218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Hagerstown / Antietam Battlefield KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 86 user reviews. Phone: (301) 223-7571
CGID1331

Hagerstown / Antietam Battlefield KOA

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   9   5   3   10   9   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
For families with kids, I rate it an 8. For big rigs towing, a 1. They make an effort, especially on the weekends, to have lots to do for kids, who all seemed to be having a good time. Road to the campground is very narrow - could not pass another RV or truck coming the other direction; campground roads are very narrow and difficult to navigate with our 40' rig. Pet walk was up a hill that had been washed out by rain. Person at the desk gave us a route out of the campground that you could not navigate with a big rig towing. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$65
This park was extremely noisy. Quiet time was 10 PM. However, the nearby motor speedway ran until midnight. Our sites were really tight. Our neighbors sewer line was right next to our table and there was nowhere to move it to. I think this park was set up when trailers were a lot smaller. Staff was pretty friendly and grounds were clean. Nice to be able to fish in the nearby creek. If you don't mind engine noise half the night, it is a nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$50
This campground gives you the camping experience you are looking for. Off the highway about 3 miles. A country road sets the scene. The campground is clean, the staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. All sorts of RVs come through here from truck campers to larger rigs. The diner is incredible. 50s flair, so charming and you won't go away hungry. Home made fresh foods!!! There are activities but not an overbearing schedule. Just right. Roads and sites are gravel. Can be a little tight when the campground is full but a little care and no problems. The new store is wonderful, and it looks like other projects are on the horizon. The animals are a great addition and something different that adds to the charm of this campground. This has become a favorite for us. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$46
If you love camping next to a stream where you can fish and canoe, then this is campground for you. But don't plan to go if there is a heavy dew forecasted, you will be washed away. The sites were not well drained unless you like a "stream" flowing through your site. The laundry was in need of cleaning and the machines were very dirty. Had to wipe them out prior to using. There were plenty and worked well, just dirty. The staff was very nice and gave wonderful directions to the campground. The access road was a very narrow county road. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2013
$42
Campsites were very uneven. The roads were kind of bumpy and the one-lane cowpath leading into the park was scary narrow. The cafeteria was only open for a brief period and served only wings and pizza (I think they have a few more items on the weekend). The miniature golf course was old and pretty much worn out. The stream behind us was pretty and the cows (seriously)walking through in the morning were neat. For the money, I would probably stay somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$47
This was an overnight stop for us and we couldn't have been happier. Having usually stayed at KOA's that have been right off the highway, it was such a pleasant surprise to find this one only 3 miles from the interstate, but tucked back in a natural setting that made you feel like you were camping in the woods. There was no highway noise, the sites were clean and well maintained, and the river was beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
We stayed here a couple of years ago and enjoyed it. Same good experience this time. It could be a little tight if it was full but mid-week, it's delightful. We’re 45' with a tow so there are limited sites. The approaching roads have some low tree branches. Good Wi-Fi. Picnic table and fire ring. Pleasant flower garden. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
Very nice little park in a wonderful location. Friendly staff, nice river, a lot to do, and while it's only 3 or 4 miles off the interstate, it's tucked back into the woods so you don't hear the highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$47
Nice park beside large creek; roads and sites are gravel. Sites are tight, just fit our 37' motorhome. There are trees for shade. Not far from shopping, restaurants, and national parks. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) were good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
My husband and I haven't camped in a KOA for years, but this one was right in the area of MD we wanted and was advertised to be far from the highway, so we decided to give it a try. We have been impressed! It is a very lovely campground. Clean bathrooms and showers, well-supplied store, lovely landscaping, very quiet, level sites, very friendly and polite folks, and, the neatest of all -- a doggie playground. Have been camping for over 30 years and have NEVER seen that before. They're always playgrounds for the kids, why not for the dogs? The not so nice stuff -- the sites are a bit small (we were there for a week so we parked in the next sight when it was empty). It's nice to have free WiFi at our site, but it is slow and we were unable to get work done. Overall, we definitely would recommend this KOA. Other reviewers commented that it was not a good campground for large RVs. Our trailer is only 20' but we sure did see some gigantic rigs during the week we were there. Maybe they just made reservations in advance to get the pull-through sites? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$36
