223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Wassamki Springs was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (207) 839-4276
CGID1312

Wassamki Springs

Camp Information
Sites
202
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   5   7   7   7   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$34
Good Sam discount. Well water has a strong smell. Very low water pressure in restroom, and dirty showers. Camped here so that we could arrive at noon the next day for lunch at Red's Eats in Wiscassett, ME to have their truly world-famous lobster rolls (one of 1000 things to do before you die). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$53
This is a very large camping site. On one side of a lake there is the more typical layout under large trees, store, and activities for families. However, the first site we were assigned our rig was very close to the neighbor's fire ring. They gave us our choice of sites and we moved to the other side on the lake on an open grassy area with a lake view. Very nice, friendly place. Wi-Fi was fast and free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
This is actually our second stay at Wassamki Springs. I did check that there was a pool available, but actually it is a spring-fed lake beach for swimming. The campground does have dirt roads that can be muddy during rain and dusty otherwise, but that is my only negative observation. We love coming here and enjoy the area and the people. There are many activities for children and adults; seasonal residents are friendly and helpful along with the staff. We will definitely camp here again if in the area. The daily rates reflect our monthly stay that did include some off-season daily rates and the pay for 21, stay a month. Otherwise, full hookup with 50 amps is $64 nightly peak season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
We parked in the big rig (I) area. It was very nice. We were on lawn. My only complaint is the dust from the roads they have no dust control. The roads are dirt, no gravel. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. Sixty a night is a bit much. We would stay again only in (I) area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$56
Price reflects weekly rate discount (pay for 6 nights, get 7th night free). Overall a nice park, however, no one in previous posts mentioned the loud road noise and that it’s on the airport’s flight path, so it’s not a quiet place, unfortunately. Staff is nice overall, as well as transients and seasonals. They have weekend family activities, but no other amenities such as a pool, although there is a lake. This campground was not our first choice in the area, so would we stay here again? Maybe if there was no other place around, but given the noise factor we’d look elsewhere first. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$56
The positives: Beautiful lake on site, great family activities over the July 4th weekend, friendly and helpful on-site staff, and dependable hook ups. The negatives: Narrow, unpaved (gravel) access roads (borderline big rig friendly), easy to get stuck in the mud when the ground is wet (we did), Wi-Fi was available but was next to useless (very slow and intermittent), and expensive given the negatives. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40+
We've been coming here for 3 years. Love the swimming. Very clean and beautiful spring fed lake. The sites are roomy. Staff is friendly. Great bass fishing on the far side. My kids love it. They have Wi-Fi, but it needs to be upgraded and you will never get on. They will tell you on the phone that it works fine, but you will find out when you get here that it will do you no good. Also, inconsiderate campers are never kept in check after quiet hours. There is no one in the office or available on the grounds to assist in reminding them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
First time visitors to this park. Spacious and clean. Sites available among extremely large pines. We had a very large open site. Staff were very helpful. Other campers were friendly. Great location, only 3-4 miles from Maine Mall & most important Cracker Barrel. We will certainly be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This is a very nice Good Sam campground with a lot of potential; it must be a great place to be in summer with its lake and activities. We were very explicit when making reservations that we needed a space for 34' with 2 slides and handicapped accessible. Upon arrival we were originally sent to a narrow space between 2 trees, with 'permanents' on both sides of us and directly across from the kids playground. If we'd had young kids with us this might have been a good place to be; however, our rig would not fit in the space so we unhooked our tow vehicle and searched the park for a suitable space. It seems most of the lake-front spaces are already taken by permanent campers or are for tents. We finally set up in the open field. All the amenities were available as stated; staff was friendly and accommodating. A GREAT nearly restaurant for low-cost lobster dinners is Ocean Gardens in Gorham, about 15 minutes away. Restrooms and showers were not wheel-chair accessible. Although campground met our needs for a 3-4 night stay but it unlikely we would return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$54
This campground is large and was busy when we were here. There is a large section of seasonals at the back; there are many tent sites, under pine trees; and a large open field of grass for motorhomes. We arrived after a rain event, and our site had muddy puddles. Once the puddles had dried, someone came by to fill the puddles with dirt and level the area. There is a lovely spring-fed lake on the property, open to swimming and floating. There seem to be many activities scheduled for families, including softball. It is away from main roads and freeways, so is quiet at night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Great family campground. Nice big pond for swimming, fishing and boating. Lots of green grass and space. Happy to recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$60
