206673 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake-in-Wood Camping Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 90 user reviews. Phone: (717) 445-5525
CGID13114

Lake-in-Wood Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   8   7   6   8   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
Very nice park, spacious sites. Would have given it a 10 but since we stayed after Labor Day, the pool & restaurant were not open except limited hours on weekends (which the park is still busy during). Very quite during the weekdays. Did hear the rock quarry in the early morning as mentioned by others but wasn't a big deal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$61
This is definitely one of the more pristine campgrounds we have visited. It is very well maintained and quiet, except for the rock quarry as the previous reviewer mentioned. There is plenty to do here. The playgrounds have lots of unique apparatus to climb and swing on. There is a nice indoor/outdoor pool with sprays. We did not use this as the weather was too cold. The Gnome Cafe is open daily with a good selection. The sites are shaded and a good size with separation. Ours could have been a little larger, but it worked with our rig. There are only a few organized activities, but there is plenty to do otherwise. The store is well stocked. The bingo was rather pricey. This campsite is religious with a weekly church service, and most things in the area are closed on Sundays. It's Amish country. We also enjoyed a trolley ride around the campground on Sat. night. The negative is that there are one way roads all over the place, but if you are driving around in your golf cart, you are not aware of the one ways until it's too late. There are no DO NOT ENTER signs. I did not like the tone of voice of the trolley driver when he informed me I was going the wrong way. The pond was well stocked with fish, and the bathrooms were clean. We do plan on returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$71
Just visited Lake In Wood CG in Narvon, PA after reading how highly rated it is. There is a lake with fishing, canoes, various playgrounds, mini golf, and well landscaped areas. While the grounds are beautiful and rather picturesque compared to others we've visited, we found the staff to be rather standoffish and bordering on rude. While checking in, personnel was not welcoming or even friendly. The woman standing next to me wanted to pick an item up from someone who was camping there. She was told she had to pay $6. She then said she would just call the person and ask her to meet her at the gate to get the item. The man behind the counter berated her, telling her she was not allowed to do that and that she HAD to pay the fee. It was uncomfortable to hear this heated exchange. His tone was so hostile, you'd think the woman had stolen something. As I stepped up to register, I was treated indifferently as a factory worker would treat a product on an assembly line. Not even so much as a 'Hello', or 'Thank you'. The following day, we visited the office to get some ice cream. The man behind the counter that served my husband his cone was very condescending to the point that I wanted to say something. The young lady standing next to him was clearly embarrassed by his attitude and less than stellar treatment of a paying customer. She was the only employee who smiled and was courteous the few times we had to go into the office/store. It appeared to me the majority of the older employees were not happy to be there and we felt as though we were inconveniencing them with our business. Given the popularity of this CG and the fact that it stays booked solid through Labor Day weekend, I can't help but wonder if others have experienced the same lackluster treatment. I'd love to return as we enjoyed the amenities, but we're hesitant to spend our money (and it's definitely not cheap) where we don't feel welcome and our presence is an inconvenience to the staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$74
Very nice destination park. Lots to do on-site, though there are enough rules to take the fun out of many activities. Pool was too cold to enjoy, and spa was not hot enough. We had a premium site that was very private. I don't see how the four gold sites are worth more as they are not near as private. Had some issues getting wi-fi to work.  Voltage was good, and cable TV worked well. Sewage connection was a little high. Had to use several blocks to level camper. Note that this park is in the vicinity of a rock quarry. We could easily hear the machines working when they fired up early Monday morning. Apparently they don't run on weekends. Overall, quite pleased with our visit and we would definitely stay here again.  We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$70
This was our 2nd time at this campground. First the negatives; there was a report of bad weather so we called the campground to see if we could get a credit for our 1st day of a 3 night stay. The receptionist told me over the phone that we couldn't as we had paid the bill in full. We decided to brave the storm and head up anyway. When we arrived the receptionist told me of my outstanding balance, so we were lied to when we called. Second, we had reserved a playhouse for the kids. When we checked in we were told that there wasn't one available even though it was part of our reservation. Other than those things, we had a wonderful time at the campground. All the amenities were great, everything was clean. The activities were fun and there are plenty of fish in the lake. Our site was perfect and we already booked our end of season trip back there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$67
This is a destination park for families and children. Lots for them to do. If looking for a camping spot to tour the countryside and not needing amenities there are better choices. Paved site was very unlevel and small, needed 5 to six inches of blocks to level RV and that puts the door step up to high. No trash pickup, long walk to trash and bath house. Not acceptable for the price of the sites. Would not choose this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$58
We stayed at Lake in Wood this past weekend and had a wonderful time. Even after arriving and finding another camper already unhitched at our campsite. We just unhitched at another site, which worked out better for us since we only had one real neighbor on the backside of the camper. I am not exactly sure if it was the campground itself we liked so much or just the fact we finally had a chance to get away and go camping. Lake in Wood is definitely geared towards families and keeping everyone busy without having to leave the campground. Whether you decide to go to the pool, play at one of the parks, a round of miniature golf, or hang by the lake to fish, or take one of the paddle boats out, there is something for everyone. Yes, there are rules, and the owners and staff make sure everyone follows the rules. As a guest I did not find it to be a bother or even feel like big brother was watching us all the time. I have been to several campgrounds where they have a list of rules, but it only applies to the transits, and the employees and seasonals are exempt. Here everyone is treated equally. The speed limit was followed whether traveling in a vehicle or on a golf cart as well. So many times I have seen people speeding through campgrounds. We were back by bathhouse 3 up on one of the turn off roads and were very happy with our site. There are some sites that are very close together throughout the park, and that would be great if you are camping with other parties. Otherwise it may be an uncomfortable weekend being so close. I personally would not suggest staying (or paying the extra price) around the Brotherhood Circle if you have a travel trailer longer than 24ft or a 5th wheel as the sites are small, and you basically have to park in the street to hitch and unhitch. Not to mention you have to pull into the grass just to make the turn radius needed when leaving. Fingers crossed the grass is not saturated. The sites are concrete and blacktop in this area, but again, overall small and close together. The park is right there and also a big field. I would like to see Lake in Wood take some of the field and pave and expand the road, so others who are leaving can pass by when someone is hitching/unhitching and those leaving these sites are not turning into the field. The Gold sites near the big open field above the lake are also small and again require you to block the road to hitch/unhitch. I personally do not see the value in paying the extra cost for these sites. If you want blacktop and a concrete site, there are others throughout the campground that were nicer and offered more space. The roads throughout the park are fairly narrow, and it can be a challenge when people are walking along whether you are just driving around or bringing in (or leaving) with a camper. There is really no way to pull off when another vehicle is coming at you (for the areas that are two way); generally they are pulling into other sites so you can pass by. On the website it mentions the pools are heated. I am not sure if they are only heated at certain times of the year or if the heater was broken. The board said the temperature of the covered pool and children’s area was 76 degrees. It was a cold 76 degrees. The pool by the swim up bar was even colder. Activities are on channel 2, but the information goes by so quickly that you do not always have a chance to read it. We wanted to know what time the trolley left at, and it was the last item on the screen. As soon as it was on the screen, it disappeared. We watched the slide show four times. They also had information about activities and events that happened in May and nothing for June or even showing upcoming events for July. I would like to see them slow down the fade in/out so it we can read it instead of having to go up to the office for the information since they do not want to hand out an activities sheet. I do not feel that the information above should deter you from staying at Lake in Wood, but help you make more of an informative choice when booking your site and what to expect. Like any campground, there are things that some people like, and things other people do not like. Overall it is a nice campground, and you should stay there at least once. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$71