What a gem!! Yes, once off the highway the roads are country. Yes it is a small campground and a little tight, BUT we saw everything from truck campers to big rigs in this park. With that said, there are few choices for big rigs, and if you can get a site slow down and take your time. So what is so great about this park? Everything. This country setting, the quaint and quiet atmosphere. Even with the haunted house, the park settles right down after the tours stop. The park is beautiful with great landscaping. The store has a little bit of everything. The staff is very helpful and informative. The diner is fantastic. It is camping, not resort parking. We have a 40' fiver and had no trouble getting into our site. But again, just take your time and enjoy the views. Will definitely be back and highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
Wasn't impressed with my pull-through site. What is it with KOA to have water and electric at the front of the site and sewer at the back. This isn't the first KOA that I've run into this. Was told by a seasonal that the sites by the river flood in the spring. Doesn't deserve a $50 price. Almost a one way road in and out of the place, I would have hated to meet someone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$59
Campsite g not to suitable for big rigs. Tree in front of 'pull thru' campsite blocked our neighbors exit and necessitated our packing up at 0730. Spot was not large Enough for coach and vehicle. Access Road in had numerous low hanging trees. Someone will lose an AC unit soon. Owner does not care about this issue nor the low trees on his property. And owner does not return requests for phone call. From his email: "your complaint is so utterly ridiculous that is does not warrant my time to call you back." Stay away! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$1
As noted in my previous reviews I like the new big rig section, though some sites are pretty unlevel, they moved us which was nice but what about a little gravel to fix. The entry still requires dodging trees. Still it is a good big rig bet..Can't remember what we paid thus the $1. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
The campground itself was fine. Clean and well kept, the reason for the lower review was due to the long term residents we met there. Our "neighbor" identified himself as a person with mental issues, and he was working them out while staying there! We also met a worker in the evening (dark) who was clearly drunk and followed us while we were working our dogs. This may be ok for some, but it made us uncomfortable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Prior review captures most of this location's strong points so no need to repeat. Could use some gravel refreshment, however. The little diner they have offers a great alternative to cooking in. Internet signal is somewhat weak and only practical if you're outside your unit. I followed the signs in and the GPS out. Both worked well but the GPS route was shorter. I don't quite understand the KOA caveat. Can't miss either way. We'd certainly stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
They gave us a level pull-through site #F next to the cabins. It allowed us to stay connected to our truck. The grounds are very well-maintained. There is a lot to do and although we did not spend much time in the park due to other commitments, our small dog did enjoy playing in the doggie park. They have a nice pool and well-stocked store. The restaurant has nightly specials and inexpensive breakfasts and lunches. The setting is along a river, but the roads leading to the campground are somewhat narrow and winding. Just take your time. It is close to many historic sites which they provide directions to. The staff is friendly and helpful. We would come back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$36
Selected this campground for it's closeness to the highway. Not quite what I'm use to from a KOA. Park is set in a very country atmosphere. Firstly the roads to the park are very narrow and winding. Be prepared. Try to arrive during the daylight. The river is right beside the road so one wrong turn. The entrance road to the campground is steep and has numerous potholes. Road to office is very narrow with a sharp turn. Doable but go very slow. People are very friendly and helpful. Pull through site was somewhat short for a 40' coach with tow. Site was gravel with separation of hookups. Electrical at the rear, sewer in the middle, and water and cable at the front of the site. All reachable without extensions. Can't comment on the bathroom or laundry facilities. Wi-Fi worked great. Cable was fuzzy on most of the stations. The park has numerous gardens which I'm sure are beautiful in the summer. The river is fast flowing good for fishing and canoeing. Overall, okay campground. Could not accommodate anything larger than a 40' motorhome. Not sure if we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$55
Pretty campground. Wish we could have enjoyed the gardens, but cold and it snowed! Very tight to maneuver big rigs, plus glad we didn't meet another camper on the way in. While scenic, an extremely narrow road. Staff was friendly, great little diner onsite. Had a great breakfast there. Wi-Fi is weak. Pool was closed, but small. Store just ho-hum. We came here to go to the onsite haunted house, but never made it. Heavy wet snow apparently took some trees down, and the campground lost power from about 6pm on Saturday & was still out when we left at 1pm the next day. While this was not their fault, the fact that the office was just "closed" during that time was disappointing. There were campers wandering around looking for answers, no one to be found. Would not stay here again due to that, and it's just a bit small. We prefer a little more room on a site with our large RV with 4 slides. Would like to see the gardens in nicer weather though. They get a "10" for that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$48
There aren't a lot of campgrounds along this section of I-70 and almost none that are near the interstate.  This KOA is about 5 miles off but that distance does provide a nice ambience in the campground and also makes it free from road noise.  Access roads are fairly narrow and some trees are low but certainly ok for big rigs. It's an older campground and, therefore, "cozy". We had a level, pull through site (F) which was easy in and out for our 45' rig. We could get satellite and cable TV is available. There are only a few big rig sites. It is heavily treed and a creek runs next to the campground.  Reasonably good Wi-Fi, a little slow. AT&T signal was ok.  Can't say anything about the area as we just did an overnight.  If there had been occupants in the cabin next to us, we would have had to invite them for dinner.  It was close.  We would stay here again because we liked the atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
