219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Washington DC / Capitol KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 59 user reviews. Phone: (410) 923-2771
CGID1335

Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$75



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   7   6   8   6   8   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$75
This is a nice KOA in a very busy section of the US. The positive is that it succeeds in giving you a tranquil spot is the middle of chaos. There is nothing spectacular or horrible about this well run park. It has a nice pool, good Internet and fairly roomy spots, depending on which one you get. It has both wooded and open sites. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$72
We camped here 2 weeks to explore DC. The baths were kept clean, but the water pressure in the showers was weak. Also, the water has a slightly musty smell. Good on-site store, well-stocked. Good wi-fi. They have a daily van ($13/person/day) to take campers into & return from DC, but we rented a car instead to drive to the New Carrolton Metro Station and took the subway into DC each day. The nightly rate (even with our KOA ValuKard discount) was much higher than it should have been. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$76
Another pricey KOA for the facilities of the park. This is about an hour from downtown DC and the Baltimore, Annapolis area so the location is good. Just be sure to follow the GPS and road signs to get to the park. From when we were here last July and suggested they put in more 50 amp spots, nothing has changed. Still fewer than 10 of those and they have been full since we have been here with a few other spots from tent campers on up here at the park. They do have a shuttle to the area attractions and because this is a 20 minute ride from our family, we will continue to use the park. The price reflected is WITH our rewards card so for those not members it will be 10% higher. The weather has been great--70s this time of year and pleasant to sit out or tour on foot the area attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$66
A bit cramped for a KOA. Narrow, single lane gravel access roads. Sites are level gravel with adequate spacing. Sites could use more gravel to better deal with rain. Power OK (118v w/ac running). Water pressure bit low (38psi). Some sewer connections are elevated making it difficult to get a slope on sewer. Wi-Fi OK (tengo, decent speed during day, abysmal at night). Trees from Hog Farm Road into campground are not fully trimmed on sides. OK if you drive down the center line. Significant highway noise. We will look elsewhere on next visit to area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$69
Park itself is well kept and clean, everything works as you can expect from a KOA. I give only six stars because I think that 69 USD for a pull-through with water & electric is way too expensive. If the price and traffic noise don't bother you, this is a recommendable park, however. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$70
We have been in this park for a while now, so I can give a pretty good report. The park is near Baltimore and Annapolis and DC and you can tour all of them from here. The campground is pretty quiet late at night though you can hear some road noise from the jake brakes outs at night if they are very loud. It does not really offend though, but it is noticed as the rest of the time it is pretty quiet. They escort you to your site when you get here. The issue is that they have so many foreign motorhomes and rentals that they escort everyone. It is interesting to see. The bathhouses are clean and tidy, but they could use an extra dumpster on the weekend, but they make do. The sites are fairly level up front and on the sides. There is one section in the trees that has great shade, but the sites are not as level but I have not seen any issues with people getting level. They are also the closest campground to Johns Hopkins and right now there are two of us in the campground getting radiation treatments. They have bent over backwards to make sure both of us are ok. The other guy found out when he turned his head and broke his neck that he had cancer and they have moved things around to let him stay here till he can arrange getting his rig home and himself as well. They have a pool while small is comfy and their are activities for the kids. The grands visited and had a great time. It is pretty quiet at the end of August and till they close once school is in session, the campground will not be full. We had a heat wave and the power was a bit low, but we all survived. They are planning on adding more 50 amp sites too. There are great eateries close by, too. I will say that they do not allow more than a 2 week stay, as it is a county regulation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$70
The rate includes the KOA member rate. This is an excellent location for sightseeing in both Baltimore and Washington and there is a shuttle during the summer season for just that purpose. There are too few 50 amp sites, especially in the summer heat and when one has 2 ac units and only 1 can be used. The staff was friendly. There are activities for children and family without leaving the grounds, but there is a gas station less than 2 miles away and shopping for groceries and a vet about 6 miles away. The bathroom has had a water leak that had not been addressed, but since we are self-contained, that was not a problem. We would stay here again, but would make plans to get a 50 amp site if we were here in the middle of summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$68
