clean. The campground is well kept. The play ground could use a little work. They only accept cash and don't take reservations, you go in and pick a site and then pay for it. We camped there at least 10 times through the summer and fall of 2007, and we always found a nice spot. Free buses to just about anywhere in Bar Harbor and Arcadia. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Ensure you bring cash - no credit cards accepted. 50 amp sites not located near Ocean/bay. Some of the best sites are water/electric only. Second time to camp here and we'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
The campground is a very nice campground, paved roads throughout and the sites were level. The shuttle system to Bar Harbor and Arcadia is outstanding and free. The only downside to this campground is they do not accept credit or debit cards, cash only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
We enjoyed our stay here but wish we could have had an ocean view. A sign at office states 7 day limit but the RVs near the water were there more than 7 days. Sites are first-come and you find your own spot. We couldn't find anything with full service. Most lots are unlevel but not a problem. WIFI is only assessible near the office so you must sit in your car or bench to have service. We were there during blueberry season and you can pick all the blueberries you want. Whatever you do don't disconnect your vehicle at entrance or the office will come out and get after you. Depending on the spot you find there aren't convenient disconnect spots. Would stay here again due to the proximity to Acadia. We used the park transportation--we had to sometimes wait for three buses if we got a late start (10-noon) since we were the last stop in before the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
A very pretty and quite I would go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
We stayed here 11 days in early June. The weather was a bit cool for us but we totally loved the campground and area. We got one of the few back-in sites with clear ocean views. The ocean and mountain views are exceptional. It is not waterfront property and you cannot walk to the water. They take no reservations so you drive up and go find a space and set up. Then you go to the office and pay the people. They have WiFi at a central location up near the office. There is a TV room near the office which has cable TV service. In that same room are modem connections. Their WiFi broadcasts very well for approximately 100 feet so you can drive up, sit in the car and access the Internet if you don't want to go into the TV room. The laundry room is a separate building on the back side of the park that is impressively large, older and very well maintained. Laundry room closes at dusk. The restroom and shower facilities are very clean, but old and you have to pay for hot water. We did not use the pool although there were hardy souls using it. My cell phone (Verizon) did not work at this park and I had to drive up the road almost 3 miles to find service. There were quite a few tent campers coming in towards the end of our stay. There are camper workers who work in the office and everyone we met there was very helpful and informative. This RV park is one we would return to for an entire summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$63
Expensive park to stay in but well worth every penny. Our waterfront site was awesome and if your looking to be on the water this is the place for you. Kayak right from the site or simply sit and relax while watching the sunset in front of you. Want a pool or WiFi go up the street to their sister resort The Woodlands and use the facilities there. This is our 5th stay and we will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
The campground was well maintained. There were wild blueberries everywhere so we enjoyed picking them. I had a similar experience with our small dog - upon checkout this very miserable work camper insisted that Rags NEVER be left in the RV alone. It was 90 plus degrees, he is 13 years old and doesn't bark. I was ready to pick up the jacks and leave - but my husband went into the office and just agreed to take him everywhere - lip service. Really put a bad taste in my mouth and I wouldn't stay there again. Wi-fi is available in the "tv" room at the entrance to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Really nice spot. We stayed here for 5 nights and had site T-36. It was private and wooded. Nice, level gravel spot. Very well run and nice people. We got to the campground late and there was only 1 spot remaining to accommodate my 34' rig. A great one, nonetheless. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2005
$36
Contrary to the above reviews we found it to be pretty average or below. If you are in a tent or popup it would be wonderful with very wooded, secluded sites. The RV sites, however, are in uneven, treeless, gravel parking lots. The lady at check in was unfriendly and rude with a permanent scowl. She informed us that UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES were we to EVER leave our dog unattended in our RV. (In other words, never ride your bicycles, go out to dinner, etc.) Maine has been and continues to be very dog friendly every place we have been except this campground. Lulu is even welcome in most shops downtown. We saw other campgrounds in the area that looked much nicer than this one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
This is a beautiful cg. The sites are spacious, the bathrooms are some of the cleanest and nicest we've seen. This cg is close to Acadia and downtown Bar Harbor. We loved it here! Maine rocks! We can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
This campground is well managed. Very clean and everything is in good order. It's close to everything. They do not take reservations and we did not see this as a problem. It gave us the option to pay day by day and stay as long as we wanted to. Fees need to be paid by cash or travelers checks only. We plan on returning to this campground the next time we visit Bar Harbor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2004
$33
Beautiful Campground with sites in Sun or shade, private or open water views or in the trees, enough to cater to anyones preferences. Plenty of room and clean facilities. Workampers at the desk were friendly and helpful. I liked the speed bumps to keep traffic speed way down. Clean laundry. Nice pool overlooking the bay. Another great thing about Mt Desert Island is that there are no skunks on the island and thus none to bother the campers at night :) One word of warning--avoid the nearby Log Cabin Restaurant if you value your health. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$26
This was our first trip to Maine and I wanted the perfect campground. This was it. This is one of those rare privately owned parks that have the look and feel of a state park. The sites are spacious and the scenery beautiful. All types of sites available: shady, sunny, pull-through, tent sites. Knowing they do not take reservations, we traveled in early June to beat the rush and we had plenty of sites to chose from. Great location on Frenchman's Bay and close to all Bar Harbor attractions. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$28
The heated pool was a little on the cool side for me. My husband enjoyed it though. They don't take reservations, so it is hit or miss on if they will have a space for you. The owners are very nice and helpful with area information. The scenery is spectacular. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com