217766 User submitted reviews online!!
Mt. Desert Narrows Camping Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (207) 288-4782
CGID1275

Mt. Desert Narrows Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
239
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   7   7   3   3   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Location is great. Rate is with TT extended stay discount (>7days)..regular rate is $48 + $3 resort fee = $51/day plus tax. We had a view of the water from our campsite, though it was not waterfront. Our site was W/E only, had to pay $25 for pumpout, which I thought was excessive, especially since they didn't fully empty the tanks, but it got us through 8 days and we did fully empty the tanks at the dump station as we left. We spent most of our time at Acadia NP, so did not really use the "resort" amenities, which from what I could see was just a very small pool for the size of the CG, and entertainment on two week nights we were there. IMO the entertainment was way too loud, we were tired from our sightseeing and didn't appreciate such loud music on a weeknight. There was an issue with the power post late at night on our last night there, and we were in the dark, like being at Walmart. Our surge protector code said that we were not getting a full 50 amp and shut down, giving the code "move to a different power source". We reported it the next morning and they were appreciative and said they would have maintenance check it out. All in all, I would stay again, but I would ask for a site far away from the loud music, and/or book when there was NOT going to be entertainment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Nice large RV campground on state Hwy 3 with easy access and no traffic noise. Gravel main and site roads with wide grass sites. Both pull-through and back-in wide, long and level sites with table, fire rings, 30 & 50 amp and shade trees at most sites. Few sites back up to bay. Park well maintained. Only a half the sites have sewer, but dump station and honey wagon service for $25. Unprotected Wi-Fi signal at rec center and sites close by. Tall trees block satellite signal on most sites, good Verizon voice, slow 3G data signals, poor TV antenna signals, but good cable. Pool and rec center, store and snack bar. Only open in summer and scheduled activities. Staff friendly and helpful. Very nice and would stay there again. Cost based on weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$90
I highly recommend reserving the Best Ocean Front sites if you like to wake up and have coffee overlooking the ocean. However, these sights are not full hookups - water and elec only. I had a full round of complaints by my kids and huband when they found out they had NO Cable. There is a honey wagon that comes very promptly around 9/10am for $25. Our water hookup leaked terribly so that I had to put a big bowl underneath and empty it constantly. We told 2 maintenance guys that they just needed to change the water connector; but they just said "yep, we'll look into it". However, we didn't have big expectations they would fix it. The water hookup in the site next to us had the same problem. This campground needs some simple maintenance to all the water hookups. We did use the swimming pool and it was Too Hot! They have the heat turned up too high. I love warm water, but this was excessive. I think it also lead to the pool looking a little green. They don't have the chemicals regulated for such a hot pool. The showers were not that great, but just make sure you wear your flipflops. The pressure was terrible and the hot water not consistent in the larger bath house in fact there was No hot water one morning. I switched to the smaller bath house and got good pressure and better hot water. The arcade needs a full refresh of the games and pool tables. However, most arcades we see at all campgrounds need refreshes. While all of this reviews sounds like the place is terrible, I still would go back! You are not in Bar Harbor to stay at your campground. You are there to explore, so the campground does empty out by 9am each morning with everyone leaving to go explore the area. As mentioned in opening, we had an ocean front site where they put the campfire pit right near the ocean instead of right on the roadway so you have your campfire overlooking the ocean. We had wonderful neighbors and the last 2 nights had NO neighbors, so no complaints there. I also made sure to walk the entire campground and will tell those reading this that if you do the Full Hookup sites, you are right On Top of each other. I'm sure that all Bar Harbor campgrounds are the same where you are very close together. At the end of the day, I do recommend Mt. Desert Narrows for the location and about 80% of the Ocean front spots are pretty good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
We reserved our August 2013 4-night stay through our RPI membership which provided us a discount but this price only included elec/water. Full-hookup would have cost us $74/night! If you want to use the honey wagon, it would cost you $25 for each dump. Since we didn't have full-hookup and didn't want to pay for a honey wagon visit, we had to use the public shower. The shower and the laundry facilities are rustic and dirty. Mosquitoes were absolutely terrible! There was no scheduled campground activity. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$77
Oceanfront sites on all campsites in Bar Harbor are not allowed to have sewer, local by-law. The oceanfront sites have no Cable or sewer. Premium oceanfront is $85 per night, minimal oceanfront $77 in season. This is ridiculous for a sub par, run down campground which should be $20 per night. Honey truck is $25, making this come out at $100+++ per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
