223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Assateague State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (410) 641-2120
CGID1336

Assateague State Park

Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   10   9   9   9   6   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$33
Beautiful, natural setting. Check in was quick although the staff member checking us in was a bit short with us and not very friendly. Stayed in B loop right across from the entrance to the beach. Only one loop has electric. Level asphalt pad on our site. Check for pad size before booking because there is a large variance in size from site to site. Bath houses were modern and clean. Camp store was fairly well stocked, especially considering it was late in the season. Paved paths for walking and bicycling. No lifeguards on the beaches other than the area at the ranger station. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
This park is all about the beach. It goes on for miles, and you mostly can't even see the bath houses or other low buildings on the other side of the dune line. Stayed for 2 days midweek, and you could easily have no one near you on the beach. Might be more crowded on weekends. I didn't down rate the park for what it doesn't have, but it could matter to some. Only one loop has electricity, and it fills up fast so reservations are advised. No water at campsites, but it's available at the dump station. There is no shade, and when the temperature hit 95, the A/C didn't keep our coach that cool. The bath houses were OK, perhaps a bit overused while some are closed for renovation. Staff was friendly and efficient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
Our family doesn't necessarily value the amenities others do; we prefer to feel as if we are off the grid as much as possible. We were thrilled to find the park allowing campers to use the loops previously closed due to renovations and we took advantage of being able to make a last minute reservation. We didn't mind that the bath house on our loop was closed and stayed with no power or water. We had the loop almost to ourselves except for the horses and a buck deer. The beach was pristine and a little 3 day old "paint" foal wandered near. Although no one can guarantee seeing them, we saw the horses each day without having to search long, if at all. They were in F, G, H and I loops each day. The beach is quite windy with sharp shell shards at waters edge so bring water shoes to protect little feet. The water was still quite chilly this early but it was perfect to enjoy a book at waters edge in shorts and a sweatshirt. Groceries and gas are nearby and check-in was efficient and rangers friendly. Bath house was clean and surprisingly uncrowded even with E&F loops' closed. We weren't overly troubled by flies, mosquitoes or the mountains of manure others complained of. But, it was still quite cool for the season. If you are looking to have an excuse to unplug, relax and beach it, this is the perfect park! If your family needs more to do to be entertained, stay in the southern Chincoteague area because they aren't connected by a road and going in between means an hour by car. We all wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
This park continues to be a big hit. There are very few places where you can camp on the dunes so close to a pristine beach. The bathrooms are clean and the rangers are nice. We have camped here this year for two weeks total spread out over two visits. We brought a boat with us. The launch facilities are on the mainland right next to the bridge to the island. The thing you have to remember about the horses is that they are wild animals and unpredictable. People forget that and treat them as if they are domestic animals. They can bite, kick and most importantly- you have to keep your food locked away in a car or RV. I have personally witnesses them walk through tents to get after food and tear apart coolers. That being said, this is a great place and difficult to get reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$21
Wtayed for 4 days, DNR staff friendly & courteous. The sites all paved & level, good paved trails for bike riding both in state & connecting National park. Baths are kept clean and are big. Only had one problem the women's shower water was only luke warm, told a ranger was told it should be at 130 Deg. and they looked into it right away. If you have a pet book early because the sites with electric where pets are allowed are limited. All sites close to ocean w/ith good access. We will return We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
What an awesome park. You cannot ask for any better, more natural beach campground. The directions and signage to the park were outstanding. The check in staff were extremely helpful. In fact, we were not slated for an electric site but a last minute cancellation for an electric site became available. The staff worked with the system to cancel and reassign our reservation so we could be in the electric loop. The park is a very natural setting. All interior roads are paved and each site is paved. Therefore the site was level and the spacing between each site is spacious. There are no trees in the campground so no shade. With no trees to block the signal, the roof mounted satellite worked fine. Also, our Verizon cell had a very good signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