This was a very nice campground. Great overall experience from check-in to check-out. All sites were well maintained, and for being hilly all sites looked to be level. We opted for a premo site, but probably didn't need to as I noticed all of the sites were in great shape. There a lot of seasonals here, but they were very friendly and welcoming. The campground has a lot of activities, and plenty to offer all ages. Great fishing, and hiking trails too. Wi-Fi was very slow, but not a big deal since we were so busy around the park. We will be back again this summer. One of our favorite campgrounds to date. Highly recommend bringing a bike although they do have golf carts to rent. Overall campground price was high, but we got what we paid for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
Park is excellent. Very large and spread out over many acres amongst trees. However the pull through sites are out in the open allowing you satellite access. Sites are mostly gravel with the pull through sites being paved with a concrete pad. Sites are level and well spaced. Lots of seasonals in the park and it can be very busy on the weekends. The big thing is to drive golf carts around as most seasonals have them and others can rent them from the park. Wi-Fi was free but very slow. Park has lots of rules but we did not find it an issue. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a rock quarry nearby so during the day you may hear some of the machinery going but, to us, was not annoying. Park is near the sights for Amish Country and an hours drive into Philadelphia. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$70
Wow! This campground is now one of our top 3 favorites. I can't say enough about this place. The store has everything you need. The sites are clean and level. There are many planned activities for the kiddies and families. We were there in the late fall and the indoor pool was great. Can't wait to visit in the summer. The campground is close to all things Amish if that is what you like. We will definitely be back. The campground is beautiful! One thing to mention is if you plot the address into GPS you may find yourself climbing a huge hill that you may or may not be able to manage..please plan your route accordingly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$60
A delightful campground in the heart of Amish countryside. Paved roads, concrete pads, large sites. Clean and well maintained. Many great amenities including mini golf and shuffleboard. On site restaurant was excellent. Friendly, helpful staff. Good central location to explore the area. Would go back often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$65
This is truly a wonderful place. Sites are easily accessible, spacious and clean. Entire park is clean and very well maintained. Bathrooms were immaculate. Staff is top notch; helpful and friendly which a lot of campgrounds seem to be lacking. Our stay here was comfortable and relaxing. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$120
This campground resort is beautiful. We rented one of their unique rentals, the Little Red Barn. The rental was clean and spacious. The grounds are so clean and well maintained. The activities are endless, from the cool kids pool and swim up slushy bar to the miniature golf and boat rentals. We checked in during the busiest part of the day and were escorted right to our rental. The staff was professional and friendly. The Gnome cafe offered a great variety of food at reasonable prices if you don't want to cook. I am currently trying to make reservations here for the end of October to take our new RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$79
This campground is magnificent. Well maintained, paved roads, concrete pads, friendly staff. Beautiful grounds, great facilities. Internet is very slow, cable TV reception is poor as well. But it is still a "10". Surrounding area is like a pretty landscape photo. Plenty to do and see as well. If they had six stars, this would be it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$68
Friendly staff and pretty maintained grounds. Kids enjoyed indoor pool and trolley ride. Park is hilly so our kids (4 and 6) struggled riding their bikes up and down the hills. I guess it was still early in season, but the cafe closed early. Camp store was decent, but some common items were not stocked. They do have yummy scooped ice cream. Overall, it was a great campground and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$110
Fair Warning! If this is the first campground you visit, it will forever be the standard by which you judge all others and Lake in Wood sets the bar really high. We stayed in the double decker bus at just over a hundred a night. The ceilings are just about 6 feet, but otherwise, it was great for a short stay. The bus bathroom was teeny, but the park bathrooms are Disney-level spotless. For that matter, the whole park is spotless. We were pre-pool season, so I can't comment on that. Laundry looked modern, and the store was very well stocked. Now that we own a pop-up, we'll be back for sure. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$60
Beautiful landscaping, extremely well maintained RV park with friendly and helpful employees and work campers. Bingo in the Gnome Cafe on a rainy Saturday night was well managed and a lot of fun. We had an excellent time at this classy RV park with two other families and would return again. Wish the indoor pool was open for spring vacation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$50
Beautiful RV park! Friendly staff! They also have an indoor pool for the colder days. Gnomes and totem poles throughout the park was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$65
Beware!!!! Web site does not inform you that Labor Day or after Labor Day week-end there is absolutely nothing to do. The pool, even though stated indoor, and everything else is closed throughout the week with the exception of the camp store. "BORING" and over-priced for this time of the year for no activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$55
We camped here for a weekend.We stayed at Site #110 has to put a lot of blocks under the jack to level, site on hill. Park was very big had nice paved roads good for bike riding. The cons are : lifeguards at pool don't really do their jobs. When I was in pool there where adults with young adults throwing a hard sponge ball across the full length of the pool they would come very close to hitting people and then one did hit the back of a little boy, but the lifeguards did nothing, so I got out of the pool. The kiddie pool was much safer. also they had a BBQ event going on, but when we register we weren't told we had to make reservation to the event and when we went to get tickets they were sold out, so we did have any diner that night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$67
This was our 3rd trip back to Lake In Wood. Since our last trip 2 yrs ago they have made many changes to the appearance of the campground. We were in a new VIP site. The site was a paved pull-through and had a concrete pad and a new red metal picnic table. Our 9x12 rug hung off the concrete pad and the picnic table was almost hanging off. I did not realize it was a VIP site when booking because I would rather have a more rustic woodsy site. Golf carts were $35 a day for 3 days or more. That was a must for our family as the campground is quite large and we have 2 little ones. The pools were busy as it was over 100 degrees, but by day 2 they were filled with dead insects in the kiddie pool and you could see the layer of sunscreen floating on the top. ( I understand this was due to the extremely hot weather and busy campground.) Kids activities were great and my teen nieces loved the bingo. Hayride and trolley ride really nice way to see the campground. The restrooms were always very clean and the laundry room was unbelievable. Huge sink, lots of washers and dryers, bathroom with shower and a rocking chair out on a screened in porch. Very nice touch! Big pond for fishing and lots of room for sports at sports field. Some campers trying to enforce rules, as my 40 yr old friend got stopped on her golf cart and asked if she was old enough to drive it. (She is only 4'11 but come on.) Seasonals all well kept and the camp store is huge. Lots of souvenirs and camping equipment and good ice cream. All in all this is a well kept campground with constant improvements. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
