220376 User submitted reviews online!!
Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 74 user reviews. Phone: (207) 288-3520
CGID1273

Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$110



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   10   9   8   8   7   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$110
First off, I can't believe I paid $110 for a night in a campground. To be fair, we arrived at about 4:30 PM (no reservations) and asked if they had any ocean front sites, and they told us the rate and (when asked) agreed to take one person in a golf cart to see the site. Momma wanted to stay there (after all, this was our 20th anniversary camping trip) so we stayed. Pros: beautiful location, on the water, not quite level but close enough, fairly private although close to neighbors. Reasonably priced lobster feed in camp (less than a block from us), fresh pie delivery lady, friendly and helpful staff, shuttle bus to Bar Harbor and other area sights at campground entrance. Cons: no septic hookup on site, lots of little trash (bottle caps, plastic pieces), site faced busy Hwy 3 (main entrance to island) so traffic all evening and night, showers were co-ed, lots of hair and other trash in mine, typical KOA with tightly packed sites. We were there one night; when we go back, we will stay in another campground. Another tip: the shuttle is pet friendly, but took nearly an hour each way to Bar Harbor because it stopped at 4 other campgrounds, the Acadia visitor center, and several other random locations. You can park at the Acadia visitor center and that is the last stop before BH and first stop coming out. There is RV parking in BH outside of the main shopping area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$81
The Oceanside KOA in Bar Harbor is a great spot to spend a couple of days, or a week or more. The sites are really small, but the whole campground is right on the water. The view is spectacular! The sites are level. The bath houses are clean. The staff could not have been friendlier. We stayed here on the way up to Nova Scotia, and stayed again on the way back. It was wonderful. There is a typical New England rocky beach. There are kayak rentals on site. There is a guy that has a site in the campground that sells freshly steamed lobster dinners for $18.50 a pop. Cant beat it. But if thats not for you, there are a dozen "lobster pound" restaurants within 10 minutes. There is a free shuttle bus that takes you into downtown Bar Harbor, and to the Acadia National Park. Again, awesome. So the sites are pretty small, but the location is divine. Cant beat it. We are already thinking about coming back for an extended stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$81
Had the great fortune to stay at this gorgeous campground in an ocean view site #376. While the site was tight to get into initially it was well worth it, as we had out own secluded site with a pathway to the bay. The sunset views were absolutely amazing! No sewer hookups are available along the waterline. Words can not express how happy we were with this campsite. Next time we return to Bar Harbor we will definitely be back to KOA Oceanside! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$84
This is a very nice campground, right on the ocean with amazing views, especially at sunset since it is western facing. Our site was one row back from being oceanfront, and we had pretty good views if you looked past the RVs that were oceanfront. Our site was pretty level, but it was very small. We have an 8' box popup, so pretty much the smallest camper out there. When we had it popped up and the awning out, in order to put up our screen room (which was necessary due to their being a lot of bugs) we had to put one corner on the next site over. It was only a little bit but I still felt bad, even though the neighbors that came the next day were OK with it. The bathrooms were clean and the employees were friendly. The couple that drives around selling pies was pretty cool, and the blueberry pie was really good!! The reason I gave this campground 9 out of 10 is because when we called to change from a tent site to an electric site, we were told we were oceanfront, but when we got there found out we weren't. This was quite disappointing. I would have been OK with not being oceanfront as we switched fairly late, but since we were told we got an oceanfront when we didn't it was a bit of a letdown when we got there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$83
A little tricky finding the road to turn into the park. Efficient, friendly staff. Campsites were gravel & grass but easy to level. The location is convenient to Acadia NP. Favorite thing was the guy who cooks lobsters every night at the campground and they were delicious.....our first Maine lobster! The wifi was almost non-existent and our cell phone signal was very poor....we have Verizon. The campground was nice but expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$85
Location/Location/Location. If you have a space with the ocean view this place is worth the price. We were steps form the water and the views of the mountains was fantastic. There was an onsite guy preparing lobster dinners and roving "pie Lady" nightly. Roads and sites are grass/gravel. If you are close to the water there is no sewer - you have to sign up for the honey pot at an additional $17 charge and they are not set up to drain typical Class A sewers. So we had to wait to dump on the way out. Keep in mind. for the price they should be able to accommodate all sized. We had to back out as the interior roads were VERY tight with a 45 foot rig. But overall the views win out. Very friendly front office - well stocked and the area is fantastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$100
