214554 User submitted reviews online!!
NRA Whittington Center Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (575) 445-3615
CGID13530

NRA Whittington Center Campground

Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   10   8   9   8   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Large, mostly level gravel sites. Clean bathhouse in the East Campground. Wifi is available at the shotgun range close by. ATT coverage was excellent. We were able to pick up several over the air TV stations. Mining ghost town on the property worth exploring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Boy, is this the best kept secret or what? If peace and quiet are for you, this is the place. Only gave it an 8 because of the roads and gravel sites. 44,000 acres here. Can hear some gunfire during the day but night is dead silent except for wildlife. Stayed here 3 days just because it is so peaceful and beautiful. About 8 TV channels over the air. Only six spots have 50 Amp. Maybe 15 other rigs here in addition to us. No highway noise whatever. Big rigs no problem. Our 5th wheel is 40 ft. $30 I posted is for 50 Amp site. The rest are $27. Also have cabins. If you like to shoot guns, you could spend weeks here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
$30 rate included tax. This is what I call a 'specialty' RV facility, meaning you pretty much would stay here if you were using the shooting facility. GREAT shooting facility, look them up at their website. There are actually two RV campgrounds and this is the west one and only the west one currently has 50 amp service and only one that really has trees: lots of them. Spaces are carved out of the pinion and pine trees so if you want satellite TV be sure to tell them when you make reservations, or trees might block your line of sight. NO good AT&T service (E instead of 3g), and no WiFi unless you go to the Shotgun center. Verizon service was much better than AT&T. RV sites are a few miles back into the property on gravel/dirt roads so if you have a diesel pusher, be aware of dust situation. Since there are no street lights, evenings were 'dark skys' and very peaceful. Close proximity to Raton for places to eat, get groceries, etc. Staff was EXTREMELY nice. Would stay here again as they have plans to expand and offer other than shooting: like hiking and mountain biking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
This is the first RV park I have ever visited, which offers a 360 degree panorama view, right from the campground. And it is a stunning view indeed, with nearby mountains to the west and north, and vistas over a huge plain to the east and south to more distant mountains. I could see Capulin Volcano, which is about 25 miles to the east. Campground elevation is 6500 feet. There are 117 full hookup RV sites total, in two campgrounds, and even the largest of rigs can easily be accommodated, but only 30 amp service, no 50 amp. Bathrooms were very spacious and clean, and each shower had an attached changing area. I don't know how big the entire NRA area is (there are many firing ranges as part of the center, but they are quite some distance from the two RV campgrounds), but I would estimate the total area to be hundreds of acres, perhaps thousands. Cellphone reception was excellent, and I was able to get 9 over-air channels on the TV in my rig. The host at the check-in said the campground never fills, but they do take reservations if one has a particular site they like. The Center is 10 miles south of Raton, on Highway 64, but the campground is maybe 1 mile in from the highway, so it is very quiet. You do not have to be an NRA member to camp here. I rarely give 10 star ratings, but this place earned it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
We stayed in the West Campground. Long, full-hookup, pull-through sites. Some fairly level, others unlevel. All campground roads and sites are sparsely graveled; facility roads are in better shape. Beautiful views from the West Campground. Took a peak at the nearby East Campground and much of it is just a large open area. The East Campground does have restrooms though while there are no restrooms in the West Campground. There is a guardhouse at facility entrance that is manned 24/7. Staff there are very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Excellent place to stay. Wake up in morning with deer within a rock's throw from your camper. Sites are all pull throughs. Phone works, not Wi-Fi except at the gun shoot center and you can use the computer in the main building. We got two TV channels. Will stay here again when in the area. They have two full hook up campgrounds: East and West. West is the best but East has bathrooms, shower and a laundry We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This park is a gem in the Raton area, off highway 64 about 6 miles from town. Spaces are well separated and although gravel, are fairly level. Area has Pinon Pine and Juniper for a bit of shade. Site had 30 Amp and excellent water pressure. There is a well maintained dirt road from the entrance station to the campground, but well worth the drive! This feels like a state park! We would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Remote and rustic park, but worth the drive. Two campgrounds. The east has showers and bathhouse. The west does not. But the west campground has beautiful scenery. We opted for that. The campground host was very friendly and accommodating. The roads and campsites are well maintained hardpacked dirt and rock. The west sites are generous and pull through. Good overnight or longer if you are interested in taking advantage of the multiple shooting ranges or just want a quiet place to kick back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This is a beautiful RV park. The views are amazing and the deer walk through the park. You can see deer and antelope. Level sites with lots of room between the sites. The rest rooms are clean. The Wi-Fi is not available at the RV park but are short drive down the road on the grounds of the Whittington Center. We love coming here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