Very nice place. We stayed here for 6 nights. They have a shuttle to D.C. which cost you $12.00 per person. They leave you in front of the Capital around 10:00, and pick you back up at 4:30. If you want to stay in D.C. longer, you are better going by metro, this way you can visit longer. The staff is very friendly. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$73
The trailer spots in this campground are extremely unlevel, some to the point that you might feel your trailer may run away down hill. There was at least a foot difference between the front and rear of our thirty foot trailer. The front jack was at its extreme lower setting with only one small block under it. The spots up front are level looking but, no trees or shade of any kind. The spots are very cramped. Our tow vehicle was right up against our poor neighbors' picnic table. The fire ring was tight against the other neighbors' electrical and water supply.The Wi-Fi does not work in the wooded section. Typical KOA, overpriced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$70
Campground is in a great location for visiting the Baltimore/Washington area. It is a great environment shielded from the traffic and congestion. The ownership and staff seem to genuinely care about doing a good job and maintaining the facilities. The sites in the woods are very nice but could use a bit more stone to improve the level for RVs. We did fit our 34' rig into a site in the woods with little difficulty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$73
We enjoyed our stay here and the location is almost perfect for visiting DC and Baltimore. The upper level sites are level, but lack shade. The lower level has plenty of shade, but some leveling will be necessary. The facilities were clean and the campground was kept up well. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help. There are plenty of activities for the kids. The store is well stocked and we didn't have any issues with WiFi. I took off a couple points because they were experiencing some issues with their hot water supply (but I'm sure they will correct it, they were already attacking it when we left) and our site could've used some fresh gravel. When it rained our site got a little messy. Definitely nothing to keep us from coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$72
This is a great base to explore Washington DC. The campground shuttle bus provides daily transportation to the Mall. The Metro subway station 5-miles away has ample parking. The drive is not too far to city center Baltimore. Our 40-foot pull-through site was level, although with little shade. There was more shade at smaller sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$70
As stated in previous reviews, the only negative is the price but it is conveniently located between DC, Baltimore and Annapolis. Roads are blacktop or gravel, plenty wide for big rigs. Sites are gravel and also big rig compatible. Electric, sewer, water, roof-top satellite worked well - sewer is being upgraded, to make adapters seat better. Sprint cell and mifi service worked well. Employees are great, helpful and work hard at keeping the park immaculate. Lot of nice little touches - camp store is well stocked and open until 10p, daily Washington Post available. Double washers and dryers available, $2 for washer and $1.50 for dryer (no extra time needed!). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$70
The only negative is the price. Too much for what you get. Yet, it is the only park close to DC. Clean park. Good TV on the antenna and WiFi worked well. Friendly staff. Unless you want to drive further, this is the park for visiting this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$70
We have stayed here previously while visiting the DC area. This trip we spent 4 nights at the park. Each time we find more improvements. The grounds are very well maintained and the staff is as good as you will find. Most sites are very roomy and the pull through site we had this trip was extra large. We will return here when we are visiting the area again as it is not only well located, it is one of the best large city RV parks we have ever found. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$72
We stayed here twice as layovers to and from Williamsburg, VA. We love the large variety of sites available, from open pull-through sites to primitive tent sites back in the trees, plus everything in between. There are several activities for the kids as well as the adults. We haven't yet taken advantage of the tours and shuttle bus to D.C. but we plan to on a return visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$60
The only reason this park does not get a "10" is the price. Everything about it exceeded our expectations. From the Ambassador who showed us where our site was, the immaculate laundry and shower rooms, to the very friendly staff. I was all perfect. Very close to Baltimore Inner Harbor (go see the USS Constellation) and very close to DC. The park even has a nominally priced shuttle to the Capital which is much cheaper than parking there. Only wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$50