A bit "off the road" to get to it, but worth the drive. Great people, sites and amenities. Enjoyed the campgrounds. Our site was "below" a few of the cabins, so when they were outside, it was like they were right outside our back door. Office staff was very helpful. Might stay again, for a longer period. Just too far off the road for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$54
Nice campground. Friendly and accommodating staff. Kept us informed of traffic problems on I-81. Unusual for any campground. Thanks. Looks as though road problems have been fixed. Suggest you not camp around the dump station in sites A, B, C, and those in the low fifties. Nasty smell when campers use the dump station. Can't extend awning in site B. Nnot a problem for us as we only stayed one night. Would return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
We did a one night stop over. Our site was easy to get into but most sites appear on small side. Had no problems with entrance road. Campground looked well maintained. Everyone was professional and friendly. No issues with hook-ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$48
After reading all of the reviews that have been generated by this Park, all I can say is, wow, we do have different views of the same place. All I can do is offer ours. Yes, it is a little hard to get to, requiring meandering down some country roads that are actually quite pleasant. Yes there are a lot of wet and muddy spots in the Park, particularly in the Springtime when the creek (more like a river) is high and ground is still running off from the recent rains. And, yes, some of the facilities, like the restrooms and showers, are rather dated and need improvements, which it looks like they are getting. The place ain't perfect. But I'd like to offer an award of some kind to the person who is responsible for the plantings throughout this Park, where every square inch of ground that isn't need for another use is sprouting beautiful flowers, leafy hosts and other attractive plants, veggies like lettuce and tomatoes, all creating a wonderland of beautiful gardens. It is, by far, the most beautiful display of practical and ornamental horticulture that we've ever seen in an RV Park. Even if you don't camp here, it's worth the trip to see it. On the basics, we found our utilities to be entirely functional and adequate, our site level, the office and support personnel very friendly and helpful, and the setting, alongside a major creek, very lovely. The place is great for dog walking, with an excellent K9 Korral (bathroom) available, and nice trails that our dog really enjoyed. We really enjoyed this campground, and stayed an extra day to savor it's beauty. Hope you like it, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Super friendly. Personally a little expensive for a KOA, but that could just be me. I agree it could use some TLC. Actually all it needs is a couple dump truck loads of stone, to fix the muddy area's. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$51
Getting here is not "half the fun". Do NOT follow your GPS if approaching from the south. Best bet is the I-70 Exit 24, MD-63 south route. I really like this place. It rained most of the time we were there so we stayed indoors a lot and took advantage of the tranquility. I'd like to return and stay longer. The "Diner" offers good meals at reasonable prices. The grounds are well kept and the staff were helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$48
Small family friendly park. Stopped here for the night on our way to Florida. In need of some electrical updating and general refurbishing. Seems dated. Sites tight and narrow. Very friendly staff. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
Great campground with fun Halloween activities. We came down to visit the Haunted House, but were surprised by how much more there was to do right at the campground. Our creekfront site was very nice. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
As previously stated, the electric is spotty at best. Both of us used the showers and the men's shower was nasty with mold under the mats. WiFi is not strong enough to get to the overnight spots who pay a premium to stay. I had to rely on my wireless card. We asked for a 50 amp site, but was directed to a 30, but after husband checked electric (he's an electrican) we knew we weren't going to get adequate service anyway. We planned to stay for several days, but we're online right now looking for another campground in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$52
This is the most beautiful campground. The staff is so friendly and helpful. This KOA is a great place for kids. The diner has the best food. We had dinner and breakfast. We are making plans to go back soon! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$51
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have been to. The people working there are so friendly, nice and helpful. Beautiful gardens. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Getting a satisfactory site was a problem. Asked for a level site. Got one that needed 4 to 5 inches under all four duals plus 2 inches more on one side. Impossible. The next site given needed only 2 to 3 inches under the duals but the electricity would not come on. Open ground. Same with the next site. (The clerk at the office was informed of this shock liability). The last four sites in the row all had grounded electricity at only 115 volts. The site we used was within 2 to 3 inches of level. The Wi-Fi was too weak for practical use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$70
This is the WORST KOA we have ever stayed at. I don't even know why they call it a KOA! We were so excited to come here for one last blow out weekend before school. Me and hubby plus 2 girls ages 7 and 10. Thinking it was a KOA we were excited. We knew immediatly before we even arrived, the place was a dump. Ok think the movie National Lampoons Vacation, when they went to the campground. This place is worse! I would never recommend this place to anyone. I am writing the president of KOA. Our whole weekend ruined. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$49