The best first, the staff were great! Hardly any better. Very helpful and friendly. The only good thing about campground. Lots of weeds everywhere and run down sites. Dog waste everywhere and dogs ran loose. The restrooms were not very clean and I ran out of hot water as soon as I got wet. Could not figure out why as no one else was in the showers. The closest showers were closed so we had a walk to showers. I would rather stay in a Wal-Mart parking lot than here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$47
Sites are well laid out and sizes afford some privacy. Hosts are pleasant and helpful, we enjoyed our stay here although there are other RV Parks closer to Acadia or the ocean. The cable TV was so snowy we couldn't use it. Water pressure was so low at times (probably high shower times) that we only got a trickle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
This is definitely a campground, as opposed to an RV park. Most big rigs choose the sister park, "Narrows Too", in Trenton. Lots of pop-ups and bumper pulls, although many sites accommodate larger fifth wheels and motor homes. Not many satellite-friendly sites, and the majority of sites do not have sewer. Some have cable. Our site, 340, being higher on the hill, offers an awesome view of the bay and has cable but no sewer. Also, being right across the road from the Wi-Fi antenna helps. Our Verizon phone gets good reception, but our 4G Jetpack card is hit and miss (Olympics don't help). If you want a little peace and quiet from the crowds, hang around the campground during the middle of the day and soak up the scenery. Like probably most other area campgrounds, this one is packed with campers in peak season, but it's quiet at night. The park is well staffed and all are friendly and super helpful. The facilities, while far from new, are clean and well maintained. If you enjoy tent camping, this is definitely the place to be. Half the campground is devoted to tent sites, and the sites are big and beautiful. Our rate indicates a special for Thousand Trails members during the month of July. We couldn't pass up extending for a total of four weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
This park has full-hookup sites with electric, water and sewer. We enjoyed visiting the Acadia National Park. It is close by. Sites are averaged size. Access roads were wide enough for our motorhome. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathroom facilities were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Depending on what you are looking for this is an excellent park. I don't think I'd call it a "Resort Park" but as a base campground for exploring the area its perfect. With a Passport America membership we stayed for two weeks and with all taxes and fees in it was $23 a night. No problems with our 38' rig and toad, clear line of sight to the south for satellite, a 3rd party offering Wi-Fi at a reasonable price, nice views over the ocean. The bathrooms and showers were basic but very clean. The staff were super friendly. We'd stay here again in a hear beat! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$46
Mt. Desert Narrows is operated by a group which runs two other campgrounds in the area. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt, since we visited very early in the season, but the grass needed mowing, many of the sites weren't ready, and the lower bath house was boarded up. The waterfront sites do not have sewer connections, and there are a limited number of sites with 50amp power. The sites are grass/dirt/a little gravel, and some appeared to be not very level. Our site, 150, had giant tire ruts, but they were far enough away from where I parked to not cause a problem. The sites are big enough to handle most any size rig. The one open bath house was clean, although the showers were quite rustic. The park is convenient to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, and guests are provided with a comprehensive packet of local guides, maps, and information. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$54
One of the most beautiful sites we've stayed in: right on the water with a nice place to sit and think. Really very nice job! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
We camped here with a 33 foot rig. This park has full-hookup sites with electric, water and sewer. Spent a week here in late September while visiting Acadia National Park; great location for this. The free shuttle bus stops here too. Excellent restaurants close by. Sites are averaged size. Most have some view of the Frenchman’s bay. Both full sun and shaded sites are available. We had a full sun site which allowed us to enjoy the incredible night sky on Mt Desert Island. Nice laundromat with ample machines. Access roads were wide enough. The campground was very big so there were plenty of roads for walking the dog. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We were given a 10 minute orientation of the area when we checked in. Bathroom facilities were average but very clean. Staff was frequently seen tending to bathrooms and campground. We recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$68
Location, Location is what brought us to this campground. We stayed on one of their premium sites, which cost more money. It was to be a big rig, pull-through site. This particular site had a large tree in the way which caused us to back out. Campground seem tired. Sites need gravel and dressing up. Floors in bathroom were painted and peeling. Wi-Fi is extra $$. For the money I would expect a better campground. Would check out other campgrounds if returning to this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
A little pricey but considering the location and campground amenities, it was OK. It was a typical campground with nothing that would create a lasting memory. The restrooms were OK but the tight toilet space in the main restrooms is worth noting. The restrooms near the tent area is bigger and better. The staff seemed a little inexperienced with my reservation through Reserve America. I'd stay there again even though it was a pricey campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