We stayed here for one night, the first night we bought our used trailer. Staff was super nice and gave us a helping hand when needed. Nice dog walk and restrooms were clean. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$61
We stayed here for a week while visiting the area. Normally we do not stay at KOA other than overnights. However, we were very pleased with this park. Great staff, well maintained and super location for visiting DC, Baltimore and Annapolis. Our site was a little close to other units but more than acceptable. The price is a more than we are used to, but after checking other options it seems to be what you have to pay in the area. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$52
We camped just after Hurrican Irene came roaring through Maryland. The campground General Manager called a few days before we were to arrive and advised us that the power had been lost at the campground saving us a trip and disappointment. He advised us that he would hold our reservation and again contact us when the power was restored. He called on Thursday afternoon and let us know that the campground was up and running and ready for our visit. This is exceptional service and was very much appreciated. We will definitely visit again. Thank you Capitol KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$68
This park has an upper and lower level. It's probably a great park if you're in the upper level but if you are in the lower level it's an overpriced mud hole. Gravel roads with narrow dirt campsites and no grass. The lower levels are heavily wooded eliminating satellite TV reception and with no cable that leaves the crank up antenna but since you're in a hole there's not much reception from that either. On the positive side, the staff is nice and the pool area is small but well maintained. Insist on the upper level by the pool if you plan on staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$54
Great campground on all levels - great store, clean restrooms, clean pool with lifeguard, outdoor activities. There is also a shuttle into Washington, D.C. We really enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$59
Capitol KOA is a first class RV camp. Everything was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and it is close to Washington, DC. The park offers a shuttle into DC for $15. The pool had a lifeguard, the store was well equipped, and the ambassadors were very helpful leading us to our site and helping us to back in. One of the best parks we've stayed in anywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
We've stayed at this campground numerous times. This stay was for the Halloween weekend, our fourth in a row. The staff is wonderful, friendly and caring. The facilities are spotless. I have never found a campground with cleaner restrooms and showers. I highly recommend this campground, you won't be disappointed with the facility or location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
Easy access to this campground. The campground itself is very clean, the big rig area is easy pull though. The sites are a little cramped, but are located next to the pool, playground, laundry facilities, and bath house. The road noise is a little loud at times, but this is a crowded area of Maryland. The staff are very polite and helpful. The wireless and TV reception are fabulous. There are numerous walking trails behind the campground and loads of shopping nearby. Plus you cannot beat its central location to Baltimore, Washington DC, and Annapolis. Yes, it is a rather pricey campground, but worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
Another difficult CG to rate. Full service KOA with very active staff, office, grounds, etc. Has no cable TV. WiFi coverage was spotty. It's close to our daughter and grandchildren. Sites vary: in the woods, open with some grass near office, decent size back-ins by the cabins. Makes a great base camp for exploring the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$70
Highway access to this KOA is a little bit tricky and will require a little pre-planning. We were well prepared and had no trouble finding the place. Check in was very easy and the staff were extremely friendly and treated us like we had been there many times. It was a great first impression! We were led to our site by an attendant (thanks buddy - very nice to meet ya!) We asked for and got a space clear of trees which we require for satellite Internet and DirecTV. The interior roads that aren't paved (most of them) are only fair - for 70 bucks a night I expected the roads to be bladed smooth at the very least, or preferably paved. We were there over the Memorial Day weekend (and several days before), and the place turned into an absolute zoo with a couple of dozen Harley motorcycles there for 'Rolling Thunder' where they ride to DC for something or another. Apparently there is a 'rule' where they must all start up at 7 am and make as much noise as possible before they leave en-mass and then make as much noise as possible for their egress. They were quite successful in this endeavor. Speaking of noise, there is traffic noise practically 24 hours a day due to the very close proximity to two major highways, fortunately not as much at night of course. This is the most expensive campground we have ever stayed in over 55,000 miles of RVing and we would not have been here if we didn't need a location close to Annapolis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$71