The positive: Has beautiful surroundings, very quiet, site fairly level and long though not necessarily wide, hookups fine, lots of wildlife (pronghorns wandered right near the motorhome), friendly staff, lots of stars at night. The negative: A 2 mile dirt road so you will get dusty (although it's well packed and better than some paved roads we've been on; absolutely fine if you drive slow); CG itself is dirt and gravel; no Wi-Fi at site but you can drive to it (our Verizon cell strength was very strong so we could connect to the internet through that service). Note: This CG is designed around a shooting range not as a resort. Not much to do other than shoot guns and visit the museum and gift shop. Nice place to unwind. We would stay here again. Oh: ask to drive through the road that is gated by the entrance. Has no speed bumps or overhang. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
What a treasure, quiet and peaceful. The roads within this vast property are fairly rough and dirt. The pull thru sites are HUGE with deer and other wildlife roaming about. There isn't much around here in fact the closest grocery store is 10 or so miles away. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
As has been noted in earlier posts this campground is on a 30,000-acre spread owned and operated by the NRA, but open to the public. Some previous reviews have been critical of the entrance road but we had no issue with it. It is unpaved but well maintained, with no ruts or washboard and minimal dust. Pronghorn antelope grazed on the roadside as we drove in. There are two RV campgrounds, East and West. Both have full hookups. The smaller East campground has a bathhouse and laundry but we liked West better. It has 72 full hookup pull-through sites on a hill with grass and 20-foot trees: rustic and beautiful. Sites are graded and graveled. The first one we tried was not level but the second one was great. It had trees on both sides but plenty of room for slides and awnings. Views of the surrounding countryside were awesome. Water pressure was around 80 psi so bring a regulator. There are several firing ranges on the property, some distance from the campground. There is some noise during the day but it is very quiet and peaceful at night. The public is welcome to observe shooting events but hearing protection may be required. Our Verizon cell phone and Air Card both worked but Internet access was slow. They advertise a free Wi-Fi hotspot but we did not try it. This place was much more enjoyable to us than the standard KOA-style RV park. We enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
If you decide to camp here and are towing a vehicle behind your motorhome, disconnect your towed vehicle just after you enter the gate. The 2 mile drive on a gravel/dirt road got our hitch and car very dirty. Campsites are not level as previously stated and trees on either side prevented us from being able to use our awning. We also had to park very far forward on the site to be able to put out our slides. We did enjoy seeing the deer, antelope and jackrabbits very close to the roadway. There are warnings about keeping the trash bins closed due to bears. So be careful about walking pets after dark. If you like to do sport shooting there are many venues for that here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Amazing pretty area. But, you have to drive 2 miles on a pretty good gravel road, which we didn't realize until we got here. Sites are not real level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We stayed in the West park and there are no amenities here. The other park does have amenities, but they could not accommodate our 39' RV towing. We were a last minute check in. The park is very nice and I would come back again. This park does have wild animals, bears, etc, so be careful at night. I was running in the late evening and later found out a bear came by. The views are spectacular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
It's not a park for everyone. Most sites are 30 amp. Only a very few are 50 amp and seem to be "reserved" by people who work or volunteer here for the summer. Full hookups but "rustic" sites, i.e. no concrete. Beautiful setting and lots of history in the area. Not an overnight type place. Come here and stay awhile and see the sights, even if you don't shoot. If you do shoot it's got every kind of range there is. You don't need to be an NRA or WC member to stay here. But NRA or WC membership will allow free use of all ranges with nominal fees for shotgun events. It's about 5 miles from W. of Raton and the RV sites are about 2 miles of well maintained gravel road from the entrance to the RV sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This was an excellent experience, large gravel sites, very peaceful, spectacular views, laundry facilities were very adequate and restrooms very clean, all pull thru sites. Just beautiful, hated to leave. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
This is a nice stop for a night or a week. As stated previously, this facility is open to the public and easy to get to from I-25. Far better than other parks we've stayed at in the Raton area. Great views and really nice friendly staff are a mark of this camp. Campsites are roomy, level and composed of gravel. The bathhouse was being painted so it was of limited use to us, although it is maintained. Deer frequent the campground so be ready with your camera. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Nice place with plenty of room. We had full hookups and everything worked well. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is in the country and very enjoyable. Yes: there is some TV available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
While the NRA Whittington Center is owned by the National Rifle Association, it is open to the general public. You don't need to be an NRA member to camp in this unique campground. Situated on 30,000 acres bisected by the historic Santa Fe Trail, the Center is home to a protected herd of Pronghorns which frequently visit the camp area. Located just three miles Southwest of Raton on US 64 the campsites boast splendid mountain views and prime facilities for any adult interested in shooting sports. Restrooms and showers are large and clean. Level gravel sites. A small cafeteria is located on the property. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com