We were lucky to get spot 272 for one night, the best spot in the campground! Right on the water on the eastern side of the park. Then we moved to spot 340, an ocean view site with trees on the western side. A bit of a letdown but still a nice view. Spot 340 was very awkward to get into with a 5th wheel because there is a gigantic hunk of granite on the north side. Probably easier with a motorhome. No sewer at this campground, but 2 convenient dump stations. This campground had campers parked every possible way but somehow it worked. Never could get on wifi -- just too many users I guess. The older bathrooms in the back weren't as nice as the newer ones up front. The laundry was in the back, and was in constant use. For a park this crowded, they could have used more washers and dryers. There is a guy who sells lobster dinners on site every day and the food was good. A van selling homemade berry pies comes in every day, and they ring a bell as they drive through the campground. Very delicious! This campground is conveniently located to Bar Harbor, Acadia, and Ellsworth (which has basic shopping.) Don't expect a whole lot from this campground. It's worth it for the ocean view, but not so great for an interior spot. From what we could tell, most repeat visitors book their spot a year in advance, so book well in advance if you want the ocean view. The Woodlands KOA is just down the road (both corporate KOAs managed by the same person), and you can use their pool if you want to swim. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$95
This was the perfect campground for our family. We backed into a fairly level waterside spot with a breath-taking view. We were situated in a way that made us feel like we were all alone even though the spots are fairly close and not wooded. (I recommend 376 or 364 for feeling isolated and on the water.) They do a great job at angling spots to stagger the view from camper to camper. Check-in was friendly and efficient, a "show-me" cart took us right to our spot. Cheap firewood (and fresh eggs) were available immediately across the street. We utilized the camp's showers to save on having to use the honey wagon; they are small but clean. We did run out of hot water if lots of showers/laundry had been done. Laundry facilities were clean and in good order. My only complaint is the woman's bathroom is in the very back and very dark at night so take a flashlight. (I like that it's dark to see the night sky better; just felt more secure bringing a light.) This is a great location for exploring Acadia as well as Bar Harbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$100
Beautiful well kept park right on the water. Staff very friendly and helpful. Park WiFi worked pretty good, Verizon air card worked great in part of the park not very well in other parts. It can be a little tight getting around with a big rig but we had little trouble with our 37 foot fifth wheel. It's the most we ever paid for a campsite but we were right on the water with no one to our rear or side. This is our second time staying here and will likely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$75
The waterfront sites in this campground are spectacular. Things are tight but worth it because the views are very nice. The staff is outstanding, very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$76
Way overpriced, $76 for ocean view with electric and water only. No sewer or cable. Some better full hook up sites, but set way back with no view of the ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$76
This campground is Ok. Great ocean front sites, but they are way overpriced. Especially when there is no sewer, unless you are far away from the water. We will be looking for other island choices. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$89
Love this campground. We get better water front sites when we call instead of booking on line. Some sites are on grass on a hill overlooking the water. Ask for a waterfront site that is graveled. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$80
Beautiful park right on the ocean. The water sites are amazing. We had stayed here many times. A little pricey, but worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$101
Nice clean park conveniently located about 7 miles from Acadia and Bar Harbor. Staff was friendly and helpful. Fees are high but park is right on the ocean with gorgeous views. Our site was ocean front so did not have a sewer hookup. The only issue I had was that the shower stalls were a bit small and hard to get dressed in. We stayed in a 37 foot RV and roads and sites easy to negotiate. We would return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$80
We were on an end site that had hardly no room to park our tow car. At times I had to park it at the bathroom site. No pool available, I felt for the price that we paid for the site was a little steep, bathrooms and showers were clean. Our overall stay was okay if I couldn't get into any other park we would come back to stay at this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$90
The campground staff is friendly and helpful. We arrived asking for a new site since I made the mistake of booking the wrong type of site and did not realize this. The woman at the front quickly gave us a new site and we were off. The sites are level and easy to hook up to with a lot off space. They are pricey but we had to remember we were in a tourist town and the hotels were far more outrageous. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. Bring plenty of bug spray as the mosquitoes arrive in hordes as the sun goes down. We would stay here again if we were to decide to go to Bar Harbor again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$79
We were disappointed because there was no pool on the grounds. You had to drive a mile and a half down the road to KOA Woodlands to use the pool. It is advertised as pool access for both campgrounds which I felt was misleading. There was a sewage odor from the leech field which we would smell if the wind blew in our direction. The camp sites close to the field complained. Hope they resolve the problem. Staff was friendly. We would return if we were there in the spring or fall but not in the summer since we enjoy a pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$90