We stayed here on a visit based around going to Medieval Times at Arundel Mills Mall. We arrived and checked in easily, we were escorted to our site. Once we arrived at the site I had to question if I could get my camper backed into the spot it was pretty tight, however our guide helped get me into the spot with ease, it was a bit unlevel, but nothing that a block on one side didn't fix. The staff here was extremely friendly and helpful with all of our questions. This was our first stay in a KOA and we loved it. They had lots for our kids to do and some fun activities were going on. Our family plans to return to this campground as a base camp for a trip to Washington DC and Baltimore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
Clean campground, nice (although small) pool, nice playground. People very friendly and helpful. Sites very unlevel and somewhat small unless you're near the office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$58
The facility was clean and the employees of KOA were outstanding and upbeat. Anything we required they furnished, no questions asked. I was short on some shoring for my rig and they had extras that was provided to me. The employees drove around fairly frequently and were always friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$60
It's an "OK" KOA, in an area with few campgrounds. $60 a night and no cable TV and poor Wi-Fi coverage. Worse yet, this KOA tried to charge me an additional $10 for a "requested site." It's bad enough where they nickel and dime you for every child and pet, NOW THIS? As I had NOT requested any specific site, I had to fight to get it taken off with a staff person who had a poor attitude. Been here about 10 times, and this was the first time they ever tried that, so check your bill folks! If this is a "national" effort, it's a despicable way to gouge people and maybe we ought to be looking at other campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$55
This is an outstanding campsite! The individuals running this site are professionals. Although we had our own bathroom facilities in our camper, we did occasionally use the campground facilities and they were kept in extremely well manicured conditions. This campground is worth checking out if you're going to the D.C. area! We'd definitely go back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$65
This park is one of a meager selection in this area. We were assigned a site in the back, where it appeared that most, if not all, of the sites were very unlevel. The sites towards the front of the park were much more level, but shorter. We asked if we could get another site, but they told us nothing level was available. The did assist us in putting blocks under the rear wheels, which were both way off the ground without the blocks. There is no cable TV. The Wi-Fi worked OK. For the amount of money they charge, they should spend some money leveling the sites and install cable TV. I would only return here if this was all that was available in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$45
This very large campground has some spots out in the open and some in trees. Ours was located near the bathhouses, which were clean and attractive. The water pressure in the showers wasn't great. We were there soon after they opened for the season and the laundry was closed. It's close to the interstate, so there's a lot of road noise. One reason we stayed out here is so we could drive to the park and ride to take light rail into Baltimore. When we arrived, however, signs indicated that no vehicles over 20 feet could park there. It was a Saturday and the lot was empty, but we were afraid to chance it and drove into the city instead. Outdoor parking cost $24 near the Inner Harbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$65
This was a very nice campground with friendly staff and clean and orderly facilities, especially considering we were there over the Independence holiday. We and our two year old enjoyed the pool and playground. It is convenient to Washington, DC. The sites were not very level, but that's nothing a few blocks can't fix. The only other down side was the cost, which seemed a bit high. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$58
We stayed for just one night. We had stayed there before and the sites in the back are very uneven. I called and reserved a site by the office where it is level. When I arrived they had rented my site and after twenty minutes they finally gave me another site without full hookups. I would not stay there again, they don't honor reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$60
When we made the reservation, I specifically asked about the campground's ability to handle a 42' bus. Was told "no problem" and thus I made a reservation for full hook up (water and sewer) 50A site. I arrive at the campground and the person checking me in continually questions my 30' MH. Several times I indicate we have a 42' bus and that I had a reservation for a 50A site. We're told they have no 50A sites available and that we have a 30A site. So they take us to our site, only to find the roads (gravel) are tight enough that I can't get there, almost getting stuck in the process! We're moved to another site, being told "it's reserved for somebody else tomorrow and you'll have to move"! Interestingly enough, they still want to charge us the 50A rate! There were many unfilled large sites available, so I don't understand why we were pushed around like a dust bunny. We won't ever go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$64