This is by far, the worst KOA we have stayed at. We have stayed at many. We were looking for a place to overnight on the way from Asheville, NC to Albany, NY. Called this campground looking for a pull through site with sewer. The woman who answered the phone was not friendly. Said there was only one site available, W/E 30 Amp. She said there were no FHU sites available. We took what she was offering, for lack of any other campgrounds close by. This place is about 4 miles off the interstate, winding roads, and at one point, one lane. A bit dangerous! There are also quite a few low trees. The roads within the camp are gravel-ish, very dusty and dirty. Our site was right against the entrance road. I mean the front nose of our coach was about 2 feet from the road! Our site was all rocks, as were most, it was also littered with cigarette butts. Funny that the woman in the office said she had only 1 site available. There were many empty sites in the park, including a FHU 50 amp site right next door that stayed empty all night! Although, my w/e 30 amp cost a whopping $49, (so how much was the FHU 50 amp)? There were a few channels on the cable TV, the WiFi they said they had, did not work at all. Overall, the campground did not look well cared for. Haven't the KOA inspectors been here lately? This was only slightly better than a free stay at a Wal-Mart parking lot. I would not recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Nice clean well kept park. Pull-throughs a tad bit small, but had a good time and the park staff were great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We stayed here 2 years ago in May and really liked this campground. This time we were here in June and found it to be over crowded. Our site was very tight. The staff couldn't handle th check -in crowd on Friday. There was one poor guy left in the office while other staff members rode around on golf carts. We will be back to visit the battlefield and family again but it will be in the spring before they are over crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$46
Fortunately, they did have one site that could fit us (we're 40'), but it didn't look like there were many that would! And while I had signed up on-line for a back-in site that was cheaper, somehow I was automatically put in a pull-through that was quite a bit more! I figure that's because they really DON'T have back-in sites that will fit big rigs! And their Wi-Fi worked well. And it was nice to walk down by the river. But it was darn expensive for a place that was fairly hard to get to (believe it on the long, narrow entry roads reviewers have mentioned!), had a tight, confusing site/park configuration, and while the smell wasn't that bad to me (much less offensive than if it had been a sewer leak as suggested by some), you could smell the dairy/cows nearby now and then. We wouldn't stay here again, except there really aren't many places in this whole area (incl. northern VA, WV, MD, & PA) that sound nice, are reasonably accessible for big rigs, and are affordable!!! (not that I would count this park as affordable!). And since there aren't many, the places fill up on weekends, so book ahead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$47
A very nice park. We came here last minute and although they had no more tent sites we still stayed at a full hook up site and it was nice. Wish they had more meats in the store but they do have a diner and a pool and plenty of things for the kids to do. Great for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
I have stayed in a lot of KOA's, but this was one of the worst! I could be a real nice park, but it is just plain dirty. Why are so many KOA parks lacking in gravel? The lower portion of this park was flooded just days before we arrived. It sits on a creek that had become a small river. The road and entrance to the park was in real bad shape. My rig and my car I tow was so muddy it took me several days to clean them after I got home 2 days later. Also, there was a foul odor in the rear of the park. It smelled like something dead!! I will not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
The campground is beautiful, and the staff is very friendly, helpful and nice. The campground was packed but everyone had plenty of room. They have a nice diner and serve wonderful food. You can have the food delivered to your site. We had breakfast and dinner and enjoyed every bite. The gardens are just breathtaking. We will go back for sure! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
Although this was several miles off the interstate, it is in a pretty setting on a river. Keep an eye out for branches as you are driving down the main roads to the campground. The campground itself had no such problem, though. Most of the sites seemed to be fairly level, a mix of back in and pull through. A lot of the sites had unique touches, like built in benches, wooden decks and one had a canvas lawn swing, so it added some quaintness. We did not use the restaurant, but they do offer a couple of full-meal specials. We would stay here again and would recommend to friends. The only reason we are rating at an 8 is distance from the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
This is one of our favorite parks. Great for kids and a ton of family oriented events are planned for the weekends. Easter weekend was a blast. The Adult Easter egg hunt is a memory that will live in my mind forever. Excellent game room and mini golf course. Staff was very friendly and one staff member (informative and gentlemanly) will keep us coming back. I would recommend this park to anyone who has kids as they have a ton of activities to keep the kids busy for the entire stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