Sites are large and private with plenty of shade. Premium sites (which we had) has a concrete pad about 40'x20'. Pool still has a deep end with a diving board. One small caveat...roads are all paved but narrow which might cause a problem for large trailers to back in. They have a rule about not using my street legal scooter or motorcycle to tour the park with,but you are allowed to bring it to your site and go to and from the outside world with it. But when I explained to the management that I didn't have a car with my motorhome and the pool and store are over a 1/4 mile away from my site plus I had a bum knee that would make walking difficult, they allowed me to use mine. Not many places bend rules to suit the needs of their customers. This is the only park that I can remember that deserves a 10 rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
We stayed at LIW over the busy 4th of July weekend. We decided to stay here because of its high ratings and reviews and because it is within an hour of our home. We came in the "hilly way" to the park which was a little harder drive. It is tucked away in the woods away from city life. Check-in was easy. We were escorted to our site. The roads were paved. Our site was gravel with a slight decline. There were sites that were concrete and had nice metal picnic tables, but I assume those were reserved well in advance. Our site was well wooded and had small bushes and trees separating us from our neighbors. There were no bugs bothering us, too! Wi-Fi was available and had a decent signal. There are a lot of seasonals at this park with many golf carts throughout the park. The seasonals and people who work there were friendly. It looks like a great place to have a seasonal place to escape to for the grandkids. They had a few activities through the weekend: trolley and hay rides, bingo, drive-in golf cart movie, miniature golf and shuffle board tourneys, and arts and crafts, etc. The camp store had lots of things squeezed into a smaller space. The restaurant was a nice alternative to cooking at the campsite. The park was clean. The showers were push-button types that are timed, and you can't control the temperature. The bathrooms were clean. The pool area is nice, especially for little kids. The big pool has 1/2 of it under a roof that can be used when the weather gets colder. So kids can swim until Nov 1st. They have unique rentals such as a double-decker bus, a tepee, a caboose, a boat, a tree house and others. The pond was nice for fishing or pedal boating. The trails need to be cleaned up and marked as they are overgrown. Overall, we enjoyed our time here. The facility is taken care of, the people friendly and there are activities to do. It was much quieter after the weekend was over, which made our last day better. The campsites are nicely wooded. We are planning our next trip here. We even talked about becoming a seasonal next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$53
I loved this campground. Its very well kept and clean. The pool area is really nice too. It has an area for kids. They have lots of different cabins that you can stay in like a yurt, covered wagon, teepee, and a trolly car. Very cool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$58
We camped with 5 families in 5 different sites. Pros: This is one of the cleanest, nicest campgrounds I have ever been to. May be only # 2 to Ft Wilderness. Has a great lake (stocked), beautiful sites spread out nicely, free Wi-Fi, paved roads (some a little tight with a big trailer), a great store, cafe, mini golf, etc. Cons: We usually feel like less of a "guest" then we were made to feel here. I had been here 5 years ago and remembered they were a "Tightly run ship," which is good. However we had incidences that were not handled very politely, which as an individual thing all would have been fine, but after 3 of them, well they were not very politely conveyed which gave a little of a black eye. 1. When we pulled up the attendant barked at me, "Why did you pull to wrong gate: you have been here before." I replied, "Yeah 5 years ago, sorry. Maybe I have a familiar face. " 2. Our girls used sidewalk chalk to do a large Hopscotch: 300 spaces long. We thought it was creative fitness. Fella (I believe to be the owner) stopped by and told me, "No sidewalk chalk on asphalt." I said, "Sorry would you like me to hose it off?" He said no. I asked why it was a big deal and he replied, "Because it looks like crap." I said okay and turned and walked away. 3. Generally in early preseason or late season, campgrounds are liberal with check out as no one is coming in, and we aren't using any services to cost them anything. As such we generally spend money if they let you stay to make up for it. We tried to take 15 kids mini golfing 5 minutes after "checkout." We were told we couldn't as we had signed a contract to be off the premises by 2:00pm. We said, "No one is here, it is empty. We were going to play minigolf and then treat kids in your cafe and spend some money." We were told we could pay a $25.00 late stay fee, per site to play minigolf. Really? The indoor pool isn't even open. So we replied, "Have a nice day, we will leave and spend our money elsewhere." We were not charged (unless they did to my CC) to stay late. Overall a great campground: the staff just needs to learn how to be a little more polished in their dealings with customers. We would go back again, but will need a year or more to forget about the Cons. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$56
The owner is constantly upgrading the campground by adding new theme cabins, rides, tree carvings and general maintenance. The sites are mostly concrete pads with metal picnic tables. They are large and most of them are shaded: blocking any satellite reception, but there is cable TV. The lake is stocked with trout, and they are catch and eat. The one downside is that the indoor pool and spa are only open on the weekends. Sat: 11 to 5, and Sun: 12 to 3. Golf cart rentals are $110 for 3 days. We camp here every year, and will continue to camp here at least once a year. Book early they are filled on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$64
We enjoyed ourselves here. The staff was very friendly. The roads are paved and many of the sites have concrete pads. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
Just about as good as it gets for the north east. Friendly, beautiful park, wide sites, paved sites, decent cable TV, outstanding pool and water park area, great cafe. The only negative is the horrible WiFi. Otherwise this would be a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$61
Comment on LAKE IN WOOD Campground in Narvon, PA - when we called in January for reservations for July, we were told the weekly rate would be $366 and if we stayed seven nights we received an eighth night free. Great - add a night to our stay! What they neglected to say was if you stay that 'free' night you revert to their daily rate of $61 so now seven days with a 'free' night costs $427. They don't volunteer this info upfront and when you check in, it is beyond their 2 week change/cancellation policy. If you rent your golf cart from the female owner, she will charge you for every day you physically have the cart - not for a twenty-four hour period. For twenty-three hours from Friday at 2:00 p.m. until Saturday at 1:00 p.m. she insisted would be two days...I did continue to stand my ground on that one and received a refund but no budging on the 'free' night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$56
Stayed at Lake in wood for quick two night stay. Campground a little off the beaten path but once we got there were very impressed. Park was kept very clean. Lots to do. Nice pool complex with kiddie pool and indoor/outdoor pool. Nice paved roads and modern facilities. Most of all liked the quietness of the park. Even though place was very busy when we stayed you would never know it. Would recommend to a friend and will visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$53
We thoroughly enjoyed this campground. Everything was neat and clean including restrooms and showers. We had a very nice wooded site with plenty of buffer space on either side. There were very nice wood carvings through out the campground which was a nice touch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The are a lot of amenities in this campground. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$58