My family of five stayed three nights in electric loop H. This was our fifth trip to ASP. Nothing has changed: Friendly staff and Rangers, nice sites, great beach, reasonably clean showers. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
There are no ocean front sites, but all sites are close, walking distance, to the ocean. Only one small loop is pet friendly...pets are not permitted any other place at the State Park, even indoor pets are not permitted. If you love dry camping, this is the place to be. Internet was offered at the camp store. Water and dump station are available in one of the loops to fill your fresh water or empty your tanks. Very quiet. Can be very hot in summer months and sometimes the bugs are terrible. The ponies are awesome and will often visit your campsite and or the beach. Located a short drive from Ocean City Md and all of the activities there. Many of the folks camping here have come to Assateague for many, many years and have established life long friendships. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
This was our second stay here at site I 54. I would suggest a site on the outside of the loop- dune side. We LOVE it. One loop with electric and a new loop that is dog friendly but very small. Cool to see dogs on their end of the beach playing in the waves with their owners. There is no comparison for beach camping. We did invest in a generator due to the extreme heat wave this year. We are glad we did. It did reach 97 on the beach. Thank goodness for the ocean breeze! The bugs were not horrible due to the breeze. Mosquito's made an appearance almost each night at dinner time. Repellent is a must, be prepared. Horses were everywhere this trip- many more than last time. We are booking for next summer- you must book in advance. This is a dream location for beach lovers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
You are basically at the beach, so there is sand everywhere. Main reason the bathrooms wouldn't be called 'clean' is they were full of sand. Three stalls, only two had commodes. There was a cool breeze and a short walk to the beach. No lifeguards. Horses came by only one day. Two got into a fight and kicked a car; left a nice dent. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
This is a unique state park with wild ponies and sika deer living on the island. There is horse manure, flies, mosquitoes, ticks, high grass, stickers, and sand spurs. But you are in preserved natural surroundings with clean hot showers, sand dunes, beaches, nature centers, and a resort town 15 minutes away. Reservations are hard to get for the weekends from Spring to Fall. If you get the chance, I highly recommend this park at least once for the experience. But most people fall in love with the island and keep coming back year after year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
Rating this campground is difficult because on one hand, the proximity to the ocean is ideal and the bathroom and shower facilities are very nice; on the hand, we brought our dog, a Lhasa Apso, and every time we took him outside, we spent 10+ minutes removing stickers from his hair. The bike trail is flat and is approximately four miles long one way ending in the Assateague National Seashore Park. The bike trail to he national museum crosses a high bridge (for a good view) and allows for additional riding. The rangers were very nice and police the campground very well. You can purchase wood for $5 per bundle at the ranger house. Both the state and national parks are known for their wild horses, which are nice to see but at a good distance, since they are known to bite. Because of the horses, there is horse waste everywhere. Also, you have to keep your food stored extremely well because the horses can be persistent and aggressive if you have food within their scenting distance. They come and go at their own leisure. The Fall season is an ideal season to visit because the weather is very nice. The National Park is next door, is less expensive, has larger sites, but the showers do not have warm water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
Awesome location give them that. The beach is nice, being close to Ocean City is great. Horses were cool at first, but after a day or two- just insanely annoying and very aggressive . The BUGS, BUGS, BUGS, BUGS are awful --hot nights Mosquitoes RULE -cool misty nights Gnats RULE. Biggest complaint was the staff, at the front desk, made us wait 4 hours to check in and had a real FU attitude about it. Since they enforce the "check in" time, they had over 50 campers waiting in line to check in, which then took another hour. BEWARE OF the Park Police, they will issue tickets at will (our nice neighbors got ripped apart). One officer invaded our campsite because he could hear my son and I talking from the street. Embarrassing for a father to be belittled in front of his son. On a good note staff at the Nature center- AWESOME!!! A nice park to visit but not worth spending the night. I will NEVER stay here again- not worth the trip! Better beach camping up north. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This was our first foray into oceanside camping and we loved it! We stayed in loop H (the only loop that has electricity) at site 16. The dune pass-over to get to the beach was literally 200 paces from our doorstep. The wild horses made fairly frequent visits to the camping areas. They were the same three horses (a male and two female) that I've seen in pictures found on the internet. Since it was late spring the water was still COLD, but that didn't stop my family from enjoying the surf. Ocean City was only about 10 miles north of the park which is convenient. We look forward to another trip to Assateague sometime in the near future!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