For a KOA, this campground was OK. We were just passing through for the night, so we didn't use all of the amenities. It was several miles off the interstate, but the signs were well placed. The self check-in was smooth, and we easily found our pull through site. There was a fair amount of shade trees, and most of the spots seemed fairly level. The downsides: The roads are not paved, but a loose gravel. It had been raining, so the roads were muddy and we even spun a little pulling into our spot. For the price, I expected sewer, but didn't really need it for just an overnight stop. Also, when I walked around the campground the next morning, the smell of raw sewage was strong. I don't know if a permanment camper had a leak, or if the entire place always smells of sewer. The area is beautiful, and there are several other state parks around. I would not make this campground a destination campsite, but it serves well for a quick stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
A nice, quiet park, well off of the highway. A little difficult to find, but well worth the trouble. Staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This is a nice campground with easy access to the sites. We were in a 38' 5th wheel and had no trouble getting onto the site. The road to the campground is narrow but not difficult to navigate. The staff are great, they have a restaurant at the campground which serves breakfast and supper and the prices are good. On the weekends they have an outside theater and have movies for the kids. Nice park, would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$42
Overall, this place was fine for an overnight, or if you're lucky enough to get a site that gives you satellite access, and if you're not staying at your site, it could be fine for a few more days. The roads are tight for a larger motorhome towing a vehicle, and some of the sites are an impossible challenge. There are a lot of trees, not only messing with your satellite reception, but menacing your rig as you maneuver the campground. We lucky enough, and very surprised, to actually get satellite reception from site F. The roads leading into the campground are also rather tight and menacing. If we are ever back in this area, since other options are limited for us, we will probably come back, but WalMart looks good to us as an option. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$41
This campground is well off the highway in a quiet rural setting along a creek. The sites were reasonably spaced in the area we stayed. Our site was pull through with a shady tree. Although our site had a large wood deck (a first for us in a campground), it proved awkward to use with our trailer. Staff were friendly but our escort positioned us incorrectly on the site, making it difficult to access the sewer connection. Restrooms and showers were good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$66
We only stayed here for one night – price was a little costly but no weekend minimal stay required –if we ever have a need to be in the area again we’d gladly stay again. The entrance is very narrow and the sites are smaller than we usually like but all appeared to be level. The campground is very clean – tons of flowers planted everywhere and a community garden too. Kids enjoyed the scheduled activities, pool & game room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
The sites here are very small. Our pop-up was back-to-back with a Class-A monster. We enjoyed the extremely level, river-front site #44 that was nicely finished with landscaping timbers, although those made it little tricky navigating at night. Fellow campers were great. However, watch out for the cussing staff member with a perpetual cigarette hanging out of his mouth. The park entrance is narrow and one-way only, therefore big rigs totally block the road as they que for check-in. Registration is agonizingly slow as it's manned by a single staff member who can be easily sidetracked dipping ice cream for other campers. Recommend the Walmart or Sheetz down the road, as the camp store prices are insane. That said, firewood is available and reasonably priced. The bathrooms are just ok, with absolutely no water pressure. The flower garden was very nice and my son enjoyed the weekend civil war events. He even helped fire off some cannons, however this 9pm event was extremely loud. In summary, even though we enjoyed watching gentle rain on the river at our site, this was not the greatest camping experience. In my opinion the place looks terrible and definitely not up to KOA standards. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$46
The location of this park is great and easy to find off I 70. I called prior to arrival and was told they had a pull through site available for $42 water and electric only. We arrived 30 minutes later and the desk clerk put us in a back-in site for pop-up trailers, we went to the site and found the electric on the wrong side for our use. The sites on either side of us would have worked, and were empty she unable to understand what we needed. After one hour we were given the proper site and this one worked fine. The staff was a great disappointment, everyone we spoke with was short and rude. They also raised the price from the quoted $42 to $46 when we arrived when I gave them my KOA discount card. Not much in this area to choose from nice and quiet, but the staff is the pits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
Spent two nights while on shake down cruise with new trailer. A little rough around the edges for a KOA, but nice place with friendly staff. Site #41 on the creek was very nice. Restrooms were clean. Borders a dairy farm, so the air can be a little pungent. Not sure how the smell would be in July/August. Would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Just an update for 2009. I agree with all the previous positive comments and would add that there's a great rock garden (complete with a couple of Civil War artifacts) that's going to be beautiful when the plants bloom in a month or so. The sites do appear smaller than many parks, but I saw a few Class As and fifths with slides out and no crowding in the off season. Be aware that the sewer hookups are designed for rigs with rear-mounted dump valves, making it impractical for my Class B. Overall a really nice park in a peaceful and historic location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$46
