214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Sweetwater Forest Family Camping Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (508) 896-3773
CGID1349

Sweetwater Forest Family Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   10   9   6   7   8   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$48
Quiet heavily wooded campground. Sites were very large but getting in and driving out from our site was very challenging (and my husband is very experienced and competent with our 40' rig). Might be big issue for a newbie. Friendly helpful family owners and staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
This is a lovely wooded park with most sites nicely spaced. WiFi is only available near the office. If you need to use the restrooms and your site is near a lot of tenters you will find the restrooms are very crowded. The park needs to build more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Very nice environment in the middle of the woods. Lots of room in the camp sites though with the size of our rig and towing you have to understand we take up two spots in the C section. It is a bit tight on the roads in the campground trying to maneuver a bigger rig, just plan on going very slow. We have a 34 foot motorhome and tow a Vibe with a dolly. Plenty of walking areas. No issues with hookups and they now have cable hookups. Gray water is dumped in a gravel hole on your site but you need to either get a honey wagon or go to the dump station for black water which is no issue for shorter stays. Great location to tour the Cape. No lights so at night you are really in the dark, bring a good flash light. If you are out after 10pm you need a key to open the gate at the entrance. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
I loved this campground, it is just so petty. It is heavily wooded and almost every site is really private. We walked around the park just because it was so lovely. The roads are dirt and gravel but no ruts, and we had no problem backing our 30 ft. motorhome into our site. They have fire rings, but I would have preferred a fireplace of rocks. There are good sized picnic tables at each site. Our site was not very level though so if you don't have levelers your will notice that. . The bathrooms needed a bit of attention. The floors around the shower area were muddy and they ran out of soap and paper towels on Sunday. There are a few facilities throughout the campground,but only two showers per bath so you have to wait which is a drag. There is also a mini golf course and a small lodge that has games in the basement. Both require money. The mini golf is $6 per person and is a big ripoff. WiFi is not available at the campsite,so you must bring your laptop to the office area. Firewood is available, around $5 bundle and it was nice and dry. There is no pool or lake but Sheeps Head Lake is very close by and was a wonderful place to swim. We took our bikes as the Cape Cod Rail Trail is fabulous and close by and easy to access. The campground staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Good camp store. We rented a car one day and it was delivered right to the campground. The campground was very quiet and pet friendly. They also have a dog day care facilty if you want to leave the campground and don't bring your dog. It is very reasonable. We didn't use this as they don't require proof of Kennel Cough vaccination. We are looking forward to returning to this campground again in the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$59
Campground was heavily wooded and hilly. Staff was professional and friendly. Decently stocked camp store. Noticed campsites, which included ours, could have been better leveled and were in need of grading/gravel. Our site hookups were in good working order. Showers and bathrooms were clean, but shower and changing stalls were too small and needed to be upgraded. Wi-Fi & cell phone worked well. Campground could use a laundry. Too many seasonal sites but they seemed to be in good shape. This campground fits our needs for the area. Would probably return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
Welcoming staff. Stayed in a 35 foot fifth wheel. Dirt/gravel sites that require some leveling. Sites vary, but ours was large, shaded, and private. Trees are well trimmed. Interior roads are dusty gravel. No laundry. Able to access WiFi from site, but hosts indicated that WiFi is only available at store or pavilion. Good TV reception. Play area for children and nice indoor pavilion. Quiet and dark. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$52
Easy access from Route 6. This campground has narrow roadways for larger motorhomes. There is plenty to do in the area, easy access to bikeways and waterways for boating enjoyment. Shaded, large, and mostly level sites for RV's. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
Nice campground, bigger rigs may be tight. Staff very friendly and helpful. mini golf, basketball courts on site. Close to miles of bike trails. Bathrooms checked on a regular basis. Would definitely stay at again. Gray water drains at each site helpful. Lake for boats and fishing on grounds. Camp store reasonably priced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Sweetwater Forest is set in a rustic Cape Cod environment and is very family friendly, with miniature golf, fishing, a basketball court and playground. While the sites are not extremely favorable for big rigs, a few of the sites can accommodate large motorhomes. I was very much impressed with the staff. I had a problem with my slide out, and the staff worked on the problem for two hours. When I tried to give them some money for their trouble, they refused to take it, saying that the problem occurred while I was staying there and they would take care of it before I left. I would highly recommend Sweetwater Forest for family camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$37
