214402 User submitted reviews online!!
Pocomoke River State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (410) 632-2566
CGID1340

Pocomoke River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
207
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   8   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
We stayed at the new part of the campground, 10 miles from the main office, pool, internet, and other amenities. Make sure you know which one you're reserving! Our site was shaded & roomy, restrooms were brand new and clean, nice dishwashing sink, access to river for kids to see. Close to Assateague NP (30 min). Would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
I gave 8 out of 10 because of two issues. The water out of the spigots that are around the loops is slightly brown. Bring your own drinking water. One shower only put out cold water in our loop. The other shower was nice and hot! Otherwise, this is a great camping area. You are very in touch with nature. It is very shady. The restrooms were clean. The nature center was nice. People there were very informative. It was too cold to swim so I'm not sure what the pool is like. My three year old loved the playgrounds and walking around. My parents visited and they were impressed as well. I would definitely visit again. My parents said they would even stay in one of the cabins. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Centrally located to several beach locations and historic sites. Several different boat rentals available from a kayak to motorboat. Fishing from boat dock and they have a fishing pond. WiFi is available at the snack shop. We enjoyed going to the beach and being able to return to a nice quiet campsite. The only thing not positive I have to say is shower shoes are needed when using the campgrounds shower because of the sand on the floor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
We were in the Deer Run Section (electric sites) site 118. Cost with senior discount Sun through Thursday $15. Shad Landing is south along the Pocomoke River off of route 113. This campground is surrounded by the state forest with over 14,753 acres of lobiolly pine and cypress swamps. Good fishing here as well as boating – different paddling trails – they even have a newsletter called the Pocomoke Paddles which is published four times a year with nature activities and seasonal nature articles for everyone. One can spot river otters, bald eagles and there are over 50 species of fish. There are bike trails, boat launch, camp fire programs, camp store, dump station, hiking trails, playgrounds, ball fields, visitor center, and a per pay for swimming pool. The campground is nice, the rangers are great and if you are older than 62 the state of Maryland gives you 50% off the camping fees Sunday through Thursday nights. Shad Landing has six camping loops all well shaded and two and a half loops with electricity. The showers were not great with not much privacy but at this time of year there was no one else around. We were only there for one night in the rain and thundershowers but we would definitely return. It is a beautiful campground and one can easily visit Asseateague, Ocean City and Chincoteague Island from here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
This is a very nice State Park. The sites are wooded and very private. Some sites may be too small for larger motor homes or trailers but there are plenty of sites available that should work for any size. I particularly enjoyed the large swimming pool and the fact that the park was gated and required a combination for admission after dark. Great location, far enough away to avoid the madness of OC but close enough to visit for a day trip. I was here during the week so I don't know how crowded it gets on weekends but I will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
We love this park. We have been camping here for about seven years. We stay in the Deer Run Loop. It has electricity hook up. The bugs can get annoying, mostly bees and flys during the day. They have an awesome pool with diving board and kiddie pool. You do have to pay three dollars to get into the pool though. The bathrooms are kind of old so they never look clean. The showers are not very private. Sites are level and have a fire ring, picnic table and a wooden thing with a hook on it to place your trash up off the ground. The park itself is situated between all the hot spots in that area. It is in the middle of Ocean City, MD, Assateague Island, MD and Chincoteague, VA. Each is only about 30 minutes away from the campground, though Chincoteague is probably about 45 minutes away. Great place to stay! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Very nice state park campground. Everything was clean. Right on the Pocomoke River, canoe and kayak rentals available, and there's a boat ramp. Nice big pool and fishing pond for the kids. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$20
We really have enjoyed our stays at this park over the past couple years. The sites are very large, and are well shaded. Park has a swimming pool. The park also has planned daily activities for the children. You can rent canoes to go into the river. Some bathhouses are older, and a little run down, but cleaned every morning. Park is a little away from area attractions, but sits conveniently between Assateague, Maryland and Chincoteague, Virginia. It is about a half hour to forty minutes to either of those destinations. We really enjoyed the quietness of the campground, and the location. Campground is clean and just a great experience with nature. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com