Campground is in an excellent location. Bathrooms need work, kind of grungy even after cleaning. Honey wagon forgot to come by and empty my tanks, I wasn't charged for it, but really needed them dumped that day. My biggest gripe is that I made these reservations a full six months out and they put me in the most uneven site I've ever seen. I was supposed to be next to my father's rig and at check-in was told that I was, but this wasn't so either. No biggie, I can walk a hundred yards. The problem was the site itself. I gave it my best but could not get level. Took them 1 1/2 hours to get me a slightly more level site even though I pointed out plenty of level, empty ones. When told they were booked I took note. No one moved into them the 4 nights I was here. The staff is friendly enough and you can't beat the free shuttles taking you everywhere, but I feel with a six month reservation at a campground that was never more than 3/4 full during my stay, that I could have been granted a better site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$68
The staff were very nice. We got a spot near the water where there is no Wi-Fi, no sewer hookup and no cell phone reception. They have a dog park, but it is very tiny (my guess is about 40 feet by 20 feet). Dogs aren't allowed in any of the buildings, including the office. You cannot actually access the water where we were. There were bushes and large rocks between the RVs and the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$65
This campground has a friendly and accommodating staff. Our site was located within 20 feet of the bay. Level, clean and a sunny site. It was fun to watch the seals from the window of the motorhome or the picnic table. The daily fish fry and lobster fest says Maine all over it. Transportation to the National Park is available for those who do not want to drive into Bar Harbor. I would recommend this campground to friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
This campground provided an excellent view, staff was friendly, site was level and the park as a whole is very pet friendly. Great location. The reason for a lower rating is due to a lack of communication. We had a confirmed reservation for a: "Your Campsite Back-in, Water/Electric, 30 amp, Cable, Wi-Fi. Beautiful campsites with water/electric service, cable TV & Wi-Fi at no charge." However on arrival we were told they do not have cable TV. Staff, although friendly, wouldn't even look at our confirmation email. Said the web site is confusing. Included our concerns in a "rate your stay" email as well as an email to KOA to remove cable TV from their reservations. Still not done a month later and no contact from them either. Great campground, however no follow-up on concerns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$78
We were lucky enough to snag a coveted waterfront site when we stayed here, but unfortunately for only two nights. The alternatives available after we had to move, were weak enough that we decided to change campgrounds instead of taking a poor site. Seafront sites have no sewer, but a “honey wagon” is available for a reasonable cost ($7 for one tank and $12 for both). Our oceanfront site was truly delightful, with the sea, tides, birds and shrubs making us feel quite disconnected from the rest of the large campground. There is something about this park that seems to encourage a friendly interaction among campers that we enjoyed a lot. Dog owners (which we aren’t) will really like the enclosed run that allows friendly dogs to frolic without leashes. The middle of the park lobster pound was another feature that we thought added to the Maine ambiance. We would stay here again if we could get the right site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$57
I liked this KOA but there are some issues to be dealt with. Probably the most notable is that some of the sites are very out of level. We were in site #112 and to level the coach our front tires were completely off the ground. The sites are also not very big. Due to the length of the site we were very close to the row of rigs behind us and we nearly touched the back of our neighbors rig (we have a 35' motor home). A few of the sites are lower than the road and one across the road was in 6" of standing water after a night of rain. None of the sites close to the water can have sewer. In fact no sewer sites are within 250' of the water. However all of the sites have at least a partial view of the water. A very nice dog run is fenced a gives them a chance to run and play off leash. It is a bit pricey here, but so are most KOA camp grounds. Good activities for kids though. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$77
10% discounted rate. Assigned a site in the 215-220 row but it was six inches out of level to the side. Had to pay $10 more for one of the improved sites with gravel and sewer in the 118-122 row. I suggest that motorhomes without levelers examine site before accepting it. The previous two reviews are accurate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$87