The staff was very friendly, but sent us to a 30 amp site first. We did go to a 50 amp site next. The sites were a bit small and not very level. The water pressure was low. We were in a 40 footer and were able to squeeze in and get level. There was a great area to walk the dogs. A bit expensive for what we got. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$49
We were some what disappointed in this campground after high expectations. The sites for RV's are extremely small and tight fitting. There were quite a number of big rig motor homes in the 40ft range. Talking to one family, I guess they give a nice discount to Family Motor Coach members. Otherwise I can't for the life of me figure why large rigs would be staying here. You have no room at your site to "set up camp" with your awning, mats, chairs etc. One set of "waterfront" sites had the fire pits about six to eight feet apart! This campground is very old with very little up dating. Our picnic table seats were four inch wide boards. Though the wash/shower rooms were clean, there is no heat in them and again in desperate need of updating. One restroom facility was already shut down for the season even though their RV sites were about 2/3s or more full. My wife and I would not stay at this campground again. If not for the friendly folks who checked us in, I probably would give the campground itself a lower rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$73
This is a beautiful campground right on the ocean that we have camped in many years in a row. We shortened our stay here because it is too expensive. It seems like they are behind on their maintenance as the grass was quite long and the picnic tables were in poor shape. They are short handed so the wait in the office was longer than it should be. I'd hate to see it when they were busy. I also don't like the resort fee they tack on to your bill. The staff was courteous but not friendly. We won't stay here again, it's really too bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$70
We did not actually stay here, although we had made reservations. I called and made reservations in January for a 50amp site with sewer for August arrival, and even discussed site selection with them. They told me that while they could not guarantee any of the specific sites we discussed, they did guarantee me a 50 amp site w/sewer. However, when we checked in, we were to be assigned a 30 amp site, unacceptable for the unseasonably warm temperatures they were expecting during our stay, which would allow us to only run one of our A/C units. When I protested, I was told that our reservation had been changed by an assistant manager and there was nothing that the front desk staff could do to move us and that this was not the first time such changes had been made to reservations. Nor would they let me speak to any management staff. They did eventually (after much protest) offer to send us to their sister park, Narrows Too, which had all 50amp w/sewer sites, and the staff there were very friendly & helpful, the facilities nearly new and clean, and the campsites much more spacious. Would stay at Narrows Too again, but never at Mt Desert Narrows. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Overall this is a nice campground. Initially we had booked an ocean front site, but the sites are so close together that our neighbors with kids were spilling into the site, so we asked to move elsewhere. The office staff were very accommodating and very friendly. The ocean front sites are not very water accessible and during low tide the beach is muddy, so it didn't matter to us that we weren't near the water. The view of the water from this campground is beautiful. There is shuttle bus service into Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, you can put your bike on the bus too. The staff were pretty much invisible during our stay, but we didn't stay at the campground much as there is so much to do in the area. The bathrooms/showers were clean, the pool is heated, but a bit too warm during warm weather. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
Great park! You are right on the free bus route to downtown Bar Harbor and throughout Acadia Natl Park. Big sites with some trees. Nice pool and laundry. Wi-Fi you pay for, Tengo. Works great. Staff was very friendly and always helpful. Clean bathrooms and showers. We liked being near the water. If we come back to the area we would stay the season at this park. Highly recommend this park for this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$65
This is a large park but does not seem so as it is stretched out along the bay so that there are many waterfront sites as well as those with partial views of the water. The bay is quite shallow here though, so it is mostly rocks and seaweed at lower tide levels. The campground has been carved into a sloping and rocky terrain, but the sites are grassy and level with some shaded sites. Some of the sites on the level nearest the waterfront were pretty muddy from recent rains. There is shuttlebus service to Acadia Park and Bar Harbor, but the drive is about 20 minutes. Nice evening activities as well. We would return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$70
I could live at this campground. The view was stunning and the location was perfect. There is a free shuttle around Mount Desert Isle that allowed dogs on it. We didn't use it but it is a great service for getting to Bar Harbor and to the various points in Acadia National Park. I wouldn't camp anywhere else on MDI. The pool and playground were nice, but the playground could use some updating. The entertainment was only so-so. This is a campground that you should use as a base of operation for exploring Acadia and Bar Harbor. It's not full of things to do on its own. If you like entertainment self-contained in your campground, this isn't it. They do offer canoeing/kayaking off their shores for a reasonable rate and Wi-Fi is $15 for the week. It was a bit pricey, but we had a great time and would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