The Last Straw! I've had it with this place. I've been coming here for three years and have even brought friends and relatives here as well, but no more. There is one BIG reason to come here and that is the indoor pool and hot tub, BUT the associated bathroom/shower is TORTURE! There is NO HEAT in the bathrooms! I've been in there during the spring & fall, and it was less than 50 degrees (both bathrooms are the same). Just think about trying to change at that temperature; then consider trying to get your kids changed! This time it was not so abysmally cold so I decided to take a shower in there for the first time. HA! what a mistake that was! They have a shower head in there that shoots a needle like jet that is completely miserable. To add insult to injury the hot water was gone instantly. This was the last straw. We've come here because, as other have stated, it's clean, well located, and has some nice amenities, BUT I don't need to be annoyed when I travel, and what should be the highlight of the trip (the indoor pool & hot tub) always turns into the most hated part of the trip. I can only conclude, after three years, that the owners either don't care or actively make it miserable to control the pool usage. If you do go here, be prepared for these issues with the pool and bring something to wrap yourself in if you have to use the bathroom, and plan on using another bathhouse for a shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$69
Most of what I would say has been said. This is a nice place, I would say it is more 'Resort' than 'Campground'. The roads are paved, and navigable. We arrived after dark, but were able to negotiate all the turns easily in our MH. As said, the pools, are nice, the cafe is OK, although they ran out of milk to make milkshakes! We didn't use a lot of the facilities, but they all looked very well kept. They do have a lot of rules. Too many to my way of thinking, but then again, they don't make a big thing about anything, unless they have to. Having a rule allows them to apply it to someone that needs the application. About the only thing I wish they had done was to enforce quiet hour a bit better. Actually it was probably only one or two dogs that barked, ALOT. Probably my number one beef is charging for kids. I would think they could average it out so a family of 4 (pretty close to average) would be the base rate. A lot of places seem to do this quite handily. Otherwise OK. They are a ways out in the country. If you know your way around, you are about 20 minutes from Adamstown and full facilities for shopping for anything you need. I would like to see the rules for Alcohol changed to 'Keep it on your site and don't abuse it' as opposed to "No Alcohol" it is a rule change that would probably match their practice much better. We will likely return if we are in the area, but there are places nearer to the attractions in the area that we would go to first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$60
We would highly recommend this campground. Clean, fun and very family friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$50
Overall, the facility very nice. When we arrived late on Saturday, they were having their annual Christmas Parade (in October). They had several "characters" and Santa for the kids. My daughter was overjoyed after spending 13 hours in the truck to see Santa. They had free Christmas cookies for all the families and a gift for every child. In the main hall, they have a very interesting antique pipe organ and were playing Christmas carols. The campground does have many permanent campers set up, but they were very well maintained. The landscaping was very nice and we were in a very private spot. Be aware though, there are some areas that are not shaded and the sites are fairly close together. The pool was closed for the season, but it appeared to be very nice. The bathhouses were very clean, probably not used very much. The downsides: there is a rock quarry close by. During the weekend it's not an issue, but 6:00 every morning, they started crushing rock and it was loud. I was awake every morning from all the racket, and one morning at about 6:30 they were blasting, which was very loud. They are also "in the boonies". We were prepared, but one evening we wanted to go to town to eat and it was a 30 minute drive. They are also about 30 minutes from the main "Amish" area. But, the campground is located in the more Mennitie area and the farms were still beautiful. Lastly, they have many, many rules. I understand why they have all the rules and it does make for a better overall campground, but it takes away some of the flexibilities of camping. For example, their are absolutely no refunds. We left 2 days earlier than our reservation because of a large approaching snow storm, plus we had already seen all there was to see. We lost $100, but it was better than getting stuck in the snow. I also heard from a fellow camper they check your meter before you leave to be sure you didn't use too much electricity. They have a rule of no electric heaters, fryers or water heaters. Not sure about the surcharge for using extra electricity since we were on all gas, but I would check with the office. If it wasn't for the rock quarry and the no refund policy, I would have given them a 9 to a 10. We will probably go back, but only reserve for a few nights instead of a week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$47
Terrific campground! The entire campground is immaculate. The bathrooms, showers, pool: everything is sparkling clean! The kids had a blast participating in the campground activities, swimming and fishing. One reason I did not give it a 10 is that they do not have soap or hand sanitizer in the bathrooms. The other reason is that if you rent one of their golf carts they do not allow you to drive it at night and you must walk pretty far to get to the entertainment hall if your site is in the 100 to 400 area and want to participate in bingo, bonfires, Saturday night entertainment. They should equip the golf carts with lights if they want you to rent them. Otherwise, the place was great. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
This Park has made many capital improvements since our last time here 2 years ago. Most Roads now blacktop, and our site (187) was newly refurbished with concrete pad and gravel surround. EWSC all were easily accessible. Nice wooded area around the site gave some seclusion. Landscaping of the grounds, with beds of flowers is beautiful, and a nice touch. On our walks around, yes there are lots of seasonals, but all nicely kept that we saw. Love the pool setup, well done mini golf, and the "Gnome Cafe" makes some good sandwiches. This would be a ten, but the quarry noise (a daytime "grinding" noise in the distance) from up the road takes just a bit away. We got to hear a dynamite blast around 1:30pm Tuesday as we left. That was a surprise! Still, we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$51
We have just returned from our first visit to this campground/resort. How anyone could give this place anything but the very highest rating is beyond our comprehension. It was, by far, the nicest campground that we have ever stayed at, and we have been camping from more than 30 years. It is a resort, but not the commercialized type that parks one RV next to another in a row. The sites are large, shaded, private and incredibly well designed. The swimming pools were beautiful, and there was a very nice spa. This is THE place for young families although we are older. Kids seem to love it there. We are older folks but took great pleasure in watching the happy young families. There is a wonderful eatery where you can get breakfast for $3 to $5. Hamburgers, hot dogs, fries, ice cream cones are all very reasonably priced. The grounds are magnificent and well groomed. We can vouch for the fact that the photos on their website are true to life; it really is that pretty! We will go back to this campground every chance we get. We can't say enough for the grounds, the sites and especially the staff. Other campgrounds pale in comparison with this. Go there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
This park was outstanding! When you drive in you will see just an outstanding looking park. Someone was waiting at the gate to tell you what you needed to do. When checking in, they offer to guide you to the site, but I did not take them up on it. The roads are paved and easy to navigate. A lot of activities to do including a nice 30 minute hayride around the campground. It is very quiet, and the people are nice. The pool is just a WOW! The cafe was good, and the prices on the food were great. We liked how the cafe was connected to the pool area which made for a nice day. It was quiet at night. This is a must camp campground, and I will be back as soon as I can get a reservation! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
This is a great place to camp. It is a bit pricey, but well worth the money. The campground is so well manicured, and the staff is just the best. We had a blast renting a golf cart and riding around with our dogs. The seasonals are very friendly. The have a lake for fishing, or just chilling. The pool is so well kept. They also have cute rentals like a train caboose and a tree house. We didn't do any activities, but they had plenty for families and kids to do. They do fill up quickly so reservations are sometimes hard to get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$59