Big Rigs - don't take a pull through unless you must have shade. They are a bit tight and small. There are newer sites in section I that are much larger, grassy and are in the open so you can use your satellite. Even though they are back in, our 43 ft had no problem. They are putting in cable TV, but no pool. They have a gorgeous lake and the majority of sites are among tall tress. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$70
Nice facility with plenty of activities. Run by a lot of senior citizens which give a special feeling. However rather expensive especially if you only need an overnight site. Very poor Wi-Fi connection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We stayed here a couple of nights to go into Portland Maine (only 6 miles to town) and enjoy the great waterfront. From the friendly greeting to assisting in directions into town, the ladies in the office instantly made you feel comfortable with your stay, and we just got here! Our pull through wooded site was nice size and level. We were offered an open site if we wanted to use our satellite dish. Spotlessly clean rest rooms and showers. The grounds had a nice cottage town feel to it with sandy roads and the very large pond with waterfront sites that were very nice from what we could see. We camped in September to avoid crowds of families and kids and we were not disappointed here, though from the number of seasonal set-ups it seems to be a very family oriented CG. My wife and I love Portland so we can't wait to go back and when we do this will be the place we stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$48
Good CG for visiting the Portland area. Good size sites, some pull through, but we chose back-in to reduce the price. Rate is high. We visited family, both times we stayed here, so didn't spend much time in campground. Staff was friendly, areas were clean and neat. Did notice that people in beach area were allowed to play loud music during the day. Their beach area is open to local population for a fee. Big rig sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We stayed in the open field area which had no shade. We didn't mind because we like having the warmth of the sun. There was no swimming pool but there was a swimming beach area on the lake. If you do like shade there was a heavy shaded area in another section of the park. This seems to be not only for travelers but locals use the facilities for a small fee. During the heavy rains our surrounding grass area became very soggy: no pad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
If you are looking for some wonderful shade, this is the park for you. The trees here are so gorgeously tall, providing many of the well-spaced spots (including ours) with refreshing cool shade. Honestly, the laundry room could use a few more machines. We did a few loads but had to keep coming back with the number of people who wanted to use the facility. We didn't swim in the lake, but it sure is big! Lots of beach and happy people all playing and frolicking in the water or on the shore where there's a basketball court, volleyball, and a baseball diamond as well. Snack stands surround the beach as well, making this place a destination for more than just the campers. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the proximity to Portland. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
We stayed here in early October. Most of the sites are well-shaded with pine trees and have pretty close access to the man-made lake. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was nice and clean. I would stay here again but probably not at peak times because it would likely be a little too busy for me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
The campground has a large lake with a swimming beach. There are plenty of group picnic areas and each site has picnic tables and fire rings, most with grills. Fantastic family management with strong emphasis on family activities and fun events for children. The roads in the campground could be improved, preferably paved, since the Summer of 2009 was very rainy and the roads were muddy with deep puddles. But still, we consider this to be a great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$49
Start with the positives: A large lake, with lot's of amenities for kids. Also they have lot's of activities for campers, including a live band on the Saturday night we were there. It's also the closest RV park to Portland. The negatives: No cable. So no TV in treed lots. Wifi very problematic. A lot of seasonals. Lake and playground area is open for day use...on the weekends lot's of people come there to swim and party. Non treed sites and roadways are sand/grass. sites not very level, with deep ruts from previous rains everywhere. Then it rained hard while we were there and the entire area turned into a mud bog. I would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
We really liked this campground. As stated in other reviews airplanes fly overhead, but I enjoy watching them; they're not very noisy and only fly at certain times. The staff and campers were all very friendly and make you feel like part of their group of friends right from the start. This campground may not be perfect, but I have not seen one yet, anywhere. The important thing is they try very hard to make your stay there the best it could be. This location is excellent for the beach, Portland, the NASCAR race track, the Maine Mall and so much more. I would suggest this campground to any of my friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
