218177 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Apple Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (207) 967-4927
CGID1292

Red Apple Campground

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   10   10   7   9   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$57
This is a very clean and well cared for campground. It is quiet and well situated just outside of Kennebunkport. Interior roads and campsite pads are paved. Spacing is very adequate but not overly long for big rigs. We camped here in a 40 RV and had very little space for our tow vehicle. The biggest drawback is it is cash or check only, no credit cards. It has lots of trees so satellite is difficult. The Wi-Fi is reasonable at our site. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$62
I will make this very short. This is an excellent place to stay. This CG is squeaky clean. Staff members ride around all day making sure the place is clean. The location makes it very easy to visit Wells, Kennebunk and Saco. This place comes highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$57
This is one of the nicest campgrounds that we have stayed in, and we have camped over the whole USA. Very clean everywhere--showers, restrooms, campsites. Paved roads and pads, with good sized lots in between sites with nice grass. Owners very helpful and available. The owner even loaned me a walking stick. Located near to most of south Maine. The only reason that I would not be so complimentary is for fear that it would be full the next time in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$53
Outstanding in every way. Not a single issue. I knew it was going to be great when I met Rocky, the Campground Dog, sitting at the check-in table. I have stayed at "Coach Resorts". This beats them all yet is for tent campers to Prevosts. Beautiful, manicured grass everywhere. Owners and staff constantly tending the grounds and taking care of guests. VERY friendly and helpful. Attention to the smallest of details yet unobtrusive...you don't feel like you are being watched for infractions. Dog park is manicured with a holder for campground-supplied toys. Nice dog bowl always full of fresh water. Seasonal rigs are spotless and the owners very hospitable. Quiet! Very pet friendly yet heard no dogs and no poop anywhere. Very nice and expensive gas BBQs placed throughout the park for guest use. Nice fire rings with grill on every site. Huge gathering/meeting room in the office. Excellent free Wi-Fi. Very convenient to Kennebunkport. I could go on but you get the picture. This is the best campground we have ever stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$60
We stayed here 3 nights. Very nice park and all blacktop. Constant mowing and tidying up. Spotless! Plus you order lobster in the morning and it gets delivered right to your door around 5:30. It's cheap, too! They do this as a courtesy, not to make money. We were in C-3 which was a little tight for our 36' to back in and pull out. Otherwise, the site was wide and accommodating. Very friendly We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
This is a very neat, well run park. Paved sites everywhere. But for $60/night it would be nice to have cable and sewer, not have to choose between the two. The sites are really too close together for us. Laundry was very nice, but no pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$53
Efficient, helpful, friendly staff. Very clean, well maintained the owners have thought of everything including leveling boards. Handy to Kennebunkport and surrounding areas. Extremely quiet with sites large enough to not feel squeezed in. Internet works well and much appreciated! Many permanent residence, all clean and well landscaped the only unusual thing is that often a camper or two are placed between permanent sites. Laundry is clean with 4 washers and dryers but, only 3 were in service during our visit. We stayed here in a motor home, towing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$57
Very nice campground populated with park models and very well kept. The folks are very friendly. There are about 2 dozen sites for daily rental. Easy in, easy out. Cute campground, so do not let the number of park models deter you from visiting. We will return in the future. There was one weird rule; you can not use your on board washer/dryer. Never asked the reason behind this rule. All paved sites with full hook ups. Even delivered lobster to your door. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$57
This is a great RV park that is run beautifully. Full hookups with good water pressure, consistent amps, level sites, relaxing setting and good access to beaches and this beautiful part of Maine. I would return here in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$52
We arrived to friendly staff that accommodated our need for a clear sky (satellite). The campground is well-manicured and neat. Most of the campground appears to be seasonal campers that appeared to have headed south by now. The laundry room was very clean. This is a great campground for exploring the southern Maine coastal towns and beaches. There are many exceptional restaurants in the area. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$55
The campground is beautifully maintained. Sites are good size and the facilities are very clean. Their staff is accommodating. They are considerate enough to provide a free parking pass for those who drive into Kennebunkport. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$53