As always, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The restrooms and showers were clean, although the women's side in our loop did not always have hot water. Campground is well suited to families, with large paved bike path, nice playground, and a great beach. Sites are large and staggered, offering great privacy. Keep in mind that Assateague is a "wild" island, with plenty of ticks, wind, and frequent weather changes. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This is, by far my favorite campground to date. The natural beauty of the island has been drawing me back since childhood. You must book in advance (1 year) to get the best sites. If done correctly you can have a site that over looks the ocean and have the sounds of the waves put you to sleep at night. If star gazing, expect to see many shooting stars in the evening hours. The restrooms and hot showers are cleaned daily. Although there is not much shade, a small shade tent will give you a place to keep out of the sun. The horses, sika deer and whitetail deer WILL pass by your site! Only one down fall is that the posted speed 10 mph limits are there for the safety of Campers as well as wildlife: they shoot radar and will not hesitate to give you a ticket if you go 1 mph over. Mosquito's are not as bad as some claim them to be, unless you get a bay breeze. Only limited electric is available in loop H. Other than that, it is "NO" electric water or sewer. There are dump stations located thoughout park that are free to use. I would recommend this park to everyone to at least experience once. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
One of our favorite staycation campgrounds. We are Maryland residents and Assateague is one of those places which is very special to us. Where else can you camp with wild beach ponies? The facilities are clean and the beaches are beautiful. The park is also handicap accessible which allowed us to bring our uncle with cerebal palsey to visit. They have free beach wheel chairs for use and ramps to the rest areas. Overall a wonderful place to make great memories. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Wow. We have added this location to our see again list. We LOVED this aprk. We had ponies in our site two of our three nights. It was amazing to hear waves as you slept at night- to walk to a "private" never- crowded beach, all for $30 a night is awesome. The views and biking were great. Terrific ladies in nature center. Great activities for the kids. Bathrooms were not great but they were heavily used. Mosquitoes were as expected. Bring sunscreen & bug spray. No shade. Bring your own. Camp store had little to nothing and expensive. Beautiful. So glad we got here. Book early so you will not need to move sites to complete your stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We have camped here for 11 years now. This is the best family friendly, ocean front park we have ever gone to. The beach is at most 400 yards from your campsite. There is a free weekly "day camp" for the kids in the mornings, yoga classes, surf fishing demonstrations, and much more at no charge to the campers. Junior Rangers, Junior Beach Patrol classes, a bead making class, tie-die Tuesdays and kayak trips are available at a nominal fee. When you get tired of the beach, just head over to Ocean City for some fun. While there is an electric loop in the campground, it is very hard to get in at the prime season. The breezes coming off of the ocean keep things cool and the bugs at bay. We have had issues with mosquitoes in the past, but that is rare and a good bug spray works. If you don't mind roughing it a bit, this campground is not to be missed! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We had a great site on the I loop. The kids really enjoyed seeing the ponies, and they did come right into our site. We had heard there would be bugs, but we had no problems with them. We had a nice ocean breeze that kept us cool. The access to the beach was a plus, and there were not a lot of people on the beach because it's far away from the day use section. The beach was clean. At night we had the beach almost to ourselves. We loved the fact that there are no dogs allowed: NO yappy dogs. The only downside was the horse waste. Wished the staff did more to clean up after the horses. We loved being on the oceanside of the loop, and not bayside. There are also lots of attractions in the area that were close. We would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