Delightful level pull through with all amenities on the value program of Ready, Camp, Go through Thousand Trails. There were activities most every evening and a local free shuttle to Acadia National Park as well as Bar Harbor. Well stocked store and all facilities kept both attractive and clean. Definitely would return again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
The park was clean and quiet. The sites were plenty wide but barely long enough for a larger motorhome, and they were barely level. The 50 amp electric service worked well. WI-FI is through Tengonet, and very weak at the bottom of the hill, and as posted before, cell phone signals border on being nonexistent often. There were no major issues, but we will probably not return to this campground because of the small things. There are plenty of other campgrounds in the immediate area, including one affiliate of this campground, which will more than meet our expectations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$78
Multiple sites had issues with stripped threads at the hose bib connection, but the maintenance staff were very responsive to provide a temporary plastic adapter. All sites are gravel but the ground was saturated from recent rains causing a muddy experience even with the grass. Cable was excellent but cell phone coverage down the hill in the campground was extreme fringe to no coverage. The laundry was clean but on the expensive side for both washers and dryers. We used this campground as a base for 7 days to explore Bar Harbor, Acadia NP, and take a lighthouse cruise tour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
The park was about 50% full on Columbus Day weekend. We had a nice site with view to the north overlooking the bay. We would have stayed longer but they closed on Tuesday. It is a good location and has good access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
We camped in Sept after school was back in session. Only a dozen or so other campers. We picked a site with a great ocean view, water and electric for under $35. Staff is great. Close to Acadia and all its attractions. This place would be very crowded at the peak of summer however. Don't bother with the Wi-Fi. TengoInternet is extremely slow and their Customer Service was less than helpful. We would stay here again in the off season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$70
We had a great site overlooking a bay. The staff was friendly, the campground clean, and overall we had a great time there. The "heated" pool was nice for the kids but way too cold for me. Other than that it was a good time! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$43
I am happy to report that our weekend experience at the Mt. Desert Narrows was completely positive. We arrived Friday early evening, 6:00ish. Our camping companions had arrived earlier in the day, and the kids were already in the heated pool. We have not made reservations for the weekend for the last 5 years as the campground has never been full and space was always available. While it did seem busier this past weekend than in past years, there were still ample adjacent spots. The office originally put us in two spots with little shade but as our friends got to the sites, they paused to look. Someone on a golf cart stopped and asked if there was something they could help with. Our friends asked if the couple sites across the road under some nice shade trees were open this weekend. The person left and returned and said they are open and we were welcome to them. On the map, it's the sites 10,11, and 12. We had 11 and 12. Best non-water sites in the park. Pool was warm (perhaps a bit TOO warm) and clean. Baths were as normal, clean. Staff was friendly. There were a few changes we noticed - no complementary morning news paper delivery and since they are now open until the middle of October (they used to close after Labor Day) there was no Pajama madness Sunday night sale at the camp store. The pie lady still makes deliveries from her car, bell in hand. We had blueberry. The lobsters we picked up from the little shack just down the road were still incredible. The weather, aside from a quick 30-minute rain storm Saturday night was near perfect. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$67
The campground was very convenient to Acadia National Park. The sites were tight. The staff was very friendly. The truly ocean view sites are the first row along the marshes, none of which have hook ups. I called very early to book so our site was the closest one to the water with hook ups. We could not see the water. There was usually a waiting line for showers. My kids tried the pool once but it was packed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$90
Very nice park with some beautiful spots on the water. We had a waterfront site and you should know that you won't get waves since it is in the "narrows" between the island and the mainland. But you can get some beautiful sunsets and it is great to look out over the water (it looks like a calm lake). The water recedes quite a bit when the tide goes out and the bottom is fairly muddy. The showers were very nice (especially at the larger bath house between the RV and tent secions) with plenty of hot water. Some of the stalls had some peeling paint however. The pool and playground were clean and in good shape. This is the most I have ever paid for a campsite, but I just loved to sit out and look over the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$70