Would try another place next time. We felt we were sold some baloney. The best part is that it's quite close to Kennebunkport. Otherwise not my kind of place. It's a very large park, mostly semi or permanent residents which provides a different feel. The man who answered the phone first stated they didn't have space then said oh he found one. The spot they assigned us was about the worst vacant one, there were many other vacant spots which had trees and not plastered up against a manufactured home as we were. So no ambiance. The laundry facility was too small for the campground size and some washer/dryers not working, so some of us had quite a bottleneck. If you want to be close in it's fine but pick out your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
We found this campground to be a nice place to stay while visiting Kennebunkport and the surrounding areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$53
Don't be fooled by the campground website! We stayed for 10 nights in a cramped, completely overlooked campsite. When we were unhappy upon check in and asked to move just 1 spot over we were denied, yet proceeded to watch 5 other transient units come and go during the course of our stay. The owners response was to provide a pamphlet to another campground! We too, were surprised that the only form of payment was cash or cheque and had to send a cheque in advance to be converted to US funds which cost us an additional $20.00. No pool, no privacy and owners that are cocky. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$53
Nicely maintained park, quiet, with only 7 paved pull through sites for big rigs. It is a little tight maneuvering. We have the following complaints. To make reservations you must send them a deposit by check in the mail(they do not except credit cards). How old fashioned and inconvenient! Don't follow their directions to approach on Log Cabin Rd. It is a bad road, pavement caving in, narrow, and a tight right turn. If in a big rig, come another way! No security. Our site was bad, unlevel and a soggy mess due to poor drainage. Could not access our storage or utilities without getting our feet wet. Site had no privacy, next to a seasonal and two other campers that were very close. Ninety percent seasonals in this park, it felt like camping in a trailer park. They decided to mow the grass at our site the day after a heavy rain and blew wet grass all over the pavement which we had to step in for 5 days. No cable connection at our post so we had to stretch a long cable across our site to the one next door. We found out after we got settled that they do not allow the use of your own washer dryer (must use their laundromat). Their policies are not posted on their web-site and if we had known, we would not have stayed there. We are full-time and this is very important to us. In conclusion, for $53.00 per night (they honor no club discounts of any kind), we would expect to not be sandwiched among seasonals, have a site that is pleasant, relaxing and use a little water and electricity. We would not recommend this park to anyone and we would definitely not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$53
Not the park you want to choose if you have kids or need activities. We were happy with the quiet, and also pleased at their pet-friendly attitude. We had a pull thru with FHU, 50 amp and good Wi-Fi. There is an enormous bus next to us- must be 45 feet, so the pull through sites are certainly large enough. It's a nice place to stay while exploring Kennebunkport, though it's expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
Red Apple is typical RV camp near a resort area. It is very cramped and mostly seasonal. The spaces are very close together with no trees or bushes between the sites and very little separation or privacy. We were very disappointed at the camp not having cable TV. The camp allows dogs but there are no paths or trails to walk them. The camp is very quiet, clean, well run and very convenient to charming Kennebunkport but basically you have a parking space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
Wonderful, quiet RV Park. It's small and quiet. Delightful owners who can't do enough for you. Our idea of a "perfect" park, and our kids loved it too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
We where disappointed in the campground in general. It may have 140 sites but most of those are for Park models (seasonal) the others fit mostly popups and small travel trailers. There are about 9 pull-through sites and 5 or 6 decent back-ins. If you arrive and they mention you have to park you tow vehicle in the parking lot you may be in trouble (small site). Cable is not available at all sites. They don't take credit cards except to hold reservation or charge it if you don't show up. They like Cash! The web site is very deceiving! If you're in a big rig or a good size 5th wheel make sure you get a pull through. It is a very clean campground and close to Kennebunkport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Let me start by stating I have visited many campgrounds around the country. After visiting this one, I felt compelled to write a review. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by the campground manager and his wife. The site we stayed at was impeccable and the surrounding area well manicured. The restrooms were very clean and well maintained. The campers at this park were very cordial and friendly and not to mention quiet at night. You can tell the staff really takes pride in their work. If you visit the Kennebunkport area, this is a must stay campground. This review would not be complete without mentioning the courtesy and benevolent action of the owner. When we arrived at our site, our tent trailer's lifting mechanism broke. After trying to contact several RV repair shops, it could not be fixed till the next day at a repair shop 80 miles away. I advised the owner of my predicament and he offered my family a cabin at the campground at no expense.This is the superior service you can expect at Red Apple Campground. I will definitely visit this campground again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Pricey for the space we got, we told the person that we had a 34 ft, 5th wheel yet they chose to put it in a site that was way too tight, the recent rains had the place saturated with water ankle deep so when we tried to back in we had to use the lawns of the seasonals, very messy. As with any park with seasonals, they are very snooty and don't like over nighters coming in. The owners were very nice and can't be faulted for the weather, however, they knew we had a huge truck and a 5th wheel, so don't try to make money if you don't have the space. Also, what is weird, they held our reservation with our debit card, but when we arrive, they would only take cash. The sight was very clean, but you couldn't walk to the showers or restrooms because the rains had saturated the ground. I hate having to push the shower on every 60 seconds, put a timer for about 6 minutes. The site did provide a parking permit for parking at Kennebukport beach, which I though was very nice. We might stay here again, but they need to have bigger sights, pull throughs etc for the traveling crowd and they need to educate the seasonals that we aren't the bad guys, so giving us the evil eye when we pull in isn't the right thing to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$45
I can understand why Woodall's gave them a 5. Lots are paved and surrounded by grass. Excellent playground for kids and adults. Showers are FREE (something rare in Maine). Also something equally rare is they take charge cards. Showers and bathrooms are very clean. They are centrally located and the water is hot. Newspaper was out font in the AM. Very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
We spent 5 weeks at the campground and enjoyed the location. The only thing stopping it from getting a 10 is the space...as with most campgrounds in the northeast, it was designed for smaller units and caters to "camping" vs. RVing. We thought that 7 am was an odd time to close bathrooms for cleaning (and the line outside seemed to support that), but the restrooms were very clean and well-maintained. Having to push the button every 30 seconds to keep the shower going (it was supposed to be 60 seconds) was a bit annoying. The paper each morning and mail delivered to the site were nice touches and the activities that collected money for charity were a lot of fun (we attended a lobster bake and a breakfast). The owner and other staff were helpful and provided great info and directions to all the sites in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
The sign says "clean, quiet and relaxing..." the Red Apple is all of those. The owners' pride is apparent in the beautifully landscaped, very well maintained grounds and facilities. Everything looks relatively fresh and works well, including the Wi-Fi, hook-ups, picnic tables, fire rings and lawns. The electric boxes have night lights. The only thing missing is cable TV, and only the 3 primary networks are receivable via antenna. The park has paved streets with good clearances and paved, level parking areas which accommodate everything from seasonal park models, cabins, all types and sizes of RV's and tents. The friendly owners will provide terrific recommendations of places to go and things to see on Maine's south coast. The park is convieniently located and easy to reach from either I-95 or US 1. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
As others have said, this is an extremely well-maintained park. We would have given it a 10, except we were in a VERY tight back-in with trees around, making it tough to maneuver our 35' 5th wheel. The most upsetting, was the $40 fee which at our site did NOT include sewer or cable. Not having sewer at a site for $40 is ridiculous. However, Kennebunkport is a beautiful area and apparently they can command the fee. We would have stayed longer than 2 nights if we had a sewer and a lower rent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This was truly a seasonal campground, just a few sites for weekender's and seasonals felt like they owned the place. I will not go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$42
A beautiful, clean, and quiet campground! Love this park!!! Wish I could move the campground with us every time we move!!!! The Staff we helpful at check in and even pointed out special things to see in the area. Wonderful park, we can't say enough about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
Booked trip in May for 4th of July weekend via e-mail. Was assigned a site number and told to send in deposit within 10 days to "hold your site." Upon reviewing campground map, my husband and I decided we would accept the assigned site and sent in our deposit immediately. The check was promptly cashed so we knew our site was reserved, or so we thought. On arrival date, we called to notify owner that we would be checking in late and were told that a map to our site would be left on office door. Upon arrival, we found that we had been changed to another site which was situated in the middle of semi-permanent RV sites. No other transient sites were around this site. It looked exactly like an over-55 residential neighborhood with perfectly manicured lawns, flowers, etc. In the words of my 11 year old "nice place to live but wouldn't want to camp here." Although disappointed at the change of sites, we proceeded to back into the site only to have our trailer sink deep into the mud. We exited our vehicle and upon inspection of the site, found