I reserved a full hookup, pull thru site across from the office. They had already filled up those sites before my arrival. They did not honor my reservation and tried to get me an unlevel site in the bottom. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$52
The manager and his staff are exceptional. We were greeted with smiles and hugs as we checked in for only our second time. The restrooms, showers and facility were very clean and well kept. I highly recommend this campground for anyone including families. They have an exceptional Halloween weekend that shouldn't be missed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$70
In the Baltimore Washington region there are very few camping options, all of the private campgrounds are expensive, this is no exception. This is a “nice” KOA, it is clean well cared for and the staff is friendly. My site was near the office and the Wi-Fi signal was very good. This campground is closer to Baltimore and Annapolis than Washington. There was a small amount of road noise, most of the gravel sites weren’t level, my “Big Rig” pull through site only had 30 amp. I think if you were visiting Baltimore or Annapolis this would be a nice campground but if you are visiting Washington DC I would investigate further options. Price is keeping this campground from having a higher rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$68
There are few private campgrounds in the area, so there is little competition. Thus, this is your typical mundane KOA. But, if you are planning on visiting Annapolis & Baltimore, it's the closet of the two private campgrounds in the Washington/Baltimore area. It's moderately "big rig friendly," clean, safe and and well kept, with modern bathrooms; but there are no activities, despite the fact that the do offer tours of Washington. Considering the lack of activities as well as the lack of Cable TV, this KOA is overpriced. We stayed there in a 33' travel trailer with a slide out. Would we stay again? Yes,because there is nothing else in the area; but after 13 annual visits to the area, we sincerely wish they would do some improvements and upgrade the CG. After all, it is in the heart of a "destination" area and people would like to stay awhile in a bit of comfort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$5
We went in late March with the Boy Scouts and we were very pleased with the campground. They treated us well, we had plenty of room and showers were warm and clean. For Boy Scout camping it was top notch. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$63
Even though Capitol KOA is close to Baltimore, DC and Annapolis, it is too expensive for what you get! Hostess checked us in, and we found out later from another camper that we should have gotten a 'packet' containing maps and other stuffers. The dump station is on the wrong side for most motorhome utility basements. We got a lecture about how KOA is cutting back on quantity and quality of dogs, yet there were plenty of breeds at the park. Around midnight 10/08/07 our travel buddy was approached at the trash dumpster by a couple asking: "What is there to do around here?" Strange, but true. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$60
We stayed at this campground to visit Annapolis. In general, the staff was helpful and the campground was clean. Most of the sites were not level, however they can accommodate larger RVs. There is some road noise, but it is not overly disruptive. The campground is over priced, given that there are no scheduled activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
A little confusing to find, but it gets easier after a day or two. Easy access to New Carrollton Metro Station. Sites across from Office have a nice strong free Wi-Fi signal. No cable, but able to pick up several over-the-air channels. Sites in wooded area may be a little tight. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$55
Very over priced. The only reason we stay here is because it's close to relatives. Nothing much to do at the campground, has a small pool and a small playground, but thats it. We come here every other year. Next year its back to Hagerstown, Md. at Y B Campground for more fun and cheaper. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$55
We stayed here for a one night stay on our way south. The restrooms were clean, and the site was decent. However, the one female employee did not know what she was doing. I asked for a w/e site, but she fought with me stating that they considered that a full hookup, charged me for my 2 & 3 year olds who should have been free of charge, and became very mad when I asked her about the charges for them, and was very upset that I did not have a reservation. Finally, the owner realized I was getting upset, and came over to help me. Everything was taken care of. Campground has a good location! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
The only thing this site has going for it is it's location. The sites were not at all level, the pool was a concrete pit in the ground, and quiet hour only marginally enforced. The staff could give directions to local stores and the metro station, but weren't very friendly when they did so. I did like that it is close to both Baltimore and Washington, DC and that you could get to a Metro station easily, but that's about all. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