The park looked attractive and the hosts were friendly but we were disappointed with our one-night stay. The site was sandy, and since it had rained the sand ended up everywhere. The rest room had a strong mildew odor, and the wooden slat platforms outside the showers were unpainted. On the night we stayed, there were airplanes flying over us and landing nearby. The noise made sleep difficult in our camper van. It did seem to offer many activities for families, but we just wanted to get some sleep and leave. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This is not a well kept park. A lot of trashy seasonals and the only section shorter term campers will want to be in is the open "I" section (definitely the only place you will get satellite). When it rains, it floods many sites and roads -- we had a waterfront site and weren't anywhere near the man-made lake! So many potholes, it was hazardous to drive our truck, let alone our fifth wheel on the interior roads. The beach is small and steep. The tree lined entry is not big rig friendly. Did not find the staff very helpful with directions. Not sure why their rates are so high, especially off-season. They have nothing to offer (except free WIFI) and need to bring the value up or the rates down! We come to Maine every year, but we will never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$42
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Very busy on the weekends, make sure you have a reservation or arrive by Thursday. Lots of activities here, very well kept park. Some of the campsites are very tight for a motor home, but the staff is very accommodating about swapping sites. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$44
The place we had reservations was screwed up and didn't have a site big enough for us. This campground had a big enough site for us. We were in site #I21. They are a little pricy. We didn't like the low branches of the trees that line down the driveway. They have speed bumps. The water pressure is poor. The campground is made up of two sections. One is more like a state park. Lots of trees, lots of screaming kids, lots of smoky campfires. The second section which we were in has less trees, (satellite friendly) less kids and way less campfires. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Campground offers planned activities. Has a lot on seasonal sites. Nice tents sites available on the water, better than rig sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$43
We loved Wassamki Springs. Lots of family activities. The staff was very helpful and polite. We extended our stay because of the nice area. Just minutes from Portland and many fun things to do. We noticed that as soon as a camper checked out the staff was there to rake and clean up the site for the next use. We were impressed. The only draw back was no cable but we got several good stations with our antenna! Adult card games every Tuesday night. Bingo every Wednesday night. Band every Saturday night, something for everyone! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$41
We've stayed at a lot nicer places for a lot less. The tree-lined entrance makes a nice first impression but it is all downhill from there. At the end of the entrance is a public beach jammed with people--many, many kids. Our spot was under pine trees with no sewer connection. The 5th wheel next to us was parked at an angle within 4 ft of our coach. The park has at least 50% seasonal campers. The campground is obviously on the flight path of Portland airport. They did have live entertainment Saturday night--set up very near our coach. Quiet hour is not enforced. If you want peace and quiet, don't stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Nice private lake, plenty of activities, limited big rig sites, problem if rains, most of big rig sites messy. Also road noise for big rig sites. Close to everything. Take off and landing aircraft for Portland Jetport fly right over park at low altitude. Will stay there when in the area though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$39
Great park for families with kids, especially on week-ends. Activities galore, huge lake with lifeguard, extremely friendly staff. We had a little problem with low amps but moved to a 50 amp site (newer electric) and haven't had any problems. This is not a park for those seeking quiet. They have a snack bar, offer breakfast ($) on the weekends, movies, etc. Sites are large, lots of trees but we were still able to get our satellite to work. We'd come back and we are kidless! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$21
Pretty wooded campground, our back-in dirt site was not huge but reasonably large and level, we have a 30 ft class A. There is also an area of pull-thrus that is less shaded and some small lakefront sites. Staff very friendly and organized, a pleasure to deal with. Bathhouses are not fancy but fairly clean and in good repair. Laundry is a bit expensive ($3 a load to wash and dry) but large, clean and laid out well. They have two dump stations, one toward the back of the park that is difficult to get in and out of for a rig of any size and one at the front of the park that is easy to access. They also have propane. Close to Scarborough Downs harness racing track. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2004
$39
Will not be a place we return too. We were jam packed. By Saturday night, the bathroom's were downright disgusting. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$34
Very family friendly, daily local newspaper delivered to our site for free. Nice beaches for swimming or sunning. Free movies (kid friendly), bingo, raffles, laundry room, playground, game room. They even have a honeywagon that will pump you out if your site does not have sewer and you dont want to go and dump at a dumping station. Only downside I could find is that it is directly under the flight path of the Portland Jetport and even then the planes were not that annoying. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$28
We left a day early--site was exposed, we had people walking throuhg our site on all 4 sides--even peeking in our windows! Ate inside for privacy--Seasonals near us, blocked road with their cars, loud at midnight, people cursing, screaming at their kids.--The campground itself was attractive, the people just obnoxious. Not for those seeking relaxation or considerate campers. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com