We have camped here a couple times before in a pop-up. Maybe I never realized how very tiny the campsites are. The campsite next to us, (when they had visitors) were so close that people were leaning against our trailer. One night the weather was so bad, the power had gone out to approximately 1/4 of the campground. (approximately 20 campsites for 18 hours). At no point did any employee come around with any information as to when the power would be restored. When my husband and I went to the office to acquire some information, the employee appeared to be "bothered" that we were asking. For $46 a night and the CG being so small and employees flying around on their golf carts, I would assume that one of them could have stopped and said something about electricity. I surely would never expect rudeness from an employee. We will not be camping here anymore based on how they handled the situation. The state of Maryland offers many other campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$43
The approach to this campground is a narrow, twisty road. The scenery is lovely, but the campground leaves much to be desired. The road from the highway is a mess, and the roads inside are very tight. We were in a 36 foot class "A" towing a car, and we don't think that a really "big" rig would do well here. We don't plan to return. (Got a lucky shot through the trees for our satellite!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$37
This park is clean, neat and friendly with free vegatables as available from their own garden. You can have a good relaxing time. Good country hospitality. Go for it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$90
This is a wonderful campground. People are very friendly and helpful. They have beautiful flowers all over and they have a vegetable garden that campers can pick from. We stayed in the lodge and it was very clean and comfortable. The pool area is very clean and the pool was sparkling. Hostess was very friendly and the owner was wonderful. We would recommend this campground and we will be back, we had a very enjoyable 3 days. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$49
VERY expensive, not real clean. Lots of activities, though. Sites are EXTREMELY TIGHT - our neighbors actually had to move their picnic table a few feet so our slide out wouldn't hit them. Also, their fire pit was about 5 feet away from the back of our trailer. Lucky for us, they had a small, short fire and we were safe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$77
Smaller, But Cozy KOA On A Nice Creek. Halloween Weekends Are A blast With Haunted Mansion. The New Deck RV Site Is Really Nice. Food Is Great Also. Nice Staff & Family Owned. We've Camped Here Many Times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$48
This was our second stay here. Our site was really difficult to back into due to a tree on the site right by the road. We got in by luck and also because the camper across from us didn't mind us pulling onto her site! Still a nice campground, but the help in the office/store not quite as friendly as last time we were here-dissinterested and some just plain rude. We wished there were more chairs at the pool area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$48
We stayed in this Campground over Memorial Day Weekend. Though it is in a very peaceful location by a stream, in my opinion, this CG is BELOW KOA STANDARDS, and I base that on MANY, MANY nights staying in KOA's The wireless internet was at best, weak and unsusable, along with the cable TV service which only offered a couple of channels. The CG IS NOT big rig friendly, with no sewer avalaible to the bigger pull thrus. Speaking of "bigger pull thrus," the were barely big enough for a 33' travel trailer with a slide out. FINALLY, with only MINIMAL (3-4 people) in a the showers at a given time, there was BARELY any water pressure, and the water was BARELY warm, no where near hot. The showers are difficult to get into for even a person of medium build. One has to climb UP into a very narrow shower stall. As to the sewer dump, which I needed to use because I had no sewer on my pull thru, as stated in a previous review; it is indeed in a bad place. It is on the main exit of the campground and one must block the road while spending their 15 minutes or so emptying the tanks. I WOULD BYPASS THIS KOA and look elsewhere. The We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2008
$46
We stopped here in April in the rain. The river next to the road to the CG had almost inundated the road. The CG gravel roads were washed out and the site was very tight. Their internet connection wasn't working. Teenagers who could care less were running the office and were not helpful. We will not go back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
We stayed in a pull-through, full-hookup, 50 amp site (site G) the first weekend in April. Staff was very friendly and had nice activities for the children. Their breakfast on Sunday morning was great – nice food and price. Spring was starting to wake up Mother Nature, and it looks like the campground’s gardens must be beautiful when in full bloom. As noted in previous posts, sites are very close together. We will definitely come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$39
Pretty little campground thats nicely landscaped, bordered between hills, farmland with a river running next to the campground. We found the staff helpful and friendly. Sites were a little on the small side. Decently stocked campground store. Good place to spend the weekend or nice stop over before heading to your next destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
The park is well maintained by friendly and helpful staff. The longer pull throughs do not have sewer. The dump station is located such that a bigger rig will block access or exit of several sites. Most of the full hookup sites appeared to be permanently or seasonally occupied. The local road from the interstate is narrow and overhanging branches or trees on the road shoulder needed to be trimmed in a couple of spots. This park is conveniently located to get around/through the Baltimore/Washington area between rush hours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