I have a love/hate for this park. I love everything about it and hate to share the review because it might be hard to get a space once word spreads. We decided to stay here for one night after being depressed at the "atmosphere" of the previous campground we were at. I wish I would have known about this campground to begin with. I loved the ocean view. We were not directly on the ocean but a few sites back in a "partial" view and it was just as good as ocean front. There really isn't a bad spot in the whole park and you can take your lawn chairs to the oceans edge for viewing and relaxing. Wonderful social events for the kids. Fantastic dog park for the furry buddies to exercise. New playground equipment but watch out for those hot slides in the summer. Store was small but stocked with plenty of essentials and the camp host and all the workers made the vacation so wonderful. They all were charming and fun. There were so many nice activities for kids of all ages. Loved the on site Lobster dinner. 40 bucks for two meals. You can't beat that. We didn't get to stay for the Sunday pancake breakfast but I'll make sure to do that next year. Kids loved when the tide went out leaving behind lots of sea creatures in the tide pools. You could spend hours exploring them. Laundry rooms was clean and the park grounds are spotless. The only thing that could make this park a perfect park is the addition of a swimming pool- you can use the one at the sister site. I really enjoyed staying here and will do so in the future. Just staring at the ocean for hours from our site was better than any 5 star hotel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$70
This was a great park and the campground host we worked with the most was great. She booked our reservation and provided a wealth of info for out visit. The park had everything. Location, waterfront, activities, and more. When we arrived, a motorcoach on one side of us was parked at an angle, partially in our space. The travel trailer on the other side was parked in their space, but extended their slide outs into our space, and had their visiting friends park their vehicles in our space. Needless to say, we were only able to use about half of our space. We paid a premium rate for a nice waterfront site, but we were unable to extend our awning or put our chairs out for the first three days of our five day visit. The KOA campground hosts should have taken it upon themselves to correct this problem prior to our arrival. The only other issue was the repetitive failure of the Wi-Fi router. The park deserves a 10 rating, but we can't give them one for this visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$95
This campground is a true jewel! The only reason I didn't rate it as a 10, is that $95/nt for any campground is too much, IMO. We had site 344 which is right on the ocean, with plenty of room to spread out. Campsites just do not get any better than this! There are a whole row of sites right on the ocean and even the Ocean View sites, which are a row back, are nice, but still pricy at $89/nt. As other reviewers have noted, the lobster man is there every night, steaming up fresh lobsters for dinner. It's a great deal at $40 dinner for two. Acadia NP is a short drive from the CG and the park is not to be missed. Spectacular! We will be back next year, as long as we can manage to secure a similar ocean front site again. GREAT place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$75
We absolutely loved the park. We had an awesome view and the other campers were super. Enjoy clamming, kayaking or just kicking back. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We really like this campground and try to visit more than once a year. When you arrive, if you don't get the type of site you wanted, just wait until the next morning and watch for those that are opening up. Put a chair or a "TAKEN" sign (available at the office) on the new site and move your rig immediately. We like the sites at the "back" of the campground overlooking the water, near the laundry and huge wild blueberry patch. There are nice pull through sites near the office, but we have found these are far from level and often require extra blocks. Pool is advertised as "heated" but always very chilly. Bring your own beach chair to the pool; there is almost no seating available otherwise. The price for the park is very reasonable for the area; it is a short drive to Acadia National Park and downtown Bar Harbor; and the free bus makes half hourly pickups at the park entrance: dogs and bikes are permitted on the bus! If you're in Bar Harbor, this is a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We've been traveling across country for over six weeks (and six weeks to go). We only make reservations a few days in advance, but ending up in a beautiful national park, Acadia, with the advent of the 4th of July had us scared. For once, not taking reservations, this park allowed us to camp since it's first come, first served. Our site was under a shade tree, without a view, and somewhat slanted. Our jack hitch was to it's lowest setting to get us level front to back. This park is the closest to Bar Harbor, is family friendly, and we paid $40/night for full 30-amp hook-ups (a few 50-amp sites are available as well), staying 6 nights gets you the 7th one free. Good security, and I've heard from a former employee that they don't tolerate any loud noises during their quiet hours - maybe one warning, and then you're escorted out, so it is very peaceful at night. There are a variety of sites from ocean views, under a dense tree canopy, and even out in the open. Most of the interior roads are paved, as well as some sites; the rest is coarse gravel. I'd stay here in a heart beat again if it wasn't so far from San Diego! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$58
Great location to do your Acadia NP excursions. Road from Bangor to this park is under construction in a few spots. Resulting in slow, rough and narrow travel. Roads in the campground were a little narrow and required an alert mind. Campground is basically an open grass field with very few sites being level but with a great view. Counter staff was very helpful all the time. WiFi was excellent. Will look for another campground in the area as cost was a little much for this early in the season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$75