This is a great campground. Lot's to do. Nice pool and the store is good. We did not utilize the cafe this week end but have on previous trips. I agree with another post that the people who are working the cafe were not the most happy to deal with. With that said one of the best campground we have been to.The site are large and nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$47
I just got back from this CG. First time and we hated it! We've been camping for 8 years in every campground in PA and MD so it's not like we are new to camping. The place is beautiful, very well landscaped and clean. The CG caters to the seasonal folks. The majority of the sites are all seasonal and they are situated close to everything and the "transient" sites are so darn far that's it's nearly unejoyable to walk. We even rented a golf cart and it was the only enjoyable thing. There wasn't that many people this weekend, my son was bored. Everyone was very snotty and was just plain rude. Only the older ladies in the camp store were nice. The people running the cafe were ignorant. They close the grill at 7:30 and close at 8 so don't think you're getting food at 7:20 either. One gentleman that works there was so ignorant that we packed up Sunday morning early and left. You're not allowed to drink, they have way too many rules, the one bathroom that is for the entire section below the pool only had 2 toilets and 2 showers and for the showers you have to keep pushing in the knob for water. The pool is entirely too small for the big camp ground. Even the campers aren't very nice. We will never go back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$54
This is the "Top of Line" CG. There are absolutely no negative comments that can be made about them, the staff is friendly and courteous, the facilities are immaculate, the grounds are wonderful. Everytime we come back they have improved one thing or another. A must stop for our family every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$59
Wonderful view upon arrival,the scenery is breathtaking. Sites are roomy, clean and well kept, staff is friendly, great service. The cafe is quaint and the facilities great. My grandaughter loved the kid pool too. Will most certainly go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Great campground!! The staff was very friendly and so were the campers -- both weekenders and seasonals alike. The pool was great and the Gnome Cafe had great food and very reasonable. We will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$57
A very nice, pretty campground. It is nicely laid out and there are outdoor (cold, but refreshing!) and indoor (warmer) pools, as well as a kiddie pool that was pretty cool! I liked the frogs. Mini-golf was a good time and reasonably price. Catch and release fishing in the picturesque lake was great, although the algae made it difficult. The sites are huge and very private. This campground is mostly seasonals with a few weekenders mixed in here and there. There were some problems with this campground. I would hesitate to let your kids wander by themselves. There are golf carts flying everywhere and their owners are absolutely careless about how fast they go and who they run off the road. I saw several carts being piloted by children. Cars are limited to 5mph and they're pretty good about keeping the speed down, but the golf carts apparently can go any speed they want, and they do! The campground apparently has a fairly liberal dog policy. Every seasonal site seems to have at least one dog, several with 3 or 4. The barking was constant during the day, although virtually non-existent at night. The campground advertises it's WIFI capabilities, but we couldn't get it to work. There were JAVA errors on the front page that we couldn't get past. The people at the office had no idea. The campground also advertises free newspapers, but when I asked for one I was directed to the vending machine, and was told the free newspapers didn't start until June. Whatever. The "Gnome Cafe" was cute and all, but the service was awful and slow. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$54
A nice park with spacious, wooded sites, many of them pull-through and/or have concrete pads. Pool was closed, but it looks good. Lake is clean. About half the park is filled with permanent, but those sites are well maintained. Price is high, but likely more worth it in the summer, when there are organized events. Charged $2 per child. In April, children get in for free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$54
This campground is very nice with a stocked lake full of trout and you can keep up to 2 per person per week. This campground would be a 10 if not for the quarry that is about a mile away. During the week it sounds like a train in the distance - you get use to it. The sites are wide and long with concrete pads for most sites. The tent sites are well padded with about a foot of mulch. This is our second stay, and would stay here again. One other item - the indoor, spa and outdoor pools don't open until 5/1, and the cafe is only open on the weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$50
This campground is one of the best we have stayed in - well landscaped, paved roads. concrete pads, just about any activity you could ask for. They had several theme rentals available - Yurt is right on the lake with it's own dock and paddle boat. If we could find anything wrong with this place it was that the cafe was not open - only on the weekends at least during the off season. I don't know if it is open all the time during the regular season or not. Book well in advance if you want to get in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$47
This was our first camping trip in our new(used) camper and it was a beautiful start. There were lots of activities and we participated in several and enjoyed them. The one-way roads were a little narrow and could use better markings as to the correct direction to travel. Very nice location and friendly people. Quite a few permanent sights, but they were all well kept. Very wooded in most areas which is great in warm weather, but may not be as nice if it were rainy or cool. We would definitely stay here again and could stay happily for a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$55
Everything is great about the park. The pool, sites, roads, game room, activities, views, lake. Lancaster County is beautiful. So why did I give it a 7? Not much bad at all until you meet the workers and the cousin of the owner. No politeness to the tone of there voice at all. To say not friendly would be untrue however people skills they due not have. It seemed they cared a less about campers weather you come back or not they are booked so they don't care. For example if you asked a question it felt like you where a bother to them. They did not want to give you the time of day. And hope your children did not ask them anything or they would just ignore them. Would I go back? Don't know. I would of given it a 10+ if the workers had people skills. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$4
This is not an easy campground to find. Location is pretty far from any major attraction. Make sure to check in during normal business hours. Check in after hours is hard to contact anyone for. Some sites are hard to back into with larger units. Great for a peaceful getaway, but 30 minutes to 1.5 hour commute to major attractions. Country store is great. Very secure campground with gates for coming and going. Golf cart and cabin rentals are available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$60
We love this campground. This is probably one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at. The grounds are maintained beautifully. The sites are very large, some are open and some are secluded. I could not find one thing I did not like about this campground. I love the area it is in, there is some much to do and see. This is definitely a top notch camping resort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
Wow, this place has set the standard when it comes to family camping. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Beautiful campground. We will definitely be returning soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
We have a seasonal site at this campground. We came across this campground after looking at about 25-30 others. Nothing could compare. As soon as we pulled in, we knew it was like no other. This place is so clean, spacious wooded sites, well maintained and up-grades galore. They have just paved all of the roads, concreted most of the transiet sites and put new cabins in. The staff are the nicest people that you will come across. The prices are a little on the high side, but we dont mind. You get what you pay for. I would ( and do ) recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$55