I love this little family-owned park. Bring your family. Come in time for them to cook your dinner Friday night. The staff will keep your kids busy during the day on Saturday - with scavenger hunts and crafts, etc.. Then in the evening comes the Ice Cream social and entertainment in the green, where children play together and adults chat without reservation while the life music plays on. It is like stepping back to a time where the worries of the world no longer fit. Leave Sunday morning feeling like you have been on a fun family vacation. The only down-side is the occasional sewer odor, but I care little about this because I like the people who come here to RV. I like feeling like I am one of a large, cared-for family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
My son and I camped at KOA Hagerstown over the weekend so we could attend the chill cook-off in Hagerstown on Saturday. Nice little CG, site are small, great for pop-ups, very dark at night could see the stars. Hagerstown Speedway in down the street, we could hear the cars racing Saturday night. They finished by midnight. We had the all you can eat breakfast Saturday morning $6.50 each without drinks, kind of high. The site by the creek were the best looking. Very clean bathrooms. Nice swimming pool. Staff was very friendly. I give it about a 3 out of 5!! Would go back if I could get a site by the creek. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
This park is small. It has one main loop that really should be marked as one way. We had a site on the creek. It was very pretty but we were on top of the people on either side of us. The sites are very small. The pool was clean and the restrooms were OK. It was a rainy weekend so the mud factor was evident in the restrooms and bathhouse. We saw the staff cleaning quite frequently. The playground was nice and the mini golf was free. It is a very child friendly, pet friendly campground. The only drawback other than the size was the noise level. Since there is only one loop, vehicles are passing by the campsites all day and late into the night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Very clean and friendly campground. There was lots for the kids to do. The sites were a bit tight but it seems typical of campgrounds lately. The staff was very friendly. The only complaint we had was the annoying DJ that played his music a little too loud for us. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
Nice setting in the woods on the creek. Sites are not big, typical KOA, but the campground and the staff are very nice. There are plenty of family activities. Really good place for kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$48
I'll start by saying this campground had so many fun activities, we didn't go hiking on Saturday as we had planned to do. The amenities were great. The employees were the friendliest we've met.The campground was full, but didn't feel overcrowded. Our site backed up to the playground and mini golf area, which was great since we have kids. Our site was on the small side, and we were smack up next to a cottage, but still OK. The only problem we had was the abundance of flies. They were everywhere. One camper said she's been going here for years and never experienced a fly problem before, so we will probably give the place the benefit of the doubt and come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$45
Spent a beautiful weekend here. Staff very friendly. This is the second time stayed and my wife and I thought it was very nice so we already booked 2 more weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
Used this campground for a Co-Workers trip to Antietam National Battle Field. Arrived to find the Staff friendly and helpful, grounds to be clean and well kept. Camp site was to be river front, but due to past rain staff moved our site to a bit smaller site up hill and drier. Would return with my family if ever in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
It's a swamp and I will never stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$38
We stayed here for three nights. We had a pull thru spot which is the only way I think I would fit. They do have a few back-ins that will handle a big rig but not many. The CG was very clean and the staff were very helpful. The site we had, #20, did not have sewer. They do have a single hole dump which I would guess is very busy in season. Our site was nice but very narrow. Our slide was on out site line on the left and our awning went to our line on the right. It was not crowded this early in the season but when it is...it will be wall to wall. I think the price, 43 and 38 was a little high for what you got. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
We were curious about this park since it has ratings of both 1's and 10's. We suspect that it is a matter of what you are expecting. This is an older park along a river. It is trying hard. The staff was friendly. It is the first park we've been at where you could have your meals delivered to your trailer. This park is better if you have kids. There is miniature golf and an arcade (game) room for kids. They have outdoor movies (weekends) and other activities to keep the young ones amused. Interior roads are gravel. Sites are on the small side but there was enough for our 37' fifth wheel with its four slides. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$33
If we had trusted our first impressions, we would have turned around before we made it to the office. Although there were plenty of signs offering direction, at one point we had to travel through a residential community. Once we made it to the entrance, the campground's roads were extremely narrow. Luckily we did not encounter another vehicle because we would not have been able to pass. This was our second stay at a KOA and we had the false impression that they were all alike. This campground overall was very small and the campsites were equally proportionate. We stayed for Labor Day weekend, but it had rained several days previous and as mentioned in other reviews, the campground is located on a large hill/incline. Many of the campsites on the river were flooded out or had huge gullys throughout. It is very well shaded which doesn't allow for adequate drying. There was a loudspeaker which seemed like it was in constant use. We were awakened each morning by an advertisement for breakfast. Announcements continued throughout the day. Two of the nights we were there, a DJ played music and games for several hours. Because the campground is very small, the DJ was extremely loud and invasive. Overall, we had expected a nice quiet weekend and this campground fell short on all accounts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$34