We made reservations here months in advance, hoping for a view of the water. We were disappointed after checking in because our site only had a view of the group camping in front of us. It took three trips to the office trying to get the clerk to let us have a different spot closer to the water. The park is ok but it is no way worth the price. The showers are spotless; the laundry is nice. Our spot had a nice view but it was on unlevel grass and mud. We would check out other campgrounds if we returned to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$93
Where we stayed on the water, this place is a 10. Convenient to Acadia and other Mt. Desert locations. They cook lobster every night and the pie lady comes through and sells pies out of the back of her station wagon: outstanding! The Wi-Fi is strong. Cable RV would have been nice for this price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$78
We loved it here. We had two different sites at this park. The first two nights were were at site #268, which is classified as "ocean view." We were amazed to find that we had a full ocean view, and could walk out to the ocean by just walking a few campsites down. The second site was #340, which is classified as "ocean side", and was a spectacular site right on the ocean. We had sort of a terrace tight at the water's edge where we could put our chairs and relax. We bought the on site lobster dinner one night and it was fabulous. Blueberry pancake breakfast was great. No pool or cable; access is available at the "Woodlands" park up the road. The Island Explorer free bus system has a stop right inside the entrance to this park, which was very convenient to getting to Acadia. The only reason I did not rate this park a 10 is because there were not enough showers near our first site. There was a line both mornings. An employee was very graciously offering golf cart rides over to the bigger bath house, which was nice, but I still thought that particular bathhouse needs to be expanded. Once we moved to our second spot, and used that bathhouse, there was no problem. There were plenty of bathrooms/showers in the bigger bathhouse. Both bathhouses were very clean. There are no sewer hookups allowed near the ocean, so plan to use their pump-out service if needed. We cannot wait to return to this KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$75
There are two sections of this campground: actually two "separate" campgrounds, about 2 miles apart. The "woodlands" section is wooded and quite crowded: sites are very tight! We spoke to campers who said they would only camp on the "ocean" section. We were three sites back from the water and the view was excellent. There is a lot to do here. They have a lobster dinner each night that is comparable to the local lobster pounds. Need to look carefully at the map and know which site you have. We would definitely stay there again. Kayak rentals are cheaper in Acadia park where the waterway is on a lake, but if you want to kayak on the bay, then it is very easy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
I’m partial to this campground because I like a small, clean, waterfront campground. The staff is very nice and helpful, the bathrooms are clean, the laundry room is clean, the showers are unisex, single showers and clean, the bus stops at the office. You can also book whale watching trips and other activities at the office and receive a discount. The view is beautiful and we saw seals several times from the shoreline. In 2008, they built a small but nice off-leash dog park. The downside for a family with kids is the location lacks a pool, however, you can take the bus or drive over to the woodlands location and use their pool free. The price is steep, especially if you wish to be waterfront. Our site was not level and quite “buggy”. The mosquitoes in Maine are bad everywhere, however, this location seems to have a high population of bugs. If you are on the waterfront, the breeze helps alleviate the Mosquitoes issue. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$93
Our site was ocean front. That's why its so high in price. The ocean front sites have only water and electric and no sewer. To my wife and I that didn't matter. Just the view of the water, the seals and other aquatic wildlife is worth the price. A "chuck wagon" has daily specials from succulent lobster to pancake breakfasts. Small playground, laundry area and a small motorized train that cruises the campground for all ages to ride. Free trolleys that take you anywhere you need to go on the island. Something for everyone at the Bar Harbor KOA. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Nice location. Horrible insect problem. Mosquito's everywhere. We couldn't even sit outside. It was like swarms of them. Nice kids playground and the train ride was fun. Some of the spots require 4 wheel drive if it rains. The Wi-Fi is iffy at best. They have spots packed in so tight you wouldn't think there was space for an RV and yep, that's your spot. We moved sites and were one of only 2 campers on a 20 sight stretch, but somehow they assigned the site next two us to the next RV that came in. Why? they were all the same size options and all open grassy sites. They should have spaced it out. If it wasn't for the bugs I would stay there again, but it is just ridiculous how horrible the infestation was, and we have camped from Alabama to ME and this is the only place I couldn't stand to be outside. Not sure if they could spray our do something about them We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
We stayed here four nights. This has to be one of my favorite KOA campgrounds. The views are beautiful, particularly if you have a water view lot or one nearby. There is lots to do, including a blueberry pancake breakfast (for a small fee), a lobster dinner (lobster steamed right in front of your eyes which you can eat there or take to your rv), and all of the typical KOA activities such as tye dyed shirts. They escort you to your site. Some sites are very unlevel though, but ours was ok. Convenient free shuttle to Acadia National Park and town of Bar Harbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$70