We spent five months at this park over the summer. We cannot speak highly enough of this superior resort from the large treed sites and paved roadways to the excellent facilities offered. They run a tight ship here and have certain behavioral expectations of anyone there (normal, civilized behavior) but this only serves to enhance the overall experience. They also offer seasonal sites, if we ever decide to do a regular seasonal site this is the first place we've felt we'd like to come back and forth to. We've been 'on the road' nine years and so been and seen many parks along the way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$49
We love camping here but, this time we had a very unlevel site. We were in #206 and it is too small for a 36' MH. The front wheel were 10" off the ground. I had a 6 high stack of those yellow blocks under the front tires. I had a 4 high stack under each front jack and we still weren't level. That site is a GREAT site, just not for that size MH. Everything else was perfect. We will definitely stay again. Just ask about levelness when calling. I also heard that the CG will supply you with leveling boards. They actually bring them to your CG. I found out too late or I would have taken that offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
I was told to be careful about going to Lake in Wood because after camping there I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. This isn't far from the truth. Lake in Wood is simply wonderful. Roads are paved and gravel, of adequate width. The sites are wooded and offer some privacy from neighboring sites. A good portion of the campground is hilly and sites are not very level. There are multiple playgrounds scattered about the park. The lake is pretty, but somewhat murky. It is a fishing lake and swimming is not allowed. The pool complex is very nice. It includes a big kiddie pool and is best described as a water playground. The main pool is T shaped - with the base of the T being under roof. There are retractable walls added in the early and late season making it an indoor pool. An adult only hot tub is next to this pool. The restaurant is great and the store is adequately stocked. There are plenty of activities on the weekends and some weeknights that are all family oriented. Electric golf carts are permitted and are available for rent. We will definitely go back next summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
Lake-In-Wood camping resort is located on mountain in PA. We have mixed reviews for this park. Used our GPS to get there. The road up is very winding and steep so beware! We sure were glad to have a powerful enough truck to get us through some of the very steep climbs and narrow roads. When we arrived the staff seemed friendly and they even gave us a little bobble head gnome! They do have golf carts for rent, which I highly recommend, if you don't have a bike but the price is steep. One of the reasons we went here was because we wanted to have a wooded tree surrounded site. Driving through the campground to our site we were excited to see that this was what we exactly going to get. Boy were we wrong. We were given their most unique site, so they told us. It was right on their baseball field! Our site was the only one on the baseball field and totally open. Now if you are a scout master or having a family reunion this would be great but for us it held no privacy and we were constantly worried that balls would hit our car or RV. The front desk told us they were sold out and could not relocate us. My husband and I couldn't believe how unsympathetic they were. A little understanding would have gone a long way but all they would say is that this is one of the best sites and we were lucky to have it. To say we were upset is putting it mildly. Our site was called Brotherhood Circle. So if this is not what you want be sure not to get this one. This put a huge damper on our trip. The campground is well maintained and they have a well stocked store. The arcade is very small so if you have teenagers like us they will probably be a bit disappointed. Their wifi service worked well for those of us who can't live without internet service. The public bathrooms are well kept. The pool is nice and has a sit down juice bar for kids in it. It is very hilly so bike riding is a bit tough in sections so the golf cart came in handy. If we had gotten a site that wasn't on a baseball field and if the staff was more pleasant we would probably have given them a higher rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
This is a very clean CG . The pool is beautiful , they even have a kiddie pool where they can swim up to sit in a chair and order stuff. The staff is pretty friendly, but just a little strict. But as long as you don't bring attention to your self you will be fine. The bathrooms are clean . They have a very nice mini golf course. The lake is not bad for fishing. You have to play the "checkers" game there. It is a fun game to play. We will return to this CG. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$47
We've camped here several times and enjoy it very much. We stayed in the concrete pad area with our 36' MH. The only complaints I have are, Keep the pool open later than 5pm and put soap in all bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
We have stayed at this campground for several weekends during the summer for over ten years now. The ownership and the staff are always very nice, polite and always go out of their way to help you. There is a lot to do at this campground with chipper and mini golf. They also let you rent a golf cart for the weekend so that you can get around because the park is very large. They also have a large lake where you can go fishing so there are a lot of things for the kids to do and to enjoy. They also have a restaurant and snack bar on the premises which serves fantastic food. This campground is also privately owned which in our opinion is also a plus. We would advice anyone to stay at this campground which is located in the Lancaster Amish Country and there are plenty of things to see and your only 45 miles from Reading and the VF outlets which is also a plus if you like shopping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
Beautiful campground. Nice wooded level sites. We rented a golf cart to get around. Staff was not overly friendly, but not rude either. Limited sites for pop up campers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
We made a long drive on a special trip just to visit this campground as it had such good reviews. Our reception was sadly lacking. We went into the building and directly to the registration desk to ask if we could take a tour of the property. The woman receptionist never gave us a smile. She indicated on a campground map where the only spots our large motorhome would fit were and marked a car pass with a time 20 minutes from that moment saying that would give us enough time. She never offered one word of information about the place or what they offered, nor did she ask if we had any questions. She then told us to pull up to the security gate. It took almost five minutes for the gate to be opened. As a result we spent more time trying to read the map and find our way around than we did seeing the campground. What we did have time to see what that the place was very neat and tidy. The majority of the sites were "cozy." The few large rig sites available seemed adequate. But, here was a disturbing fact. We passed many people on our short visit and not one of them waved to us or acknowleged us. This is not how most campgrounds are in our experience. We have no idea if the bathrooms were clean or how the pool area looked as we were not allowed time to really look around. We are in our 6th year of fulltiming and find it hard to understand why people who do not enjoy interacting with other people get into the customer service business. If the woman in the office who "greeted" us was the owner, shame on her. If the owner doesn't instill friendliness and a welcoming manner in his/her employees by example and by insistence, shame on him/her. Wish we could have felt welcomed to take our time to check out the facility and amenities and to come back into the office with any questions. Sure didn't happen! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$44
Very nice campground that is very clean, extremely well maintained, and lots to do. The bath houses were very nice and were clean every time we used them. The sites are mainly wooded, level and with gravel. Many of the roads are newly paved. BINGO on Friday night was great. They were adding attractions to the playground. Only down thing of the trip was we chose Lake-In-Wood since they had indoor pool but it was only open during days on weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$44
This park is lovely. we stayed two night in our 33 ft MH. The site was fairly level and very clean with small stone gravel rather than large stones we have seen at other parks. A short walk takes you to the fishing lake and area of activity. The camp store was well stocked and not overly priced. And the Hershey ice cream is the best. I found the bathroom and shower to be very clean but my wife did not find the same. Trash on the floor and generally messy. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$44