it was nothing but a saturated mud pit. Our feet sank into the mud and there was no way our kids could hang around the campsite without being up to their ankles in mud. We then decided to pull our trailer out before it got stuck and drove to our reserved campsite as this was simply unacceptable since we had booked far in advance and had paid a deposit for a specific campsite. Upon reaching our reserved site, it was available so we pulled in. First thing the next morning, I went to check in and was immediately verbally accosted by the owner in front of my two children. He berated me for the "damage we caused" to the first site. When I explained to him that it was a mud pit and naturally the tires would sink in to the soil, he only grew more angry. I explained to him that aside from that, we had reserved and paid for a specific site and that is the site we expected. He informed me that it was already reservied for someone else. I was completely baffled and shocked. I asked him why he would give a reserved site to someone else and he began screaming that he wasn't going to argue. He was extremely defensive and literally screamed, "That's not how it works! You will stay in the site I tell you to stay in or you won't stay here at all." I again asked him why he wouldn't give us the site that we had reserved and he kept insisting that he could put us where he wanted. I asked him what was the point of our reserving a specific site if he was not going to honor that reservation and he screamed, "Do you want to stay at this campground?!?" It was obvious I was dealing with someone that knew he was in the wrong, but did not want to admit it so he resorted to not answering my questions and instead chose to be unprofessional, rude, and beligerant. I told him we would leave as soon as my husband returned from work as this was wrong of them to tell us we were reserving a specific site only to then stick us in the muddiest, crappiest site in the entire campground. My kids and I walked back to our site in tears, upset that our holiday weekend was in shambles. The owner's wife then came to our site to tell us, "You can have your way. You can have this site." Well gee, thanks so much for giving me the site that I paid for and reserved almost two months ago, and not the mud pit of a site that you tried to stick us in, and furthermore shouldn't be renting out to anybody anyway because of it's terribly poor condition. Well, I would never stay at Red Apple Campground again simply because of the blatant arrogance of the owners. He was nothing short of a big, mean bully and had absolutely zero regard for my children, myself, or his promise via email to hold my site if I sent my reservation fee within 10 days. We also checked out a day early but when we inquired as to receiving a refund for the night we would not be staying, the request was ignored, so make sure you don't overbook if you stay here. Aside from all of the above, this campground is neatly groomed but very packed in. Can hear your neighbors snore and what they are watching on TV. Nothing to do for kids at all; no pool, no playground except two swings. Very dull and boring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$42
We called ahead to reserve three sites for a Memorial Day weekend with friends. We had a 30' motorhome, 26' travel trailer and a 27' fifth wheel. Directions to the park where easy to follow and the entrance pleasing to the eye. This was the first time for all of us to this campground. We had sites beside each other and they were certainly more than any of us had hoped for. When we called to make reservations, these sites were recommended by the owners for our party. They were paved with one being a nice large site with a corner grassy area for socializing. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The owner and his wife were pleasant and very accommodating. We enjoyed an evening of live entertainment that was top notch. Large rec hall provided amble space for all and a great dance floor. The grounds were immaculate and we loved being able to walk around on paved roads. It was definitely soggy at some sites but that was to be expected after 10" of rain the week before. These sites were avoided. The roadways lent themselves nicely to kids riding their bikes safely around and the speed bumps keep the traffic at a slow pace. The overall ambiance of the campground was for safe and quiet family time. No big pools but a nice play area and room for games. The rec hall offered inside games and TV. The campground also offered an activity schedule if you chose to participate. There were quite a few seasonal sites but they were so quiet we didn't even know they were there. Talking with the seasonal folks was always enlighting and friendly. They offered their expertise in places in the area to visit and to avoid. But always were pleasant and courteous. We enjoyed our visit so much we reserved two weeks in July for our summer vacation and again a weekend in the fall to enjoy the live entertainment again. Overall a great experience and highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2002
$25
A very nice park. It had good paved roads. Sites were grass and level. The pull thrus would accommodate big rigs. This was a very well maintained park with grass, flowers and trees. About 1/2 of the sites were occupied by seasonals, but they kept their sites neat and clean. We would stay in this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Clean and neat as a pin, this park is a green parking lot. Many of the sites appear to be seasonal residents. Some sites have shade trees, but there is no privacy between sites. OK for a overnight stay. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com