223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Camden Hills RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (207) 236-2498
CGID1309

Camden Hills RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   6   9   4   8   9   6   2   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
I have been RVing for many years, this place is a complete disaster. Their electrical drops as low as 93 volts causing the TV to even go off. You cannot use your A/C, hot water is electrically circulated or TV. I book for 2 nights, could only stay one due to the service, but NO refund, just excuses. Also the septic system leaches sewer liquid onto the ground surface, what an odor. An 18 year old high school girl running the front desk was apologetic but that is all. What a disappointment this place was. Calling it an RV resort is truly a joke. Beware! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$41
Its a stretch to call this an RV Resort. The sites were clean, the campground was well maintained and the teenager in the office when we checked in was cheerful and helpful. Those were the good points. The bad news became obvious the moment we checked in. We reserved a full week for 2 adjacent sites a year in advance and paid in full. Prior to our arrival, one of our sites was reassigned as a seasonal site and we were assigned another non-adjacent site without notification. The move was to a campsite that was not appropriate for the motor home in our party. The teenager in the office was not authorized to make site reassignments but gave us a corporate number to phone which we did. We ended up with a more appropriate site but still not adjacent. Next problem was no camp store to speak of. There was a cooler with some ice cream novelties but that was about it. Not exactly what I expect at an 'RV Resort'. I would stay here again for one night, or maybe a weekend, but I would not book a whole week here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
The hot tub was a small. The pool was nice but was not heated. The sites were nice and shaded. There were not many people there. Good areas for dog walking. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Wow and I mean wow. This place deserves an A for marketing and F for actual product. We made a reservation through the corporate website based upon the pictures and even referenced reviews from this website. Folks this is not a good RV park. They are way overpriced, we found a coupon on their website to get our cheap rate, and their spots are simply dirt/ wild grass spaces with multiple roots and poor entrance/ exit clearance. Maybe all the parks in Maine are this bad hence the glowing reviews, but come on. I agree with one of the reviews below that this place should not call itself a resort. We went to use their jacuzzi and the water was milky with chunks of stuff floating; time to drain and disinfect. The staff responded that they would turn it on for a few hours to clean it out. Verizon signal is great and easy access to Rockland and Camden. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$66
Nice, quiet campground. We arrived the afternoon of the last day of Lobster Fest and it was fairly full, but quiet. No children that I saw and well behaved pets. The next day half the campers left and it seemed to be mostly seasonal and us the rest of the time. First site uneven due to tree roots and lack of gravel but we were changed to another that was fine, except all the sites could use fresh gravel. This one pooled water in a rain, but drained fairly quickly. Nice pool and rec hall. Showers need a little updating, but adequate. Staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
Rate reflects weekly rate. Very nice, quiet campground. Level site, good power and cable TV. Very friendly staff. Highlight was a visit by a K9 Game Warden who came with her dog and gave a very informative talk about how to train a search and rescue dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Another misuse of the word 'resort'. A long way from a resort. Told I would have a satellite friendly site but not a chance. Will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Yet another place that needs to look up the word 'resort' in the dictionary. Enough said. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Great campground: I found the back-in sites were nicer than the pull through sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$41
I have mixed feelings on this campground. We would stay here again for a night or two but that would be enough. It is a quiet campground, nice pool, our site was relatively level, the staff is nice (as were the other campers) and the location worked well for trips into Camden or Rockport. The downsides were: the kids programs were located at their “sister” location. We would stay there next time if possible. If you wanted to participate, you needed to load the kids up and drive them the 3 miles. They lack proper numbers of showers. There are 62 sites here and a total of two showers in the woman’s room, there was always a line. On our second day, the sewer for the campground overflowed onto the road behind our camper. We reported the situation to management and it took 24 hours for a company to come and pump out the sewer. It was gross. We had to leave because the smell was so bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Loved the heated pool and jacuzzi. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing and shopping. Site was level and had nice view of the surrounding woods. Only thing missing for us were walking trails through the woods. Other than that, nice place, and we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Quite satisfactory, would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Overall, we had a good experience here,,we don't need much to make us happy. The price was great ! Were were in the front row of campsites. The Wi-Fi signal here is bad, they even said they were surprised we had a signal at all. I would suggest getting a site in or near the back of the park for better Wi-Fi. The roads need gravel badly. I had to use 4WD when we left the site. This is no doubt due to the very unusual amount of rain they had this year but still, a little gravel would prevent this from being a problem. They advertised online 2 nights free during the week. This made for a great rate during high season! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
