219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Heaton Bay/ White River National Forest was rated 7 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (970) 945-2521
CGID12810

Heaton Bay/ White River National Forest

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   8   10   6   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
Nice park as others said, but be aware there is NO sign on Dillon Dam Road. You can see the sign about 100' down the road as you pass it up. There is a turn-around at the dam but it is tight for a 45' motorhome. And we were in site C-27 that is supposed to be 65' but my 45' motorhome barely fits, and the site is too narrow to fit my truck alongside the motorhome. So it is parked in overflow parking about 1/4 mile walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$16
This is a great Forest Service campground right outside town. It is very large but there is only one loop that has electric and water hookups. All the sites are paved with great views of the Rockies. The campground host was very helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$19
We managed to snag a walk-in site for 2 nights (before the fully booked weekend) and really enjoyed the campground. Very clean, very conscientious camp hosts, huge sites with fire rings and tables and wildflowers/views galore. Yes, there's a bit of highway noise, but this just means it's convenient to get to town (walking or driving). Wish there was water to fill tanks and a dump station, but we'll get that handled down the road. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$8
360 degree panoramic views of pristine, snow capped mountains nestled along a giant reservoir and level, well spaced campsites make for plum perfect camping. Direct access to the Dillon/Frisco bike path allows you to cycle into any surrounding town or take a day ride up Vail Pass into Leadville and back to Copper Mountain. The classic ski town of Breckenridge is just 5 miles away. Take the free bus and get to all the local attractions or Friday Farmers Markets from this outstanding camping location. Very dog friendly, good area fishing, boating and relaxing are waiting for you here at Heaton Bay. The water/electric is loop C and is a little closer to I-70 so we choose to camp in a dry site as the price is so good, the views are better and we are assured zero freeway noise. But don't worry, even Loop C is beautiful and offers a little more convenience when camping in a RV. We look forward to visiting this lovely area whenever possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$9
They do NOT have water this year so go with a full tank. There are NOT waterfront sites unless you are in a tent, and even those are a long way from the water as the lake level is very low. The campground has few trees, as the pine beetle has taken them. My site was paved, level, and had a very nice newer metal table. Sites were large and had 60-75 feet between them. Hosts were never around (and I was next to them) so could not get a problem with noisy neighbor resolved. I would go back only if passing through, not as a destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
Nice lake, nice town, sites were level. The lack of trees was something I found disheartening, but know that's mother nature. I just didn't get a good feel for me. That's not to say it was unsafe, dirty, or ugly, just wasn't my cup of tea. Nice place to overnight though and electric and water for only $24 is not a bad deal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$9
This is a National Forest Camp. The park was a little overgrown with weeds. The staff was very helpful. There is one area that takes reservations and has electric. Another area is for tents only. We did not reserve soon enough to get electric. This park gets a lot of use because of its location. It is on the shores of Dillon Reservoir with great views. It is only 1 mile from town, but seems remote. The area was hit with pine boars a few years ago and all the large trees are gone. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com