For those of you that have had wonderful experiences at Mt Desert Narrows prior to 2008, this is not the same place. It was sold during the winter of 2007/2008 and is under new management. I camped here as the wagon master for a group of 7 RV's from July 18 to July 25 of 2008. The problems started in late January when we had trouble making our reservations. We were finally given a special extension (220) to call for reservations and assured by their call center in NY that the 6 RV's in the group requesting premium sites, would be together. This was confirmed multiple times by people in the group calling them in the six months prior to our arrival, including a week before our arrival. When we arrived, our group was not together and management refused to put us near each other. Apparently, they had given our sites away to other campers who did not like the sites they had been assigned prior to our arrival. It gets worse. Those that did not pay in full (due to their “No Refund” policy) in January/February, were charged a $3 a night "Resort Fee" surcharge. I have no idea how they figure this average campground is a resort. Since the surcharge does not appear on their website and the surcharge was added after I made my reservations in late January, I did not feel that I should have to pay it. The workampers at the reception desk were not able to help me, but they assured me that since the "resort fee" was not being charged when I made my reservation, it would be taken off when I spoke to the Facilities Manager. His attitude was that everyone had to pay the surcharge, regardless of when you made the reservation. After you agree to pay their absorbent nightly rate in January/February, they feel they can up the rate with a surcharge. You are supposed to pay it without question. At this point I should have let my credit card company deal with it, but I had to say that I would mention all this in a review on RVParkreviews. He immediately told me I had 1 hour to leave the campground and then called the police. The police officer suggested that I just move up the street to Hadley’s Point Campground or Bar Harbor Campground. In retrospect, both would have been 1/2 the price of Mt. Desert Narrows. I was told to stop by the office on the way out and they would refund the surcharge. They did, but I still had to leave. Even though the skies were blue in the west, I packed up in a ferocious rainstorm. This ruined our vacation as the family had been looking forward all week to a planned kayaking tour which had to be curtailed. This campground has huge problems. I will never stay here again and I will not recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$99
Just returned from this campground. I would not recommend it to anyone! For the price paid, we expected clean, great sites. The water did not work for 2 days, which means you could not wash clothes either, the site numbers on the ocean were incorrectly numbered, the pool by the end of the week was green! I would recommend you look for a different campground if considering this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
Excellent Campground. People are very friendly and helpful. The site was absolutely level. Power, water, Cable all excellent. WIFI works well, but is provided by a service for fee . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
We spent a week and a half here. The views are great but the sites are tight. They also cater to motorhomes so our fifthwheel faced the motorhome door to door, not nice. Also this park is overpriced at best, its not a $70 (primetime) campground. The bathrooms are clean but small and there are only two, one was closed for the season. The people here are nice but are quicker to take your money than tell you there are no refunds if you don't like your site. If coming in a fifth wheel stay in sites 10B or 9A, they are a little cheaper and are just as good and even better for privacy. I would look at alternatives if I return to the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$80
We had been scheduled to stay a week, but due to car troubles we could only stay 3. We were told originally, when booking, it would be $70 a night but at check-in it was $80. We don't know if that was because we had to stay less time. We had a slight bay view out our passenger windows until neighbors put up a large screened-in room which completely blocked it unless you stood in the motorhome step-well. Roomy enough sites, good 50 amp, but water pressure a trickle. Would stay somewhere else if in Bar Harbor again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$75
I called to book at this park and was booked into their sister park of Narrows Too instead. Narrows too is more expensive than the Mt. Desert Narrows and not a scenic as Mt. Desert Narrows. They stated to us the WIFI was free upon reservation, but when we arrived we were told it would cost us additional $4.00 a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$50
Nice campground. We chose to stay in a site with water and 50 amp electric right on the Mt. Desert Narrows. The sites with sewer are up the hill and we wanted to be right on the water. If you choose to do this, be sure to have jack pads since we sank in without them since it was late May and rainy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$45
This campground has many amenities and can be categorized as full service. They even deliver a daily newspaper to the door of your camper. They advertise Wi-Fi, but this is through a third party vendor and does entail credit card charges. The front desk staff is friendly and more than helpful. This campground is located directly on the road leading to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$48
Thank goodness when we checked in, there were no other rv's. This place would be a nightmare due to such a small area to park your rv while registering. This campground offers many site options for every type of river. Sites that are right on Fisherman's Bay that are W/E only. Ones with view of bay that are full hook up with extended cable and just W/E. This is nice since everyone has different taste. Since we only called a day in advance, we were lucky because we got a great full hook up site overlooking the bay. I was worried because in looking at the Woodall's book, the typical site width was listed as 24ft so assumed sites were going to be very close together. On the bay, they are, however our site was very spacious pull thru - probably 45 x35. The site beside of us was position where it was more on our back side than beside of us. Staff very friendly. When I called to make the reservation, I told the person I wanted to make sure I had a site that I could see the water and she lived up to her promise. We also asked many questions of staff while there and all were friendly. Staff was on golf cars going through the campground all of the time. A paper is delivered every morning, which, to me, is a nice touch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