Excellent campground in oceanside setting. Wildlife was plentiful, deer, unusual birds, and of course the Assateague ponies. We camped for two nights with electric hookups in Loop H. Sites were paved and mostly level, each with a picnic table. Clean bathhouse, dumpsters, water, and dump station were located nearby. Loop was about 75% full during our stay, but the rest of the campground seemed to be around 10%, so the beach and paved biking trail were wide open. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Just remember that the campground is situated on a "wild" island, with many animals and insects (including ticks during our stay). Also, the weather, particularly the wind, can change from good to bad in a hurry. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$45
Overall a very nice campground facility with accommodating employees. The family will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
Very nice park. It was great seeing the horses and deer roaming through. Enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the ocean. Would return here in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$34
Me and a group of friends stayed there and we had the time of our lives. We will be coming back this year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$40
Only loop H has electric hookups. Large, nicely spaced sites. They have a RV dump next to loop H. We really enjoyed the wildlife. The wild horses come right up to your camp site, but remember to keep a safe distance from them; they will bite and kick. There are also deer everywhere. All sites in state park are on the ocean side just on the other side of a dune. Very nice beach but watch the kids for rip tides. Ocean City is about 10 miles north. We will go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
Lovely ocean front sites. This is a must if you are tired of the typical campground. Clean, well run facility. Great for bike riding and surf fishing. About 20min ride to the hustle and bustle of OC MD. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$40
This was our first camping adventure and we loved it. Arriving at park, wild ponies and deer walk around freely. Our spot was in loop "H", the only loop with electric (only about 25 sites have electric). Rate is $30 without electric. Arrived Wednesday - fewer campers and clean bathhouses. By Saturday lots of kids and bathhouses quickly became dirty. Hot showers were nice. Campground very quiet - no music, generators or roudy neighbors. Campsites are very close to ocean - just a two minute walk over the dune. This is a great place to relax - quiet, peaceful and natural. Beaches are clean an uncrowded. No bugs whatsoever, although we heard that they can be bad at certain times of the year. Freshwater and dumping facility on-site. Camp store sells basic supplies and souvenirs. Also a grill serving up hamburgers and stuff. The Maryland Department of Natural Resources does a great job at managing this state treasure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
We just got back and couldn't wait to re-book again in September and book a week next summer. The only detractors are very limited access to electrical sites and the bathhouses could use a good scrubbing but were still acceptable. $30 a night with a very short walk to a virtually private beach. Wild horses and deer roaming all over including right through your campsite - with the occasional large pile of horse droppings scattered about. Very friendly camp staff including a park policeman who only issued a warning to this very excited new arriver. Observe the speed limits! Beaches were clean, fishing was fine, bugs were not a problem at all despite numerous horror stories. The campground itself was basically sand, grass, shrubs and asphalt - certainly nothing fancy. The stars at night were amazing, the cool ocean breezes were heavenly. Might have to borrow a generator next year though because my 12 volt was spent after just a few days. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2004
$30
This campground, located on the ocean in the land of wild ponies, is outstanding. It's filled with wildlife, in both the ocean and on land, affords campers the benefit of a virtually private, beautiful and pristine ocean beach, offers planned (ranger-naturalist-type) activities in season, has very clean/modern rest room and shower facilities, and is within easy (15 minute) reach of Ocean City's abundant nightlife. Operated by the State, this campground is next to the national park campground (see listing for Assateague Island National Seashore in Berlin, Maryland); the latter, however, is far more rustic -- it has no flush toilets, only cold showers, and a greater degree of insect (mosquito and fly) infestation (the Feds don't spray). For these reasons, our family prefers this "more civilized" state campground. Book early, though: the campground fills up fast in season, especially on weekends. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Oceanfront state park adjacent to Assateague National Park. Only 39 sites have electric service so reservations are necessary. $40 with electric, $30 without electric. While the campground is in the dunes all sites have asphalt pads. Within 10 miles of Ocean City, MD. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com