We camped at this location early in the season. Not much activity at the campground for the time of year. Sites were clean and had very nice, natural fire pits. This is in a great location close to bike trails and most of the Cape activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
It was okay at best. Campsites were not well kept and that was the theme for entire campground. We stayed one day, then left to go to a campground about a mile or so down the road. We were glad that we relocated; we salvaged our vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$46
We are avid campers and this was our second summer at Sweetwater Forest Campground. We stayed for an extended amount of time in the T-area full hook-ups (not to be confused with the Seasonal T's). Although the landscape of the site itself is "hilly" the sites themselves are very level. All of the sites have plenty of trees & shade around them to have privacy from the neighbors. They don't have lights throughout the campground so bring flashlight! If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, sentimental, tranquil vacation, then this is the place for you. They've been around for 52 years. It's been owned by one family since their opening in the 50's. The store is always well stocked with the necessities plus parts you would normally have to go find at an RV store. I'd like to spend the next paragraph commmending the service. The "outside crew" works diligently and you don't ever see them standing around doing nothing. They are private and family run, so their staff isn't huge. They do a pretty darn good job considering. I've read other reviews on here about the bathrooms; they just rebuilt two of the stations so they will never clog. Also, for some reason I've noticed that when people go on vacation they tend not to care and leave the place a mess. Other than the mud if it rains, I don't understand why other campers can't be curteous to clean up after themselves instead of trashing the bathrooms. The office staff: Very Impressive. I have to single out a few people. I made my reservation last year with the tall guy (not allowed to use names) and he was very pleasant and easy going. He promised me that I would love the site and that I was going to have a wonderful vacation and that if I didn't he could tell the boss it was him. I liked the responsibility he showed and confidence. I was happy when I called this year and he took my reservation again. He was again pleasant and confident. He even remembered the name. When I got there, the guy with the chinstrap checked me in but the tall guy was also there. The guy with the chinstrap was also great. Very informative and sincere. The two of them together are ideal for customer service. They do a great job representing the business. When my husband and I went into the office for information, or the store for a snack, we always found ourselves in conversation. Although we didn't really get to know the rest of the staff, they seemed pleasant enough. I would highly recommend this campground to anyone who is looking for a great vacation. If you're looking to relax and take it easy, then this is it; and that's what vacation is all about anyway, right? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$46
We camped at T-7. This is a very nice campground. We pulled into the site without a problem, hookups were very close together, within a couple of feet so all I need were standard 10' size water and sewer length. The good things. This is a very private area, lots of playgrounds is a plus for very active kids, evening hayrides with free popcorn. Great activity center with video games and satellite TV. Very, very close to the Cape Cod rail trail. The not so good things. Wish there was swimming on the grounds: no pool and no swimming in the pond. I think if they added a pool it would be perfect. Only 4 channels on cable TV, couldn't get anything on the antenna either. Would go back again when the kids are older and can go to the beach and bike. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
Perfect location for exploring Cape Cod. Campsites are spacious and wooded offering some privacy. It has a pleasant atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff. We like the C section best, even though there is no sewer hookup in that area. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$55
Wish I could give better than 7 as we really did like this place but the road are terrible for anything larger than a 25 footer. They had put us in a double site as our 34 footer wouldn't fit in any of the left over single sites they had (yes, we did have reservations). We were unable to connect to the hookups until they told us to go the wrong way on the roads so we could get the motorhome in with the hookups on the correct side. They had only a few Full hookup sites but the dump station was decent enough to make it OK just to have Grey water dump on site. Hookups were OK. Was raining when we got there so it was nothing but mud (nothing they can do about the weather). The fire wood for sale was terribly wet. You may think we didn't like this place by what I write but it is a very decent place if you want to be deep in the woods with peace and quite. We would stay here again, we just might need to be in a part of the park that is meant for a 34 footer or larger. Oh and no lights, best part of it, so bring a good flash light. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$46