You have been warned!! Sorry to report, but this is a classic bait and switch park. By that I mean, that they book you into a totally improper and unlevel site that simply will not accommodate your rig, and then offer to put you in a lesser site that you would never have booked in the first place. This gets you in the door, and then books you in a site at their campground that you would never have accepted in the first place. Like us, camper after camper came in, then was placed in a lesser site. Our site was horribly unlevel, and we had to accept a level site with no sewer. Everyone around us was in the same predicament. The sites in the woods are horribly unlevel. There is a parking lot area in front of the office, if you like KOA parking lots, that was level, but anything else with services was horribly unlevel. The staff is pleasant, but they must be awfully tired of this bait and switch tactic. You have been Warned! KOA should know better. This campground is ok for tents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$50
A last minute change of plans brought me here after 8 PM one evening. The office was open til 11 PM, and the staff was very nice and accommodating considering that I showed up at the last minute with no reservation. This is a very nice campground and centrally located to DC and Annapolis. Getting to the campground from the interstate is a little tricky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$45
Very nice managers. Clean Bathhouses, nice sites over all good. Would go back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$41
This park ok. We had to try three sites before we got a level and big enough site, but the staff were very accommodating. It was almost empty when we were there in the fall. Kids loved the playground. Restrooms were pretty clean. The biggest reason to stay here is the proximity to both Washington DC and Baltimore. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
There are not much choice near DC area, this is one of the better ones. The free Wi-Fi is a big plus. The back in sites are wooded and nice sized, the pull-thru site in front of office are a bit closer and less shaded, the row we stayed it's water connection is in the left front of the RV, you need a very long water hose to connect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
This park is as close as you can get to DC and Baltimore, I think. We ran into a little problem as they'd booked us into too small a site without the amenities we'd requested. That required negotiating to get a site at all and then moving 2 days later to a site with full hookups. Not convenient, once you are set up. Otherwise it's a fine place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$49
We stayed in the middle of May and were very pleased with this campground. It was clean and quiet. While we thought we would be surrounded by city we were pleased to find us in a quiet country setting only minutes away from either Baltimore or D.C.. Friendly staff and the on site tours rounded out the trip very nice. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$46
This KOA park is structured with pull-throughs in a row with little folage but the back-ins and tent sites are in the trees with lots of privacy. Both types are large, clean, reasonably level and offer the normal comforts. Since the park just opened on March 1st, there were few guests and was very quiet. The management just installed an awsome WIFI that's about the best I've ever used and doesn't require subscription fees. Rates are high but since it's close to the DC attractions, probably not too bad. I was disappointed that weekly rates aren't offered. There's hiking trails and the brochures indicate that shuttles are available to the DC areas but I chose to drive to the Metro which is about 5 miles away. I recommend the park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$51
Nice campground with friendly staff. We camped during Labor Day weekend. Some of the nicest restroom/shower facilities I have seen. Pull through sites are level but in the open and no shade but they are right accross from the pool so very convenient for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$41
We camped here on Memorial day weekend 2005. Great service, friendly people and sites were nice. Some sites do require some extra attention as far as leveling is concerned but over all I would recommend this campground. A lot of stuff for the kids and adults as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$34
This is a generally clean park, nice office and has clean private showers. Convenient access to the subway to DC, about 12 mile drive. Only a 15 min. drive to Annapolis. It is only a short drive to grocery stores etc. Pull thru sites are a decent size but many are very uneven with steep drop offs, some pull through sites were right across from the dumpsters and the dumpstation. The shaded sites have very little room. Our trailer was only a 7ft by 25 foot and we couldn't get into most of the sites or pull out our awning. Lots of low hanging tree branches, stumps, uneven spots and trees in the middle of the sites. We stayed in a pull thru where there is absolutely no shade. Also,our neighbors hook-ups were in the middle of our site, right next to our pic nic table. They were all like that. All in all though, we didn't mind the park, but it's not the best one we've ever stayed at. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com