We reserved a waterfront site and what a great decision! This campground was the fifth we stayed in on this trip and our favorite. After a stressful day, we enjoyed the onsite lobster dinner. We will be back next year... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$65
Staff was friendly, and we lucked out by not getting a floodable site. As with much of Maine (I think), the main problem was the mosquitoes -- we could never sit at the picnic table or lounge outside. We had a good site and will be back next year. The hi-light of staying here (or in many of the campsites and motels) was the free shuttle service in and out of Bar Harbor and all over Acadia. We parked our truck and could have gone everywhere on shuttles. What a beautiful part of New England, and this KOA was a nice place to stay. You will get a better deal on Lobster (if you don't mind eating out) at Gaylin's in Bar Harbor before 6 pm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
We arrived and were greeted warmly by staff. Although they were scheduled to close the office for the night, we were escorted to our site. It has been mentioned that sites are not level, and that was the case with us. We didn't find it too difficult to set up, however. There are some sites that were sitting low in a rain storm, and got very wet. The staff came over with pumps to clear out water. Pancake breakfasts twice a week! Restrooms very clean! We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$91
Excellent campground. Camped right on the water and had beautiful sunsets. Lobster and pancakes cooked on site. Free city shuttle right to the front door. It also helped that we had excellent weather the whole time we were there. It was expensive but worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$54
Something just isn’t right at this campground, which we think could really be a nice place to stop. We stayed here a week with a fifth wheel toy hauler. When we made our reservations we discussed sites using the site map and what the employee told us was available. For a whole week we needed full hookups and the campground is limited on these with none available by the waterfront. The first site was so small, behind us was a pickup truck with a slide in that had the fire pit where the back of my RV would be. That didn’t work and we were shown other sites available and picked one that was fairly level. Some of the sites are terribly off level and it would seem some work could be done to make them more attractive. We watched, during the week, many RV’s come in and escorted to their site to look at it and then jockey around looking for another site. It seems the worse sites are the ones they want to put you in. One site next to the bathrooms was a mosquito ridden area with no view and several people backed in and before setting up pulled out. The hosts that work there are very friendly and that should not reflect on how the campground is maintained. The second day, a large bus came in with and a “tent city” was setup in one section with a busload of pedal bikers and kayakers that would be there for several days. Needless to say, the bathrooms were very busy. The lobster man, mentioned in other reviews, was there but not doing much business. You have to supply your own plates and butter. For $ 36 you get two small lobsters, two ears of corn, two cole slaws and that’s it. We opted to buy a pan at Walmart for 20 dollars and bought lobsters at a lobster pound nearby for 24 dollars and they were bigger. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$46
In general my wife and I were quite pleased with this campground. It is in an excellent location with spectacular views. The sites however are quite small and "there isn't a level site in the place" to quote the gentleman who escorted us to our site. We arrived after dark so this service was much appreciated. We found all of the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The Sunday morning pancake breakfast was very nice, allowing us a chance to meet and chat with other campers. The rates are high but this seems to be a KOA feature. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
What a fun place to stay!!! The staff are fun and helpful; we enjoyed a blueberry pancake breakfast they offered on Saturday morning. There's lots of places to walk and view the north end of Mt Desert Island, which is beautiful! We appreciated being able to use the free shuttle bus to visit the city of Bar Harbor; and to catch other tour buses from there to Acadia Nat'l Park. And since the shuttle stops at other campgrounds, we were able to see that we were glad we stayed at THIS one!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$60
Expensive but worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
This was a good park, both quiet and fun. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Good access to Bar Harbor area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$75
Our "deluxe ocean front site" that we booked in April for an August visit was poor. We overlooked a small finger of the bay and had a great up close view of the Trenton bridge that everyone must use to enter and exit Bar Harbor and all of Mt. Desert Island. Lots of highway traffic noise! Other sites were very close together in an open field without any trees. Some so close that awnings could not be opened up. On the bright side it was clean and lots of staff to answer questions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$76
Another parking lot camping! Really amazing to see how the KOA is more and more about the number of sites as opposed to the quality!. We had a "Deluxe W/E Oceanfront/Oceanview". For me, Oceanview/Oceanfront means that I see only water in front of me and not the Maine main land at less then a mile!. The site was very small, barely enough again for the trailer and the awning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$79