We wanted a campground that was in the center of the Cape but didn't want to be in a "sardine can" type resort park. After careful research that included reading reviews given on this website, we decided to give Sweetwater Forest a try. We had site T14 which was a narrow, pull thru site. It was adequate in that it was private. The closest neighbor was easily 50 to 75 feet away as the site is parallel to the camp road. This is a very large park and had a very nice tent area. The best thing about Sweetwater Forest for us was its central location to the Cape. Having never been there, we wanted to explore every inch and this parks location allowed us to divide the cape into three days with equal travel time each day. The electrical service was very dependable as we ran our A/C the whole time we were there and they did not charge a fee. We will stay here again when we visit the Cape again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$46
I took of 1 star for the attitude of the girl in the office when I first called to make the reservation. She seemed to think her time was more important then mine. The roads were pretty bad. Nothing is paved. The place was too much of a dust bowl for my wife. There was pretty much no grass at all. Also, we had a tree that was rotted out, I guess because of termites. I was actually concerned it would fall on my trailer if the winds kicked up. We were there while they were talking about a possible hurricane. When I brought it the attention of the office they said that they knew about it but they were not concerned that it would fall on my trailer. If I wanted, I could leave (with no refund). Make sure you use a filter on the water supply. When I disconnected it I could actually see rust and debris. I suspect it is well water. They gave us a key because the gate closes at 10pm. We came back at least 4 nights after 10pm and it was never locked. On the positive side, sites were big and pretty heavily wooded, especially for that area of the Cape. Other campers that we spoke to were very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$46
This was one of the nicest campsites we've stayed at. Sites are large, clean and well spaced. The sites are mostly shaded and the campsite in general is very quite. Everything else has already been mentioned by the other reviewers. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
This campground is one of our favorite. We were at site T-5. Water, electric, sewer, and cable. Loved the stone fire rings and the decorative fencing. Really gives it a feeling of old Cape Cod. The wooded sites and the paths were great to explore. We enjoyed fishing at the lake and sitting at the beach watching the swans. Great place to see many species of birds is around the old retired cranberry bog. Staff was very friendly and helpful. For those who want to experience the real Cape Cod, this is a really good central location. We cannot wait to stay at Sweetwater Forest again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$46
This is an old family run campground since 1958. It is located just off Rt 124 in Brewster. The campsites a large, level wooded sites that have nice separation and growth between them. Each has a table and fire ring and in the "C" area where I stayed we had Electric, Water, Cable TV and a dry well for gray water. It was opening weekend so we had the place to ourselves. Good location mid Cape. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This campground was a perfect home base that allowed us to explore Cape Cod. We were an hour to Falmouth--to get over to Martha's Vineyard--and an hour to Provincetown. Centrally located, the campground enables us to see much of the Cape. The bathrooms were clean, although in need of some updating, especially in the showers. We did see staff close the bathrooms to clean them as well. Six playgrounds throughout allowed each area to have a place for kids to play. There was mini-golf that seemed to be well-maintained. The store was well-stocked. Staff was plenty friendly from reservation to checking in to checking out. There is a section for seasonals which seemed to be well-maintained. It would be great if the campground could find a way to sell discounted town beach tickets, because at 15 dollars per day, it could add up quickly. One thing to note is that the bike path does not lead right to the rail trail. We had to ride on 124 for a bit--a little scary with two younger children. I would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$44
Excellent service, especially considering it was the 4th of July weekend when we pulled in. The staff was helpful and always available. The camp store on site was well-stocked and had some items that I would normally have had to travel to a RV dealership to buy. The bathrooms were clean (I saw the same one cleaned twice in two days) with plenty of hot water. The garbage bins were full, but it was expected since the entire campground was full as well (if someone left, someone else was pulling in to take their place). Sites looked level (at least many other sites looked more level than my own) and I only noticed that mine wasn't due to my failure to properly level my rig. Other things to consider: Campground is only 10-15 minutes from the beach. Numerous restaurants are nearby. For those with kids a movie theater is within 15 minutes for those inevitable rainy days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
We stayed here Memorial Day weekend. I think we got the last available site last minute! It was a nice campground. Lots of seasonals and lots of really cool looking tent sites. This was our second trip in our new trailer and we had a good time. They have a nice pond for fishing and paddling. We played mini golf on site and went for a hayride after an icecream social. All in all a good time. The bathrooms weeren't immaculate, but were clean enough I guess. It's in a good location on the Cape, close to the bike trail and other stuff to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