Great location, sites a little tight but not bad. Bathroom facilities need to be updated. View is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$60
Very nice, waterfront site. Bathrooms extremely clean and fun entertainment. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$65
Very nice place. Very clean and well kept. We had a pull through site with full hook-up's, cable TV and a phone line (for my laptop) that was very nice. There was an ocean view when the tide was in, but just a muddy sea bottom when the tide was out. This didn't bother us at all as we thought the tide coming in and out was pretty neat to see. Some might think the nightly rate to be excessive, but considering where we were, I didn't think so. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$65
For the amount of money they charged, I expected the type of site we requested, clean facilities and an enjoyable atmosphere. We camp in a pop-up without a/c so I requested a shady site when I made our reservation back in December. When we arrived, they gave us a full sun site, we went back to the office and reminded them we requested a shady site, we were told that it was all they had and that they wouldn't refund our money. We decided to stick it out. The next morning I waited about 30 minutes for a shower just to find that it had human waste on the wall, so I waited for another shower and it was filthy with soap scum build up. I mentioned this to an employee and he said that they have had a problem with people smearing their waste on the shower stalls and that they can't use anything strong on the walls for soap scum because the owner said it eats away at the paint. We were very careful not to touch or bump into the walls from that point on when we showered. Their brochure and website state that they are oceanfront. We only saw water for about three hours a day just before and after high tide, otherwise it was clam flats and mud. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$55
I never give anyone a top 10 rating as I am can almost always find room for some improvement. The staff here was top notch. The restrooms and shower facilities were also clean and above average. The waterfront sites border a beautiful cove and if the camp were full it would be difficult to get to the waters edge without crossing over an occupied site. We visited as a family of 5 (3 kids ages 9, 8 and 5) and being late in the summer season many families with children had already headed back to school. This left the park with many larger camping vehicles and retired couples. There were activities each night at the recreation center which we enjoyed when not enjoyed Acadia nighttime programs. One small drawback could be the proximity to road noise but even that wasnt too bad for most of the night. We used the pool once and it was clean and well kept. We didnt need the laundry facilities but they never appeared crowded when we passed by them. The National Park impressed us much more than our expectations and the option of using the Island Express shuttle busses (free) was a welcome treat. We will head back again at some point after exploring other parts of the US. We would not hesitate booking with this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$55
We have stayed at the "Narrows" each summer since 1996, we love camping at this campground. This is a wonderful family campground, with friendly employees and the quiet hours strictly enforced. They have hayrides each evening, nightly entertainment, and some spectacular sunset views. The Island Explorer shuttle bus picks you up and drops you off right at the campground, this is a free service that makes many stops on Mount Desert Island. Our site was a waterfront site with electric and water for $55.00 per night, they do have other sites with other amenities at different rates. The rates at the Narrows include two adults and two children. Even though we love the "Narrows", I did not rate it a perfect 10 because of the laundry facilities. It costs $2.50 to wash and $2.50 to dry a single load of clothes. They only have four single load washing machines and six stack dryers. We have two daughters that change their outfits at least two to three times a day, so we wash our clothes at a laundromat in town. If you are planning a trip to the Bar Harbor area, I suggest that you make reservations. Bar Harbor is a very popular vacation spot with many points of interest. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2001
$72
Stay away from this park if you don't want to be dissapointed. It is ridiculously overpriced, no grass to speak of, the ocean is just a back bay that is nothing but a mudhole at low tide. They have a no refund policy and a policy that if you booked 5 nights you are going to pay for 5 nights. I now know why: because everyone would go to the several, lovely, resonably priced, surrounding parks and campgrounds. I guess you can tell that this review is a BIG THUMBS DOWN!!! From the advertising we were expecting a top notch place. I guess he with the largest ad gets the most inflated rating, something has to be done about the directory rating system. Loved Bar Harbor just hated this campground and would have camped elsewhere after we saw it. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$40
Ok campground but ocean sites were disappointing. Pull thrus large enough but not all were that level. Despite Bar Harbor location, it's overpriced. Though it was early in the season, staff was not knowledgeable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com