This was our first trip to Bar Harbor and we absolutely loved it. We could not have selected a better campground. Our site was on the beach and we had absolutely breathtaking views of the sunset every night. We do not have children, but there were many activities for the children to participate in. Full-hook up is not available on the waterfront sites, but there is a "honey-wagon" that will come and empty your tanks. This KOA does not have a pool at it's location, but you can use the pool at the sister KOA down the road. The winds picked up in the evenings for an hour or so, but after the sunset the winds calmed down and it was quite pleasant being outside. All of the campers were very friendly and we enjoyed taking walks around the campground and talking with our fellow campers. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. This campground is definitely on the expensive side, but very well worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
Our favorite KOA second only to Sugarloaf Key KOA Florida. We come back every year and enjoy a waterfront site that showcases harbor seals and many types of sea birds. Paved roads, helpful and friendly staff. LL Bean sponsors shuttle to city of Bar Harbor as well throughout the whole Isle of Mt. Desert. Great kids program. This is a corporate owned KOA and they do it right! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$76
We really enjoyed our stay here. We lucked out with a pull-through site, corner lot, right across from the beach access, with a beautiful view of the bay. Our fellow campers were all very friendly, with an interesting mix of Americans (from as far as FL and MI) and Canadians (many from Quebec). We found the campground to be exceptionally quiet and peaceful, and our kids had a great time on the pebble beach. Beautiful sunsets also. Free buses run continuously to other points on Mt. Desert Island, notably Acadia and Bar Harbor. We drove to the top of Cadillac Mtn, and experienced the breathtaking views of the ocean all around us. We did a 2-hour lobster boat tour (the Lulu) out of Bar Harbor, pulling up some lobster traps and seeing seals near the light house. There is so much to do and see in Acadia, and the KOA was a nice home base. We'd love to come back here again some day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$84
We were extremely disappointed to find that our deluxe waterfront/water view site was 2 rows back from the bay with non premium sites in the row in front of us (This site was reserved in January). It was classified as a deluxe water site because if the site in front of ours was not occupied you could see the bay. Incidentally the row in front was not considered premium since it could only fit a 24 foot trailer, but it still had a water view. The campground did refund our deposit. Be very careful about what site you get since the deluxe sites are $84 plus a night and only include water and electric. We will stay at Blackwoods in Acadia since it also doesn't have a water view but is only $18/night. We will NEVER try this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
This review is to make it clear that there are 2 KOA Bar Harbors. The main park is this one, on the water and it looks wonderful. Great location. The other (Woodlands)is 2 miles down the road and deep in the woods and does not compare in anyway. It does have wifi and cable, but there any benefit ends. It is definitely the poor relation although the rates are still sky high. Be really sure that you want to go to KOA Woodlands - we never would again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
A little pricey. We had an ocean view (sort of), not ocean front and site was $50, less 10% KOA discount. We had to use our levelers and it looked like most people had to as well. The ocean front sites were spectacular. Hard to find the site - we were not escorted and ended up parking in the wrong spot. Excellent wifi service. Reservations are kind of confusing because the Woodlands campground is part of the same business. We wanted the non-Woodlands campground in order to be a little closer to the Nova Scotia ferry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$65
This CG is expensive at $65.00 per night but worth it! We were right on the Western Bay of the Atlantic Ocean. Beautiful scenery every time we stepped out of our camper. During low tide you’re able to walk far out along the rocks looking at all the “sea creatures” that you can find. More of a high end CG probably because of the cost. There were quite a few large motorhomes and 5th wheels in the park. I don’t think there were any seasonal campers. Well stocked store and extremely clean bathrooms. The bathrooms and individual showers had piped-in music and foam soap dispensers in each stall. Never saw this before. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful when asking questions about the area for sightseeing and eating. There was a shuttle bus that came right to the CG and it would take you to different parts of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. This would be an especially nice perk if you had a motorhome and did not have a car to travel around in. Overall, I would highly recommend this CG. I seldom give a CG a “10” rating but I think this one deserves it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$66
Without a doubt the nicest campground I have ever camped! We had the "Deluxe Oceanfront" site. It cost a few more dollars but waking up to the sound of the ocean was priceless! Very nice and friendly people and of course great lobsters! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