Nice park amongst the trees, with plenty of shade, close to bike path. Sites are nicely spaced and fit a variety of camping needs. Nice store with mini-golf on premises. Place needs some updating of its physical structures, however restrooms were in good shape where we were. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$44
While the park is clean and attractive, I'm giving it the low rating that I am because, in my opinion, it is not at all big rig friendly. I think that calling it big rig hostile is an understatement. The first site we were assigned was almost impossible to get to in a 40 MH, and when we got there it was impossible for me to back into because of trees. The next site was accessible, but not the 50 amp full hookup we reserved. If we can't find something else close, and if family stays in the area we would probably come back, but with great reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$42
This is a beautiful campground, with spacious sites on hilly terrain. That said, all the sites I saw were quite level. The arrangement of sites affords privacy to all campers. The office staff was friendly and answered all questions with thorough information. There is a $1 per night charge for each dog. On the slightly less than perfect side, the staff outside the office was virtually invisible. We checked in Saturday, and by Sunday the dumpster was overflowing. The restrooms, although clean enough to use, were apparently only cleaned once per day. By Sunday evening my husband said three of the four stalls in the men's room were plugged and non-functional. The ladies room was also trashed by the evenings. (There were other bathrooms on the grounds but this was closest to our site). A late afternoon quick cleaning would help resolve these problems. I also noticed that while the shower and toilets were cleaned, nothing else was. There were some grime-laden air vents and visible pipes with layers of dust and dirt on them in the ladies room. These weren't areas that a camper would be touching, but they were visible. Despite these restroom imperfections, I would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$44
The park was OK, and location was good. The staff is accommodating and friendly. The major drawback here is the site are not geared for larger rigs. The roads are very narrow and it is quite hilly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$44
I liked the campground and would return, but wanted to point out a few disappointments. If you are relying on Wi-Fi coverage, be careful. The only areas within range are directly around the office. This proved to be a major problem for me so make sure you ask about coverage at your site if you are one of those who needs high speed internet access. Dust covered just about everything. Roads are dirt/sand so if you are type A about a clean tow vehicle, be prepared to wash it frequently. Other than that, nice playground, adequate camp store, sites spacious (C area). Very crowded but amazingly noise was at a minimum. Even though you are surrounded by the ocean, would be nice to have a pool, but I understand why most cgs on the cape don't. Would recommend this cg although we are going to try another one next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
This campground was our first trip for 2007. We came here off season. The sites were level and clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. it was a quiet campground, you could relax with the sounds of the "peepers", birds and the wind through the trees. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
Love the rustic feel, large sites, and convenience to the Rail Trail. Fall is a great time for the Cape and we'll return again to enjoy all that the area has to offer. Nice owners. Well kept. Limited number of big rig sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$44
We have stayed at several cg's on the Cape, but returned to Sweetwater due to its fairly central location. Not too far to the National Seashore or to the Lower Cape. Staff was very friendly. We had site T-3 which was okay but a bit narrow due to some trees which were close to the awning and a very small fire pit against a fence. Our in-laws had T-4, which was much better. Plenty of room on the site. I'm sure we will be returning to the Cape, and this is the cg we will be staying at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
I was pleasantly surprised with this park. We went not really knowing what to expect and happened to pull in after hours in the dark. One negative was that the attendant on the phone told us the park was 4-5 miles "down the road" from a certain intersection. It happened to be 2. 5 miles "down the road" so needless to say we drove by the entrance and then had to find a spot to turn around on some narrow, dark roads. But things got better. Our site location was waiting pinned to the board, at the office. Map directions were clear and we found our spot quickly. We had a very large and private spot. Site was level and clean. On our 2nd day we asked for a late check out and were accommodated with "no problem" and no charge. Very nice people at the desk. Campground wasn't too crowded when we were there and was very quiet and pleasant. Quick access to the CC rail trail. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Guess I expected more - and the dogs both got ticks. It was just ok for us We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com