This was second time I was there, had six sites with tents, pop-up & a travel trailer, all relatively close. The large tenters even went for full hook-up sites. Others in our group said too many rules, too commercial, not so friendly seasonal & staff, wouldn't go back. Seems they know it's a "fancy campground in demand". First time, in 2004, I like the paved site with full amenities, even rented golf cart for weekend. Large campground to walk every where. Pretty difficult to get holiday or even summer reservations. Note, the no alcohol policy only after check-in, you just need to not display &, of course, maintain composure. Nobody said anything to me either visit. I would probably return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$42
Camp-in-Wood was one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed at. Everything was clean and well tended. I was a bit hesitant to make reservations here, due to a few of the negative reviews on this board. I'm glad I went ahead. Everyone on the staff was very nice and willing to talk to you. A note about the strictness of the staff following the rules-yes, they do. If you are the type of person who wents to bend the rules, then this campground is not for you. If you are willing to obey the rules, you will have no problems at Lake-in-Wood. There were a fair amount of seasonal people, but I have never seen seasonal sites kept as clean as these were. As to the quarry, if you listen, you can hear the quarry, but more as background noise-I tend to be sensitive to noise, and this didn't bother me a bit. In addition, there were a nice variety of activities here. Miniature golf, row and paddle boating, swimming, and a nice hiking trail. On the plus side, these activites did not cost a lot. Miniature golf was a dollar or two and the boating was $5. 00 an hour. We will most certainly return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
This is our favorite campground! Super clean and well-run. The owner is quite strict about rules, so don't try to break them! B ut that is also what makes this campground so nice! Quiet hour is enforced. The pool area is beautiful, cute cafe to grab a bite to eat and a swim up slusshy bar! My kids love this place. It is the cleanest campground we have ever been to. Sites are all well-shaded, except for the huge pull through sites. There are alot of seasonals, but most are friendly. Nice hiking trails. Great proximity to all the Lancaster attractions. Lake is small, but nice, no swimming, fishing only. Sites for tents have a spot to pitch your tent which is lined with cedar chips for a softer sleeping area. The owner really has thought of everything! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$50
Camped here with Church Group - 10 sites mix of RV and Tents. Because we were a group got use of Pavillion, which was set up wonderfully with sink and stainless steel shelving. Plenty of Activities for all ages. Pools were great, a special pool just for the little ones. This is a yearly event - and everyone agrees they want to return to Lake-in-Wood again. Only downside - as early as 6am it was seen that the bathhouse area was dirty - so not clean basically from the day before. Have seen worse elsewhere, but expected better given price and other amenities We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
I cannot believe the person that made the comment about trying to get reservations. There is a reason if you can't get into the park. They must be an excellent park. If you have not camped at this park, then do not comment. This campground is the best around. Very clean, nice landscaping, the sites are extraordinary. The people are wonderful and nice. Excellent pool, especially for the little ones. Nice cafe with a Gnome theme. Excellent security, can leave your kids to roam around and not have to worry. I love it here!! It's a shame how some people complain about the littlest thing in a campground and give the campground a bad name. I would camp here again in a second! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2005
$40
We arrived on a Sunday afternoon. Our first impression...WOW! Disappointment soon soured our enthusiasm. The campground is beautiful and well maintained. No escort service to your site. We were assigned site #114...50 amp, large level concrete pad/driveway, plenty of green grass. When we finished setting up we decided to treat ourselves to a dinner at their on-site restaurant, "Gnome Cafe". We discovered that the restaurant closed early at 2:00 PM for a private party. We then decided to go for a swim in their large indoor pool facility...Sorry, closed. The large Arcade above their store was chained off, and you guessed it, closed. When I questioned an office member the response was, "people usually leave on Sunday so most things are closed up early". I told the office member that our campground fee should also include use of the campground amenities. Another irk was the screaming engine noise from a nearby Drag Strip and the far away thumping drone sound of a stone quarry. We won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$34
Great resort, friendly staff and campers. Nice area. We have stayed here twice and will return anytime we need to be in the area. A+ all around We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2004
$50
This place is really nice until you get settled and leave your site. This is definitely not a "family oriented" campground. These people are very unfriendly, that we will not recommend this place and most definitely will not be back. Yes, they have 3 pools, but they do not have enough lounge chairs to go around and you are not allowed to move them, so if you have children, they have just 3 lounge chairs by the kiddie pool, you're out of luck if you get there late. The kids are not allowed to touch the rope that divides the levels of water in the pools. My son did this when he came up for air, and he got a tongue lashing. You are not allowed to use battery operated scooters, but it says nothing about this on their website or in their brochure that they give you when you get there, but it does tell you no alcohol beverages which it doesn't state on their website, so if you like a glass of wine or beer you had better make sure you hide it. You are allowed battery operated bikes though, where the difference lies, I don't know. It is not bike friendly especially for kids. There is loose gravel and its hilly, plus they have speed bumps but these aren't your typical speed bumps, these are curbing, which our 5 year old daughter hit and went over the handle bar of her bike and hit her head, we had to take her to the emergency room because she was having vision problems. We had to stop at registration to ask for directions, when we explained the problem, the lady at the desk took her sweet time getting the piece of paper with the information on it and giving it to us, she wasn't concerned or anything. We couldn't believe it. When we got to the ER, her head injury was so bad that it affected her speech. She ended up with a concussion. Not once did any of the staff ask us how she was doing after we got back to the campground. As you can plainly see from that just how unfriendly they are. Thank goodness today she is back to her normal self. We had a 36' Motorhome when we camped here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2004
$50
We heard many wonderful things about this campground. Unfortunately when I called to inquire about reservations, I was treated rather poorly. The dates I requested were for 2 nights and the reservationist said they have a 3 night minimum and hung up on me. He didn't give me a chance to say that we were flexible the night before or after the 2 dates we wanted. I called back and was told the dates were sold out and again hung up on before I could inquire about different dates. It seems they cater more to their seasonal residents rather than campers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2004
$60
These people are the rudest people I have ever talked to at a campground. They think they are the only campground in PA. This place is beautiful but their attitude distroys its beauty. I called for a site and was told there were none and the girl hung up on me. Called back several times to get the same response. Called back the next day and the owner was just as rude. They won't get a dime of my money. They only have about 20 nice sites they call red carpet sites the rest of the place is crappy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$38
This is a beautiful park that is kept up very well. However, they are next to a Rock Quarry that while we were there was in operation 24 hours daily. The ongoing noise drove you crazy. They also have many many permanent site rigs and obviously cater to regular customers. Not very friendly to tourist types as we were. Stayed there four days as we made the committment but will not go there again. Wish I would have known about RV Reviews website before we stayed here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$40
