223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Gros Ventre Campground -- NPS Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (307) 739-3300
CGID12845

Gros Ventre Campground -- NPS Campground

Camp Information
Sites
360
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   8   8   8   5   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$24
Very friendly staff. Dump station has water, nothing at site. No WiFi, but telephone reception. We were there when Moose were in the campground, and Bison just outside the park, so took some great photos. Stayed two nights. Jackson just down the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
We stayed in the RV-electric section of the park. It was clean and well-laid out. There are a mix of dirt sites and paved sites. We stayed in each by getting a dirt site the first night and moving to a paved one for the rest of our stay. Some of the dirt sites are quite small and would not work for our small (29 ft) motorcoach. Getting a level site could be a problem. All the paved sites were spacious and mostly level. The campground hosts and attendants were very nice and helpful. There is no wifi here but we had strong enough signals on Verizon and AT&T to connect to the internet. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$46
Gros Venture was our last resort; however very glad we lucked out here. Close to the hiking and things we wanted to do; and easy driving to catch the things up at Coulter Bay area. Large campsites in the area. Park is currently undergoing renovations and installing electric at a number of sites. We had a newly renovated site; huge, and paved pad and parking area, with electricity, fire pit and picnic table. Site was level fore and aft and left to right, a bonus. Washrooms were immaculate with running water but no soap provided and only cold water. Hosts were very friendly and informative about things to see and do. Only drawback is the price of $46 per night; but like everywhere in the Jackson area bring money! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$11
Rate reflects senior park pass. Roads and sites run small. If they would move the back retention logs it would give sites much more space. Fire pit, picnic table and restrooms, otherwise no hookups. Sites are mixed trees and open and most slightly off level. We had bison move through the park each evening down to the river. Good hiking and national park sites close by, Moose Junction, Jenny Lake, Taggert Lake, Phelp's Lake @ Rockafeller center (best trails in the park!). Friendly host and close to Jackson for activities, fuel and grocery. If you're headed to Yellowstone you Must stock up on groceries and fuel as it's your last chance for reasonable prices and selection before you reach Montana. And the scenery...priceless ! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$11
Rate is with NP Access pass. Park has paved roads but sites are gravel. There is a fire pit and picnic table at site. Area is sagebrush. A moose frequented our campsite. There is a river for fishing. Dump station and water available. Restrooms are clean but no soap dispenser nor paper towels/hand dryer. Stopped for threes nights while on our way up to Yellowstone. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
Lots of trees. Very nice management. A river was behind campground that you could walk to easily. Generators off at 8 pm. A moose hung out around camp area. Saw the prints in the mud, but in the two days there didn't see the moose. Coyotes yipping at night. Fifteen to twenty minutes from downtown Jackson. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
The best part about this park is that it is in the NP and it is cheap! The sites are a mix bag. If they moved the logs back some, they would have many more available sites. We tried a couple spots before we were able to find one to fit our 38 foot motorhome. Full sun, but the weather was not hot! We stayed 3 days because it was convenient to the southern part of the park. And Jackson. Would prefer Colter Bay because of the hookups and larger sites, but this worked out just fine. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We stayed in one of the ADA electric hookups sites for $35.50; would have been even more without our passes. Rate is ridiculous but really needed the hookup. Site very wide and paved. Restroom super clean but no soap or dryer: even Colter Bay has that. Highlight was seeing moose in the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Loved this campground. See previous Aug 13 review for details; I won't repeat that person's great review. We got one of the sites that aren't in the loops (#5) because we asked for a quiet place where we wouldn't have to deal with noisy people, given our previous night's disaster at Colter Bay. We got exactly what we asked for: lots of room and no one around. Our only complaint was that we had no shade, but that also meant we had gorgeous views of the Tetons. Some early risers (6AM) leaving the park, but that was the only noise. Great location near Mormon Row, near the National Forest lands (where you should take your dog), and not far from Jackson. We will definitely consider coming back here (if we don't stay at the National Forest campground at Lake Atherton, which was really wonderfully quiet and peaceful). Boondocking at its best, since we had plentiful sunshine to charge our solar panels, delicious fresh water to fill our tanks, and a very good dump station to, well, you know. And friendly office folks who took pains to make you happy. We most definitely were. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Gros Ventre campground is about 12 miles south of the Moose entrance to the Grant Tetons. The dump station is across the street from the campground office. Turning right just beyond the office is designated for tents and no generators are allowed. Turning left are the loops for RVs and tents. Generators here are allowed between 8 AM and 8 PM. This campground is dry camping, except for the handicap sites. The sites are really a mixed bag. Some sites are level and large, some are not. Weeds and shrubs are slowing taking over all of the sites. The sites and roads used to be paved many, many years ago. Crumbing pot-holed pavement is all that is left. The bathrooms are typical for National Park Service campgrounds. Old and very dated, however, they are clean. Verizon air card did not work from our site and the cell phone only had one bar. Overall, this is a nice campground. Far enough away to avoid the crowds, but close enough to access the southern section of the Grand Tetons. We would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
What a pleasant surprise! We spent 5 nights there including July 4th when we did not even leave the campground. There are sites for everyone. Some only big enough for a tent camper with a car up to a 45' bus conversion. There are sites with no shade & sites with plenty of shade. Take your pick. The only point lost was because, well, $21 for dry camping?? Just a bit much even if in a national park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This was a good spot to stay for one night while visiting Jackson. There's nothing special about the campground, not much shade and mostly just fields of sagebrush. There are no hook ups, but the cost was only $21, and it gave me a spot to sleep, empty my tanks and fill with water before heading back east. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$10
This campground is in Teton National Park but outside the entrance. The senior rate is $10. Sites are well spaced. The campground is within short walking distance of the Gros Ventre River. The staff was very helpful. Pronounced Grow Vont. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
This is a great campground, if you like scenery and don't need hook-ups. Many sites to chose from. There are sites that will accommodate rigs from large to small. Rest rooms are clean and maintained daily. Satellite TV works good here. There is Wi-Fi behind the office, but not from the CG sites. There are open areas and wooded areas. Lots of moose in late summer and fall. Campground borders the Gros Ventre river which is clear and flows well. Office personnel are great. Friendly and helpful. This is a very big cg so lots of room for walking and riding bikes. Also, some electrical hook-ups for handicapped. Roads are paved but getting a little rough; NPS needs more funds! Camp site pads are gravel and satisfactory. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
This is a wonderful park. If you have a big rig, you need to select your site carefully. We were able to get our Verizon Broadband Wireless Internet and cell phone to work albeit poorly at times. Our DirecTV worked well from our site and there are 6 local channels available as well. The water is great so you will want to fill your tank here. There is a definite bottleneck in the dump site/drinking water site so you will need to be patient. They could improve this situation easily if they wanted to. There is limited recycling there as well. We would definitely stay here again. It is first come first served so plan accordingly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$21
Must be self contained here. There are very limited generator hours in some sections of the CG and no generators allowed in other sections. Centrally located water spigots can be several hundred feet away. $21 seems very high for a NPS no-service CG, but this is of course the Yellowstone/Teton area. There are pit toilet facilities that were quite clean. One dump station at the entrance/exit was very crowded at check-out time (as you can imagine for a 360 space CG!). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
This park is convenient to Grand Teton and Jackson Hole and all there is to do in the area. No frills camping @ $10/night. Although we were given a site for our 40' motorhome we still had a tight fit. It seems the logs that are used as the stop point are very big in circumference and can endanger some rigs' lower hanging gear, particularly if you have air suspension and leveling jacks. Great views from our site, staff is terrific and helpful. We would definitely return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
Great location, that's the positive. The campground is old, the site pullouts were once paved, but that has weathered away to dirt, and the bathrooms need to be demolished and rebuilt. As with Colter Bay, zero maintenance has been done here in 40 years. Except, 9 brand new paved, big, level sites have been installed, with electric. Brand new bathroom also. Beautiful sites, BUT, only for handicap access, and the price for those sites more than doubles. What about the rest of the campground? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Love this park, always stop here in GTNP but July is just too busy with families and noisy generators. Some people are really inconsiderate , leaving their stupid generators on all day, even when the weather is pleasant. Rate is $20. 50, before Golden discount. Sites are assigned now. Verizon cell worked ok but internet access poor unless you stand by the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Great NPS CG! Clean restrooms, very friendly staff. A-Loop allows generators and seems to have bigger sites. A-loop is also closer to the Gros Ventre River for a nice walk and/or trout fishing. This is our 3rd time staying here and will be back. Hopefully your rig is sealed up pretty good. Apparently ours is not and we had some mice get in. Learned a good lesson to always carry a few traps and peanut butter with me when we travel. A nice man from Wisconsin let us have a few traps and we got rid of our problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Great location if you're visiting Jackson or the Southern/Central parts of GTNP. Probably the most secluded of all the campgrounds in GTNP. It appeared as if there are limited sites that can accommodate rigs over 25'. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$10