Had a fantastic weekend here with the Campfire Cafe Crew, teaching us how to cook in cast iron pots and over an open fire. The weather in the area had been dry for a few weeks and Saturday was warm and dry too, but Sat night Mother Nature opened up and rained late in the evening. We camped by the creek and lots of water rushed by and left some gullies as it went toward the creek but we weathered it ok and the staff was on top of everything Sunday all day cleaning up. The restrooms and showers were very clean even Sunday. There is a narrow road that enters the camp but I saw big rigs come and go. My wife and I are looking forward to camping here again. We'll be the ones cooking on the open fire asking Ya'll Eat Yet? We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
Easy pull thru's, clean cabins, used for overnight stop, had info clearly marked for our late night arrival. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2005
$50
Had reservation for a creek front site for the 3rd year in a row. At the creek sites we felt somewhat separate from the rest of the dumpy campground. We enjoy the creek and the haunted house but that is it. The negative about the creek site is it stays wet even couple days after a rain and the entire campground is on a steep hillside. This particular weekend the forecast was for torrential downpours and flood watches so being at the bottom of a hillside next to a large creek in the mud did not appeal to me. I sent an e-mail the thursday evening prior to our stay apologizing that we would not be making it and that we understood we would be forfeiting our deposit. A month later I find a charge against my card for the balance of the stay (the deposit was paid at the time of the reservation). This is now November and the campground is closed and we don't get a return call until January leaving a message indicating we would not be refunded since we canceled our reservation less then the posted cancellation time. Nowhere on the web site does it indicate that you will lose MORE then the deposit. I hope the extra $45.00 was worth it as we, my sister nor our parents will visit your park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
We stayed here one night and we couldn't wait to get out of there the next morning. Very small sites and the whole place felt cramped. We have a 16 month old and we hardly got out of our motorhome. They have some play equipment and a mini-golf course, but there was a huge wasp's nest in the playhouse right next to the swings. And the mini-course had rocks all over it. The employees were not helpful at all and I had to wait 10 minutes to check in while the lady was on the phone with her friend. They had a DJ there playing music until almost 10PM. Just a bad experience all around at this place. My suggestion is to look elsewhere for a night's stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2004
$39
This was our second Labor Day weekend stay and our last. The first time we had water/electric problems and this last time, we had them again. Mid-shower the water stops running on a Saturday morning. Throughout the weekend our a/c breaker would trip (the voltage was low). When brought to management's attention they were very ho-hum about it - "must be a leak somewhere." I know it was a holiday weekend but at $39/night there should not be any problems. Had to use their mildew-ridden shower - could smell it before I went in - disgusting. Filled out their Camper's Comments card and never heard a word. Same with KOA headquarters - just an automated reply. Pull-through sites are tight - not worth the money. Some of the permanent sites were trashy looking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2004
$45
Very poor KOA. Basically sits on a swamp. Sites are not level, poor cleanup, terrible roads. Would never stay there again. Pictures on KOA site are very deceiving. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$33
Visited during Halloween. Lots of fun for kids. Park clean and staff was friendly. Only a few sites have full hook up. Most sites have water and 30 AMPS. We'll be back next year for Halloween. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Halloween visit. Kids had a blast. Riverfront site was very nice (have a 30' 5th and stayed in the smallest site with plenty of room for my tow vehicle in front). It stays very damp even with no rain for over a week. Would be concerned in heavy rain. Very good road signage. Exceptionaly friendly staff, both at the campground and the Haunted house. This was our 2nd group visit and have voted to come back next year. Excellent Haunted House: one of the best I've been in! Dump station is terrible! On a narrow, one way road. Have to travel the wrong way to get to the dump station. There is no instruction, direction or assistance in directing traffic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$33
The signs to the KOA on Kemp Mill road were small and hard to see and the road turns right and keeps the same name so you may miss it coming in. The access road was very narrow and branch covered requiring that you stop to let another car, much less another motorhome or trailer pass you in the opposite direction. The sites were narrow but most were big enough for a slideout. The dump site was on the wrong of the road and required you to drive against the traffic pattern to reach it and there was no way to pass an opposing unit coming in the right way. The cable looked to be sat tv with 17 stations. The rivierfront sites where very nice but very short fitting popups or short trailers only. The staff was very attentive and had a nice but small pool. They had a game room and breakfasts on the weekend. They had weekend theme nights and a band on Sat. nights. The putt putt course was in the middle along with the small playground. There was a floating dock and room to launch a canoe. It was an ok campground but I have seen better and this one would be better with about 75% of the sites instead of shoehorning in as many as can fit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Roads leading to the campground very narrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com