The name of this campground should be Lake-In-Quarry because there is a rock quarry right in the back yard of this place and depending on the work load, you'll hear it all day and all night non-stop. I can't believe only one other reviewer mentioned this. It sounds like a train is running through your site. There is also a drag strip about a mile away and you will hear it on Sundays. On the plus side, it is clean and nice looking campground, but it doesn't make up for the noise. The campground is about 90% seasonal and growing from what I could see, and the owners cater to them and could care less about the day trippers. Never again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$45
What a clean campground! The cleanest I have ever seen, and this was after severe heavy rains that turned the lake into a mud pond. Great facilities - pools, store, restaurant. Very quiet at night - at least in our area. Had golf cart rentals, but only could be driven by adults. No riding rentals after dark, nor bicycles. This kept the noise down. Rules were enforced fairly. One of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$40
They have about 20 sites, in the 113 and 114 areas, that are extremely nice. These sites are paved, have driveways, nice picnic tables, fire rings, and other amenities, with paved roads leading to them. The rest of the campground is dirt roads with gravel sites, with chopped up used roofing covering the roads. These sites are mostly tight and not usually good for big rigs. The campground offers much for kids and is mostly well-kept. However, when we were here the 113-114 sites badly needed mowing and, when they got around to mowing these sites, they did not trim the very high grass and weeds around the hookups. This campground is mostly for permanents and the vast majority of sites have permanent park models on them. An overall nice campground, however, but insist on the 113-114 row of sites if you have a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$45
This is definitely a beautiful campground BUT it is not camping group friendly. Our group made reservations in March and were given sites together. However, when we arrived, we were scattered throughout the park on several different roads. We were told our units couldn't fit in some of the sites (however, the last time we were there we all fit there). They also gave our Wagonmaster a price of $36 per night; but added on the price of each child, including wanting to know if a child could walk and, if they could, the parents were charged (these children were all under 2 years of age). If this is family friendly, I won't return, and neither will our group. If you're looking for a seasonal campground, this is probably the place for you. If you're looking for a great family weekend, enjoy many of the other campgrounds located in this area of Lancaster. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Great Campground! The best I've ever stayed in. My pull thru site for my 5er was large, had 50amp service, cable TV, sewer, etc. Easy in/out. Nice lake to fish in (and fish too). Activities galore, nice Arcade room for the kids. Pool is really nice, and there is a separate kiddie pool. I also liked the hot tub. Located in a beautiful area of PA, in Amish country. You'll love their "Gnome Cafe", which has a great decoration scheme. Only thing I didn't like was there is a large rock quarry very nearby and they run those large chopping/cutting/slicing machines at all times of the day (early AND late), which sometimes got to be annoying. I think it's because of the tremendous amount of road improvements in the area around Reading. They WILL enforce rules about "quiet time" and noisy pets, but we appreciate that. We will go back without hesitation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$50
After planning and mapping our summer vacation for months we set out on 6/08/03. We had made it to the fourth night and was at Cedar Point in Sandusky, OH.(Great Place) During the night we received a call that an immediate member of our family had passed away. We were up the next morning heading home, some 700 miles. The people at Cedar Point were very understanding and refunded the one night we had left. As we were traveling home my wife was on her cell phone trying to cancel the other reservation we had at campgrounds. She had called Little Drummer Boy in Gettysbury, PA., no problem with refund. She then called our next CG at Lake-In-Wood at Bowmansville, PA. The lady told her that with the cancellation came a 100.00 charge. My wife explained the situation; the lady said that was policy but she would check with the owner. We returned another call to the CG the next day and the lady said she had talked to the owner and we could have a credit for the rest of this season. We can't travel another 700 miles this year. The lady also asked who had passed away for us to have to come home. This may be a good place to stay but the consideration of those in charge is low. If we are back in that area again we will stay at Spring Gulch, been there before. We had not been told of this little add on when we made our reservations nor did we receive any written confirmation or cancellation policy. Be careful if you plan on staying there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$40
This place has it all. This is upper class camping. Lots to do, with three pools, game room, cafe, minature golf, fishing, boating and more. Place is immaculatly clean, (I mean Spotless). Staff is very friendly and owners always on premises to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. Typical amount of seasonal sites but very well kept and very clean. All seasonals we met were very nice and made us feel welcome. Truly a great camping experience and worth going to. We will return again and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Just returned from an April weekend visit to Lake In Wood. Stayed in the 114 area. The 113 and 114 areas are new pull thru sites for this season. Large level concrete pads. Site was big with good spacing between RV's but no shade for these sites. The rest of the campground has very nice size sites, with lots of shade trees and foilage. Roadways throughout the campground are covered with recycled shredded shingles. The roads are narrow and are a bit of a challenge to navigate with a large RV. If you have kids this is a great campground for them. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$45
This is a beautiful, clean, well-maintained campground. The pool area is great for the kids with an attached cafe. The sites are large and the mini-golf nice. Unfortunately, I found there were too many seasonals that were not that friendly, as well as the staff. On the day we left, we ate at the cafe after swimming. It took us about 35 minutes to get our hotdogs etc. I got back at our site to change and leave at 2pm (we were loaded with our awning, carpet up, etc.) to find a gentleman kicking us off our site. He didn't even consider our explanation. Tightly run is fine, but rude is not! I will never go back. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
When you first pull up to this campground your first impression is "Resort". This place is beautiful. The place is kept very clean and there is plenty to do. They have three pools, a cafe, minature golf, fishing, etc. The sites are mostly wooded with gravel. The roads are made of recycled asphalt shingles which are real nice. The people were great. Everyone including the staff was helpful and friendly. The owner takes alot of pride in this park and is not afraid to enforce the rules. One downfall was there were a lot of bees in the area, not just our site but the whole campground. The campground is quiet at night, with no rowdy people. The campground is very large with about 450 sites and plans for more. We found the store to be above any campers expectations they even had hand dipped ice cream. Overall this place was a true 10 and we will return. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Beautiful, nice surroundings, buildings well kept, excellent pool facilities, nice "Gnome Cafe" and a rather big campground. Unfortunately too, too many seasonal sites, (approximately 350 out of 400) and really unsocialable seasonals made our stay less than terrific. Never had that warm and fuzzy feeling from the management as well. The kiddie pools were the best we have ever seen, the bike riding was difficult due to the loose gravel roads and complicated by the hillside setting. This place is really a seasonal campground that caters to the benefit and enjoyment of its large seasonal population. We checked out a day early and management never asked why. We will not be back. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Real nice family place to visit. Wooded area, lots to see and do. Very Friendly Staff. The only recommendation I would make for the Campground: Have a more Complete First Aid Kit available...Son got hurt on the see saw, our site was 1/2 mile away. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$38
Thumbs up!!!! Great Campground. Very nice pool area. Consessions at the pool. Very nice store, lake with paddleboats. Nice game room. Very friendly staff. Lake in Wood beats Sun Valley and Spring Gulch in the Lancaster area. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com