We love Gros Ventre Campground and stay here everytime we come to Jackson Hole and the Grand Tetons. The campground is convenient to the town of Jackson (10 miles) and the Moose Visitors Center (8 miles). There are so many spaces it rarely fills. One can feel confident that during the height of season in one of most visited National Parks in the country, one can get a place to stay. The Grand Teton Lodge Company staff does an excellent job of taking care of the campground and everyone is friendly and courteous. There is a nightly campfire talk by a National Park ranger. We attended most and found them enjoyable. There is lots of animal sightings on the road to the campground with a bison herd ready for their closeup with the tourists. Price reflects Golden Age discount. We stayed for 14 days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
A big park! A mix of sagebrushy sites and some shady tree sites. River is accessible via a trail from some sites. This campground worked fine as a base for exploring the rest of the park. A good middle location between town of Jackson and the main park action farther north. Very quiet at night. We would camp here again. A nice dump station at the entrance. Fresh water is only available at that spot, at least to hook into your RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
This is my third time staying here and I have never been disappointed. Very quiet especially at night. Starry skies are awesome. Sites were available even on holiday weekend though not all can handle longer rigs. Lots of wildlife nearby. Two bull moose came through campground on second morning. True dry camping with dump and fresh water fill at campground entrance. Generators are allowed during the day on A-C loops. If your visit calls for trips to Jackson this is much more convenient than other park campgrounds. Excellent hiking and bike trails are also nearby. New bike path is currently under construction from town of Jackson to Moose Jct so bicycles will never have to be on the main road. Will definitely stay here on future visits. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This is a quiet and wooded campground that I would definitely stay in again. The restrooms weren't the cleanest I've seen, but weren't horrible, either. There are no shower facilities on the premises. The closest showers are several miles away at Colter Bay and are coin operated. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Campground was convenient to Jackson and Tetons. I would have picked Jenny Lake if we were in a tent. Due to our size, Gros Ventre was pretty much our only choice. Campground is in the middle of sage brush. No Grass. No Hookups. No showers. Only one dump station. Pretty views of the Tetons if you have a western edge site. Moose right outside of camp(very cool). Office closes early if you need firewood. Ashes from fire rings are spread in site, so it made for dirty feet in the trailer. It was OK, but I would choose elsewhere if there were a better RV option. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Typical Park Service park. We stayed in loop "B" with no generators. I use solar panels and there are some good sites for solar. We were in site 100. Any around this site are good for solar. Close to Jackson and lower Teton Park attractions. 37 miles to Coulter Bay for showers etc. You now check in at the office first and get assigned a site. We looked the park over the day before we arrived and selected a few sites that would work. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rate is with Golden Age pass We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$8
I have been camping in this park for over 30 years so I guess I like it. It's the closest NP campground to Jackson and it's located on the Gros Ventre road to Kelly Warm Springs. You turn east onto this road off US-26, 89 & 189 (the main N/S road in the Park), just south of the entrance to the Jackson Hole airport. NP traffic signs are kind of small so be on the alert. It's a dry camping only, rustic park and this year I stayed in the loop designed for larger RV's that allowed generator usage all night. Other loops do not allow any generators so choose your site accordingly. It is the last campground in the park to fill up and most of the time it never fills up so if you are arriving late at night, there is a good possibility that there will be an empty site somewhere. Moose were all over the place this year, other wildlife can be found near the Gros Ventre river. Bison are common place. Check in procedure is a little weird. You tour the grounds, pick a site and then come back and pay for the site. If you have the opportunity, don't miss the daily gunfight in Jackson. It happens late in the afternoon but check the time to be sure. P.S. The good guys always win - lol. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com