We stayed at the Bar Harbor KOA and were thrilled with the service and the location! We stayed here after a terrible experience at a different campground and were welcomed with open arms. Staff were friendly and accommodating and helped us with everything we needed. We thought the rates were a little high at first, but it was well worth it! The restrooms and showers were very clean and we will definitely go back here when we visit Acadia National Park again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$64
Don’t be fooled: there are 2 KOAs in the area, and this is NOT the one with TV, WIFI and a pool. If you want those amenities, go for Bar Harbour Woodlands KOA. This is a nice enough, standard KOA which would have rated a 7 had it not been for the ridiculous $64 nightly charge for a 3-way hookup requiring a 20 foot sewer hose. I know it’s Bar Harbor and the area was founded by the wealthy, but most other parks here offer much more sensible rates. Washrooms were very clean and quite nicely configured, the staff was very friendly, and as with all other parks here, it’s served by an efficient, free shuttle bus service to downtown. Altogether a good CG which should charge about half what it does. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$45
Terrific oceanfront campground with direct access to oceanfront. Lots of exploring for children and adults, close to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$60
Stayed here for almost a week, Got lucky & caught a site right on the water only calling 4 days before. The reviews on this place are so true! Let me metion the Bluberry Pie Wagon..YUM!! Free Shuttle service around The Island & Lots of great Lobster, One place even delivers the Lobsters to your site. Had the honey wagon Stop by every other day (3kids) & I left a tip taped to the Valves. It was never accepted!! Try that in NJ...lol We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$45
Spotless bathrooms. Beautiful views. The kids had a blast along the shore and kayaking in the bay. Outdoor movies, pancake breakfasts, ice cream socials kept us all busy and stuffed. Convenient free bus service throughout the island from in front of the store. Absolutely one of our favorites with some lasting memories. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$60
Very nice campground. Some of the nicest people both working and camping we have met since camping. We had a really nice site looking out over the water. They have some nice activities for the kids. Outdoor movies, pancake breakfasts etc... Great location to all activities. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
Very nice and very clean campground. They escort you to your site and give you boards for leveling. We had great seafood at Beals in Southwest Harbor. We loved the oceanarium touch tank, learning about and holding sea cucumbers, star fish, sea urchins, horseshoecrabs, snails and sand dollars. We have been to many touch tanks but learned the most and enjoyed this one the best. We also enjoyed the lobster hatchery. A highlight of the trip was going kayaking at the campground and seeing the seals. I highly recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$48
Nice park with great views. Great park to stay in while visiting Acadia National Park. Kayak rental on-site as well as an Arcade and very nice playground for the kids. Many of the site are wide open so both satellite TV and Satellite internet work well. I see that previous reviews listed the park having WiFi, but I don't recall seeing a WiFi signal at my site. I did see an Internet booth near the office. (Maybe the WiFi works up there. ) Staff was always friendly and helpful, some paved roads and some gravel. The sites were gravel and grass. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$45
This campground is very clean and well maintained. Nice playground and game room for the kids. Clean showers/bathrooms and laundry room. My only complaint is the sites are not very private or big. It is kind of like camping in someone's back yard. However, overall good experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2004
$45
A really nice park. The LLBean shuttle is free and takes you were ever you want to go for free and leaves very frequently. Employees are great; there is an escort to your site who carries their own leveling blocks. "Honey wagon" is expensive ($30.00). Lots of mosquitoes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2004
$9
Very easy access to all sites on Mt. Desert Island. Super friendly staff and beautiful scenery & waterfront location. Evenings walking around the rocks near the water was wonderful. The bathrooms have to be the cleanest, nicest we've seen. We'll definitely stay here again on a return visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$55
This is a very nice campground for a commercial one. It is very well managed and the staff is extremely friendly, eager to please and helpful. The restrooms are modern and kept very clean. The campstore is well stocked. Location is good (first campground when you get on Mount Desert Island). The water views are wonderful and the bay is only minimally impacted by the tides (so your not looking at a mud pit half the day). I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$40
This a great campground for easy access to Bar Harbor. The sites are large and the park has a great layout. The transportation system will pick you up at the campground and take you to Acadia National Park and the town of Bar Harbor. Camped here in August of 2003. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$35
Stayed for one week (week of July 4th) at this campground and it was simply beautiful. We had a spot on the water which made it unforgettable--however, it was pure luck that we got the spot, they recently were purchased by KOA and moved some sights around so when I called in Jan. there happened to be one available. Restrooms were sparkling, people staying at the campground were extremely nice. Sunsets over the water were unfortettable. We'll definitely be back (in spite of the lonnngg drive from Ohio). We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com