Stayed here for a week and received Good Sam's discount (before 6/21 when high season kicks in). Not sure what the rates are during 'high' season. This is a nice, quiet campground, but no resort. Hosts seem eager to please by bending the pet rule and the pool access hours a little. The mosquitoes are large and blood-thirsty. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
We stayed here in a 37ft motorhome and had a 50 amp, full hook-up, back-in site. From my research, this is the only campground in the area with 50amp, sewer, and WiFi. It's not a bad campground and we have stayed in campgrounds all over the USA. The back-in sites seemed to be larger and more private than the pull-thrus near the front of the campground. The WiFi was good and reliable. The pool was a good size and looked clean. It was open when we were there, right after Labor Day weekend. There is a hot tub but the gate to it was locked by 8pm, when we tried to use it. Each site has a firepit with a fold-over cooking grate. The campground is wooded. It is a convenient home base for exploring the area. The office staff was very friendly and gave us a lot of recommendations for places to see and local restaurants in town. Wal-mart and grocery stores were within 10 minutes drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$41
This was a really well laid out park. We stayed for two weeks in July. It was always quiet, even on the weekends. The staff was very friendly and it was really close to Camden/Rockport to drive in to town. The sites are all pretty decent size with nice trees and the pool area was very nice. It is an expensive park... but one of the nicer places we have stayed in our year on the road. You are paying for the location... I would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
This is definitely NOT a resort. It is a basic campground. We stopped because they advertised a pool and hot tub. While we were looking at sites, we saw very green pool water. Seems that they had an algae bloom, and the pool was going to be closed for a week, which did not make our kids very happy, so we decided to head up to Bar Harbor. Some sites looked OK, but the campground needs a lot of TLC. Many sites were not even close to level. Tried talking to a couple of people with STAFF shirts, but they were both smoking so much that we had to just walk away. We would not return. It's really too bad, because it's such a wonderful area in Maine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$31
This campground is small in size, 60 sites. The campground buildings and grounds are well kept. The tent sites leave a little to be desired as they are not level at all. The 30 amp pull through sites need to have the electrical boxes updated, as some of the receptacles and doors are in bad shape, but are useable. Interior roadways within the pull through area were on the tight and narrow side, but again useable with caution. The roadways in the 50 amp back-in section were better suited to larger rigs, wider and turns not as sharp. The office area was clean and welcoming. The office staff was friendly and very accommodating. Pool closed on September 6th, as weather was warm, feel should have been left open. All in all, a good camping experience, and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
We absolutely loved this campground! The people in the office were really nice, and it's very pretty and clean and quiet. The pool was heavenly! It was so clean and warm, and my husband and I really loved the hot tub. My son was perturbed that he couldn't use it, but I say being a grown-up has its perks. :) If we're ever in the area again, we would most definitely stay here. The little village was so quaint and pretty, and we really enjoyed our stay. It was charming. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
This campground is just about perfect. The friendliest, most helpful and welcoming people at check in we have ever met. Long, level sites in a beautiful wooded setting. Very big rig friendly. Good cable and FREE WiFi. Sites have good spacing between them so you are not on top of your neighbor. There is also daily trash pickup and free newspaper delivered to your site every morning. A beautiful secluded area is set aside for tent campers. This is probably the nicest campground we have found in all of the Northeast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$26
This Campground was very clean and well kept. It was quiet at night. We were there after labor day but the pool and spa were open for use weather permitting. Owners were very pleasant and helpful. We would go back again accept the coast was too busy for our taste. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$44
Great Location for exploring Rockport/Camden area, very clean park. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Site was level and easy in and out. We would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$40
A very quiet and clean campground. The sites could have been a bit more level, but they were nicely shaded. Very friendly staff and easy to work with. All-n-all a very nice stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Nice, spacious, shady sites. Quiet, attractive campground close to everything. Poor to no satellite access due to trees, but cable TV provided at no extra charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com